Skip to main content
Weddings

Lakehouse Hotel & Resort Reviews

Lakehouse Hotel & Resort

Lakehouse Hotel & Resort

San Marcos, CA
5.0 out of 5 rating, 25 Reviews
View more information

25 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 99% of couples
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating

Awards

  • 25
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2021 Winner

87 User photos

  • X
    Xochilt Married on 05/14/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Fantastic and Beautiful!

    Gorgeous venue, lovely staff, AMAZING food!!! They made sure everything went perfect on our wedding day!! ❤️ Highly recommend!
  • D
    Diana E. Married on 02/22/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Magical Wedding

    Such a beautiful hotel and venue for my wedding. Everyone had a great time and loved our little hidden gem.
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • L
    Lawrence S. Married on 01/09/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The most beautiful amzazing dream come true!

    The venue was absolutely amazing, the entire staff was so nice! All of our guests kept saying how beautiful everything was and how amazing the food was! We couldn’t have asked for a more beautiful and memorable day!
  • S
    Shanice F. Married on 11/04/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Family was impressed!

    Had our wedding here in November 2021. Everyone was so helpful and kept open communication throughout the whole process. Wedding day went off without a hitch and everyone could not stop talking about the food!
  • Tasia
    Tasia W. Married on 10/10/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Local destination wedding feel

    I got married 10/10/21 at The Lakehouse San Marcos and I could not have dreamed of a better venue. The moment my husband and I found the Lakehouse we were sold. It feels like you are at a destination wedding but it's literally in your backyard. Reminds me of a quaint Maine town.

    I wanted a venue that also had a hotel and this exceeded my expectations. We splurged and got the 2 bedroom cottage and it was so fancy and decadent and comfortable. Just perfect for a wedding and large enough to accommodate family and friends and make-up artists doing the whole wedding party along with all our kids running around lol

    Our family and friends who stayed at the hotel kept saying how they couldn't wait to go back for a weekend getaway and almost all of our guests raved about how beautiful our wedding was! Even the food was delicious! It really was the best day of our lives and I have zero regrets.

    The only thing I would complain about is that we were never walked through how to block off rooms and never offered a discount for our guests hotel rooms or even our hotel room which was a disappointment.
  • B
    Brittany S. Married on 08/21/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wedding at Lakehouse hotel and resort

    10/10! If I had to do our wedding over again I would still choose at the Lakehouse. They were so flexible with things and made sure that we had a memorable night!! Very happy with how it turned out!

    Lakehouse Hotel & Resort's reply:

    Thank you, Brittany! We are so glad you enjoyed our resort! It was such a pleasure being a part of your special day!

    Congratulations!
  • Alexandra
    Alexandra B. Married on 04/18/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful Lakeside Wedding Venue

    My fiancé and I were in search of a new wedding venue when our current venue was not opening due to COVID. We toured Lakehouse and instantly fell in love with the property. Morgan and Irena were amazing to work with, and SO extremely responsive to any and all questions that we had throughout the process. I truly hate to even call this venue our "plan B" because it was just that perfect. We had our ceremony on the Lakeside Lawn and our cocktail hour and reception inside of Amalfi and received compliments the entire day from our guests on how beautiful everything was. Thank you to both the Lakehouse and Amalfi staff for making our wedding dream come true (even during COVID!!) XO
  • A
    Abigail H. Married on 04/10/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Not just an event, but a memory!

    Helping my daughter put together her special day was a fun challenge I will not forget. Irena and Jordan at the Lakehouse Resort made sure that the experience, from start to finish, was as smooth as possible. I am grateful for their patience and hard work!!

    Lakehouse Hotel & Resort's reply:

    Thank you so much Abigail! It was such a pleasure working with you and your daughter to make this such a beautiful day!
  • Caroline
    Caroline L. Married on 08/30/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The perfect getaway resort + wedding venue

    We were scheduled to have our wedding this past April, but like many people on this wedding forum, COVID hit and ruined all of our plans. Thankfully, we were in such great hands with the staff here at the Lakehouse. They have made postponing a wedding in the middle of a pandemic so incredibly easy and seamless! Communicating with Taylor and Jordan has been so wonderful and such a breeze-- they really want to make things easy for you! Taylor goes above and beyond to ensure the happiness of her clients, and her attention to detail is extremely impressive! She takes notes based on your vision (and doesn't skip over one thing) and makes it come to life. She works with your budget and finds areas where we can maximize our budget, and suggests areas where we can cut back. I've enjoy every single moment working with Taylor and couldn't be happier with having her as our venue coordinator/wedding specialist! Morgan on the hotel side has been such a pleasure to work with when it comes to hotel room blocks. She is so incredibly kind and will work with you when it comes to reaching a comfortable number to do a room block. I truly couldn't speak more highly of the staff at the Lakehouse-- they've all been so great to work with.

    In addition, we stayed here early last year and loved our stay. The Lakehouse Hotel & Resort is tucked away on Lake San Marcos and is a beautiful, trendy hotel. The rooms are spacious, bright, and clean, and the vast amount of things to do just at the resort alone is amazing. You can take a boat out on the lake, go paddle boarding or kayaking, take a dip at one of the pools, or go dine at the gorgeous onsite restaurant. It's perfect for a staycation or mini getaway!

    All in all, I am so happy we chose the Lakehouse as our wedding venue. I am praying every day that things start to turn around so that by April of 2021, we can finally enjoy and celebrate our well awaited wedding day. It's definitely been a long journey, but I feel so grateful knowing we are in good hands here at The Lakehouse. The staff is amazing, the grounds are beautiful, and overall this resort provides a wonderful experience for anyone and everyone.
  • Ashlyn
    Ashlyn Married on 02/22/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Dream Wedding!

    Words cannot express how much we love this resort! We had our wedding here on February 22, 2020. We had trouble at first finding the right venue for us until we found the Lakehouse and the rest was a piece of cake! It was beyond amazing thanks to the Sales & Catering team and the rest of the Lakehouse and St. Mark staff!

    We loved working with Taylor and Irena while planning the wedding. They both went above and beyond to make sure everything was perfect and no detail was missed. Taylor sat down with me prior to booking to discuss the best options to make a wedding for close to 100 guests fit in our budget. They made planning on this side so easy and stress free for me! I didn't have to worry about a thing!

    Morgan on the hotel side was amazing to work with too! She checked in with me often in regards to the room block and timeline. Our out of town family and friends were able too book a room at a great rate and they absolutely loved their stay and what the Lakehouse has to offer! We booked a two bedroom cottage the night before the wedding so we could spend extra time with our out of town friends and family and it was so nice. There are fire pits on the front and back porch and we were all able to relax by the fire while enjoying a perfect view of the lake.

    I can't say enough about Nick Didier who is the assistant banquet manager. Nick worked hand-in-hand with our planner, preparing weeks before the day of. He went above and beyond to make our day as special as possible! With rain in the forecast, Nick's expertise came in handy when having to move our ceremony inside. I was nervous as to how everything would turn out but it was beautiful! Throughout the event, Nick was hands-on to make sure him and his staff took great care of us and our guests. We have had so many compliments from our guest about how awesome the entire staff was!

    As you can tell, I have so many good this to say about this place and their staff. If you have been questioning if this is the right place for you, look no further. You will not regret it!
  • Liz
    Liz S. Married on 02/22/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Look no further!!!!

    I am the mother of the bride and was looking for a place to host an entire weekend of events. The Lakehouse and Resort is a one stop shop to create your wedding memories. We NEVER had to get in a car and drive anywhere the entire weekend! All my guests had amazing rooms with views and walking distance to the lake. It also has one of the best bars and restaurants (Amalfi) on the property. Saturday morning guests were able to take a cute boat ride while the rest of my guests enjoyed a golf scramble on one of the TWO golf courses they have on property. That evening we rented the private boathouse for 50 people for the reception dinner with a private patio and beautiful fireplace with views of the lake. What a sunset! The food and drinks were perfect. Sunday morning we gathered the ladies and men in their own cottages to get ready for the 4pm wedding. The cottages are large rooms with a kitchen set up and patio with a fireplace right on the water! With its own refrigerator and micro wave it was easy to bring in drinks and breakfast for getting ready. Also plenty of space for all make up and hair and 8 bridesmaids to dress. When it was time for the ceremony we all walked a short distance to the Pavilion and the lawn area that was all set up so romantically. All the chairs for the ceremony were set up overlooking the beautiful lake. What a wonderful backdrop!!! And the best for your photographer! The reception was wonderful with views of the lake. The Pavilion was all decorated and a comfortable place for the dinner party. When the party was over at 10pm we then rented the Grill (a short walk) for the "after party" from 10 to 1am. It was amazing!!! Seriously the entire weekend was "on property" and no one had to drive but could truly enjoy every moment and not have to worry about drinking and driving. Safety was a main concern and this was a no brainer! To sum this up, everything was truly remarkable...from the food, service, communication with the wedding planner (Nicole) the hotel staff, suggestions on wedding vendors (Holly), and the fact that the Lakehouse and Resort can provide an entire weekend experience was such a plus in every way. I would HIGHLY suggest you JUMP at the chance to have your wedding at this beautiful location. They know how to throw a wedding party!
  • Heather
    Heather R. Married on 01/11/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A True Hidden Gem

    The minute my husband & I stepped on this property, we knew it was our wedding venue. The lake, lawn, restaurant and hotel property sell themselves. It is a view that will make your jaw drop! When it came to planning our day, we truly felt taken care of by the Lakehouse team. They ensured constant communication, detail follow ups, and many warm greetings. On the day of our wedding, we stunned... The level of service, the friendly atmosphere, the execution of our big day, it was all just PERFECT! Our guests loved all of the things to do on property and were so excited for their "staycation". I am so in love with this venue and so grateful for the staff. Thank you for making our dreams come true!
  • M
    Mary R. Married on 12/28/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Exactly what I hoped for - it was perfect

    Working with Irena and the staff at the Lakehouse was like working with friends. They were gracious and warm. Irena was so responsive along with her team. We got married on the island which was so fun and special. The day was beautiful, nothing went wrong including getting all the guest on the island on party boats and my husband and I being wisked away on a Gondolla. The best part was our guests reaction, everyone said they had a great time at a beautiful location.
  • Mandy
    Mandy R. Married on 12/07/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    I'm a preferred vendor (DJ) at Lakehouse Hotel and I just LOVE working with all of their staff!

    I'm a preferred vendor (DJ) at Lakehouse Hotel and I just LOVE working with all of their staff! Always responsive and professional. Plus their property offers so many different venue sites there is something for everyone no matter your style or taste! Beautiful property & views! Photos are from a wedding I DJ'ed in July 2019. Photos by True Photography.
  • T
    Teresa Married on 08/10/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    T&A Wedding

    Taylor was our venue coordinator. She was very responsive to all of my questions. The only issue we had was the communication to the bartender. Our guests should not have had a cash bar once we hit our F&B Minimum. Once we told our day of coordinator, the issue was resolved immediately.
  • Cortney
    Cortney Married on 06/08/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing place!

    Lakehouse Resort hosted our rehearsal dinner at Decoy Restaurant for 52 people and a Welcome Celebration at DockBar downstairs for 160 people and it was absolutely incredible. It was affordable, the food was delicious and it is safe to say that our guests had an amazing time the night before the wedding. Definitely look into this resort! Our guests loved staying in the rooms here and the 2 two bedroom cottages we rented were an absolute dream.
  • Carrie
    Carrie Married on 05/25/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Up & Coming

    We had our reception at the Pavilion, which is lakeside. The view was the selling point for us! There's a large grassy area for lawn games, with outdoor and indoor market lights. There's also a huge parking lot for guests.
    Overall, the Lake House was easy to work with. Both Taylor and Ashley were quick to respond to our calls and emails. You can put your trust in them. The tasting was delicious too!
    If you're looking at the Lake House, get your dates finalized and inquire ASAP. This is going to be a hot spot in the near future for weddings!
  • K
    Kristin K. Married on 02/17/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great venue! Amazing staff! Highly recommend for your wedding and events!

    I am an event planner/coordinator and I LOVE doing events at the Lakehouse venues! Their entire team startng with sales, all the way down to every member of their banquet team work incredibly hard to make sure your event is executed flawlessly! If you’re looking for an event venue, make sure you check out Lakehouse!!
  • A
    Andrea A. Married on 01/06/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Top views and top service at a top-notch venue!

    As a planner in the San Diego area, we have the chance to work with a number of venues across SD County. Between the sweeping lake views, four different ceremony sites and reception spaces to consider, the Lakehouse is a special place. I always tell my clients who have found the venue, "You have found a special place." Nestled in San Marcos, you would never realize the size of the lake and property available to you at the Lakehouse. Everyone from the sales team to the bussers who will be clearing your cake plates love the property and love their jobs. That makes a big difference and it comes through in how the day is orchestrated! We're big fans of an island or South Lawn ceremony, followed by a reception at the amazing Decoy Restaurant! Leave it to the Lakehouse to support your amazing wedding day!
  • A
    Amanda Married on 03/17/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Let me start by saying that we are long time fans of the Lake House, we have stayed here 2-3 times for a variety of reasons so when we started to look at wedding venues, the LakeHouse was a no brainer. The property and the staff are all unbelievable. From start to finish they made sure that our wedding experience was going to be the best day of our lives and it was beyond that. We got married in the Garden Court which has a beautiful arbor, then our reception was in the Fairway and Terrace room and our after party, when they shut down the whole facility just for our wedding guests, was at the Grill and it was nothing short of a fairy tale. We worked closely with Erin B., Taylor S. and Katrina W. organizing the venue, the rooms, and all of the details, the many many many details that went into planning this phenomenal event. We always felt like we were being taken care of and that our wedding was their #1 priority, even though they had many other weddings to plan. We rented ALL 6 cottages (which I highly recommend because they are beautiful 1-2 bedroom modern villas that sit on the lake, with 2 fire pits, a full fridge, and 1-2 showers-they are highly under-photographed on the website-but they are amazing). We put the bridesmaids in 2, the groomsmen in 2 and our parents in 2. It was perfect! On the day of our wedding I felt like everyone showed up they were professional, organized, and catered to our every need, Nicole, the banquet manager helped make our rehearsal dinner that we had at the newly remodeled Boat House flawless.In addition to that, she not only helped ease my nerves as I got ready to walk down the aisle, she made all my requests seem like I asked for a glass of water. For example, since our bar was located outside, the dance floor felt empty (many people told me this was all in my head after wards lol). I asked her if she could move the bar inside, and even though there was only about 1.5 hours left in our reception, her and the bar staff moved the en
  • Katie
    Katie Married on 11/06/2021
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great Experience!

    One thing that was really important to us was having a venue where the hotel accommodations were nearby so that our guests could party all night and not have to worry about transportation. Lakehouse fit the bill! Most of our friends and family travelled from out of town, so Lakehouse Resort was the perfect mini-vacation. The resort has a lot of activities that guests can do while they stay there for the weekend.

    As far as wedding coordination, the staff was amazing--incredibly responsive and accommodating to our requests. I appreciated all their work especially when we had to change dates due to COVID. Also, I was impressed by the catering staff at the wedding; they always made sure we had food and a drink in hand during the reception. Highly recommend Lakehouse if you are wanting a mini-getaway for you and your guests!
  • Jen
    Jen Married on 09/08/2018
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Everything I could have wanted

    The wedding coordinator, Taylor and her team made everything happen for me. Down to where I wanted it, when and what.
    The landscape team did a great job cleaning up outside and made sure everything looked great. The catering team was able to accommodate the vegans at the wedding and my father who can not have over 1,200g in sodium in a day.
    Taylor also always made sure to get back to me within 12 hours which was very helpful in decision making.
    Over all everything was absolutely the way we wanted it and I couldn’t have been more happy.
  • J
    Joan Married on 04/07/2018
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Not one thing was missing! Great setting, the absolute best staff possible for the wedding. Several thoughtful surprises for us and the catered food was terrific. At times a bit difficult to reach beforehand, but once a guest they are wonderful!
  • Brooke
    Brooke C. Married on 08/21/2021
    4.4 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Hidden Gem with a lot of potential!

    I want to start by saying my Wedding day was absolutely PERFECT and that the Lakehouse went above and beyond the week of my wedding to facilitate a last minute change from inside to outdoors so that my sister would feel comfortable attending the wedding due to her sick son with cancer.


    They did charge me an arm and a leg for the last minute change which was frustrating but I wanted my sister there so I didn’t ask any questions and just sucked up the extra $6k+ they wanted for us to move it on the lawn that was closed off for our wedding anyways even without the change. They also didn’t hold up to their promises of an outdoor dance floor and two bars during my wedding even though I paid for both. The dance floor was honestly hideous and I paid quite a bit of money to “upgrade” it.
    The staff on the day-of was incredibly helpful, attentive and the food was awesome. However, as a bride who heavily relied on the referrals and reviews of past bride’s I think it’s important to touch on some of the issues that I experienced throughout planning and leading up to the wedding day. 


    I am very understanding that the wedding industry (especially in CA) has been heavily affected by covid, however as a bride I chose to book 100% professional venues and vendors to ensure that issues, no matter what they may be, would be handled without me having to carry the brunt of the chaos. I understand that a pandemic is something no one was ready for but I found the lack of consistency, pricing not being reflective of the contract we signed, and high turnover, issues that no bride expects to have to deal with to the extent of which I dealt with leading up to the wedding day.


    I like to think that if the pandemic hadn’t hit we wouldn’t have dealt with all the planning drama so, take this review in stride with the current climate… just maybe ask a few more questions and be sure to review your contract thoroughly and OFTEN. Compare your BEO to your initial contract before you sign to make sure it is accurate as mine was CONSTANTLY messed up and inaccurate. We had to have the BEO edited several times.


    We did not get to taste any food “due to COVID” prior to the wedding and that was a huge bummer because I always had looked forward to that experience for my wedding day. We spent A LOT of money on food at the Lakehouse so it is very crazy to me that they couldn’t have accommodated a food tasting for us. Luckily we stuck to the basics of a beef and a chicken entree and everyone ended up raving over the food! Seriously people still talk about the steak and how it wasn’t the “typical wedding food” that doesn’t normally taste the greatest.


    When one of the planners was let go I was not made aware she was gone until I tried calling her on her cell and had to learn for myself from the former employee as the venue did not communicate that with me. Very frustrating and stressful as it was just months prior to my wedding. I am very particular on who I work with so this definitely gave me a bad taste in my mouth for the new person.


    All of this to be said, I was made aware in my last few months of planning that the property was under new management and I am hopeful for other couples that they will hopefully have these issues figured out over the next few months.


    It was very nice having a majority of our friends and family both who traveled far and near get to stay on one property close together the weekend of the wedding. It was so convenient and so much fun! I don’t like asking for freebies BUT it was interesting to me that we had over 40 rooms booked that weekend and I still had to pay full price for my room. Pretty uncommon even at very expensive resorts but I had to rent the expensive cottages because there was no bridal suite on property.


    Ultimately my wedding day went off without any issues (mainly because of my day-of coordinator I hired) and like I said the venue day-of staff was incredibly attentive and kind to all of our guests. Which we are very grateful for. The Lakehouse is truly a hidden gem and has so much potential.

    Lakehouse Hotel & Resort's reply:

    Hi Brooke!

    Thank you for your feedback, we take these reviews very seriously and would love the opportunity to address your concerns.

    We do apologize for the frustration regarding additional costs for moving your wedding reception outside. As you already know, changing the diagram and all details the week of your wedding was no easy feat, but we happily adjusted all details to accommodate your nephew’s cancer needs! The outdoor dance floor and additional market lights needed were brought in by an outside vendor as those items are not owned in-house. If they were in-house items, we would have been able to reduce the cost. Our deepest apologies if you felt we were profiting off this switch in venue.

    A Banquet Event Order (BEO) is a working document for both the client and Lakehouse to add to, make edits, and finalize all the way up to your wedding date. We are absolutely open to hearing your thoughts on how that process was like for you as you reviewed your BEO throughout the wedding process to ensure all your requested items were listed on that document accurately. We do always hope to improve and your feedback on this is very valuable!

    Food tastings were temporarily unavailable due to staff shortages and many other factors that have greatly impacted our industry; however, we did provide you with a gift card to use at The Grill and we were under the impression that that solution was acceptable, apologies that it was not. The same Chef that prepares food at The Grill also prepared all the food for your wedding. During a worldwide pandemic, we always want to provide a solution for our couples and your response to the gift card was interpreted in a positive way.

    We absolutely do not want our brides to feel frustrated during the wedding planning process as we pride ourselves on customer service and transparency. We had not let you know about your previous Wedding Sales Managers departure as you had already been assigned to and introduced to the new Wedding Specialist/ Venue Planner. She was your new contact and the previous one would not have been at your wedding; we were unaware you had a texting friendship with her and do apologize for the fact that you had found out through her by text message.

    Please let us know a good time and date to connect and we would be happy to discuss this further. And thank you for posting on Instagram as much as you do! Our Marketing department shares your posts as we love to see our previous couples so happy and re-visiting when they can. Also happy that you enjoyed your wedding day so much. Your group was great, and we enjoyed planning with you. Thank you for your 4 star review and all the congratulations for the happiest of marriages!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message