Lawry's Catering Reviews

22 | Beverly Hills, CA
See photos, pricing and details

22 Reviews for Lawry's Catering

Recommended by 100%

22
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 5.0
Sort by:
  • J

    Jowyn · Married on 08/06/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    WeddingWire will not give me adequate space to explain how wonderful the Lawry's Catering team is! They catered my outdoor wedding for 180 guests back in August 2016. I was hesitant to reach out to them at first b/c I never thought they would be able to work with my budget (I had other vendors tell me my budget was too small for 180 guests), but Lawry’s catering is surprisingly affordable! They provide a lot of value for what they charge (high quality food options, most employees at your event, the lowest barware/glassware/silverware cost anywhere, early booking incentives, dining credits, etc.). On top of that, the catering coordinator, Miranda Roy, is hardworking, detail-oriented, proactive and a joy to work with. My guests are still giving me great feedback on the food and dinner service at my wedding (some have even thanked me for giving me their first Lawry’s experience!). Food was the number one priority for me when I was planning my wedding (didn’t even look at a venue unless it allowed for outside catering) and something that had initially caused a lot of stress, but after I booked with Lawry’s, I can honestly say that I did not once worry about the food aspect of the event.

  • User5209911 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My fiance-now-husband and I partnered with Melissa Case and Miranda Roy at Lawry's Beverly Hills for our wedding. We are absolutely satisfied with the quality and level of service they provided!

    From beginning to end, they were detailed, timely, and flexible with all our needs. Our initial call was very professional and courteous, and they hand-held us through the process since they've done this what seemed like a hundred times. When we met for the food tasting, they were flexible and open to having us try a variety of different options - undoubtedly our favorite wedding planning event! And on the day of, things could not have gone any smoother. The food quality and service was just like it was at the restaurant, and our guests were more than satisfied.

    We couldn't have made a better choice than to go with Lawry's for our one-time only wedding, and we highly recommend working with Melissa and Miranda!

  • A

    Angie & Laura · Married on 07/25/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't say enough good things about Lawry's and Melissa Case and Miranda Roy. When choosing a caterer for our wedding, Lawry's didn't immediately come to mind (since they're primarily known for their prime rib restaurant and we were solely looking for an appetizer caterer). My wife came across their catering business and the inclusivity (marriage equality) and diversity (people of color) they demonstrated within their marketing materials compelled us to give a closer look. We had multiple meetings with Melissa and Miranda and there aren't enough positive adjectives to capture how amazing these two women are. They were vocal about wanting to earn our business, and they walked the walk. Together the four us created a southern menu; we did a couple tastings to make sure every appetizer was exactly what we wanted, and each time they incorporated our feedback with delight and passion. Their patience, perseverance, professionalism, and warm personalities are attributes you don't often find in the service industry anymore. They were so impressive to us throughout the planning process that we decided to hire their staff as servers to work throughout the reception (we had food trucks for dinner service). Before the wedding I said to my fiancé, "I have zero concerns about Lawry's and how the cocktail hour and the rest of the evening will go because I am THAT confident in their abilities, professionalism, and service." And they were amazing! They exceeded our expectations in every way. I could not more highly recommend them for ANY type of event you're hosting. We could not have pulled off our wedding without Lawry's or without Melissa and Miranda or their courteous and professional servers. The quality of the dishes and the incredible service they provided is unmatched. I have very high expectations for professionalism and service, having worked in the service industry for years. You just don't see professionals like Melissa and Miranda anymore. They are truly amazing.

  • S

    Sotiria · Married on 02/09/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Key factors that Lawry's covered above and beyond: top notch service, worry free mentality for bride and groom, left the home spotless, and made us want to book them again for future events! Without a doubt! Our guests were floored by Lawry's and I am too pleased for words!!!

  • A

    Amy · Married on 03/09/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am so happy Lawry's catered our wedding. Their recommendation for the event rentals worked out wonderfully. It was at my parents' home and it was amazing to see the backyard transformed into a miniature Lawry's restaurant. That was one of the highlights of this special day for me because I know people only remember the food at weddings--not the wedding dress or not the ceremony. I always remember how good or bad the food was and how hungry I was. The hor d'oeuvres, which are not in the restaurant menu and only for catering events, were excellent. Try the caviar potato slices. If you are going to make your guests sit through torture listening to your vows, at least reward them with top-notch food. The event coordinator was above par; Melissa Navarro replied to every single email I sent, which was many, many of them! Same with Jackie, the rentals coordinator. Melissa also helped me plan the wedding schedule for the day, which wasn't her responsibility, which shows how she goes the extra mile and cares for her clients. She was also a wedding coordinator once so that is very helpful. I have nothing but kudos for hiring Lawry's to cater our once-in-a-lifetime event. Lawry's added so much class to my wedding--the staff was so professional. My wedding day was perfect!!!! Thank you, Melissa and Jackie.

  • J

    jennie · Married on 10/27/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lawry's did the catering for our wedding this past weekend and everything was AMAZING. The staff was prompt, friendly and very professional. We've had guests already tell us how great the catering staff was.

    Working with Melissa Navarro (Catering manager) from the start has been really easy. She's responsive, professional, accommodating, and always has a smile on her face. From the moment we booked Lawry's as our wedding caterer, we knew we were in good hands.

    Throughout the whole planning process, we made multiple changes to our menu, our rentals, and other miscellaneous things. Anything we asked for, Melissa made it happen.... and more importantly, she made it happen within our budget.

    I never worried about the food or the service with Lawry's. Our guests had a wonderful experience at our wedding and it's all thanks to the awesome planning and execution by Melissa! Plus, you KNOW the food is always amazing at Lawry's!!!

    THANK YOU MELISSA & THE REST OF THE LAWRY'S TEAM!

  • J

    Joanna · Married on 09/30/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lawry's Prime Rib is first off, an outstanding restaurant. When guests learn that Lawry's is catering, trust that they will want the prime rib! But in addition to the great food, you get the peace of mind of working with a truly phenomenal staff.
    As a wedding planner, I have worked with both the on-site and off-site staff, and I have to say that their #1 priority is quality service. Melissa is so organized, sweet, easy to work with, and really makes the event go smoothly. The staff is very professional, caring, and efficient. From setup to service to cleanup, I've been continually impressed with how well they work together as a team and how accommodating they are with clients and guests. I continue to recommend Lawry's to my clients for great food and great service!

  • User2604592 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    WOW! This the word you want to use to describe the people that you use for your wedding and that is exactly the word I would use to describe Melissa. She was so helpful in organizing and planning before the wedding and she did such a great job of keeping things moving during the reception. She also kept things moving and reading the energy from the guests to move on to the next thing. I would highly recommend her to any of my friends and love the great service she provided to make my wedding day so stress free.

  • User1695549 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wonderful service & extremely responsive. Good value for the quality and consistency. Melissa Navarro is so easy and wonderful to work with, contact her! Highly recommended!

  • M

    Michelle · Married on 07/07/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Do it! Having Lawry's cater our wedding was one of the best decisions we could have made! At first I thought they were going to be too expensive for our budget, but the value for money is really impressive. They brought the giant carving cart, the spinning salad bowls, they even made the yorkshire pudding on site! Everything was so tasty! The service they provided was exceptional, and many of our guests commented on how wonderful their staff was!
    Melissa Navarro is the greatest! She worked with us from beginning to end to make sure we had everything we needed, and she's always very prompt with her email responses. She's easy to talk to and ask questions, and very very helpful! She made the entire process so easy, we wonder what we would have done without her!
    If you're thinking about having Lawry's cater, DO IT! You won't be disappointed! The food is great, the service was spectacular, and the whole process was painless thanks to Melissa and the entire catering team!

    Thanks Melissa! We've said it before, but we'll say it again... You rock!

  • H

    HILARY · Married on 04/21/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely wonderful. The food and service was excellent! We are still getting compliments on how great the wedding was and how they love the Lawrys party favors! Thank you so much Melissa!!!

  • W

    Joanne · Married on 02/18/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    You can't get any better than Lawry's Catering. Melissa and her team were so easy to work with and very accommodating to our menu suggestions for our wedding reception. Guests were blown away by all the amazing food and personalized wedding cocktails. They were prompt, professional and very easy to work with. I highly recommend Lawry's. Trust me, it will be the best wedding dinner your guests will ever have!!!

  • J

    Jane · Married on 01/21/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    You can't go wrong having Lawry's cater your wedding. Everything was absolutely impeccable from beginning to end! They were incredibly professional, accommodating, and flexible. Most of all the food was SOOO GOOD. All of our guests that we spoke to said it was, hands down, the best food they have ever had at a wedding. Not only was the food delicious, but everything came out piping hot (which is incredibly rare at any wedding, let alone a wedding with 300 guests)! Not only were the guests raving about the entrees but they LOVED the dessert station as well. The station had a wide assortment of desserts, such as creme brulee, Nutella marshmallow mousse, cheesecakes, tarts, mini eclairs, macaroons, just to name a few. Everything was DELICIOUSSS!! There were people at the dessert station constantly; it was definitely a big hit at our wedding!

    More than anything, Lawry's price was simply unbeatable! For the quality of service and food that was offered we would have expected to pay double the amount. Melissa, the catering manager for Lawry's, was so easy to work with. We love her! She answered all of our questions promptly and was always eager to help us out in any way she can. Melissa (and the rest of the Lawry's catering team) definitely exceeded our expectations. We highly recommend Lawry's catering for any event!!

  • A

    Anita · Married on 06/11/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Before we began searching for a wedding venue, we had already made one very important decision: Lawry’s would cater our reception. We had enjoyed so many fine meals at Lawry’s the Prime Rib that for our special day, we wanted to capture the magic of Lawry’s.

    From the minute I spoke with Melissa, the catering manager, I knew that we were in good hands. Melissa provided us with a list of venues where Lawry’s Catering had catered events, and that list guided us to the location that became our reception venue. Melissa rocked - she was responsive, friendly, knowledgeable and just professional. Our venue had numerous restrictions and requirements (for example, we had to rent ovens and other kitchen equipment because the venue did not have a kitchen), and Melissa took them all in stride and worked hard to make sure everything was done properly.

    Having a Lawry’s-catered wedding has so many benefits: (1) a first rate catering team, (2) VIP reward certificates – issued based on the cost of food (which means we are going back to Lawry’s next week with my large extended family to celebrate my grandma’s birthday, courtesy of the certificates we earned from our wedding), (3) presentation, presentation, presentation (from the spinning salad to the impressive cart), (4) BYOB, which saved us money and allowed us to craft our own drink menu, (5) tasty multi-course food tasting – and it was neat to visit Lawry’s when it was closed to the public, (6) tabletop rentals at excellent, below market prices, and of course (7) the delicious food that Lawry’s is known for (including Yorkshire pudding, which was a delightful wedding day surprise for us). My husband still can’t stop raving about the coconut shrimp appetizer - we wished the restaurant served them.

    When we booked Lawry’s Catering for our wedding, we knew the food and service would be phenomenal – and we were right.

  • A

    Alice · Married on 03/05/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Since I was a little girl Lawry's Prime Rib has been the restaurant associated with any special event like birthdays, graduations, anniversaries, but I never would have dreamed that I could have it at my wedding...but my dream came true. From my first phone call with Melissa the Catering Manager, everything seemed to come together so smoothly. I never thought I could afford Lawry's to come out and cater for 200 people, but Melissa knew our budget and helped us work within it to have a real Lawry's experience at our wedding. She was extremely helpful through the whole process even when it didn't have to do with the wedding. She even helped us find our venue which we LOVED! I really cannot say enough good things about Lawry's Catering and Melissa Navarro. Her follow up and responsiveness was always immediate and helpful. Their professionalism was nothing less than exceptional, i wouldn't have expected less from Lawry's. And the value was immeasurable. Food is always such an important aspect of a wedding, and everyone was impressed that we had Lawry's, and everyone said their prime ribs came out promptly and hot, which is hard to do for a party over 200. I would highly recommend them to anyone, and you will be surprised how reasonable the pricing is. We even were able to order personalized Lawry's seasoning salt and pepper shakers in caddies as favors. Lawry's was definitely one of the main highlights of our wedding. I would recommend them over and over again. I'm craving it now just thinking about it.

  • C

    Chris · Married on 05/22/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lawry's catering manager, Melissa Navarro, was incredible. She was unbelievably response and attentive to detail. She truly went above and beyond in helping us to bring our wedding plans together. Lawry's was also surprisingly well priced given their reputation. I would recommend them without hesitation to anyone looking for a caterer.

  • S

    Sylvia · Married on 04/17/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    WONDERFUL, great to work with pre-wedding, during-wedding, and even afterward! Melissa (our Catering Manager) is wonderful - along with managing the catering staff and timeline - she takes on kind of a "coordinator" role as well and makes sure that everything is running smoothly even beyond the food/beverages. Guests gave great feedback, very professional service. Food was great! They went above and beyond and made our wedding a success! Highly recommend this team :)

  • R

    rebekah · Married on 01/15/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It was such a pleasure working with Melissa and her team! I would highly recommend Lawry's for anyone looking for catering services. Not only was the whole team a pleasure to work with, all of our guests loved and enjoyed the food. Everyone kept on saying they couldn't believe we had Lawry's at our wedding!

  • L

    lorencia · Married on 04/02/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This was a once in a lifetime event and we just had to have the best. We hired Lawry's to do the job and they took care of everything like professionals. Their prices were unbeatable and our guests had a fine meal. We even let them have seconds. We were very impressed and we loved their service.

  • G

    Gina · Married on 04/19/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We used this vender for our reception in Las Vegas. From Start to Finish, these people took care of EVERYTHING. We had 30 guests and for just around $3000, everyone had a private room, huge dinner, wedding cake and pleny of champange. I had to book everything over the internet since this was a destination wedding but Donna Egan in their event's dept took care of my every worry. She is the best.

  • C

    Caroline · Married on 07/10/2010

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lawry's has always been one of my favorite restaurants since childhood so it was the only non-Chinese banquet alternative we considered for our wedding. After signing with our venue I contacted Melissa Navarro and set up a tasting. She was very detail oriented and a pleasure to work with. It was important to us that the food quality was just as good as in the restaurant and they made sure that was the case. They had a good selection of hors d'oeuvres and we picked three for our cocktail hour which I believe were prepared on site. Melissa made sure the wedding party could enjoy some hors d'oeuvres in the bridal room too since we all went there immediately following the ceremony. After everyone was seated, the servers did their spinning salad on the dance floor, in the middle of the ballroom. Lawry's was able to bring one silver cart to our venue and had other carving stations set up in order to expedite the process. Even after letting the groom try his hand at cutting some meat (he was so thrilled to wear the medallion too), we found that the service was super efficient. In fact, they finished dinner service way ahead of schedule so the dancing started earlier than expected. They also served the cake for us as part of our package deal. The only thing I would've liked done differently was to have the servers come around to offer the guests wine more than one time (as I mentioned in my venue review). Just a couple days after the wedding, Melissa rewarded us with points for the money we spent with them on our Lawry's VIP card.

  • iheartRon

    iheartRon · Married on 03/07/2009

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0


    My wedding could not have been more successful if it wasn't for your food & service. I'm so glad we chose this caterer for our wedding. My wedding planner highly recommended since all of our family were a crazy meat lovers. Sure it worked!

    Thank you for your exceptional services!

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review