Justin Cook Documentary Weddings Reviews

8 | Durham, NC
See photos, pricing and details

8 Reviews for Justin Cook Documentary Weddings

Recommended by 99%

8
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 5.0
Sort by:
  • C

    Crystal · Married on 05/18/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Justin photographed a friends wedding, and she recommended him to me. I am so glad she did, because Justin not only was great to work with, his photographs are really timeless. He was very professional and took the time to go over what I wanted beforehand so we could maximize the time we had for photos. My pictures look like I had a fairy-tale wedding, and I could not be happier! If you're needing a top-notch photographer, Justin is your guy!

    Sent on 05/29/2014
  • User2871029 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I know Justin from college and have always liked his journalistic eye and knack for storytelling -- even for "non-news" stories like a wedding. I was less interested in capturing the scripted moment than the unscripted, and wanted to be able to look back on my Big Day and remember those moments from the vantage point of someone who could chronicle events in a stylish way that also captured the story.

    Justin and his wife, Courtney Potter Cook, delivered that for us and more. The fun, staged shots were also great, and they used the Virginia countryside canvas as we expected, really capturing the event in a timeless way. We couldn't have been happier with their hard work and dedication.

    They were also great about some of the smaller things -- when events didnt run on time, they ran with it, and had great ideas for staged shots to bring out everbody's personality. We were quite pleased and I would recommend Justin to anyone. The price was also reasonable based on research of other photographers.

    Jeremy

    Sent on 11/11/2013

    Justin Cook Documentary Weddings's reply:

    Thanks for the review Jeremy. Courtney and I had a great time with you and Christina on your wedding day. We loved your collaborative spirit and hospitality. See you soon hopefully!
  • N

    Natalie · Married on 11/17/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Justin was a pleasure to work with, and our wedding photos are beautiful. When selecting a wedding photographer, there were two goals we hoped to achieve:

    1) We wanted pictures that would help us remember our wedding day. We hoped the pictures would go beyond the typical stylized wedding poses to instead capture the atmosphere and feelings of the day.

    Justin did a phenomenal job of achieving this. He truly delivered on providing us pictures that captured the story of our wedding.

    2) We wanted to hire a photographer that would meet our photography wish list while still allowing us to be fully present in the events of our wedding day.

    Justin is incredibly friendly and easy to work with. He took time to get to know us and was very thorough in understanding our preferences prior to the wedding. On the day of our wedding, my husband and I were able to focus on each other, on the meaning of our wedding ceremony, and on celebrating with our family and friends. Justin was available and responsive throughout the day. And, most importantly to us- while he captured great shots of important moments, he did so in an unobtrusive manner.

    Sent on 10/22/2013

    Justin Cook Documentary Weddings's reply:

    Thank you for your glowing review, Natalie. The pleasure was all mine. Hope you and the husband are enjoying your wedding album too!
  • D

    Dana · Married on 09/22/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Photographer selection was important to me in the wedding planning process. Once the wedding is over, the photos are all you have. The minute I met Justin I knew we would work well together. His personality and professionalism sold me. His documentary style photography was exactly what we had been looking for. Justin made it a priority to figure out our personal style and what was most important to us. We wanted a few of the traditional posed photos but were more concerned about getting great candid shots. He delivered. Most of our favorites were the candid photos. He provides gorgeous pictures and he's easy going and professional at the same time.

    Sent on 01/21/2013
  • A

    Ashley · Married on 09/08/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The only thing that can describe Justin Cook is flawless! He is truly the best photo journalist I have ever seen. His professionalism and what he brings to the table in regards to pictures is amazing. Because he is a great photo journalist, you don't just get posed pictures. You get captures of special moments and literally memories of your day. It's truly a blessing to have him as it also saves money in having to get a videographer just because he does capture all of those moments to where you will never forget them.

    Sent on 10/25/2012

    Justin Cook Documentary Weddings's reply:

    Thanks for the glowing review, Mr. and Mrs. Carpenter! You were a great couple to work withm and without your cheerful and enthusiastic collaboration, we could have never pulled it off. It was truly a privilege to be a part of your big day!
  • User3116567 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Justin is unbelievable!! We searched far and wide for a great wedding photographer with a photojournalism background. We were 100% completely satisfied with Justin's artistry, professionalism, kindness, and patience. We chose him because of what we saw in his photography- a sense of sensitivity and appreciation for each wedding in it's own way. He captured the in-between moments that were unique to our wedding day- moments of quirkiness, intensity, love, annoyance, happiness, sadness, irony, nervousness, excitement... I wanted a photographer who captured our day as it was, who would give me a set of pictures at the end that reminds me of every part of that day, not only the classic moments like the kiss and first dance (which he took incredible pictures of as well!!). He went above and beyond our expectations. Everyone including parents, grandparents, friends, and cousins were thrilled with our pictures! Thank you Justin!

    Sent on 03/07/2013
  • A

    Anna · Married on 12/03/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I loved working with Justin Cook Documentary Weddings and I couldn't imagine placing something as important as my wedding photos in the hands of anyone else. Justin met with us a couple of times prior to our wedding to talk about our expectations and sign the contract. He is so professional, but also funny and it really put our mind at ease. It felt so good to know that I didn't have anything to worry about because I was putting my trust in him to document all of the memories of our special day. Justin Cook is so talented and he really documented not only the big moments and all the things you'd expect your photographer to photograph, but also all the small precious moments of the day. After the wedding was over, he immediately went to work editing (he calls it wedditing, haha) and put together a batch of sneak preview photos that he gave me the very next week! Within a month or so, he had edited all of the photos and given them to us on a cd. Justin is so funny and easy to work with. He gets to know you and understand what is important to you. From the moment that we decided to work with him, I knew that I could trust that we would have the best photographs. We have gotten so many compliments over the past year from our friends and family that have seen our wedding album. I would definitely recommend him if you are looking for an amazing photographer that is professional, talented, and super fun to be around!

    Sent on 01/21/2013
  • User2111550 · 2+ years ago

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Justin shot our wedding and we are so glad we chose him! He got some amazing photos of us, even scouting out good places to take photos beforehand. He is fun and easy to work with, and made us feel comfortable, but delivers a professional, beautiful product. Thanks Justin!

    Sent on 10/07/2013

    Justin Cook Documentary Weddings's reply:

    Thanks for the flattering review. I would love to know who the pleased couple is. - Justin

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review