Justice of the Peace - Mike Backer Reviews

332 | Southborough, MA
See photos, pricing and details

332 Reviews for Justice of the Peace - Mike Backer

Recommended by 99% of couples

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 5.0

Awards

332

24 User photos

Order by:
  • Anayka

    Anayka · Getting married on 08/18/2021

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jp Michael backer did a great job in preparation for the wedding. We had meetings and constant emails back and forth on how the event will go. He was very organized on top of everything and the ending result on the day of the wedding was excellent. Thank you Jp mike!

    Sent on 06/15/2013
  • K

    Kathlyn Mchugh · Getting married on 10/01/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    marriage ceremony

    Mike Backer was excellent, enjoyable and made our simple ceremony very special.

    Sent on 05/21/2020
  • K

    Kathy Segien · Married on 08/08/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our experience was excellent!

    Michael Backer did an excellent job with our wedding! Because of Covid, we had to stay in touch with him about changes and he was very accommodating. He was very professional and had a great sense of humor. I would highly recommend him to anyone getting married!

    Sent on 08/26/2020
  • Jade

    Jade Kobus · Married on 06/28/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful day

    Mike Backer did a wonderful job, we were very happy with the simple but beautiful ceremony we had at Coggshall Park! He was very professional and gave us excellent what we wanted I’d recommend him to anyone looking to get married!

    Sent on 07/07/2020
  • A

    Alyne · Married on 06/12/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A good experience, I would recommend Michael

    I would recommend Michael services. He was very nice in our wedding ceremony.
    Thanks Michael for being part of our special day During quarantine

    Sent on 06/16/2020
  • E

    Erin Sullivan · Married on 05/16/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfect Wedding

    Michael was wonderful to work with! He provided great guidance. An amazing wedding binder was ares to borrow from our first meeting until the reversal - this helped us to build our ceremony and special readings, and covered how to go about getting our marriage license, how many copies etc.

    During the rehearsal he went through all the necessary details for the next day, and even went over the best way to hold hands etc. for photo ops.

    Very professional and does a truly great job. Highly recommended!!

    Sent on 08/24/2020
  • P

    Paul Donahue · Married on 03/14/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    justice of the Peace

    Michael was a joy to work with. He made our elopement in the time of Covid relaxing, personal, and most all fun. He naturally and empathetically put us at ease and shepherded is thru our heartfelt emotional sentiments, all the while smiling, like a proud father. He made our few minutes in the sun sweetly memorable and left us smiling inside ant out as we juanted off for our one night honeymoon.

    Sent on 05/23/2020
  • Douglas

    Douglas Babcock · Married on 02/02/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Fun, friendly, consumate professional with a demeanor fitting any wedding

    Mike was absolutely amazing. Words cannot desribe. In a very long story I won't share here we had to sub Mike in. Literally my wife and I met him for the FIRST time 10 minutes before our wedding (which we spent a fortune on and a year planning). He absolutely rocked it. DId everything we hoped plus added just the right amount of personal touches to make it unique. Use Michael Backer for your ceremony, you will be very happy you did. Full stop.

    Sent on 03/09/2020
  • B

    Blake Melick · Married on 12/07/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Outstanding!

    Michael Backer officiated our wedding ceremony on 12/07/2019. We could not have been happier with the overall performance that we received. Michael combined professionalism, kindness, and wit with just the right amount of humor to make us feel much more comfortable with the moment. We would recommend him highly to anyone getting married.

    Sent on 12/14/2019
  • Christopher

    Christopher · Married on 10/26/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Simply Amazing

    We could honestly not have been happier with our decision to work with Mike. Everything was absolutely perfect! We had people all night come up to us and tell us how amazing the ceremony went and how personal it was, and were shocked when we told them we did not know Mike prior to our engagement. We highly recommend Mike for your own perfect, personalized, fun wedding ceremony!

    Sent on 10/28/2019
  • Brandy

    Brandy Woodtke · Married on 10/19/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Made our little ceremony very sweet!

    Mike was amazing!! He was very sweet and made our "ceremony" very special. I would highly recommend him.

    Sent on 01/02/2019
  • K

    Kristin · Married on 10/19/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely amazing!

    Micheal was as flexible as a person with such a great commitment could be. We couldn't plan a rehearsal for our ceremony and he flawlessly did our ceremony on the fly. He added a bunch of personal details about the origins of our relationship and gave everyone a lot of laughs and happy tears. If you choose anyone BUT Micheal Backer for your JP than you are making a huge mistake. A total professional and added soo much more to our special day.

    Sent on 10/28/2019
  • Emily

    Emily · Married on 10/12/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Michael is a must have!

    Having Michael as our Justice of the Peace was one of the best decisions we made for our wedding. Michael didn't know us at all before we contacted him for his JOP services but you wouldn't know that from the personal and engaging ceremony he performed. Michael takes the time to sit down and get to know you before committing to anything. His ceremony options are extensive and we felt like our ceremony was truly unique to us as a couple. I really appreciated the efficient and involved dress rehearsal; we felt prepared and excited for the big day. After the ceremony we had guests tell us we had one of the best ceremonies they had ever seen. True to mine and my husband's personalities, Michael kept our ceremony light with jokes and laughter and he kept it moving along. Michael was also very quick and responsive with our email communication, I never had to chase him down. I would go back to Michael in a heartbeat (though hopefully I won't have to!).

    Sent on 10/19/2019
  • Janna

    Janna Zelinger · Married on 10/03/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mike is an expert

    Mike was pivotal in making our ceremony special and perfect. He pays attention to detail and is professional yet tender at the same time. He personalizes with sweet and humorous additions. I have had numerous guests volunteer to me that they thought my officiant was excellent, funny, and well versed. He thought of important ceremony details we never would have. During the planning, he stayed on top of decisions we needed to make without pressuring. He was good at obtaining information he needed from us without overwhelming us with questions. I would 100% recommend him to anyone, across all faiths, personalities, and wedding sizes.

    Sent on 10/30/2019
  • Kathy

    Kathy Muirhead · Married on 09/28/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely Perfect

    I'm literally tearing up right now writing a review for Mike Backer thinking about how perfect our wedding ceremony was. We had a fall wedding at the Cyprian Keyes venue in Boylston, MA and booked Mike as our officiant based off the recommendation from our coordinator at Cyprian Keyes as well as all of the recommendations online. My husband and I live in Virginia and Mike was able to skype with us, mail us his binder (more on this magical book later!), and work with us to meet in person once before the rehearsal when we visited Massachusetts. Mike is personable, professional, and made us both feel at ease when thinking about our ceremony. We knew that we wanted an outdoor ceremony by a justice of the peace (we’re from two separate religions and this was a good way to compromise on our families’ traditions), but still wanted the ceremony to be special, last at least twenty minutes, and be personal to us as a couple. Mike sent us a magical binder that is literally the best thing in the world – seriously you can spend two weeks googling ideas for your wedding ceremony and get stressed out or you can use Mike’s binder and be actually happy. We took our binder with us to dinner one night and read through it, circling everything we liked over chips and guacamole. We sat down again with it a week or so later and narrowed down to the sections that spoke to us the most and sent the choices to Mike. He made some suggestions to add a few more things and re-order a few things to make sure it was the length we had in mind and flowed well. We loved the rose ceremony he recommended and decided to write our own second reading with Mike’s encouragement that this was our wedding and should be exactly what we wanted. We wrote our own vows and had two readings done by our sisters – Mike printed out what we each were going to say in big font and had it laminated so we didn’t have to worry about having notecards or anything and our sisters didn’t have to worry about carrying anything except their flowers. Mike was in charge for our rehearsal the evening before the wedding and walked us and our wedding party through what was going to happen. We were ready and excited, and just when it couldn’t have been more perfect, it was – Mike had had us both fill out questionnaires about ourselves and our relationship (separately) and send them to him. He took our words and our stories and put them in our ceremony. I had so many family come up to me after the ceremony and tell me that it was so beautiful, and they felt like they actually knew my husband and I better after listening to our ceremony. Mike gave us a take-home keepsake of our ceremony as well, which is beautiful and something we will be able to take out and read on our anniversary. I cannot recommend Mike enough and so thankful that he was a part of our wedding day.

    Sent on 10/20/2019
  • S

    Samantha · Married on 09/13/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best JP around!

    My husband and I could not say enough great things about Mike. All of our guests were asking about him, and saying how he was so great. He was making everyone laugh, and was so personable. I would absolutely recommend him to anyone looking for a JP :)

    Sent on 09/19/2019
  • Ashley

    Ashley Russell · Married on 09/08/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Heartfelt officiant

    My husband and I got married at the Publick House in Sturbridge MA 9.8.19. In planning the wedding we were unsure of how to go about picking our officiant. Mike came highly recommended from our venue and after meeting him we could see why. Mike made sure the wedding ceremony planning went seamlessly.

    Mike was so helpful at the rehearsal making sure everyone knew exactly what to do and when so come the day of the wedding the ceremony was flawless. I was even surprised at some of the "surprise parts" that made the ceremony that much more personal to us talking about how we met each other and things we said about each other in our individual surveys.

    Words can not express how grateful we are to Mike for making our day so memorable. He was the talk of the wedding everyone was convinced he was a family friend because he "really seemed to know us well". We were told by many people that our ceremony was the best one they had every sat through.

    With that said we would absolutely recommend Mike to any couple in search of their wedding officiant!

    Sent on 09/26/2019
  • A

    AMANDA KELLY · Married on 09/06/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Once in a lifetime!

    Michael is a very sincere and charismatic speakers- he made all our guests laugh and cry! Couldn’t ask for anything more.

    Sent on 09/14/2019
  • Elbano

    Elbano Márquez · Married on 08/31/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ceremony of dreams

    Michael made the ceremony one of a kind, he guided us through different options for it and ended up being just what we dreamed of. Not only the ceremony was tailored for us, but also included important passages of our journey as a couple.

    Sent on 09/16/2019
  • L

    Lynne Racine · Married on 08/03/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Michael Backer is wonderful

    Mike did a great job and made our ceremony special. He customized our ceremony to make it even more meaningful to us. My brother in law recommended him to us and he did not disappoint.

    Sent on 09/15/2019
  • L

    Laura Falkoff · Married on 06/15/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A great experience

    Mike Backer made our wedding ceremony feel personalized and special. He is good at what he does while being down to earth.

    Sent on 09/21/2019
  • S

    Seth · Married on 06/14/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Very happy couple!

    Mike was a very easy officiant to work with! In our initial meeting Mike answered all questions we had and gave some suggestions as well. He offers a HUGE binder of ceremony ideas, complete with readings and different ways to word your ceremony. You essentially get to pick exactly what you want him to say and he will write up the ceremony based on your selections...or in our case allow you to write your own! Mike is a seasoned officiant who is very prompt to answer any and all questions you may have leading up to your big day.

    Sent on 07/08/2019
  • E

    Erin Moody · Married on 06/08/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kind and professional officiant

    I am very happy to write this review for Mike Backer and would recommend him to anyone. He was so easy to work with, and we knew he was the perfect fit for us the first time we met with him. He has a binder full of suggested wordings for each different portion of a wedding ceremony and plenty of options for readings as well. Even though he provides these wording options, he was extremely open to changes that we made to our ceremony script up until just a few days before the wedding. With our permission he also added a few jokes into the ceremony and went "off script" a tiny bit, which was perfect - just the right amount of humor and personalization without taking too much attention or deviating too far from what we had discussed and had written out in advance. He is genuinely such a great guy and truly a professional. You will have nothing to worry about if you choose Mike for your ceremony!

    Sent on 07/30/2019
  • J

    Joe Doonan · Married on 06/08/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Thumbs Up for Michael Backer!

    Michael was an excellent Justice of the Peace for our wedding in Sudbury, MA. His preparation, documentation of reading selections and his over all attitude was exactly what we were looking for. I would highly recommend Michael for all faiths and services!

    Joe and Jane Doonan

    Sent on 08/06/2019
  • Marc

    Marc Viola · Married on 06/02/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Glad we went with the professional

    My fiance I were on a very tight timeline of 6 weeks to do all our wedding planning. We chose Mike and were so glad we did. He's a professional and was the steady guiding hand we needed to pull this off. He tailored the ceremony beautifully and was open to all our special requests. Sure we could have spent less, but in the end his experience and personality made our special day truly special. We highly recommend Mike for your wedding.

    Sent on 07/30/2019