Katelyn James Photography Reviews

29 | Richmond, VA
See photos, pricing and details

29 Reviews for Katelyn James Photography

Recommended by 100%

29
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0
Sort by:
  • V

    Veronica Yang · Married on 09/15/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Worth Every Penny!

    Christina's expertise, knowledge, and overall experience for our wedding was beyond anything we could have dreamed of. It was so reassuring entering our wedding day knowing we were working with someone we trusted to capture all of our special moments in a beautiful, joyful, and timeless way. Having Christina beside us on our big day was one of the most memorable parts of our entire wedding -- besides actually getting married, of course! Everyone was blown away by their professionalism and how fun they were to be around and work with. Even my family members who are normally camera-shy were so impressed with how at ease they felt with her. I can't believe I have such beautiful photos to show my grandchildren decades from now. Christina was worth everything we invested and more. She is the truly best of the best and we cannot recommend her enough!!!

  • L

    Lindsey · Married on 04/22/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Katelyn and her husband, Michael are without a doubt the most amazing photography team. From our first e-mail, they treated us like we were the only couple on their schedule. Our engagement shoot was one of the BEST dates my husband and I have ever had. It doesn't even feel like we were taking pictures. They made our entire family and wedding party comfortable on our big day, and gave us the most beautiful images that will last forever. Cannot recommend Katelyn James Photography enough!!!!

  • Megan

    Megan · Married on 05/29/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Katelyn's expertise, knowledge, and overall experience for our wedding was beyond anything we could have dreamed of. It was so reassuring entering our wedding day knowing we were working with someone who would capture all of our special moments in a beautiful, joyful, and timeless way. Having Katelyn and Michael there beside us on our big day was one of the most memorable parts of our entire wedding. Everyone was blown away by their professionalism and how fun they were to be around and work with. I can't believe I have such beautiful photos to show my grandchildren decades from now. Katelyn was worth everything we invested and more. She is the truly best of the best!!!

  • User4649606 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Katelyn James did an amazing job photographing our wedding! She and her husband (who functions as her second shooter) were very fun to work with, and it was very easy to get comfortable around them. She was extremely professional as well, and you can tell that she really knows her stuff. They do an engagement session a few months before the wedding in order to get you comfortable working with them, and these shots looked amazing as well! They kept the timeline very well with our first look and pre-wedding shots, and overall they were just great to work with. Our bridal party loved them too, and felt very comfortable with them. The photos are amazing!

  • S

    Sam · Married on 05/24/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Pick Katelyn James. My friends and I have followed her work for over 5 years; she is as close to perfection as you will ever come. Just look at her blog and you'll see it. She makes the experience so comfortable and exciting--to know your day will be captured so beautifully, for you to keep forever, is priceless. People won't remember the food or music 20 years from now--but when you show your kids your pictures, they will feel like they were a guest at your wedding and see the love in your eyes. You can't get this with just any photographer. Just see for yourself:

    http://katelynjamesblog.com/a-rooftop-wedding-at-the-foundation-for-the-carolinas/

  • S

    Sarah · Married on 04/25/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Katelyn is the best photographer you could hire! She's most definitely worth the money you will spend. She's so friendly to work with and she will make you so comfortable during all your pictures. She works with her husband Michael who is equally as awesome. Her photographs are absolutely stunning and I can not speak highly enough about her. Don't think twice and book her while you can! She definitely books up very quickly. You get so many photos with her and all your guests can download your images for FREE! I don't know of other photographers that do this type of thing. You also will have your photos so quickly it's unbelievable! Again, she's the best you could hire and so worth it!!!!

  • S

    Sarah · Married on 10/18/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Katelyn and Michael are by far the best in the business. They are such wonderful people and truly know, understand, and have a passion for what they are doing. It was so comforting to have them behind the lenses. I have known for quite some time, that Katelyn would be my wedding photographer. So, when the proposal came, she was the first one I notified - yup, she knew before my parents! I have received so many compliments on the pictures, with many saying "I know why you contacted her so quickly!" They are an amazing team and the quality of work produced speaks for itself. As popular as Katelyn is and with her world travels, she always makes time for her clients, making them feel like her number one priority; she was always available when I needed her on the day of and prior to the wedding. We had so much fun shooting the engagement photos and seeing them again for the big day! While we wish we could relive that day everyday, a large part of it is because of Katelyn and Michael. Thankfully, we'll always have the photos on which to look back.

  • L

    Laura · Married on 10/04/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Booking Katelyn and Michael was the easiest and best decision that we made! They are professional, incredibly talented, and wonderful people to be around! They got pictures done efficiently and they turned out perfectly! There was a very quick turn around in getting our pictures back which is so appreciated!! Katelyn not only is an amazing photographer, but she is also willing and excited to help you with anything else that you need during the process. I 100% recommend them to anyone!!!!

  • User3833172 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hands down, Katelyn James Photography was the best decision I made for the wedding (aside from marrying my groom). Katelyn and Michael do an incredible job of making sure you are completely comfortable in front of the camera so that your photos look natural and beautiful. Her photographs make you look (and feel) like a professional model - and we owe ALL of that to her incredibly positive and supportive attitude. My groom and I were incredibly nervous about looking silly or ridiculous in these photos but Katelyn made sure this didn't happen at all. Starting with our engagement photo session, she explained the process, the poses and really made us feel incredibly comfortable in front of the camera. And by the time our wedding came, we felt like pros! And, Katelyn was so attentive leading up to the big day and flexible as we moved forward. We held our engagement session in Virginia and our wedding in New York - and Katelyn was there for both. Yes - Katelyn James Photography is expensive but honestly, it is worth EVERY penny ESPECIALLY if you are at all nervous about this process. People kept telling me I was one of the calmest brides they had ever seen, and most of that was due to my knowledge that Katelyn and Michael would do an amazing job. AND to add to this, my groom and I knew very little about what spots would be ideal for photos - Katelyn and Michael flew into New York early to scope out spots, so we didn't even need to worry about that! They already had some incredible ideas, and all of them paid off. THANK YOU TO BOTH OF YOU!!

  • K

    Kathryn · Married on 08/31/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Katelyn and Michael are FABULOUS! I cannot say enough about how wonderful they are. They are our number one vendor!! The pictures are amazing! They are of such high quality and the light is to die for! They are something we can keep forever, and always remember our big day by! Katelyn and Michael made the wedding day so fun, and the pictures so easy to capture. They actually made taking pictures one of my favorite parts of the day, and I don't really love taking pictures! They are also so quick to provide you with pictures. They were actually passing around an ipad with pictures at the reception, so the guests could see pictures from earlier in the day, and they posted a whole blog full of pictures two days later!

    Katelyn and Michael are wonderful people and wonderful photographers. We would highly recommend them!! Thank you guys so much for capturing our big day and making it unforgettable! We love you both and absolutely adore the pictures!

  • M

    Meredith · Married on 08/15/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I have dreamed of Katelyn capturing my wedding day for a long time. Finally seeing our faces in her images was breathtaking. She helped me plan the entire wedding day timeline, pick engagement pictures to print, and captured every part of our wedding day flawlessly. I can't stop looking through all the pictures! She is not only a wonderful photographer, but a wonderful person and friend. Every bride should have a photographer like Katelyn to take photos of their wedding day to treasure for the rest of their life!

  • Anna Grace

    Anna Grace · Married on 11/10/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Katelyn is the most wonderful photographer you could want. I am a wedding photographer as well so photographer was very important to me. I knew before I got engaged that I wanted her to be my photographer! She makes you feel like a movie star and also treats you like you are best friends. The pictures turned out incredible and I am so thankful!

  • Courtney U.

    Courtney U. · Married on 10/05/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Two words: BOOK EARLY!
    Katelyn and her business partner/husband Michael are warm, bubbly, professional and HIGHLY skilled photographers. They work together flawlessly and are sure to make you look more attractive than you feel ;) Katelyn is undoubtably climbing her way to the top of the photographer world. Spend 30 seconds on her blog and see for yourself!
    In addition to wedding day packages, Katelyn offers a complimentary engagement photo session. These pictures are such a nice perk! We used ours to make custom save-the-dates, Christmas gifts and decorations for our wedding reception.
    One piece of advice: you'll never get your wedding day back so spend the extra money on Katelyn James. Katelyn has an eye for capturing all of the love and emotion of a wedding day, down to the finest detail. She is truly an artist and the best money I ever spent!

  • J

    Jessica · Married on 09/28/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cannot say enough good things about Katelyn and Michael. I've known for years, even before an engagement was anywhere in site, that I wanted Katelyn to photograph my wedding, and we planned our entire event around her availability. Even with my tremendously high expectations, our photos still came out even better than I had hoped. They treat their clients like royalty, and I am so so SO glad to have such beautiful images to look back on forever!

  • R

    Rita · Married on 07/13/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Katelyn is such a fabulous photographer! she can take any venue or setting and make it beautiful. She is so creative and has such a tremendous love for taking pictures! She did my engagement pictures and wedding pictures. I could not be happier with both sets of pictures! Her and her husband are great people to work with. They are quick to respond and very organized. I am so blessed to have been able to have them photograph my wedding.

  • L

    Linda · Married on 07/13/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Katelyn has photgraphed both of our children's weddings. Our son's wedding was while she was still in college and 4 years later she captured every beautiful thing that we could imagine for our daughter's wedding. Katelyn and her husband Michael are visible yet invisible at the same time. Her imagination with her subjects are amazing. Friends who were unable to be with us felt as if they had been able to be apart of our day just by viewing the pictures. And the speed with which she posts her pictures!!!!!! Wow, three days after the wedding we were able to relive our special day. Thank you Katelyn and Michael for making our day they best it could be!

  • K

    Katie · Married on 06/01/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    There are not enough good words about Katelyn & Michael! After following Katelyn's work for YEARS, I was finally able to book her as soon as I got engaged. From the moment I emailed her, I knew she was so extremely excited to be a part of my wedding day! Andrew and I were blown away by Katelyn & Michael's kindness, professionalism, technique and overall awesomeness! After our engagement session, we walked away with 2 fabulous new friends that we felt like we had known forever, and whom we trusted. Our wedding day was a breeze thanks to them, despite the rain! We are absolutely in love with our photographs, our experience and our new friends!

  • N

    Natalie · Married on 05/25/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Katelyn and Michael were absolutely AMAZING. They captured our wedding day flawlessly and surprised everyone by putting together a same day slideshow that they shared with us at the reception! We could not have imagined a better wedding photography experience and will cherish the images they captured for a lifetime.

  • User3242808 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Katelyn's photographs are the BEST!!! She and her husband are so sweet.

  • J

    Julie · Married on 04/27/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I love Katelyn!! She’s a doll to work with and she has great business practice. She knows what her clients want and you don’t even have to ask. I cannot recommend her enough. She is SO professional and on top of things and probably one of the sweetest persons I’ve ever met in my life. She genuinely just wants to capture your special day perfectly. You need to hire her :) We also got our pictures & gallery in TWO WEEKS! It was so fast!! Her and her husband are a great team. Even on the night of the wedding, they finished a quick slideshow of the pics that were taken up until the reception. Crazy good!

  • S

    Shannon · Married on 09/29/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Katelyn did an AMAZING job with our engagement and wedding pictures. So many family and friends commented how much they enjoyed the blog posts Katelyn wrote. She had our pictures and album turned around in days! Katelyn is very to easy to work with and made the whole process fun! Well worth the money.

  • A

    Aimee · Married on 08/18/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't say enough good things about Katelyn James Photography! She was AMAZING to work with & my photos are STUNNING!

    For me, choosing the right photographer was the most important decision during my wedding planning. I knew that after the wedding was over it would be the the photographs that I would cherish forever. Unfortunately, my journey to finding the perfect photographer was not an easy one. I spent over a year researching & contacting professionals within my price range, only to have the one I'd selected book my date 2 hours before our scheduled call & then another had to cancel our contract just a few months before my wedding date. At the recommendation of a couple of photographers I had spoken to, I contacted Katelyn James Photography.

    Everything happens for a reason & I am so thankful for all of the struggle I went through to find the PERFECT photographer, because Katelyn James Photography was that for me. Perfect. She was always quick to answer questions or provide me with advice & made me feel at ease in front of the camera. On our wedding day, she coordinated all of my guys & gals for the group shots in record time, which was good because it was freazing. During the ceremony & reception, she moved seemlessly through the crowds of people, never getting in anyone's way & still managing to capture amazing moments. Everyone that has seen our wedding photos sings her praises.

    Thank you Katelyn!

  • L

    Lauren · Married on 08/11/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    EVERYONE has commented on how beautiful my pictures are from the wedding. Not only are the pictures gorgeous, but Katelyn is absolutely wonderful. She helped keep my wedding day moving, plan out the schedule for the day, help with last minute details and was there for questions through the whole process.

    I have pictures to cherish for a lifetime, and she helped to make the planning process so much better. Is there anything better than that?!

  • K

    Kathleen · Married on 07/07/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Katelyn is AMAZING! I can't say enough about how wonderful she was to work with and what amazing pictures she gave us to remember our day. She is so easy to work with and makes you feel (and look) like a model. We are so thankful for her images and would recommend her to anyone and everyone!!!

  • L

    Lisa · Married on 06/30/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It is truly an honor to have had Katelyn James photograph our wedding. She is one of the most genuine, professional, and talented individuals and photographers I have ever met. She made us feel comfortable in front of the camera and worked so hard to capture all of the details of our day that we want to remember forever. Her work is truly beautiful!

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review