Skip to main content
Weddings

La Valencia Hotel Reviews

La Valencia Hotel View more information

42 Reviews

Rated
4.6
out of 5.0
Recommended by 92% of couples
  • Quality of service
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.6 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.6 out of 5 rating

Awards

42
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner

39 User photos

  • Cristina
    Cristina B. Married on 09/17/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Ah-mazing!

    The iconic location alone is enough to draw you in - right next to the ocean, in the heart of La Jolla with those stunning views and so much to do in the area. We had lots of friends & family coming in from afar, so having a place to stay with lots to do nearby was key for us. We fell in love at first sight on our tour with Bobby in 2021. He & Isabella have been nothing short of amazing all throughout the process! We had a family dinner the night before the big day at The Med, which was so convenient & the food was just perfect! One thing about weddings - the food is NEVER good, but all the food at La V was absolutely incredible - everyone raved about it! “The best steak I’ve ever had” was a common one, along with “That cauliflower steak was amazing!”. When we checked in, we had two proseco’s & some fruits with a handwritten card letting us know to reach out for anything we might need during our stay. After our ceremony, Bobby took us to the best spot for ocean wedding photos! At the end of our wedding night, we even had a bottle of champagne in our room with a congratulations box of Sugarfina candies nearby and another hand written card of congratulations. We enjoyed that bottle the following day by the pool with some friends. So on top of the amazing location, the convenience of having a wedding at a hotel, the beautiful views, incredible ceremony & reception, and delicious food & drinks, we were truly treated like royalty. There are just so many perks to having a wedding here - we can even come back to celebrate our anniversaries, and plan to do so!! We would play that whole weekend on repeat if we could!!

    La Valencia Hotel's reply:

    Thank you so much for the wonderful review. It was an absolute pleasure to play a small part on such a beautiful occasion. The two of you Rock! please don't be strangers. You are now part of our La Valencia Family and history.

    Bobby
  • Blair
    Blair B. Married on 03/11/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A little slice of heaven in San Diego

    Our wedding at La Valencia was everything we could have ever dreamed of thanks to Bobby Fader and the excellent + attentive staff at the Pink Lady- Ian, Jenny and Olivia- to name a few!!

    We planned our wedding from across the country and Bobby made sure we were comfortable every step of the way; he was always incredibly quick to reply to any & all of our requests (even a pretty big last minute request) with a smile on his face.

    Our guests couldn't stop raving about the food served & the presentation in addition to the speed with which all guests were able to eat (super rare at a 100+ person wedding) and most importantly, guests never waited in line for a drink!

    Our only wish is that we could relive this amazing weekend, only to work with Bobby and the amazing staff at this amazing venue again! We cannot wait to go back to the Pink Lady for many years to come :)
    Highly recommend La Valencia for any San Diego bride!

    La Valencia Hotel's reply:

    thank you for the awesome review. It was wonderful working with and getting to know the both of you. Don't be a stranger:)
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • Emily
    Emily Married on 06/01/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A day we will never forget

    From the minute we toured La V during our venue search, to our check-out as a newly married couple a year and a half later, the experience of having our wedding at La V was the best we could have ever asked for. Their professionalism is unparalleled, the food is phenomenal, the location is so gorgeous and photogenic (even during "June gloom" weddings in San Diego!), the getting ready rooms are comfortable and perfect. Everything from top to bottom was amazing. La V is the premiere wedding venue for out-of-town guests and destination weddings in San Diego -- hands down. None of our guests wanted it to end!
  • Daniel
    Daniel J. Married on 09/20/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Hermosura and Jones Wedding 9-20-19

    This place is ridiculous to begin with but I cannot even begin to say how great our wedding was at La Valencia. Highly recommend this venue for anyone's special day. The complimentary room and get ready rooms were perfect. The ceremony and reception locations blew everyone away. The food was amazing at the tasting and surpassed expectations at the ceremony. Lastly, special thanks to Tisha and Bobby, not only for their work on our wedding but for doing right by us.

    La Valencia Hotel's reply:

    Thank you Daniel and Joan, It was a pleasure meeting and working with both of you. We are thrilled that you were thrilled! Please don't be strangers.

    Bobby and Tisha
  • Bridget
    Bridget Married on 12/31/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great Service: Fabulous Views

    We worked with Tisha a La Valencia to bring a bride's wedding vision to life. Tisha was beyond amazing to work with. The hotel was undergoing some updates during the year that we assisted our bride in planning her wedding and Tisha went above and beyond to ensure the wedding not only met, but exceeded the bride and groom's vision. Throughout the weekend, the hotel's service was impeccable - they were attentive to the bride and groom's needs. Thank you Tisha for such a great experience!

    La Valencia Hotel's reply:

    Thank you so much. We are thrilled that you had a wonderful experience at La V. Please say hi the next time you are in. It was great working with you.
  • Shane
    Shane C. Married on 11/21/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wedded Bliss at La Valencia!

    My wife and I had the privilege of being married at the La Valencia Hotel on November 21, 2018. This venue for our marriage was perfect!

    The hotel is beautiful with gorgeous views of the picturesque La Jolla Cove as well as plush landscaping everywhere.

    The food was outstanding from the freshly prepared green salad to the flavorful carne asada and delicious churros.

    All the staff from the valet attendants to the bartender (no one ever waited for a drink) treated us like VIP’s and were polished and professional but most importantly very friendly and helpful!

    All of our guests were “ooohing and ahhhing” nonstop from the moment they entered the hotel lobby, throughout the ceremony in the Jardin and the cocktail hour and reception in the Veranda Ballroom.

    Our wedding coordinator Cathy handled everything perfectly, paying attention to every little detail and saw to it that our ceremony and reception were flawless. Our wedding was completely stress free because of her and we could not thank her more!

    La Valencia was the perfect place for our very special day and I see us celebrating many more milestones here!

  • T
    Tara Married on 08/03/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I had my wedding reception on the Med Patio at La Valencia and it was beautiful! Tisha was so helpful and patient as I planned my reception, and the event was perfect! I highly recommend booking an event and/or staying at La Valencia Hotel.
  • G
    Gabby Married on 07/22/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We chose La Valencia for our wedding venue and it was the best decision we have ever made! When we visited La V for the first time for a tour, we were blown away and instantly knew it was where we wanted to be married! There are no words to describe the unique beauty of this little gem in La Jolla. La V provided the mediterranean charm we were looking for and was the perfect setting for an even more perfect day. Its unique architecture, spanish tile elements, and ocean backdrop made for some great photos. The views were unmatched, the food was delicious, and the service was great. Not only were the views from the garden absolutely spectacular, the ballroom opened conveniently on to the terrace, also with beautiful views, allowing for a perfect indoor-outdoor atmosphere. Cathy at La V was also a joy to work with. All of our guests were incredibly impressed and told us how beautiful our wedding was. We could not have been happier with our choice. Thank you for everything, La V!
  • N
    N/A Married on 11/04/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    OMG, where to start. Well, I guess with the man who made our dream wedding come true and was the easiest person in the world to work with, Bobby Fader. From the moment we met Bobby, we knew we were going to be in great hands. His professionalism, upbeat persona, and ability to make any crowd grin from ear to ear is uncanny. Besides the amazing professionalism across the entire team at La Valencia, the location is absolutely breathtaking. Iconic La Jolla palm trees resting in the backdrop with sweeping views of the Pacific set the perfect view for your wedding.

    Our guests will not stop raving about how our wedding was one of the most beautiful and memorable weddings of a lifetime, and we're confident one of the biggest reasons is because of the amazing hospitality, service, and gorgeous setting that La Valencia provides. Our wedding was the best day of our lives and La V is a place we will always cherish in our hearts!
  • B
    Byron Married on 09/16/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Bobby was the best part of La V. So helpful and fun. We miss emailing him ! Prompt, inventive, kind and professional. A+

    La Valencia Hotel's reply:

    HI Byron and Lisa Marie,
    You were great fun to work with. I can't wait to see you on your one year anniversary...and maybe have a shot together:)

    Bobby
  • K
    Katie Married on 07/30/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The La Valencia is the quintessential San Diego wedding venue. Having grown up in San Diego but with a guest list of mostly East Coasters, I knew my fiancé and I needed a very “California” location with beautiful views of the ocean. The La Valencia fit this description and provided guests with a true vacation weekend. We loved that our guests would get to experience the multiple restaurants, pool, and unique rooms at the LV and be within walking distance of La Jolla village. For the actual wedding, we were excited to take advantage of the view and multiple restaurant/patio areas at the LV. One benefit we couldn’t of anticipated was how wonderful it was to plan a wedding here. Bobby, the Events Coordinator, is amazing and will make sure that your vision becomes reality. He was so helpful throughout the planning process and always willing to answer questions (and with a smile). He even offered us a beautiful suite for the wedding weekend that was perfect for me and my eight bridesmaids to get ready in. The rest of the LV staff was wonderful as well and really made us feel special during our stay. We can’t wait to go back for our one-year anniversary!

    La Valencia Hotel's reply:

    Thank you so much Katie! It was amazing working with you and your husband. Your friends and family were great fun and it was an honor being able to be part of your day.
  • M
    Megan Married on 03/12/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We stayed at the La Valencia to celebrate our engagement in San Diego/ La Jolla. The staff pampered us and celebrated with us. We fell in love with the service, enchanting aesthetics of La V and the town of La Jolla. We loved it so much, we decided to have our wedding there; even though we live in Chicago. Planning from afar can seem nerve wrecking, but this experience was truly enjoyable. The La Valencia is the most romantic, elegant and charming venue in the country.. But maybe I'm biased :) Our wedding couldn't have went any better than it did at the La Valencia. The venue helped us create the vintage, old Hollywood Glamour we were looking for. The staff is incredible and the service is out of this world! It seems that the staff deliver and cater to whatever need you have; even quicker than the thought becomes words. Truly incredible. Bobby... Absolutely the best. During the 6 months we spent planning our wedding, Bobby spoke to my husband and I probably 3-5 times a week. He is so so soooo good at what he does. He could honestly have a full time career in wedding planning. I felt as if I had this ultra fabulous wedding planner included in our venue. Bobby assisted with advice on vendors, shared experiences from other weddings, offered insightful ideas, and communicated with us non stop in an extremely timely manner. We will consider Bobby and the La V staff friends for a lifetime. We will be back every year for our anniversary and probably more! Every time we stay at La Valencia we fall more in love, with this iconic venue, that will forever hold a special place in our hearts.

    La Valencia Hotel's reply:

    Thank you so much for the kind words. You both were so wonderful to work with. I can't wait to see you again :) Your pictures were amazing!
  • A
    Amanda Married on 12/05/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Bobby and his team at La V are exceptional. Bobby was so helpful and responsive through the whole planning process. Really a pleasure to work with. The hotel is spectacular and so is the staff. Our guests are still talking about how good the food was. It was excellent. The space, the service, the food. Not one bad thing to say about La V and Bobby. We had our ceremony, reception and next day brunch at La V. I wish I could do it all there again!

    La Valencia Hotel's reply:

    Thank you so much for the kind words. It truly was a pleasure being able to host your wedding and reception as well as your brunch the next day. Can't wait to see you back on your one year anniversary.

    All my best,

    Bobby
  • R
    Rosie Married on 10/16/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I cannot say enough about how beautiful this hotel, ceremony and reception venue are . Bobby and his team are true professionals. As soon as I met Bobby (he is such a gem!) and saw the ballroom, I was in love. From the planning process, to the day of execution, every single thing was flawless. My guests were treated with such warmth and hospitality, service here is impeccable. Also, the food! Being a huge foodie and from a family of chefs, it was a tough crowd, and everyone raved about the perfectly cooked filets and sugar-spiced salmon. If you're getting married in La Jolla, La Valencia is the ONLY choice.

    La Valencia Hotel's reply:

    Thank you Rosie for the nice review....and the chocolates:) It was such a pleasure being able to work with you and Mark. Please don't be strangers come back and visit soon.
  • J
    Jessica Married on 11/18/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had our wedding reception at the La Valencia Hotel in October and we could not have been more pleased with how it turned out! Bobby Fader, the sales and marketing manager, was an absolute delight to work with. We had several meetings with him throughout the year and he was always willing to make time for us. We also emailed countless times back and forth and he was always eager and prompt in returning our emails no matter how small the question. He is extremely polite and professional and we are so lucky to have had him assist us with everything. I don’t think we could have done something like this without him!
    The evening of our reception was absolutely perfect. The weather was magnificent. The view at the La Valencia Hotel overlooks the ocean. We had an outdoor setting with strung lights above. We had different catering stations with prime rib and a seafood bar that everyone could not get enough of! The food was outstanding. Bobby had recommended some really excellent vendors for us and they all provided outstanding service. The catering staff at the La Valencia is some of the best we have ever encountered. They were all attentive, friendly and would rush to get anything we needed. All of our guests keep raving about how wonderful the staff and the setting were and it was a night everyone will truly remember!
    The La Valencia Hotel is a unique spot in La Jolla and has the absolute perfect setting for a wedding/reception. The hotel staff is friendly and the rooms are beautiful. Bobby Fader and the La Valencia Staff provided us with the reception of our dreams and we will be forever grateful!
  • User1631041 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I can't imagine a more beautiful setting than La Valencia in La Jolla. Our May wedding there was absolutely fabulous. From the ceremony to the reception, everything was perfect! Impeccable in fact! Bobby at La Valencia was the best to work with. He made it all run smoothly and the venue was divine!
  • N
    Nicole Married on 12/29/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Everything about La Valencia was first class. They took such incredible care of us, I am still speechless. First, the venue is magnificent - you cannot get better than the Pacific ocean as the background of your ceremony. And the elegance of the Pink Lady is breathtaking. Second, the food was just incredible. So we're spoiled living in Southern California, we get to go to lots of five star restaurants and enjoy world class fine dining. The meal at our wedding was better than anything we'd ever had in San Diego. Better than the best restaurants in LA. And far beyond the best rated dishes in Maui (where we spent our honeymoon). The fish was so fresh we couldn't even print the name of it on the menu because the chef would only prepare what had come in that morning. It was Barramundi, and it was exquisite. The beef was exceptional. The appetizers, salad and dessert were all perfect. We were simply blown away at how delicious the meal was. Third, the service. Where do we begin? Bobby Fader, one of La Valencia's extremely talented wedding coordinators, was there for us to answer every email, every call and, day of, from early in the morning until late into the night. He took care of us as if we were his own family. Bobby even helped bustle my dress! Amazing! He and his team helped keep us on track, ensure our guests were happy and fed. As the bride, I wasn't expecting to eat or drink at all - I thought I'd be too busy being a host. Well, I was busy being a host, but the La Valencia team made sure my husband and I got our meals (they even split the plates for us so we could have some of each - fish and beef), all of the appetizers and salad, and anything we wanted on the dessert table. They brought it all to us. I was never without a glass of champagne. And they did it all with grace and smiles. Add all of that onto the gorgeous ballroom and we really felt like royalty - exactly how you're supposed to feel on your wedding day and night. We highly recommend La Valencia!
  • User1560315 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Perfect venue! New management was great and went above and beyond what was expected. Thank you!
  • R
    Roxanne Married on 06/22/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Perfect venue if you want an ocean beach setting ! Gorgeous grounds, amazing view , resort pool, and our villa was stunning!
  • S
    Sandra Married on 04/07/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    This is true paradise. We have always felt so welcome and part of this family. I can not say thank you for taken care of our most important day in our life. We will be back for our yearly milestone. Looking forward to spend special time with my husband and my special family and our place that I feel we are welcome any time.
  • C
    Christina Married on 06/23/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I had the most amazing experience at my Venue, La Valencia Hotel. The staff is amazing especially Shannon, Leo and Karen. They are very professional, detailed oriented, and all around gave my Fiance and I the wedding we always wanted. The hotel itself speaks for itself, but the food is beyond exceptional as well. All my guests were floored with everything around them. I recommend this venue for anyone who wants to have their dream wedding and more!
  • garossman
    Glenn Married on 05/15/2010
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The garden wedding venue at La Valencia was truly spectacular, with a fabulous view of the ocean in the background as our guests viewed the wedding. The size of the wedding venue and the ballroom for the reception were perfect for the number of guests (about 55).

    Our contact, Mr. Leo Lopez, was always prompt and most accomodating. The service from the entire staff was outstanding and we received so many compliments on the quality of the food. Compared with some of the other venues we considered, the value we received was well worth the cost.
  • M
    Erica Married on 10/26/2008
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The La Valencia Hotel was a perfect venue for my small wedding! Patty Dalton in the catering dept is an unbelievable planner and such a great person to work with. She made every aspect of our wedding just the way we envisioned. I am so glad that we choose to have a destination wedding at the La Valencia Hotel. It was so romantic and the service was top notch. The food was out of this world and of course the venue in itself is AMAZING!!! Definitely ask for Patty Dalton. She is amazing!
  • T
    Rachel Married on 09/27/2008
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Perfection. I fell in love with La Valencia for it's rustic spanish charm and old Hollywood glamour and was not disappointed. Patty and Leo were exceptionally professional and friendly, and the few special requests we made were graciously accomodated. We were married in the garden, and held our reception in the Verandah Terrace - great for smaller weddings (we had ~80 guests). On the day-of the staff gave every guest the royal treatment - worth every penny!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message