Skip to main content
Weddings

Justice of the Peace - Mike Backer Reviews

Justice of the Peace - Mike Backer

Justice of the Peace - Mike Backer

Southborough, MA
Rating 5.0 out of 5, 366 Reviews
View more information

366 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 99% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Awards

  • 366
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2021 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner

31 User photos

  • M
    Mikki Married on 03/26/2022
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Great officiant for my wedding ceremony!

    Mike recently officiated my wedding ceremony. He was very professional and communicated with us before hand so we knew what to expect the day of, which was super helpful. Overall, it was a beautiful ceremony. I highly recommend Mike!
  • M
    Makela Married on 11/12/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Our wedding day

    Personable, professional, and just an awesome guy! Mike made everything super easy and organized! Great communication the entire time, super personal and stress free!!! Also have the perfect balance of serious and funny during our ceremony! Kept our guests engaged!
  • Carolyn
    Carolyn W. Married on 10/24/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Michael Backer is the BEST.

    A true professional. We knew when we first spoke with Michael that he would be perfect for our wedding ceremony and I’m so happy to say he exceeded our expectations! Our wedding date changed 3 times due to COVID and Michael pivoted with us even with a change of venue and went above and beyond. His planning guides are so helpful and he made thoughtful suggestions that resulted in such a meaningful ceremony that we’ll remember forever. During the rehearsal the morning of the wedding, Michael put our minds at ease and walked through every step of the ceremony and gave great direction. Michael spoke clearly and has a great sense of humor and even got my dog, the ring bearer, involved which could have been tricky but worked out perfectly! Our friends and family were very complimentary of how he conducted the ceremony. Thank you for being such an important part of our wedding day – we’re so grateful!
  • Melissa
    Melissa T. Married on 10/10/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing experience

    My husband and I are thrilled to have worked with Mike on our wedding! We got married in October during the height of the pandemic, and Mike was the easiest person to work with during a very stressful process. He was patient and flexible as we changed our plans from a Boston ceremony at night to a back yard ceremony during the day. He listened to what we wanted and made thoughtful/knowledgeable recommendations when we needed them. Our ceremony turned out so special and personal. We highly recommend Mike!
  • Stephanie
    Stephanie P. Married on 10/02/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Excellent JP!

    Mike was great, thorough and made us feel comfortable throughout the process. He personalized the ceremony adding a really nice touch and had some suggestions and recommendations to include in our ceremony and paperwork that we will cherish forever. My family really enjoyed his company and sense of humor as well! Thank you for everything!
  • Janna
    Janna S. Married on 09/18/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best officiant we could have asked for!

    Choosing Mike as our officiant was one of the best decisions we've made. He was so easy to work with and is such a pleasure to get to know. Mike helped us through the entire process of putting together our ceremony and was so accommodating with all of our requests. Plus, he's hilarious (if you want him to be)! We wanted some humor in our ceremony and Mike definitely delivered. I also loved his process of sending a questionnaire to each partner separately and then incorporating the responses into the ceremony. This made it so personal and it was really touching to hear each others candid responses during the ceremony. 11/10 would recommend!
  • R
    Ruth R. Married on 09/10/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Awesome service !

    Informative, Convenient & gets the job done ..
  • L
    Leigh D. Married on 08/29/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    JP Mike Backer

    We were recently married by JP Mike Backer whom was one of the suggested officiants by Harrington Farm. We asked our coordinator Traci about all the officiants on the list and then asked her which one was the funniest. She said you want Mike. She was right!

    My husband David and I didn’t want a boring or too serious ceremony, but we needed someone to guide us through and make sure we were doing what was best for us. Mike was very helpful by providing us with a binder full of great info to custom design our ceremony. It didn’t take much to find the perfect options and I can say with 100% surety that our ceremony was memorable and just what we wanted. Thanks for all the help JP Mike!
  • Anayka
    Anayka Married on 08/18/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Jp Michael backer did a great job in preparation for the wedding. We had meetings and constant emails back and forth on how the event will go. He was very organized on top of everything and the ending result on the day of the wedding was excellent. Thank you Jp mike!
  • Alexandra
    Alexandra C. Married on 08/07/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The best officiant!

    Michael was an incredible officiant. He really seemed to understand us and our personalities and he incorporated it into the ceremony. He was so responsive and helpful and his binder of information really helped break down the overwhelming parts of planning a ceremony. His ceremony was funny but personal. We still get comments from others on how great he was even months later. I would definitely recommend him.
  • Kyle
    Kyle M. Married on 08/01/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Great Justice of the Peace

    Mike was really great at explaining all of our options for our wedding and explaining how things will go. He had lots of ideas in a binder to customize our ceremony and let us and in a few extra things to include some of our friends. He added some personal touches too about us which was really great.
  • L
    Latara Married on 07/31/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    highly recommend

    Michael was great to work with. he officiated our vow renewal. he responds to emails in a timely matter, and informative, very professional! thank you Michael for officiating our special day. I would recommend!
  • Jillian
    Jillian P. Married on 07/16/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    We had a great experience working with Mike!

    Mike was great to work with he was very flexible with us, we had to change our date 3 times because of Covid-19 and other circumstances and he was very understanding and accommodating through the process. He was also very thorough in answering all of our questions and concerns, he was a big hit with all of our guests as well! Mike is professional yet still personable we highly recommend him.
  • C
    Courtney K. Married on 07/03/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Mike was perfect

    Without getting into too many details, we had our original officiant back out 1 week before our date. I got Michael's name from our venue and when I sent him an email explaining our situation, he called me immediately and asked how he could help.
    We only had 4 days to meet, pick our preferences for the ceremony and tell him our love story. He responded with an updated script with hours of us sending our preferences, and then again when we sent more info.
    Mike showed up fully prepared, calm, and personable for our rehearsal and put everyone at ease after the craziness we had dealt with from the previous person.

    The ceremony was lovely and he added the perfect amount of personal touch to our day. After the ceremony a guest at the wedding came up and said he was the best officiant she had ever seen and it was the sweetest ceremony ever.

    If you're looking for someone that will take care of your ceremony, allow you the freedom to choose what goes in the ceremony, while also guiding you to what makes for the best flow(which was really important to me since I'm not a professional)... Mike really is the guy for you.
    I will recommend him to anyone who asks. He was awesome!
  • Jason
    Jason T. Married on 06/26/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    A Wonderful Experience

    Going into the process of finding a justice of the peace, my wife and I really were not sure where to start. We read so many reviews on various sites and it was all a bit overwhelming. And add in trying to select an officiant during a pandemic and well, we just felt lost.

    And then we found Michael. He had amazing ratings and we had to wonder, "is he real?" I can assure you he IS real and he was a joy to work with. Michael's experience as a justice of the peace was invaluable and reassuring. He allowed us to plan our ceremony with as much or as little help as we wanted. He had such amazing resources and suggestions.

    He was incredibly helpful in all regards, and this includes being hands-on right before our ceremony. Our wedding day was warm and windy and we had a wedding trellis that was a bit less than stable. Mere minutes before the music began, a gust of wind blew the trellis over, damaging it. Michael was right there to help keep everyone calm and figure out a quick solution. I helped a little too. Wedding day disaster averted.

    And then, once the ceremony began, it was exactly what we wanted. He added his own personal touches and made my wife and I, and out guests, feel relaxed. His sense of humor and support were invaluable. His professionalism unmatched. We thank him for helping make our wedding the success that it was.
  • Kyle
    Kyle D. Married on 06/06/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Made a great day even better

    Mike was awesome and quick with a joke to fill in those awkward moments everyone has. He fit in well and got along with everyone. Recommend he does your rehearsal with you as he made it actually fun and not nervous
  • Michael
    Michael C. Married on 05/07/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Knowledgeable, Flexible, and Comfortable

    Mike came highly recommended as we both live in the same town. He was available on extremely short notice (lucky for us) and made the process very seamless and comfortable (another bonus in an often hectic time for couples). He led us every step of the way and added inciteful touches to help make the process more personable. Thanks for being there for us on our special day!
  • D
    Dean Married on 01/26/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Professional, Friendly and Welcoming

    Mike was excellent and easy to work with, he was flexible with scheduling time. We asked Mike to provide us with traditional wedding vows what we got was more than expected, loving, warm and the just right amount of light heartedness. I highly recommend JP Mike for your wedding.
  • Michael
    Michael A. Married on 01/04/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Smooth and Stress free process

    I highly recommend Michael Backer, he made the process of getting married during a pandemic straight forward and stress free. He told us what to expect from the local government office and other details.
  • A
    Alyssa Married on 10/31/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Highly recommend

    We can promise you will not be disappointed choosing Michael for your wedding ceremony. He is professional, humorous, extremely helpful. He guided us through the entire process from start to finish. He is a great listener and personalizes the ceremony for the bride and groom. We had so many guests comment on how personal and beautiful our ceremony was. Do not hesitate at all to book Michael. You will not be disappointed. It was one of our top planning decisions.
  • Kathryn
    Kathryn D. Married on 10/31/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Mike is exceptional!

    My now-husband found Mike Backer on the internet almost immediately after we booked our wedding venue. We began our wedding planning in the spring of 2020 - right as the pandemic started affecting most wedding vendors (and every day life). Mike’s website detailed his extensive list of credentials, and he responded quickly to our inquiry. Mike invited us to meet with him personally at his home - he was so much fun to work with! Mike is very organized, super respectful, and very easy to communicate with. He brought a great sense of humor and calm to the whole experience. He provided us with a binder to help us craft our entire ceremony, and he welcomed and gave great suggestions for customizing everything just for us. We also asked Mike to join us at our rehearsal which was a great help especially as we were married on October 31st (a short 8 months after our engagement). Mike was great about keeping in touch over email as we made wedding plans virtually with our vendors. His pricing is very reasonable and we highly recommend him! We can’t thank him enough for making our special day magical!! - Kat & Kris Dufour
  • Kathryn
    Kathryn C. Married on 10/03/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Exceptional JOP

    We were so happy to have our officiant be Mike Backer. He was so helpful, responsive and most of all, reassuring. He reminded us several times that our ceremony would be as personal as we wanted it to be. There was nothing that couldn’t be changed, added or removed. Of all our vendors, Mike was the most responsive, even adding our vows into the ceremony the DAY OF THE WEDDING (because we were crazy busy and forgot to send ahead of time). He was so patient and informative about where to get our marriage license, what fees we would incur, etc... we likely won’t be getting married again in the future but if we did, we would use Mike Backer again!
  • K
    Kathlyn M. Married on 10/01/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    marriage ceremony

    Mike Backer was excellent, enjoyable and made our simple ceremony very special.
  • R
    Ryan L. Married on 09/26/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Fantastic!

    Mike was extremely attentive to details, explained the entire process with us. We met him in person for about an hour, gave us a binder to decide from multiple options, anywhere from introductions to the conclusions and everything in between.
  • C
    Crystal L. Married on 09/23/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Just what I was looking for

    My husband and I wanted something small and quick and he gave us exactly that. He was kind and had a good sense of humor. I Would recommend him.