Skip to main content
Weddings

La Colombe d'Or Hotel & Restaurant Reviews

La Colombe d'Or Hotel & Restaurant

La Colombe d'Or Hotel & Restaurant

Houston, TX
4.9 out of 5 rating, 13 Reviews
View more information

13 Reviews

Rated
4.9
out of 5.0
Recommended by 98% of couples
  • Quality of service
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.8 out of 5 rating

Awards

  • 13
  • User2486606 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Ohmygoodness! I cannot say enough good things about La Colombe d'Or. I worked with Laura and had such a great experience. She was extremely responsive and answered all of my questions (trust me, there were a lot). The venue is so beautiful and the staff takes great care in it. The guests could not stop talking about the food and how delicious it was! I would recommend La Colombe d'Or to anyone looking for a wedding venue!
  • User1889150 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Wow! What a beautiful place for a wedding! My daughter's ceremony was held in the elegant solarium, the cocktail hour was just outside the ceremony doors, and when they opened the doors to the ballroom for the reception, our guests were absolutely amazed at how gorgeous everything was. The food was outstanding with many of our guests telling us they have never had such spectacular things to eat at a wedding. The bartenders and service staff were wonderful. Best of all was our event representative, Mary. She was very responsive to all of my many emails and was a true delight to work with. Thank you! Trudy (MOB).
  • J
    Jodi Married on 08/31/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I always knew I would get married at La Colombe d'Or if we got married in Houston...and we did:) It was the best decision we could have made, and just loved every second of it. Plus, we got so many compliments on the venue afterwards!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • K
    Kelly Married on 08/09/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Absolutely gorgeous venue. My pictures all turned out great with the beautiful background settings. Great to work with. Loved it! Only issues we experienced were some of our gifts were stolen by staff and the air conditioning was cracked as high as possible but it was still hot inside the venue.
  • P
    Patti Married on 05/04/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Working with La Colombe d'Or has been so easy. The Grand Salon was so beautiful, and the staff was informative and communicative throughout the whole planning process. The chef provided an amazing meal, and the wait staff were so well prepared. My daughter's wedding was perfect. We would highly recommend La Colombe d'Or.
  • T
    Tzu-Yu Married on 03/09/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    They are GREAT!
    I had my wedding ceremony & reception at the front mansion for my small group of guest. Beautiful & professional, GREAT food.
  • S
    Charlotte Married on 04/21/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Ed and his staff provided a gorgous venue for our daughter's April 21 wedding. The day of the wedding, we were provided early access to the honeymoon suite so that bridesmaids and moms could get their hair and makeup done. They graciously provided fresh coffee and ice water at our request; and when the lavatory in the room began leaking, they opened up the adjoining suite giving us extra space and another bathroom. Though we did have to rent chairs for the ceremony and chairs for the reception, La Colombe D'or staff placed things according to our wishes and their knowledge of what worked best at their facility. The food was fantastic, and I cannot begin to count the number of guests who commented to me or someone in my family that it was one of the most beautiful and fun weddings they had ever attended--which would not have been possible without the help and cooperation of the entire hotel staff. What a wonderful memory we now have of our only child's wedding!
  • J
    Joey Married on 12/17/2011
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    If you are looking for a unique venue with the best food and service in Houston, Texas, then go with La Colombe D'or. Our goal was not to have a typical hotel ballroom and "wedding food". We wanted a classy, elegant, intimate space with the best meal possible. We got what we wanted in La Colombe D'or

    We found La Colombe D'or and fell in love with its classy French style and lobster bisque. Ed Bodde assured us that everything would be perfect and it was. He helped out in every aspect of the reception, from start to finish. Our guest raved about the venue and how elegant it was. Also, guest exclaimed that it was the best piece of fish that they have ever eaten. (Chilean Sea Bass).

    It was the perfect venue and meal to start our marriage.
  • K
    Kostas K. Married on 11/26/2011
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    La Colombe D'Or is a magnificent venue and it will definitely enhance your overall experience and make your moments there very memorable! We were thrilled with how beautiful the amazing ballroom looked when it was all decorated. Ed Bodie will make sure you have the time of your life there, with his attention to detail and their amazing customer service. The food, the professionalism and service at La Colombe D'Or goes way above the 5 stars...We would definitaly recommend this place to anyone!
  • M
    Marina Married on 10/22/2005
    4.9 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    La Colombe d'Or is a beautiful and memorable place to have a wedding. It's a gorgeous facility (we were in the salon in the back), doesn't need too much decoration, is located in a great part of town, and the food is fantastic. We really loved working with them during the entire wedding planning process. We looked at a lot of wedding locations, and LCDO was by far more the most professional and accommodating of all of them. They were very flexible (even about price!) and really worked with us to make our vision possible. We had both our ceremony and reception there, used 2 of their rooms to get ready in, and stayed there the night of the wedding. It was so convenient to have everything in one place. They really go out of their way to make things easy for you -- they provide the catering, alcohol, linens, candles, valet parking, etc, and it's all included in the fee. I like that they don't charge you extra for every little thing, like some places do (my pet peeve is when places charge you a fee just for lighting candles). It's not cheap, but if you tell them your budget, they will try to work with it (our budget was a lot less than their average, but they still worked with us to make it possible, and never pressured us to spend more). Our guests raved about it. It's such a unique place. If you want something other than the same old boring hotel ballroom that everyone uses, you should look into this. The only thing I would suggest is that you bring your own day-of wedding coordinator. LCDO provides one for you, but although she was wonderful to work with leading up to the wedding, she had several different things going on that night and wasn't as attentive as I would have liked. Nothing bad happened, but a couple small problems came up and I would have felt better having my own person there to coordinate the day of the wedding.
  • J
    Jacqueline Married on 12/05/2015
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I just had my wedding at La Colombe D'Or last month and it was the most magical night. I can't say enough about how amazing the staff was to my husband and I but also to all of our family and our guests. Everything that we wanted, they made happen and were so easy to work with. The ballroom makes the perfect backdrop to a truly elegant event, the food is phenomenal (and they are willing to change/perfect anything to your taste), and the guest rooms are the perfect place for family and friends to gather and linger. I would HIGHLY recommend this reception venue to everyone I know because you can rest assured that they will take care of you and make your wedding dreams come true.
  • A
    Alexcis Married on 01/03/2015
    4.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Overall, I had a wonderful experience at La Colombe d'Or. The ballroom is beautiful- you can't find anything else like it in Houston. Mary, the event coordinator, is so nice. She responds to e-mails almost immediately and is very helpful. The food was of excellent quality, although a little boring (we were supposed to have snapper with lump crab meat in a lemon basil sauce, but it was just a plain piece of snapper). Mary was also very flexible with letting us check in an hour early. One great thing about La Colombe d'Or is that the ceremony space, ballroom, and hotel are all right there. The waitstaff was incredible- drinks were brought out constantly and they were polite and professional. I haven't heard any complaints about the valet, so I assume that was great also. The only complaint that I had service-wise was with the man running the hotel. He gave one of my stylists a hard time when she was coming up to the bridal suite, and often acted as if we were disturbing the other guests (although we rented out every room except for one, which was empty... so there were no other guests). Also, the stylist complained that she heard the man berating the maids in what she referred to as "ghetto Spanish," which is quite different than the phony French accent he was using around us. Also, during dinner we had to walk through the restaurant twice, and he was SO rude acting as if it was such a huge inconvenience for the dinner guests. God forbid a happy bride walking by with 2 attendants ruin their appetite. The last time, he said "This won't happen again!" He seems to forget that they operate as one venue, the dining room has the only door to the ballroom, and my other alternative was to walk through the mud and rain in my dress around the entire building. Still, the venue is wonderful overall, and that was only a small (yet memorable) part of the experience.
  • N
    Nancy Married on 06/04/2016
    4.3 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      2.5 out of 5 rating
    As the Bride’s mother who planned a recent wedding in Houston, I recommend the following vendors who offered superior service at an excellent value: First, book La Colombe d’Or, a gorgeous venue that provides delicious food and first class service. Yes, it is a little pricier than other venues, but reduce the guest list to afford it because it’s worth it. Hire Aimee at College Park Flowers, who went the extra mile for us to transport flowers from the church to La Colombe d’Or so that they would be used again for table settings. Hire Erin Anderson for photography, who is a no-nonsense professional who surveyed the sites in advance to prepare for the most advantageous shots. Hire Allen of Allen Hill Entertainment who will meet with the Bride and Groom to select a band of their liking. Then he will meet the band at the venue to make sure they are ready to go. Hire Carlos Estela to create a delicious macaron tower instead of the wedding cake. Finally, enjoy the Bride’s special day by hiring Kelly Balforth of Eventology to coordinate all your plans with these wonderful vendors. Kelly was recommended to me by another bride who had interviewed six wedding planners before hiring her and, yes, she was my “angel of mercy” throughout the wedding day and made sure every detail was executed to perfection. Thank you Kelly!