La Venta Inn Reviews

85 | Palos Verdes Peninsula, CA
See photos, pricing and details

85 Reviews for La Venta Inn

Recommended by 95%

85
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2009 Winner

4.7 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.8
  • Flexibility 4.7
  • Value 4.6
  • Average response time 4.7
85 La Venta Inn Reviews
Sort by:
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 01/19/2018

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We could not have asked for a more magical venue. Our wedding celebration will go down in history as a Fairytale ending. The La Venta Inn was not only beautiful but the entire staff were incredible to work with; especially since we live out of state. They coordinated with our parents and together created one of the best days of our lives. We highly recommend the La Venta Inn for any event - especially your wedding.

  • C

    Chelsey · Married on 08/11/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you want to have the wedding of your dreams, have it at La Venta Inn.

    I cannot tell you how many guests told me our wedding was the most beautiful they had ever been to AND the best food they had ever had at a wedding.

    A lot of the success I attribute to our coordinator, Mike. He made the entire process a breeze. He was always so accommodating and just made the planning process so fun for us. He was always there to answer any question we had. Even my bridesmaids and guests were making comments about how impressed they were with him at the wedding. He is the best.

    We had our wedding on a Friday to save some money. After I toured the property, I was obsessed. I couldn't stop thinking about the view, so every other venue fell short. But, a Saturday wedding was out of our budget. However, La Venta makes it possible by having cheaper rates on other days. This place is booked during the summer all week it seems. When I came to drop off our decor on a Tuesday, they were having a wedding that night! So apparently others feel the same as me, any night is a perfect night for a wedding at La Venta.

    For the food, we opted for stations with the NY Strip, mahi mahi, and a pig roast! The guests loved the roast and I think it made for a memorable part in our wedding. All the food was incredible.

    La Venta is a very special venue in LA. Look no further if you are interested in La Venta!

  • Monica

    Monica · Married on 08/05/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Oh La Venta.... I have so many great things to say about our experience here over the last year - we just got married last weekend. First, Charla was our coordinator and I wish I could write a novel about how much I love this woman. I inquired online, she was prompt in her response and we were able to swing by the venue to check it out on very short notice (I was early for an appointment at Terranea) so we swung by as it was on our way. The second we pulled into La Venta, I knew we would have to get married there... and so the planning began. Charla, from start to finish has been the most amazing coordinator, organizer, relaxer, & now, friend. We did our engagement shots here too, since we couldn't think of a better place to capture some love! At our wedding, we had about 100 people, three food stations, DJ, photographer, videographer, and photo booth. Charla made it ALL HAPPEN so easily and I literally experienced ZERO stress the week leading up to the day and the day of. Everything went smoothly (as smoothly as possible, everyone knows small things can go wrong), our photos, signs, favors, decorations were all preserved and packed up waiting for us when we came back to pick them up. Charla was accommodating & efficient and we all could tell how much she wanted our day to go just right. All of our guests have said how beautiful the venue was, they complimented the food, the bartenders (shout out Carla!), the chefs, everything. I couldn't imagine our wedding anywhere else.
    Notes: You get the whole grounds to yourself the whole evening. Uber private and so much more intimate.
    Two bathrooms for guests in the hallway behind the fireplace
    Your event must be over at 10pm - it's ok. We bought an extra hour and turned the music down a bit because you're in a re

  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 07/02/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We are sooo happy we selected La Venta Inn for our special day. Mike was a super star and catered to all of my special requests. So accommodating and helpful, Mike helped us create the day of our dreams. Thank you Mike!

    La Venta Inn 1
    La Venta Inn 2
    La Venta Inn 3
    La Venta Inn 4
    La Venta Inn 5
    La Venta Inn 6
    La Venta Inn 7
    La Venta Inn 8
    La Venta Inn 9
  • N

    Nicki · Married on 04/21/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Choosing La Venta as our venue was the best decision we ever made. From the moment we signed the contract everything was taken care of. The team, led by Mike, who has this amazing calm demeanor, really help you throughout the entire process. It was the most enjoyable process, stress free, fun, and the day of was absolutely spectacular. I didn't have to worry or think about anything because Mike and his team were already ahead of me. The venue is beautiful, the quality of the food is outstanding and I would do it all again in a heart beat.

  • L

    Life · Married on 05/29/2016

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    La Venta Inn is one of the most romantic wedding locations in Los Angeles.

    Life.Film have been working at his venue several times and we always were just amazed by the view and architecture.
    The area for the ceremony is just breathtaking- you could see all Los Angels from out there. For us as photographers and videographers we found millions of cute places for the photo session. The garden is full with flowers and green arches.
    The venue allows to use a drone camera and of course we get just the best footage from there.

    Furthermore the event manager is very thoughtful! We never had any problems with any of ours requests.

    Highly recommended! Can’t wait to work there again!

    http://life.film/wedding/

  • M

    mary · Married on 01/13/2016

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This is a great reception venue.

  • L

    Lauren · Married on 08/08/2015

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    La Venta has one of the best view's in Southern California. The service, food and professionalism of the staff was beyond great.

  • D

    Denise · Married on 06/26/2015

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I remember early last year, my husband and I were scouring South California to find a wedding venue we would fall in love with. After several days and places, we found The One.

    La Venta Inn took our breath away. It is more than just a beautiful venue. The history and structure of the place, the surroundings, the view and the staff that took care of us were all so inviting. We felt the intimacy, joy and warmth that all the couples who got married there must have felt. It is such a gorgeous place! That same day we set foot in it was the day we decided to have our wedding there.

    Throughout the course of our wedding preparation, wedding day itself and after the wedding, La Venta did not disappoint. Our wedding coordinator Leslie was a savior! She is very very efficient at what she does! She made sure everything was prepared.. From the guests list, food and drinks, other vendors, ceremony line-up, to the cake design, centerpieces, etc.. She was on top of it! She made sure my husband and I had our private moment right after the ceremony. She had food and champagne ready for us and made sure we wouldn't get hungry and that we would be able to taste all our yummy food! She helped bustle my complicated dress. She made sure that the event flow was nice and smooth, and it was! All our guests said there was never a dull moment at our wedding. The day after the wedding, she had all the items left behind packed up so that they were ready for us to pick them up. I LOVE HER!

    La Venta Inn does not need a lot of decoration anymore. As it is, there is already so much character and beauty that our photos turned out so picturesque. And the view, oh the view! Even the highest quality pictures and videos can't give it justice.

    We are in love with this place and would get our vow renewal done here again in a heartbeat! I highly recommend it to those couples looking for that special special wedding venue they will never forget.

  • User3854653 · 2+ years ago

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We cannot recommend La Venta highly enough! It is unlike any other place. I saw that someone compared it to Monte Carlo and that is the perfect description! Every square inch is perfectly cared for...the flowers are amazing.....sort of "elegant cottage" --varied, colorful and abundant. The staff was welcoming every time we wanted to visit before our big day. We were assigned Leslie as our coordinator and she was totally dedicated to our complete happiness. She kept track of every detail and cheerfully kept our very large and talkative wedding party and families close to the schedule. She worked with our vendors to be sure every part of the wedding went just as we wanted. Finally, the food, prepared by NYC Food Company was fantastic! Many people commented on how great the stations were. We are thrilled with the result! The view is the best anywhere and the lovely grounds and the pretty architecture created many unique photo opportunities. The flower-lined path from the Bride's private cottage to the ceremony has to be the most picturesque ever!

  • T

    Tracy · Married on 08/16/2014

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Every guest was taken aback by the breathtaking view of the ocean and the gorgeous, romantic setting of this venue. We made the perfect choice when we selected this location over all the others in the area. The staff was amazing and everything went super smoothly! Our guests are still talking about our wedding! Thank you La Venta for everything from the perfect location to the delicious food! We all loved it!

  • D

    Dawn · Married on 07/03/2014

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    La Venta Inn made my wedding one of the best days of my life.
    The staff is great and you won't find a better venue

    Sent on 07/11/2014

    La Venta Inn's reply:

    Thank you, Dawn!
  • E

    Eric and Lisa · Married on 11/09/2013

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I, quite simply, can't recommend La Venta Inn enough. Everything they do is all about class. It's a phenomenal venue with a view to die for. It's just the right size with plenty of outdoor space, but with an intimate dance floor and dining room. We loved the history of the place, but that view... it's all about that view!

    But the staff, the food and the organization together makes it a package that can't be beat. We had such a phenomenal time at our wedding and our coordinator, Leslie, was fantastic to work with. She made sure everything was set up correctly, ran like a well-oiled machine... AND... she made sure we were taken care of. We adore her.

    The food was delicious! Truly. They took dishes I'd had before and put a twist on them that made me feel I'd had them for the first time. From the appetizers to the desserts... every bite was delicious... and the service from the staff top notch.

    We just really appreciated knowing everything was going to be taken care of. We both have a great deal of respect and admiration for how La Venta takes care of it's guests... they sure took care of us. ;-)

    We look forward to stopping back there and enjoying the view again on our 1st Anniversary. Thank you so very much to everyone at La Venta Inn...

    Lisa and Eric

  • H

    Heather · Married on 11/08/2013

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Loved this venue!! Was married in November with perfect weather, perfect setting and perfect food!! Couldn't have asked for more, most breathtaking views of the city and ocean. Grew up here my whole life and only dreamed of being married here. The staff and wedding coordinator (Tim Kennedy) really set the bar for other venues in the area! Amazing. Thanks again for a memorable wedding night!!

  • User3704107 · 2+ years ago

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    How do I begin to explain La Venta Inn..........
    My husband and I are from Australia. We decided that we wanted a wedding abroad and we picked California as our destination. We decided to give everyone two years notice to save.By organising a wedding outside of Australia, I knew I had a lot of research to do. My Husband and I came across La Venta Inn on the internet and read all the reviews and finally got in contact with Tim Kennedy. I thought that it would be a nightmare trying to arrange a wedding from another country. Tim was very quick to get back to my emails which made my husband and I feel that our wedding was just as important as anyone else's. With emails going back and forward for months, we decided to come for a trip over before the wedding to check all the vendors out.
    From the moment we walked into La Venta Inn, we felt like we were in a dream. We had not seen anything like this before. The breath taking view and spectacular Spanish villa was Amazing.... I repeat AMAZING :-)
    Everyone at La Venta Inn was so nice, organised and accommodating.
    We were assigned Tim Kennedy as our wedding co-ordinator. Tim was always organised and helped us when decisions needed to be made. On the day of the wedding Tim, was always by our side to make sure everything ran smoothly.
    We are so glad we had the opportunity to have Tim Kennedy as our wedding co-ordinator and to have our reception at La Venta Inn. We had just over 20 people come from Australia and the United Kingdom and we have had comments from all of them saying how lovely the staff are at La Venta and how beautiful La Venta Inn is and it is nothing like they have ever seen before.
    To all you future brides out there considering La Venta Inn, you will not be disappointed with La Venta Inn, you are so lucky to have a venue as beautiful as this in your country. May your wedding be as breathtaking as ours was.
    Thankyou to everyone at La Venta Inn, New York Food Company and Tim Kennedy.
    From MR & MRS TUDOR

  • Diana

    Diana · Married on 05/18/2013

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had my wedding at La Venta Inn, in May 2013. Everything about the event was absolutely perfect! The weather was amazing and allowed us to have a beautiful outdoor ceremony. Our coordinator Tim Kennedy ran our wedding so smoothly, it was like a dream. The food (by New York Food Company) and cake were delicious!!! My groom and I made sure we took our time to enjoy all of it and we did, we were able to have a taste of everything served. Mostly due to Tim bringing us appetizers while we got away from the party in the bridal cottage after the ceremony while our guests were enjoying cocktail hour. He really made sure we were taken care of and fed. Our DJ rocked the party ‘till 11 PM and we had no issues with the noise restrictions at La Venta due to the surrounding residential area. So many of our guests are gushing over how beautiful our venue was and how much fun they had at our wedding. I've had a few people tell us that we should get married all over again and again 'cause they want to relive the day. I hope that I am lucky enough to attend a wedding at La Venta Inn as a guest in the future or else I might not be able to resist attending any (and every) bridal show hosted there. LOL It is just so perfect!

    The only words of caution I have to give (and this could happen anywhere, so I am not in any way blaming La Venta Inn) is to make sure to have your coordinator either lock the room where your gifts will be stored or better yet assign someone from your wedding party to immediately put them away in a vehicle after guests have arrived and deposited them on your gift table. We found out the day after our wedding that our envelopes (monetary gifts) went missing the night of our event and I had done neither of the above suggestions. It is a shame that this happened but there is no way it could put a damper on our wedding because everything else was so magical and perfect that we did not allow it to ruin our day.

  • User3274277 · 2+ years ago

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    La Venta was the perfect spot for my dream wedding! The entire process with La Venta was so easy and they were so accommodating to all of our requests. Mike Halish was our coordinator and he made every vision I had come true and was a true professional. I loved that we had the entire venue to ourselves, verses having a wedding at a hotel which is open to the public. The food was amazing and almost all of our guests told us we had the best wedding food they had ever had. I also loved that the ballroom/dance floor is separate from the dining room. It allowed people to get out of their seats and explore the property instead of just sitting at their table the entire night. We added the "late night bites" option of fresh baked cookies and milk shakes which was a total hit. Mike and the entire La Venta team were amazing and I would highly recommend having your wedding there! They are the best!!

  • A

    Amanda · Married on 09/07/2012

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding ceremony and reception at La Venta Inn was more than a dream come true! All of our guests told us that the evening was like a real-life fairytale wedding! The spectacular view of the pacific ocean and coast from the ceremony site at La Venta is absolutely breathtaking. We had guests from all over the country fly in for our destination wedding. Everyone's jaw dropped the second that they saw the view. My husband and I had the same experience the first time that we visited La Venta. I stumbled across this venue while I was searching for the perfect "Southern California Wedding Beach Location". My husband and I flew to So. Cal for a weekend to look at the venues that we had found. La Venta Inn blew the other venues out of the water! The moment that we stepped on to the property- we knew that this was THE PLACE. Not only is the venue picture perfect, but the entire staff at La Venta Inn and New York Food Company was absolutely incredible to work with. Kelly was the first staff member that we met with when we decided on the venue. She was so sweet and very helpful. Mike was our wedding coordinator for the entire event. Mike was an absolute pleasure to work with. I always thought that planning a destination wedding was going to be stressful and complicated. Mike and the rest of the La Venta staff made the whole planning process a breeze! It was shocking how easy it was to plan every little detail with Mike's help and experience to bring all of the ideas to life. The food and cake made by NYFC were so delicious! Mike suggested that we have tray passed mini milkshakes and mini french fries with Ketchup toward the end of the evening. What a great idea! Our guests loved this!!! I could write a novel about all of the amazing experiences we had with La Venta. This place is worth every single penny!
    Thank you, everyone at La Venta, for making our wedding day a DREAM COME TURE!
    ~Amanda & Joe

  • Mia

    Mia · Married on 06/15/2012

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I started looking for venues early on in the wedding process and it was difficult to find a place that was both beautiful and affordable until I found La Venta Inn.

    To be honest the photos online, on Yelp don't really do it justice. It is definitely a venue you HAVE TO GO SEE. I happened to go in early Fall and the view was absolutely breathtaking driving in. Since Day 1, the staff have been so accommodating and friendly. Though everyone at La Venta Inn (or from the ones I've met) were extremely qualified, I took the advice of everyone here on Yelp and specifically asked for Tim. You are actually assigned to a coordinator, but you can request it and I stopped at nothing to get TIm. I called and emailed and I was had the privilege of working with him. It was an added bonus that his daughter's name was Mia too :)

    Working with Tim was such a breeze. I am not going to lie, having two extremely organized people working together (Tim and myself) I think it was made the process so easy. He was prompt with his responses to my questions and always made sure to reassure me that everything would work out. When we had our 3-4 hour meetings, I would throw out so many ideas and he would have comments for every single one (without fail) which helped me make my decisions rather quickly.

    The food choices are absolutely amazing. The chef there works with you to create your perfect menu.

    I will leave this review with three things:

    1) Choosing WHEN to have your wedding at this venue is important. Mine was the beginning of summer and because of the weird weather we have been having, I thought it was going to be hot, but it was moderate and a little windy...not what I expected. Still a breathtaking view though...For some reason the sky was clearer during the fall and winter months than summer..so something to think about.

    2) Choosing the RIGHT coordinator for you. I had met with someone else and corresponded with her several times, but speaking to Tim on the phone twice and the reviews he received on YELP and Wedding Wire just did it for me. I never met him, but I just had to have him!

    3) Size of Venue: This is definitely a venue for more intimate gatherings and I ended up having about 110 people attend and it was perfect. This venue accommodates more than that, but any more and I feel it would be a little cramped.

    So, there you go future brides! Have your wedding at La Venta Inn, you won't regret it.

  • User1734747 · 2+ years ago

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I recommend this venue to everyone - you are truly getting what you pay for and an experience that will last a life time!

  • E

    Elena · Married on 11/05/2011

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It was a very beautiful venue! All my guests had a great time, and they really really like the food. The servers were very professional and helpful. My guests told me this is one of the most beautiful weddings they been to!

  • T

    Takara · Married on 09/03/2011

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The place was lovely, slightly on the pricey side but was great, staff was friendly and views were amazing.

  • Erin

    Erin · Married on 06/30/2011

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The experience at La Venta Inn was excellent from pre-wedding planning, the service, the food, to of course, the view. We live in Florida and had to do everything by e-mail and phone, La Venta's coordinator Mike helped us a lot and made everything easier.
    On the day of the wedding, they had everything set up and ready and there's literally no stress. The service at the reception was exceptional; like any couples, we were so busy with photo taking and things, but every time when we come back to our sweetheart table, our waiter would come and ask if we would like anything to drink.
    I didn't think my wedding day can be so stress-free, but La Venta really made that happened.
    and Of course, the view was fantastic!!! even now, my guests still tell me how much they enjoyed the view , the service, and the food at our wedding.
    Yes, it can be a little pricey ( depends on the menu service you choose), but I think for the service you get, it is worth it.
    I have a small wedding of 50 people, so it worked out great. The place is not huge, so if you have more than 100 people, it might get a little crowded. But they say they can fit up to 120 I think ( check on that.)
    I would definitely recommend La Venta Inn for weddings.

  • Pia

    Pia · Married on 06/30/2011

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great Locatoin. I loved to be there.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review