King Family Vineyards Reviews

61 | Crozet, VA
See photos, pricing and details

61 Reviews for King Family Vineyards

Recommended by 98%

61
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.9

22 User photos

King Family Vineyards 1
King Family Vineyards 2
King Family Vineyards 3
King Family Vineyards 4
King Family Vineyards 5
King Family Vineyards 6
King Family Vineyards 7
+ 16
Sort by:
  • Amanda

    Amanda · Married on 02/16/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    King Family Vineyards-The Perfect Venue

    I cannot recommend King Family Vineyards enough for a wedding venue. It is so beautiful and romantic all months of the year. The staff are so easy to work with and really care about making your wedding day special! All of our wedding guest gushed about the venue all night. Amazing wine, cozy fireplace and mountain views... what else could you want??

    King Family Vineyards 8
    King Family Vineyards 9
    King Family Vineyards 10
    King Family Vineyards 11
    King Family Vineyards 12
    King Family Vineyards 13
  • C

    Chelsea · Married on 09/07/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    WE LOVE KING FAMILY!!!!! this was our favorite vineyard before the wedding and now it just means that much more to us. Kelly was so amazing and helpful through the process and worked with us especially when we had to move out of state. She answered all my questions within a day and was so kind to us. King Family is, in my opinion, the most beautiful vineyard in the entire area and their wine is the best too! All of our guests from out of town / out of the country were so impressed. Thank you King and can’t wait to be back!

    Sent on 09/23/2018
    King Family Vineyards 14
    King Family Vineyards 15
    King Family Vineyards 16

    King Family Vineyards's reply:

    Dear Chelsea,

    Thanks again for trusting us to host you and your family and friends on your wedding day...it was truly our pleasure! We're happy to hear you had such a nice experience with us and appreciate you taking the time to review us on WeddingWire...thank you! We hope to see you all again soon in the tasting room or around the polo field for a match!

    Sincerely,

    James King
    Co-owner
    King Family Vineyards
  • H

    Hillary · Married on 08/26/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I got married here a couple of weeks ago. We had visited the venue before for wine tasting before selecting it for our wedding but touring the venue and seeing how the wedding space was immediately sealed the deal. Everyone we worked with at the venue was wonderful - very responsive and helped make our wedding absolutely perfect.

  • S

    Sam · Married on 08/17/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding at King Family on August 10 and it was amazing. You cannot beat the mountain views while still only being 20 mins from Charlottesville. The wine is great, the carriage house (where the reception takes place) is gorgeous, and there are countless great spots to take pictures. Truly a beautiful venue inside and out. Worried about rain? Don’t be, the indoor space is absolutely gorgeous even if your ceremony has to be indoors. We toured the venue probably 5 times before our wedding to plan everything out and they were very accommodating and flexible with letting us do so. I highly recommend this venue if you want gorgeous mountains and a classy reception space.

  • C

    Chelsea · Married on 06/08/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding here on 06/08/18 and it was perfect! All of our guests were overwhelmed with the beauty and lush green of the surrounding mountains and grand, sweeping lawns. It's the perfect backdrop to all of our wedding pictures. KFV is one of our favorite vineyards in the area and was long before we got engaged, so getting to get married there was a dream come true for us. All of our guests raved about the rustic elegance of the Carriage House and the delicious wine. The KFV Events team was fantastic to work with (thanks for letting us buy more Crosé, Kelly!!) and every employee seemed really enthusiastic and genuinely excited about our wedding. We also had our Sunday Polo Sendoff the Sunday after our Friday wedding -- if you've never seen polo played live on horses and people-watched all the polo guests in their big hats and Sunday best, you've got to do it at least once! All in all, King was the perfect place for our food and wine themed wedding and we wouldn't have had it anywhere else.

    King Family Vineyards 17
    King Family Vineyards 18
    King Family Vineyards 19
    King Family Vineyards 20
    King Family Vineyards 21
    King Family Vineyards 22
    King Family Vineyards 23
    King Family Vineyards 24
  • C

    Camille · Married on 05/04/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When my husband and I first get engaged, we decided to look at King Family Vineyards but didn't really think we would be able to get married there. It was (is!) his favorite vineyard in Charlottesville and would be a dream wedding venue for us. We booked a tour with Kelly and after visiting a few other venues, we knew the other places we looked at even came close in comparison. When it comes down to it, getting married at King Family is a smart decision as they include just about all the furniture rentals you'll need and are financially competitive with most traditional/non-DIY venues in the area. Kelly Bauer (the event manager) is also AMAZING. I've never experienced customer service as good as I did with her -- she always responds in a timely manner, is patient, gives you all the information you need, and is above all a kind and pleasant person to interact with. King Family also allows you to chose a caterer off of their preferred caterers list, which gives you the flexibility to control food and drink costs that you aren't otherwise able to do at other area venues with in-house catering. Best of all, King Family Vineyards offers an experience like no other for your guests. My husband and I live in Charlottesville, and 99% of our guests were out-of-towners. We were so thrilled to be able to show them the place where we live by way of hosting them at King Family. We heard from everyone how breathtakingly gorgeous the views were (in our opinion, the best view of any vineyard) and above all, the wine was delicious. Long story short, if you're thinking of getting married in Charlottesville, King Family Vineyards is one of the best all-around options in terms of beauty, the guest experience, affordability, and flexibility. We may be biased, but we couldn't imagine getting married anywhere else. Thank you, Kelly and team, for an amazing experience we'll never forget!

  • J

    Jacqueline · Married on 12/01/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    King Family Vineyards is a beautiful vineyard with excellent wine and a lovely atmosphere. King Family is also an amazing wedding venue, with extremely accommodating staff and a beautiful event space. The space is a clean slate, allowing for your own style, but does not need much decor as it is naturally beautiful with a warm, intimate ambiance. The team at King Family is wonderful to work with and I would highly recommend King Family for your wedding! All of our guests raved about the vineyard - and of course, the Crose! If you are in love with the venue and not the price, consider a Friday or a Winter wedding (or both!) - we got married on a Friday in December and it was worth every penny.

  • D

    Diann · Married on 11/18/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My son was married here on 11/18/2017. While I was not involved in the actual planning here, I was certainly pleased with them. The bride and her family told me how accommodating they were. And such a beautiful location, with the added plus of delicious wines.

    King Family Vineyards 25
    King Family Vineyards 26
    King Family Vineyards 27
    King Family Vineyards 28
  • K

    Katie · Married on 11/04/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    King Family Vineyards is in high demand during peak wedding season, and for good reason!! We booked the last available Saturday for Fall 2017, and we were SO lucky to have our reception there. Our wedding day turned out very wet, but despite missing out on the gorgeous mountain views our guests are still complimenting us on King Family almost a week later. The venue space itself is fantastic and the perfect option if you want to include a band – guests could dance, and then take a break in the side room when grabbing drinks. All of their wine is delicious – we didn’t take advantage of KFV ‘buying back’ any wine because our guests drank everything we purchased and then some! It’s also only ~20 minutes outside Charlottesville, which was perfect since our ceremony was at a church downtown. Overall, I highly recommend KFV as a wedding reception venue, and I can’t wait to come back for my next visit!

  • J

    Jocelyn · Married on 10/22/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had extremely high hopes, knowing the reputation of KFV and having visited a few times during our search for venue. We were not disappointed - it was the perfect venue, with many small details that made it a very special day.

    The lawn, not the easiest place to conduct a ceremony, was just right - no background noise, beautiful forested mountain backdrop, and sufficient resources for seating, sound, etc.

    The hall accommodated our fairly large group easily, the various entrances and gallery helped when folks needed to be organized, the bridal party and groomsmen prep rooms were sufficient for the need, and the fire pit outside was a popular gathering place when folks were ready to cool off from dancing (and have s'mores).

    We had folks coming in from all over - including Portugal - many of them fans of good wine. Coming from elsewhere, we were very pleasantly surprised by the quality of the KFV wines - we particularly enjoyed the Petit Verdot, Merlot, and Viognier (had to buy an extra case of the latter, which KFV handled beautifully). Knowing that they would buy back any unused wine gave us peace of mind when ordering. We opted to bring home a mixed case, memorable gifts for the couple and to anticipate for special occasions. Have not included wine costs in the estimate below.

    KFV's sterling reputation is well-deserved!

  • L

    Laura · Married on 10/01/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our experience at King Family Vineyards was absolutely amazing. KFV worked with all of our vendors to make the day spectacular and everything ran perfectly. We wouldn't have changed a thing!

    King Family Vineyards 29
  • E

    Erin · Married on 07/02/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    King Family is a beautiful venue and the perfect place for a vineyard wedding. The staff was very responsive and helpful and used their experience over the years to help us with our questions. The layout of the venue is also nice in that the ceremony, cocktail hour and reception can be held in different areas that are all still nearby. I underestimated the time and energy to hire out for all other vendors (rentals, catering, etc.) but if your up for it, this is definitely a great choice.

  • Mike

    Mike · Married on 05/25/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This venue is absolutely stunning! I wanted to mimic my home town, with mountains and horses and King Family had it all!
    Kelly and the staff at KFV were amazing to work with and they helped make our every request a reality. We were able to hold our ceremony outside, despite extremely rainy weather right up to the very hour before, but I was completely on board with having it inside. The carriage house is simply gorgeous!
    We held our wedding on a Thursday and that made the venue pricing very reasonable. They allowed us to use/move the interior decor in any way we wanted (with the exception of one large hutch) and the provided a choice of different styles of chairs to use. The even had enough for both inside and outside, without having to "flip."
    We made numerous trips to the venue to meet vendors and plan our decor. Kelly was very accommodating, letting us in the carriage house whenever we requested and offering lots of helpful ideas and advice. She gave us just enough attention without being in our space and let us be to do our thing. We had plenty of time to drop off decor and get set up, and return to pick up items the next day. We LOVED the venue and the experience with Kelly was more than we dreamed of!!

    The weather on our big day was rainy, right up until an hour before our ceremony. But I never got too worried about it because the carriage house has such a gorgeous fireplace as a background.

  • J

    Jessica · Married on 12/03/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved working with King Family Vineyards. They were attentive to our every need, even before we booked our wedding date at the venue. We chose a December wedding date based upon availability and our work schedules. After a full day of touring approximately ten venues in the Charlottesville area, we knew King Family Vineyards was it. Even in January on a snowy, wintry day, the landscape was beautiful. Even better, the carriage house was beautiful - and we knew we wanted to create more of a formal setting for our ceremony. Throughout the planning process, KFV's team was easy to work with in helping us create our perfect day. Moreover, we love their wine and were so proud to serve it at our wedding. We are thrilled to be able to return to our wedding venue year after year, in addition to being able to enjoy our wedding wine - the 2014 Meritage - every year on our anniversary.

  • T

    Tonya · Married on 10/07/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    King Family Vineyards was on our VERY short list of places that we were interested in getting married. After visiting and seeing the Carriage House, we knew it was perfect for us. It ended up being pretty muddy the day of our wedding and I was so happy to have such a gorgeous indoor option. The staff are incredibly responsive and friendly which really eased the wedding planning anxieties.

  • B

    Brittany · Married on 07/09/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    KFV has been so helpful over the past 18 months while Danny and I planned our wedding. This past Saturday could not have been any more perfect. KFV made this happen! Their event team is efficient and prompt. Not to mention the grounds and Carriage House are gorgeous!

  • H

    Healy · Married on 06/05/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    King Family Vineyards has the best mountain views out of any vineyard in Charlottesville and their reception hall is equally stunning! We had both inside and outside set up for our ceremony with the iffy forecast and ended up having our ceremony inside. Our wedding photos turned out amazing with the green grass and mountain backdrops. KFV has a longgggg list of preferred caterers so there is sure to be someone in your budget. KFV requires you to use their wine, but they will buy back any unopened bottles if they're still selling that vintage. All of KFV wine varieties are some of the best tasting in the region so you and your guests are in for a treat. The staff is very professional and responsive. There is a small bride suite and a separate groom room that you can use to change in and keep your things. Vendors have access to the venue at noon on the day of your wedding which allows tons of time for set up. KFV truly encompasses the best that Chartlottesville has to offer....great wine and beautiful mountains! Your wedding photos will look amazingggggggg!

  • M

    Megan · Married on 10/01/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    King Family Vineyards is the perfect wedding venue for couples looking for spectacular views, an accessible location, and a friendly staff. We could not have asked for a better wedding day, and much of that thanks belongs to King Family. We had many guests tell us that it was the most beautiful venue they have ever been to—and we agree! We did little to no decorating because the indoor and outdoor spaces were so naturally beautiful that they did not require us to bring in additional items. We ended up having to do our wedding indoors and it was still just as beautiful and seamless as it would have been on a beautiful day. We were also able to comfortably host 180 guests (who love to dance!), which was a concern of mine when I first saw the space. I really can't recommend King Family enough. From the helpful/responsive staff to the amazing setting, there's so much to love.

  • E

    Erin · Married on 12/21/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    King Family Vineyards is a beautiful wedding venue! I fell in love with it the first time I visited. My fiancé and I are both in the Air Force and KFV generously gave us a military discount on top of the off-season pricing. The staff there are responsive and helpful and I would recommend the venue to anyone planning a wedding!

  • J

    Jamie · Married on 07/05/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Such a beautiful venue! Love, love, love the setting and beautiful mountains. We had our ceremony outside and our reception inside.

  • C

    Cassandra · Married on 05/25/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    King is an absolutely stunning place to get married! The mountains provide an incredible ceremony background, and the carriage house is a beautiful spot for the reception. King manages to be simple, classic, and slightly rustic while still offering all of the conveniences necessary to successfully host a large event.

    The KFV staff is professional and easy to work with. They have the event-planning process down to a science because they host weddings constantly. Lauren, the event coordinator, was helpful during the months leading up to the wedding and wonderfully flexible when we had specific requests. King made it easy to purchase and store wine for the event and to coordinate with our vendors. We couldn’t have asked for a more ideal venue!

  • A

    Amanda · Married on 05/10/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Working with the KFV team was amazing! They made the entire process easy and were there for us every step of the way! Our guests raved about the beautiful venue, stunning views and fantastic wine! We'd highly recommend KFV and the KFV team!

  • Megan Taylor

    Megan · Married on 01/04/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    King Family is a stunning venue to hold any major event, but particularly a wedding! The staff at KFV couldn't be nicer, from everyone on the events staff to the tasting room manager, Matt. They will help you figure out what your needs are for your celebration and accommodate anything they possibly can! Their list of recommended vendors is especially helpful when trying to narrow down your options and you can be comforted knowing that KFV would only include the best vendors in that list! We are so happy we selected KFV because it inspired the most perfect wedding day we could have had. The venue is also fantastic because it is one of the few where you can have an indoor, winter wedding - many wineries only offer outdoor ceremony options, but getting married in front of the fireplace at KFV might just be the most romantic thing you could do. Highly recommended!

  • M

    Maggie · Married on 09/01/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We are so happy that we chose to have our wedding at King Family Vineyards. We went wine tasting there with our families the day we got engaged and immediately knew that it would be a wonderful place to have our ceremony and celebration with our friends and relatives. All of the staff we worked with were very helpful and knowledgeable, the property is gorgeous, the views of the mountains are extraordinary and the wine is great. It's truly a special place.

  • V

    Veronica · Married on 06/29/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were so thrilled with King Family Vineyards as the venue for our wedding. Just an absolutely beautiful setting, indoors and outdoors. Great wine, and the staff was great to work with. Of all the aspects of our wedding, we got the most compliments on the venue - people actually thanked us for having our wedding in such a wonderful spot!

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review