Weddings

Karen Neblung Hair Studio Reviews

Karen Neblung Hair Studio

Karen Neblung Hair Studio

Roxbury, NY
Rating 4.9 out of 5, 15 Reviews
View more information

15 Reviews

Rated
4.9
out of 5.0
Recommended by 99% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.9 out of 5

Awards

  • 15

3 User photos

Sort by:
  • Maggie
    Maggie L. Married on 07/10/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Last minute gem

    I last minute reached out to Karen 6 weeks before my wedding to ask if she would be available after I had a makeup trial with a previous vendor that did not work with my facial palette. Karen was available and requested I come to her cute home studio in Roxbury for a make up trial. She was calming and knowledgeable about the make up choices and provided helpful recommendations. Her style is natural which was perfect for me and my family who do not usually wear a lot of make up. I booked her 1-2 weeks before my wedding. She doesn't require the nonsense of contracts and goes off of her word, which make the wedding planning process so much less stressful. She arrived timely the day of the wedding and was great at wrangling people if they got distracted during the make up process. She is a local gem!
  • Clara
    Clara B. Married on 07/03/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Natural, High Quality Hair and Makeup

    Karen did a fabulous job on my hair and makeup for my wedding. She was kind and very easy to communicate with in the lead up to the event, and brought calming energy to the getting ready process on the big day. My hair was exquisite and the make up looked natural and fresh. She also did hair and makeup for my mom, sister, and maid of honor, all of whom had positive things to say about their experience.

    Karen Neblung Hair Studio's reply:

    Clara, You are lovely and I so appreciate being a part of you celebration. I enjoyed your family as well as yourself. Thank you
  • Sarah
    Sarah Married on 08/03/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Natural, beautiful, and authentic styling

    I will begin with saying I could not recommend a wedding vendor more highly than I do Karen Neblung. From the day I reached out right through wedding day, she was above and beyond what I could have hoped for. Equal parts skilled and kind, she worked patiently with me at her home studio to discover together the best wedding style for me; beautiful, creative, and unique to me. She and her partner Annette also styled hair for our moms and sisters day of. As we were planning long distance, there was no trial for our family members, and everyone still came out thrilled with their styles and looking beautiful. She also does natural and skilled make-up, she did my mom’s and it was perfect. What more can I say- if Karen is available, book her right away. You won’t be disappointed.
  • J
    Jennifer Married on 06/08/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Great eye, sweetest lady!

    Karen and Annette are incredible! I had the pleasure of hiring these amazing women for my wedding. From the first consultation to the last spritz of hairspray, working with Karen and Annette was wonderful. We all felt safe in their hands and loved the way we looked! Karen's clean, natural aesthetic for makeup was perfect for our laid back vibe, and Annette really advocated with her creative expertise to make sure we all looked amazing. Styling hair and makeup to the satisfaction of multiple women is not an easy job, and they did it beautifully. We really enjoyed spending our day getting ready with them. Thank you so so much!
  • Elizabeth
    Elizabeth Married on 10/13/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best decision!

    Karen and her partner Annette were absolutely wonderful. Everyone's hair and makeup turned out beautifully. Very natural and not overdone at all, which was exactly what I was looking for. The morning of our wedding, which can be sort of an overwhelming time, was calm and relaxed thanks to Karen's laid back, lovely demeanor. She really put everyone at ease and made it a great morning. I have never liked my hair and makeup anytime I've had it done until now...I truly loved how I looked on my wedding day, thanks to Karen! Thank you, you're amazing!
  • B
    Bethany Married on 08/18/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Had my hair and make-up trial with Karen in her home-studio in Roxbury, and I was so happy with the results of the trial. I have complete trust in her and cannot wait for the wedding.
  • B
    Becca Married on 10/14/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Karen did a fabulous job on makeup for myself and my bridesmaids, moms, and husband's sisters! So so natural, understated, yet no doubt a professional's work. She and her assistant Esther provided a relaxed, peaceful environment that was a lovely way to start your wedding day. Her studio's proximity to our venue was awesome, too!! Thank you, Karen!!!
  • M
    Michele Married on 06/18/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Very easy to work with and she had a calming manner. Enjoyed her and very satisfied.
  • L
    Lauren Married on 08/22/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Karen did my hair and make up as well as my maid of honor's hair for my Catskills wedding in August. I was so happy with how my hair and makeup came out. I was a bit nervous going to someone new since I was coming from out of town, but after my trial I knew Karen got me. She was so easy to talk to and was very receptive to what I like and don't like. I was so lucky to find her. She also made getting ready the day of so much fun. It was like getting ready with one of my girl friends. Thanks so much Karen!
  • M
    Melissajustin Married on 05/09/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We got married at Full Moon Resort on May 9, 2015, and Karen Neblung was one of their top recommended vendors. She was absolutely amazing and easy to work with and responded quickly to all my questions and last minute changes! For our trial, she tried out various styles to get accustomed to my hair and what would look best and last long. She also worked with all of my bridesmaids prior to the wedding day by exchanging emails with them so she could see their current hair and the styles they wanted. On the day of the wedding, she brought along mirrors, so we could have input every step of the way. She quickly made adjustments and went with any changes we wanted. Even with all the usual chaos of getting ready, she was calm and made sure I was happy, which definitely put me at ease! She followed a timeline to make sure we didn't fall behind on anything, but it wasn't strict so there was no feeling of pressure or rushing In the end, my bridesmaids, my mother, my flower girl, and I all loved our hair, and although we all had different styles, we had a beautiful, cohesive look (e.g. braids or curls tying our looks together). Thank you Karen so much for helping make our wedding so perfect!
  • N
    Nicole Married on 01/17/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Karen provided onsite hairstyling and updo's for me, my mom, and 3 bridesmaids. She was responsive from our first communication, and showed up early on wedding day. Everyone's hair came out amazing - she just worked with each person's thoughts and came up with a great updo for them all. My hair was also amazing and she spent more time with me making sure it came out perfect. And she was really nice, so easy going, we felt like she was just one of our friends hanging out with the girls for the morning. I would definitely recommend her to anyone getting married in the Catskills!
  • E
    Elisa Married on 06/23/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Given that our wedding was in the middle of nowhere, I was SO lucky to find the gem that is Karen Neblung, who provided me and my family with hairdos worthy of the big cities! She was extremely attentive and engaged through the entire process, and I felt very comfortable and at ease with her. I adored my hairstyle and that of my sister and niece, and felt so grateful to have found her out in the "boonies"! Only wish I lived closer so I could have her do my hair all the time!
  • H
    Melanie Married on 07/16/2010
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    There are pros and there are cons of getting married in the middle of nowhere. One of those cons was that it is really hard to find professionals. After a lot of looking and comparing, I found Karen Neblung, who is not only skilled but also someone I would rank high on my list of random strangers I'd be willing to spend my wedding day with.

    Karen was amazing! She went way above the call of duty to give the ring bearer a hair cut and trim the officiant's bangs as well as do our hair and makeup. I couldn't have navigated my way through that stressful time right before your ceremony without Karen. She did an amazing job of ruling the roost right before the ceremony to keep us on time and looking amazing. I highly recommend this vendor.
  • R
    Rachel Married on 08/24/2017
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I 100% enjoyed my experience with Karen and would go back to see her again and again if I was local to the Catskills. I contacted Karen about a month before my wedding in August to see if she would be able to do hair and makeup for me and 4 of my bridesmaids. She was very easy to contact via e-mail, which I appreciated because I was planning the wedding from Oregon. I wasn't able to do a hair/makeup trial and I wasn't completely sure what I wanted when I showed up to her, but Karen is so relaxed and has so much experience, that she was cool with me being a little bit unprepared. I don't apply much makeup on a daily basis, and Karen made me look and feel so beautiful with a very light, natural looking makeup application. I was also nervous about what it would all look like with my glasses on, but it came together so nicely and I am so happy with how I looked on my big day.

    If you are nervous about booking with Karen because you can't find her website with more information online, WIPE THE NERVES. Reach out to her. Trust her reviews and the photos you see on the websites of her work. Also, she has a website in the works :) And she just got an Instagram!

    In addition to being an awesome stylist, Karen is just a great person. She welcomed us to our early (for us) appointment at her salon (in the back of her beautiful home) with coffee and tea. She shared stories of her journey with us. She reminded us that we DEFINITELY needed to get lunch before the wedding. Thank you so much, Karen. Great advice.

    One of Karen's colleagues, Annette, did our hair - and she was also amazing. I would trust anyone that Karen recommends or works with. Karen is a dream to work with and I would recommend her for anyone.
  • S
    Kathleen Married on 10/29/2011
    Rating 4 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 3.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 3.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    My hairstyle was possibly my favorite element of my wedding day. Karen did an amazing job, not only of fashioning my updo, but also of listening to me with a talented stylist's ear and getting my vision for my hair spot-on. My mom and I both had our makeup done as well, and were happy with it but not blown away. For weddings at the beautiful resorts in this area, Karen is (relatively) convenient to get to, and she will come to your wedding site for an extra fee.
    One thing to keep in mind is that Karen is by herself, so she can accommodate four people for hair at most. Also, Karen really takes her time with the styles, which is a good thing but definitely needs to be scheduled for. I did a hair trial (a VERY helpful experience) which took upwards of two hours, and she spent at least that long on my hair and makeup on the wedding day. Ultimately, I was extremely happy with my hair, which helped my wedding day feel that much more enchanting.