Lilac Inn Reviews

15 | Brandon, VT
See photos, pricing and details

15 Reviews for Lilac Inn

Recommended by 96%

15

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.8
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.7

16 User photos

Lilac Inn 1
Lilac Inn 2
Lilac Inn 3
Lilac Inn 4
Lilac Inn 5
Lilac Inn 6
Lilac Inn 7
+ 10
Sort by:
  • Tara

    Tara · Married on 07/13/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dream Made into Reality

    My husband and I were married at the Lilac Inn on July 13th 2019 and we are beyond thankful and happy to have chosen this beautiful venue. I know that we will still be reminiscing about our wedding weekend there for decades to come. Shelly and Doug who are the innkeepers are amazing hosts! They are extremely welcoming and kind. Dan and I knew from the minute we first visited the Inn and met Shelly and Doug that this was the place we wanted to have our wedding. The pricing is clear and all the menu options can be customized to your desire. Shelly, Doug, Susannah (our personal coordinator) and the entire staff were professional, attentive, flexible, patient, and very personable throughout the planning process, rehearsal dinner, and the wedding weekend. It is great to know that whether you have over two hundred guests or under one hundred, the Lilac Inn can accommodate for your party. We had eighty-six guests and the inn still made it feel like an intimate gathering. The whole staff was excellent at making any concerns or worries about timing or last minute changes melt away with their reassurance and support. We could not have chosen a more caring group of people to help make our dream come true.

    Not only were the people spectacular, but everything from outside to inside the inn was gorgeous. The gardens and grounds were fantastically kept and had beautiful flowers throughout the scenery. The patio was a splendid place for our guests to catch up and relax whether they wanted to be in the shade or in the sun. The nine rooms were clean and stunningly decorated. Each guest had their own bathroom which was perfect for couples and families. There were coffee and tea tables located along the upstairs corridors for the wedding party and family throughout the weekend stay. The entire inn and each guest room gave a classic elegance atmosphere while still maintaining a Vermont home feel. The fun Tavern, lovely ballroom, and the outstanding and delicious food were the popular talk of conversations that made for an incredible experience. Shelly and Susannah made sure any guest that had dietary restrictions received meals that were gluten free or vegan. Shelly also helped us with making sure the band that we had hired, had the space and correct outlets for when they performed in the ballroom. Shelly and Susannah were with us from start to finish and everything went effortlessly and smoothly. Dan and I knew we loved our event but we are even more thrilled and appreciative that our guests enjoyed it just as much. We treasured every second of our celebration! I would highly recommend the Lilac Inn for your wedding venue or any special occasion. Shelly and Doug and their staff are simply the best, and are masters at making dreams a reality.

    Sent on 07/22/2019
    Lilac Inn 16
    Lilac Inn 17
    Lilac Inn 18
    Lilac Inn 19
    Lilac Inn 20
    Lilac Inn 21
    Lilac Inn 22
  • C

    Carolyn · Married on 07/07/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband Jeff and I feel so incredibly lucky to have celebrated our wedding at The Lilac Inn. We knew we wanted to have our special day there the minute we walked in the doors, and every moment of the day was beyond perfect. Our families were able to spend the entire weekend with us, as we had the entire Inn to ourselves, and being all together made the weekend so much more special. When the big day came, the entire staff was so helpful and made sure we had absolutely everything we needed. Shelly and Ashley even planned breakfast service around our schedule. The staff worked all morning and evening to make sure our guests were happy and everything was exactly what we had pictured. Our guests are still raving about the delicious food and the beauty of The Lilac Inn. Jeff and I are so appreciative of the beautiful memory we share at the Lilac Inn. Thank you for making our day beyond perfect!

    Sent on 07/21/2018
  • jennifer

    jennifer · Married on 06/23/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Doug and Shelly were great to work with. Shelly was so sweet and able to do everything we requested of her. She got us the mugs they sell for special guest we wanted to honor. She kept my butterflies happy and healthy until they were able to be released. The food was amazing. The place was beautiful we look forward to going back some time for a weekend getaway.

    Sent on 07/11/2018
    Lilac Inn 23
  • E

    Erin · Married on 07/29/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Deciding to get married at the Lilac Inn was the easiest and best decision we made while planning our wedding. If you're thinking of getting married in Vermont, you should definitely book a tour here. Shelly is amazing and will help you plan your dream wedding. When you book the Inn, you get the opportunity to use the grounds for the entire weekend while Shelly coordinated all of the catering, tent rental, and staffing. I still keep dreaming about the butternut squash ravioli we had as one of our food options, it was out of this world! Our 140 guest wedding felt intimate and our guests enjoyed exploring the beautiful gardens and taking advantage of the ballroom for dancing and the fire pit for relaxing. We chose to have the ceremony in the garden and I'm so glad that we did. Brandon is a beautiful example of small town Vermont and your guests will love the hospitality and all the area has to offer.

    Sent on 09/24/2017
  • User6383201 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    All I can say is: WOW! They did everything we asked for and more. The food was exceptional, the rooms were the most beautiful and clean hotel rooms I've ever stayed in and when the weather didn't cooperate, they made easy adjustments to the plans. I would highly recommend this Inn for a romantic stay or for your wedding. We will be back on our anniversaries for years to come!

    Sent on 08/19/2016
  • User5107821 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a small wedding of about 40 people with 20 more guests joining us for the reception. The venue, food and hospitality were outstanding. Thank you to the owners of the inn.

    Sent on 05/24/2015
  • User6045741 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Lilac Inn was the perfect venue for us. We had our families stay with us and our wedding felt like a great weekend getaway. Everyone loved their rooms, the food, and the time we were able to spend together. We had other guests stay at inns throughout town- which worked out great since there's so many within walking distance. The Inn was very responsive to our needs and worked with us to plan a menu that featured local, seasonal foods, local beers, and was served family style. They made sure our wedding really reflected our values. The day was beautiful and stress-free. I highly recommend!

    Sent on 12/11/2015
  • E

    Elizabeth · Married on 11/24/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I went to Brandon, VT in November 2013 to elope and couldn't have done it without The Lilac Inn. The owners, Shelly & Doug, went above and beyond to accommodate us and let us bring our Boston Terrier too! Our ceremony took place in the state park nearby but they very generously let us take pictures around in the Inn before hand. The Lilac Inn was by far one of the most beautiful places I have ever stayed and any bride would be lucky to get married there! (Trust me, I'm actually a Wedding Planner! I know, lol!)

    Sent on 04/17/2015
  • V

    Sarah · Married on 10/13/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Shelly and Doug went above and beyond to make our wedding special. From the tasting before the wedding through packing up extra cake for us to bring home the morning after, everything was excellent. Our wedding party and family stayed at the Inn for the weekend. Having the inn to ourselves was very nice; it really felt like our home for the weekend. All of the little touches - some requested by us and some added by Shelly - added up for a perfect event.

    Sent on 04/17/2015
  • Karen

    Karen · Married on 02/18/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Shelly & Doug were a dream to work with....they shared in our excitement, gave valuable advice.....Magical place to stay.....very clean & beautiful country rooms.....great breakfast......anything that we needed they were right there!!! Couldn't have asked for a nicer place to hold our reception or lodge our out of state guests. I highly recommend The Lilac Inn!!!!

    Sent on 03/07/2012
  • A

    Adanna · Married on 10/21/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Shelly and Doug were amazing. We are three weeks out from our wedding and guests are still talking about how beautiful the Inn is and the delicious food at the reception. They were flexible and provided options that fit our budget. They were also very resourceful with helping us sort out last minute mishaps (extra tables and vases for flowers, dinner options for out of towners, to-go breakfast for early travelers, forgotten suitcases and returning rentals to vendors). They really helped to ensure that we had a relaxing and enjoyable time with what could easily have been a very stressful event. Booking the Lilac was one of the best wedding decisions we made.

    Sent on 11/19/2017

    Lilac Inn's reply:

    Dear Adanna and Conor,

    It was our pleasure to host your wedding. We are so happy that you enjoyed your time here. It was so wonderful to get to meet your families and help make your wedding a special and memorable event. Thank you so much for the lovely review! We hope that you will come back and visit us again soon.

    Best,

    Shelly and Doug
  • A

    Adrienne · Married on 06/25/2016

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Lilac Inn was the perfect location for my wedding. It was everything I had wanted it to be. It was a gorgeous location (from the grounds, to the reception area, to the bridal suite). Everything was simply picture perfect. I would recommend it to anyone.

    Sent on 08/16/2016
  • D

    Debbie · Married on 05/18/2013

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    The inn was a great place to host a wedding and reception, the food was excellent, the rooms were amazing and the inn keepers were great to work with.

    There was one issue with the room setup. The room was supposed to be set up for 100 and it was only set for 90. When the food was served they noticed that a few people didn't have seats. They were VERY quick to respond and correct the situation.

    I would definitely recommend them to anyone.

    Sent on 05/25/2013
  • Shannon

    Shannon · Married on 12/28/2018

    3.0
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    December Wedding

    We celebrated our 20 guest wedding at the Lilac Inn in December 2018. We visited the Inn this past May to discuss our wedding with the owner and her wedding coordinator, and were excited to begin planning our "elopement package" with them. They assured us that the Inn staff would be there to assist with everything needed during set up and take down of decorations, and essentially, everything would be taken care of for us. They were friendly and hospitable.

    We called to confirm the morning of our set up for the wedding that we would be traveling down to the Inn, and would be there by early afternoon, and one of the staff said that they would be there ready for our arrival. When we arrived, the venue wasn't ready for set up, and it looked as though a party had just been held there. The groom and father of bride were mopping and sweeping floors during set up, and the reception tables hadn't arrived yet. We found out that the wedding coordinator that we had been speaking to during planning didn't work there any more, and the woman working there now didn't have much knowledge of our wedding, and the owners were not there when we arrived. When the owners did arrive (they were at their anniversary luncheon), they began cleaning up from the last event that was held there, which lasted until after dinner. The reception tables arrived around 8pm the evening before our wedding for us to begin setting up. During this process, one of the staff was not approachable when asking for help, and he said "I don't do that". In summary, there was a LOT of added stress, and my family has come to the agreement that we felt as though this event was treated as an afterthought rather than a wedding. We would have loved to have shared this experience with the owners, but they weren't there for us to tell this to in the morning.

    Unfortunately, they didn't fulfill what was promised in our package: flowers and chocolates were not in our room that came with the elopement package, and staff were not there to help with take down of decor in the morning. Name cards were moved during cocktail hour by the staff when moving tables, which created a lot of confusion and everyone got the wrong favors that were hand-selected for them.

    The food was very good, and rooms were very nice. The guests enjoyed the Inn, which was the saving grace of this experience. Maybe it was because our event was an off-season elopement, but it seemed as though there needed to be more full-time staff, or someone who knew what was going on besides the owners. Going by our experience, we wouldn't recommend this to a friend.

    Sent on 01/10/2019

    Lilac Inn's reply:

    Dear Shannon,

    Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent wedding. I take all comments – good and not so good, seriously. Our goal with every wedding is to help the wedding couple plan and implement every aspect of their special day – from start to finish. I do feel the setup for your ceremony was done in a timely manner which was the night before the wedding.

    You are absolutely correct about the flowers and chocolates. I was planning for a small wedding, not an elopement. I do apologize for the oversight. As the final bill was being prepared, we deducted two guests’ meals from the total.

    As to the place cards, I gave the staff serving dinner the seating chart that you had sent to me. They in turn used it to match up guests to the seating chart so that each guest would be served the correct dinner selection. I am sorry that the favors did not match the guest.

    My husband, an owner, was present for checkout and was available to go over any of these issues. I am disappointed that we were not able to address your concerns that morning. Except for my over sight of the flowers and chocolates, until, we saw your review we did not know of these other issues.

    I do hope that you and Levi had a wonderful honeymoon in Paris and that you will kindly accept a night’s stay with us as our gift and apology.

    Best,

    Shelly

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review