Lions Gate Hotel Reviews

23 | McClellan, CA
See photos, pricing and details

23 Reviews for Lions Gate Hotel

Recommended by 87% of couples

4.4 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.5
  • Professionalism 4.4
  • Flexibility 4.4
  • Value 4.4
  • Average response time 4.2

Awards

23
Order by:
  • User4308857 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    So far it has been a wonderful experience planning our wedding to be at the Lions gate hotel!

    Sent on 12/06/2014
  • M

    Marc · Married on 10/12/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Awesome venue. From our very first email to meeting Megan and through the planning and final event coordination, Megan and her staff were friendly, courteous and professional. We would recommend Lion's Gate Hotel to anyone looking to have an event

    Sent on 10/29/2014
  • M

    Mark · Married on 10/12/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Megan and her staff made sure that our wedding and reception went smoothly and according to plan. She was a joy to work with and I heartily recommend everyone check out the Lions Gate Hotel for any special event they may have. You won't be disappointed.

    Sent on 11/06/2014
  • E

    Ellen · Married on 10/11/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Megan and her manager were very accommodating and helpful. Megan's response time by phone or email was quicker than I expected. My husband and I would highly recommend the Lion's Gate Hotel for a wedding or any other event with having Megan as their coordinator! Our wedding was an amazing event and all of our guests had a great time.

    Sent on 10/30/2014
  • M

    Melyssa · Married on 08/02/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I loved this place. When we drove up I told him this was the place. The fact I just love palm trees this had to be the place we got married. They are all around this beautiful re-modeled Air Force base. Not just were the grounds amazing but after speaking to Megan again I was validated that I wanted to get married there. Megan was such a great helping, walking us through every part of the "Generals House" informing us what we would get if we choose Lions Gate as our wedding spot. We never felt pressured with pricing and she was very easy to talk to about all our details. We were even set up with a privet tasting because our schedule didn't match up with the group tasting. The food was amazing! Which made it very hard to pick menu items. What we picked for our wedding was just as amazing from when we tasted it. Our guest still talk about how great our food was. We would recommend this place to anyone who is looking for a great out door wedding who is also looking at accommodating guest I site.

    Sent on 10/14/2014
  • N

    nicole · Married on 06/20/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Excellent service and the food is VERY good

    Sent on 07/04/2014
  • H

    Heather · Married on 06/14/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was looking for a venue that had everything all in one location and would help out with everything. The Lion's Gate Hotel went above and beyond what I was expecting. Their wedding coordinator Megan was so helpful and made sure everything went smooth. We heard from our guest they loved the location and the food was amazing!

    Sent on 06/27/2014
  • J

    Jeffrey · Married on 03/20/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everything was perfect! The food was delicious.

    Sent on 03/29/2014
  • J

    Jamie · Married on 05/30/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lions gate was great. they where very flexible if the weather was going to turn for the worse. They where very upfront with what we could do and what we could not. I had a photo booth and craft tables and they made it all happen. The Generals hoouse was so nice to have for the day and that night. It helped with winding down. 2 thumbs up

    Sent on 06/09/2010
  • M

    Mark · Married on 03/20/2014

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It was the perfect venue for our wedding and reception. The staff was pleasant and accommodating. We didn't have to worry about driving from one spot to another because we had it all right there, wedding, reception and then spent the night in the general's house.

    Sent on 04/01/2014
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 04/30/2011

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The General's Garden at Lions Gate Hotel was beautiful. It was the perfect backyard wedding. Michelle was a great wedding coordinator. She had great ideas, but still allowed us to make all decisions and have the day "about us". The food from Mama Kim's was delicious. They did all the set up and clean up for all the tables and chairs, etc. I was worry free on the day of.

    Sent on 07/19/2011
  • User4208200 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It was a real pleasure working with Megan at Lions Gate Hotel! She was always very responsive, professional and helpful, providing all the information that we needed. She made sure that every detail was taken care of leading up to the wedding as well as the day of. The General's House was the perfect venue for our outdoor wedding and reception. We selected the buffet option and the food was excellent. We received many compliments from our guests regarding the beautiful venue and delicious dinner!

    Sent on 06/27/2014
  • S

    Susan · Married on 09/22/2012

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My daughter recently was married at the General's House at Lions Gate Hotel. The venue was beautiful. We loved having the house for the day to get ready before the ceremony. They require the use of the hotel's catering service, but the food was outstanding. I gave a 4 for responsiveness because shortly after we signed a contract there was a personnel change making it difficult to contact a person. Once Sunny was hired communication improved greatly. I couldn't always reach her when I first called, but she usually responded within 24 hours.

    Sent on 10/10/2012
  • Krista

    Krista · Married on 10/08/2011

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    We used the General's Garden at Lions Gate Hotel for our ceremony and reception site. The Sales Manager as well as the Weddin Coordinator and Sales Coordinator were very helpful and involed in helping everything go off without a hitch. They provided us with helpful tips and suggestions along the way which was an added bonus and very sweet of them. They were flexible in times they could schedule appointments with us and were always in contact through email and phone, especially leading up to the big day. The location is stunning as well and the servers, clean up crew and set up crew were more than available and willing to help with any needs we had.

    Sent on 10/17/2011
  • H

    heather · Married on 10/11/2007

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    The hotel made our whole wedding so easy we did not have to worry about travel because we stayed in the hotel, they catered and decorated an ensured our event went smooth. If we needed anything they jumped right in to get it done for us!

    Sent on 11/12/2009
  • M

    Michele · Married on 10/25/2014

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This rating primarily reflects the efforts by Megan Lehr, LionsGate's Special Events Coordinator and the chef and serving staff who contributed to our daughter and son-in-law's wedding reception Oct. 2014. Please understand this review excludes any reference to the hotel accommodations or its reservation staff.. Megan provided an outstanding service in that she was professional, polite, helpful, caring, proactive, responsive, and informed. Her positive, helpful attitude made the planning enjoyable and kept the nerves at a minimum. On the day before the wedding reception, and early the day of, Megan was available for us, finalizing details to make everything just right - filling in wherever we needed help. She continued to take special care of details throughout the reception, and was always right there whenever we needed anything. We could not have been more pleased or grateful for Megan's excellent work.

    In addition , the buffet food was very good (self-served portions) and we received many comments from guests that they enjoyed the food and service (as did we) at the reception as well as the hotel breakfast - delicious.

    Sent on 11/15/2014
  • User3894195 · 2+ years ago

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Everything was fantastic on the day of the wedding! Megan Lehr seems like a very competent lady, and did a nice job! Julie was responsive and helpful, and Megan was personable and efficient. The staff we met setting up the room were awesome! We enjoyed our very much and would absolutely recommend Lion's Gate to a friend!

    Sent on 02/10/2014
  • R

    Rachelle · Married on 11/16/2013

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lions Gate was the perfect venue for my wedding. We had two large families that were able to stay at the General's House and the house next to it. We had our wedding in the Ballroom. The servers were amazing the night of the reception. Though our wedding coordinator changed a month before our wedding, Lions Gate did a great job picking up the details and getting it all right!

    Sent on 01/07/2014
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 10/26/2013

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Lions gate was a great place for a wedding not only is there facility a beautiful place it was clean the food is amazing and the staff is super friendly. It was also nice that our guests could stay in the Lions Gate hotel and not have to worry about drinking and driving, they could just walk to there rooms after the reception. My husband and I enjoyed the fact that are families stayed at the hotel and in the morning before the wedding and again after the wedding we all hung out and had breakfast together allowing both our families to get to know each other even more. The only problem that we had was our original wedding coordinator from the Lions Gate decided to leave two weeks before our wedding, no one had called to inform us of this and we were trying to finalize everything, For a Week we left emails and Voice mails for her with no response, finally we had to contact the manager in order to find out was going on and who to contact. So a week before my wedding we had to do a lot of Emails and phone calls so that I could go over everything again with the new wedding coordinator, we were able to finalize everything and they did apologize and stepped it up to make sure we had everything we needed it was just a little more stress added to an already stressful time. Also some of the rooms could use some updating I understand that the Lions Gate has a lot of history behind it and allot of the buildings are older but a little updating would not hurt. Over all we loved the out come of our wedding many of our friends and family have complimented us on our wedding saying how the food was amazing and they loved the place it was beautiful and how the staff at the Lions Gate was so helpful. If I had to do it over again I would defiantly choose the Lions Gate.

    Sent on 12/05/2013
  • User2718014 · 2+ years ago

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    The Garden's House was beautiful and the staff did an excellent job! The food was fantastic!!

    Sent on 05/19/2013
  • User2204801 · 2+ years ago

    3.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    Beautiful Venue, loved the Generals House. Food was good but a little over priced in my opnion. Our wedding coordinator was just OK, I believe she was getting married around the same time as our wedding so she was a little preoccupied. Meetings were forgotten and cancelled. Day of wedding staff was great! Servers were excellant.

    Sent on 10/31/2013
  • L

    L · Married on 06/09/2018

    1.0
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    Planned a wedding with Kelly and when I decided not to get married she and Laura allowed my ex fiance to pay the balance and cancel the venue even though I made arrangements to pay the balance and still have a party. Kelly then expected me to draw up a new contract in which I would have had to pay another deposit plus food. I thought this to be incredibly unprofessional! No thanks!!!

    Sent on 06/19/2018
  • User4934123 · 2+ years ago

    • Quality of service:
      0.0
    • Responsiveness:
      0.0
    • Value:
      0.0
    • Flexibility:
      0.0
    • Professionalism:
      0.0

    We were fooled by a few strategically shot pictures and a handful of good reviews. The hotel and conference facility are in an old army barracks in the slums of Sacramento. It is in a dangerous area and remains in a dirty, dilapidated state.
    We were horrified to learn the truth about this facility after it was too late – BE WARNED: DO NOT STAY HERE OR BOOK A MEETING.
    When we approached the staff to air our grievances, they were shockingly unapologetic. It seems like the verbatim reviews we shared with them from our attendees were an everyday occurrence. Not once did they apologize. “Ant’s on the food table? So what?” – UNBELIEVABLE.
    They refused to refund our money and had the audacity to ask us when we would be booking our next conference. Anyone that books a meeting or stays here should fear for their safety and reputation. This facility is not sanitary and teeming with insects due to uncleanliness.
    Below are the word for word reviews that we received from our attendees regarding the McClellan Conference Center and Lions Gate Hotel:
    Venue:
    •The convention is old and the room was difficult to find.
    •The venue was pretty poorly cleaned. There was a lot of trash on the floors.
    •There were ants on the tables and on the food table
    •Room was hard to find. Room was so-so.
    •From the sound of it, I was glad not to be staying at the Lions Gate Hotel.
    •NEVER, NEVER use the Lions Gate Hotel. It was disgusting. I feared for my safety, it felt like a 7 11 bathroom and was dirty and the tv did not work. The area was also very frightening. No place safe or nice to go after the meeting.
    Food:
    •The coffee was horrible and gritty every morning. I had to buy my own coffee.
    •There was an issue the 3rd day of training where they putout the snack food for the afternoon at the same time as lunch. The heated cheese for the nachos was coagulated and pretty unappealing.
    •The ants on the food table made me "not so hungry"

    Sent on 04/01/2015