Skip to main content
Weddings

Juniper Preserve Reviews

Juniper Preserve View more information

Reviews

4.4 out of 5 rating
25 Reviews
  • Quality of service
    4.3 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.3 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.4 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.4 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.4 out of 5 rating
88% Recommended by couples

Awards

25
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
Weddingwire
4.4/5 25 reviews
Google
4.5/5 573 reviews
  • Morgan
    Morgan J. Sent on 07/26/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing Staff

    As a floral designer, I'm able to work with a variety of venues on weddings. Pronhorn's Staff blew me away with their professionalism, their smiles and positive attitudes, and they made my job extremely easy from the moment I arrived to set up until the moment I came late that night to pick up the flowers and vases. I can't recommend them enough. I've worked with many venues and this is one of the best! Highly recommend.
  • C
    Christine C. Sent on 07/29/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Pronghorn, better than a castle

    The first time i was married in a castle in Scotland. It was awesome. My mother said... How are you going to beat that...? I did. Pronghorn is so lovely. The people are helpful and organized and professional. It was absolutely perfect. I am very hard to please and it was truly the best.

    Juniper Preserve's reply:

    Thank you, Christine. It is wonderful to hear that we helped to make your day special. Congratulations and best wishes for a lifetime of happiness!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • E
    Eric S. Sent on 04/13/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great experience

    We had a winter wedding at Pronghorn, and above anything else, our experience working with Lauren Jensen, the event coordinator, was what truly stood out. Lauren is incredibly organized, amazingly thorough, and always responsive. We loved working with her, and knew we were in good hands throughout the process. We were "over-promised" by a sales person that is no longer there in terms of what came with our package, and even though it wasn't necessarily their problem, Lauren and the new event manager went out of their way to honor our initial contract.

    It's a beautiful venue, the outdoor pictures are phenomenal, and our guests kept talking about how great the food was. We'd totally go to Lauren and team again for our next wedding! ;)
  • V
    Veronica Sent on 08/29/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Pronghorn Resort is breath-takingly beautiful and the staff members are perfect. Their services and accommodations were top notch and I couldn't have asked for a better venue. Lauren, the event coordinator for Pronghorn, was extraordinary. She worked so hard to make sure our day was perfect, and it truly did turn out exactly how we had planned for 2+ years. There were no hiccups or issues on our wedding weekend (seems unlikely, but it's the truth) due to this venue and their professionalism. Additionally, the food was scrumptious; our guests couldn't stop talking about the food that was served and how mouth-watering it was. My husband Benjamin and I plan to return every year on our anniversary because we just love this place so much! I would recommend Pronghorn to everyone who wants an unforgettable experience that can be reflected on for the rest of your lives.

    Juniper Preserve's reply:

    Veronica, thank you for your kind words. It was truly our pleasure to be a part of your special day. We look forward to celebrating your anniversaries with you and
    Ben. Best wishes for a lifetime of happiness!
  • M
    Mishayla Sent on 07/11/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I had my wedding here last month (June 2018), and it was absolutely perfect! The venue is so unique and beautiful, you can't get any better! The events coordinator, Lauren, was so helpful and was such a pleasure to work with throughout my entire wedding planning experience. The entire Pronghorn staff is professional and amazing to work with! Would absolutely recommend Pronghorn to anyone!

    Juniper Preserve's reply:

    Thank you, Mishayla. It was truly our pleasure to be a part of your special day.
    Best wishes for your happily ever after!
  • M
    Marissa Sent on 12/21/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Pronghorn gave us the most magical wedding! They thought of every detail! The views were absolutely breath taking and photo perfect. More importantly the staff delivered the most magnificent event. The entire staff were aware of our needs and were there to give us anything and everything we needed. Our wedding coordinator Lauren was amazingly communicative and treated us as if our wedding was the most important event of the century. She worked beautifully with us from afar so that upon our arrival all details were shored up and ready. On our special day we didn’t have to look for her or wait for anything she was there to help at a moments notice.

    Lastly, the resort itself. We fell in love with Pronghorn on our initial tour but then when our guests began to arrive everyone was amazed by the beautiful, comfortable rooms and all the amenities that were included. Summer or winter The Pronghorn is the most perfect venue you could find.
  • A
    Aditya Sent on 10/24/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I am glad that we got married at the Pronghorn resort. Lauren (the wedding coordinator) and the whole staff was absolutely stunning.
  • R
    Rebecca Sent on 03/18/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We loved Pronghorn! Stunning venue and excellent service!!
  • M
    Mckenzie Sent on 03/23/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Love this place! We were able to have our dream winter wonderland wedding out her this past December. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Especially the wedding coordinator, she worked great with all my service providers and making sure we were well taken care of the whole time we were there. I will truly treasure our memories we had out here and of course the amazing pictures. The scenery is truly spectacular! Our friends and family still talk about what a beautiful and fun wedding it was. Love this place!! So happy we choose it! They also allow dogs which was awesome because I had to have my dogs in our wedding photos :) Thanks again! Can't wait to go back for our 1 year! - McKenzie & David Mayer
  • User2490014 Sent on 01/01/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We have not had our wedding yet, but we booked with Pronghorn and we couldn't be more excited. We knew it was the one the minute we stepped inside the doors. The staff are so responsive and professional, always willing to help and cater to you. Ashley was great about working with us on the budget. I know they will make it a magical day!
  • User1830744 Sent on 09/26/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    What a gorgeous place to celebrate one of the best days of our lives. Pronghorn is not only gorgeous, the employees are incredible. My new husband and I fell in love with Pronghorn the second we saw it. There is no better backdrop to a ceremony than the beautiful mountains of central Oregon in September. Carey, our event planner at Pronghorn, couldn't have done a more amazing job. She was patient, accommodating, calm and always had the best communication. By the time the wedding came and went, I felt like she should have been one of my bridesmaids! Our food for the ceremony was raved about, we provided minimal decorations as the clubhouse is gorgeous in itself. If you are thinking of possibly having your wedding at Pronghorn, stop by and see Carey, take a walk around, and you won't be disappointed. THIS is the place to get married.
  • User941234 Sent on 09/20/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We were looking for a beautiful and scenic place to have our ceremony and reception and wow did this fit the bill! As soon as we drove onto the property, we knew we wanted to have our wedding here. Adding to a beautiful and fantastic venue is a welcoming, personable and professional staff. Carey, the wedding coordinator for Pronghorn is on top of everything and is a pleasure to work with. Not only was our wedding truly our dream wedding, but our friends and family were completely wowed by this amazing property! Totally recommend!
  • D
    Danielle Sent on 04/02/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The staff at Pronghorn were amazing to work with, they made my guests feel at home and my dream wedding come true. The venue is absolutely stunning and the food is amazing. I can't wait to go back and stay there for a long weekend!
  • V
    Veronica Sent on 09/21/2011
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Pronghorn was a prefect place to have our wedding, food was amazing, an the scenery was fantastic for our photos. The servicers were right there if someone needed a drink or appetizer, even apple juice for the kids. I wouldn't have choosen a more perfect place for our special day.
  • M
    Michelle Sent on 09/26/2011
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Amazing staff, very professional and friendly who treated me like I was a member of the club. They always made time to talk and meet with me many times to iron out all the details which I was grateful for. My guests all commented on how friendly and attentive the whole staff was that night. The food was fantastic and they gave us recomendations for beverages that met our budget and everyone thought they were delicious. Our reception at Pronghorn went beyond our expectations and was a great value as well. Can't say enough good things about Pronghorn and we look forward to going back to their restaurants throughout the year.
  • Mick
    Mick Sent on 12/06/2018
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating

    The most extra wedding venue in Oregon

    I went to probably 20 wedding venues from Portland, Ashland to Bend. We weren’t even going to go to Pronghorn because I felt like giving up. Let me tell you, if you like an elevated venue — pronghorn is for you! This place reminds me of a castle, beautiful woodwork, masonry and gorgeous fireplaces. The executive chef won bite of bend and he delievered— everyone raved about the food. You can either get married inside for an intimate feel or you can get married on “event island” which is what we did and the pictures looked amazing! It’s a bit of a drive out there but totally worth it!

    Juniper Preserve's reply:

    Mick, congratulations on your recent wedding and thank you for the review. It was our pleasure to serve you, and we look forward to having you back with us to celebrate future anniversaries.
  • C
    Cassie Sent on 12/26/2018
    4.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing Venue!!

    The beauty in this venue is breathtaking. You feel as if you are in a castle, it is warm and rich. The wedding coordinator was so helpful throughout the whole process, which helped to keep things smooth. We were not impressed with the bartenders on the day of the wedding. It seemed as if they were inconvenienced with the task at hand. Otherwise, everything was perfect.
  • S
    Samantha Sent on 10/27/2011
    4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    The Property is beautiful. The staff was very friendly, professional, and organized.
  • User2121746 Sent on 05/06/2015
    4.4 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    Our April 2015 wedding at Pronghorn was MAGICAL. Everyone loved the location, the condos were gorgeous, and the staff was exceptionally helpful throughout the process. The locker rooms were comfortable, large and accommodating for our group of 5 women. The clubhouse is gorgeous, and when weather threatened our plans, the staff helped us create a great alternative. My cousin is a professional chef and said that the dinner at Pronghorn was the best catered meal she can remember. The staff was generous in driving us to photo locations and often checked in to make sure we had what we needed.
    The spa services are top notch. Also, we requested childcare during the reception. The Pronghorn staff went above and beyond coordinating service, including special activities. When we found errors in our billing statements, the staff was prompt and friendly in resolving the issues. I appreciated feeling comfortable discussing these things and knowing they would be handled professionally.

    A few tips if planning to book at wedding at Pronghorn:
    The Pronghorn will charge a guest’s credit card for their room before they arrive. This is different than at other locations where the card is only used to hold them room, but not charged. Be sure to alert your guests that they’ll be paying this expense in advance.
    Be sure to review your event orders in detail to ensure accuracy. It seemed that there was a lot of change going on staffing-wise and so not all the details were clear. It’s good advice for any vendor, but it was something we found to be true in our experience at Pronghorn.
    It often took at least 48 business hours or more to get a response to emails, so call if you have an urgent question.
    The cell/wife reception at Pronghorn is spotty at best. However, the landlines in the condos are free of charge for all calls. I suggest asking the staff to create a list of names, rooms, and phone numbers for your guests if you want people to be able to get a hold of each other.
  • K
    Kim Sent on 03/29/2017
    4.1 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      2.5 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Pronghorn is a beautiful venue, and we loved getting married there in Winter 2017. The staff are super nice. The reason I'm not giving 5 stars is because of the current wedding coordinator, Lauren. While Lauren is professional, she did not seem to pay close attention to details. When we came to visit Pronghorn for a second time, she told my husband it was 'nice to meet him,' but she had already met him once before & didnt seem to remember. We had a rather small wedding, and I never felt that Lauren understood our vision. She kept talking about how it is hard to get family group shots: We literally had 5 family members at our wedding. Then, when I looked over my final food & beverage order, the wine had been left off. We had discussed the wine order a month prior. On wedding day, Lauren was helpful & prepared. I did hire another wedding coordinator, and I'm glad I did so I could rely on someone else to keep track of other details.
  • E
    Elizabeth Sent on 01/07/2017
    3.7 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      3.5 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      3.5 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      3.5 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    My daughter and daughter-in-law were married here recently. The venue is lovely, and the kitchen staff and food were wonderful. They were very helpful with the decorations and replaced some of the tablecloths at short notice when we messed them up with the garlands we were wrapping with lights. The area the girls got dressed was great, as was being able to have food delivered to them while makeup and hair was happening. Our biggest issues were with the resort itself, as many guest rooms were not ready on time. Housekeeping was a frequent complaint on many of the reviews we later saw. The maintenance people were great, and quickly came whenever we needed something. The resort staff also delivered extra towels and a can of Sterno (as our outdoor fire pit was buried under 2 feet of snow) so that we could have S'more's with our hot chocolate at the rehearsal dinner. My husband had forgotten his toiletries bag and they brought a toothbrush, etc. We had rented a 4 bedroom, and it fit 26 people for the rehearsal dinner and cocktails without being uncomfortable. The small bedroom we put our son in had no internal heat, so he was cold all night. We heard the same complaint from others in the wedding party staying in similar sized homes. We also did not appreciate the brides, bridesmaids, and fathers having to stand out in below freezing temperatures waiting to enter the venue. There should be a way to have some of the outdoor area heaters in place to keep the participants from getting too cold while they are standing there. Our bartender was funny and kept up well with the number of guests. They checked in with us every 250.00 about whether we wanted to raise the open bar amount, which I appreciated. Many of the people who we spoke to had only worked there for a few months, some for only a few days. The original wedding coordinator that the girls bonded with had moved on to another job, and we were disappointed in how well things were handled.
  • K
    Kara W. Sent on 08/17/2020
    1.2 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      2.0 out of 5 rating

    The most unprofessional venue experience I have ever had.

    I can't even explain to you how many reasons of why I would recommend you never getting married here. I'm an event planner by trade so I've worked with 100 of venues and I've never had such a poor experience with a venue. The communication was extremely unprofessional and when we expressed our concerns continually after months, we were then returned with a very callus email from the sales director. She would never get back to us about our contracts. I spent MONTHS trying to resolve the room block situation when they agreed to 20% then stopped responding to us for weeks so that our rooms for our weekend would then increase by $80 a night before they responded again. I had multiple staff on these emails and NO ONE would respond or be accommodating to our schedules in any way! We were asked for higher deposits by their staff that we fought on multiple emails and if they would have just read our contract then they would have known what we owed. The final straw is when I asked for 4 weeks for a new contract that reflected our postponement date. My wedding planner, myself, fiance, and my mother all called almost every day with no response. We were returned with a very callus email about how they are too busy during COVID with events that they can't get back to us about a NEW contract. I hired an outside wedding planner because I had major concerns about the wedding and the level of service we would receive. We were also lied to on multiple occasions about the fact that we could have a 150+ event in September 2020 when days before the Governor had announced that any events through the end of September should be canceled or severely modified. We asked for their government cited sources and they could not provide them. They were only looking out for themselves throughout this entire process. I am extremely sad and disappointed with our decision to change venues. The venue is gorgeous, but the stress that Pronghorn caused was not worth it. Pronghorn you cannot charge a premium and say you are a luxury resort when your service is hands down the worst communication and treatment of a client I have seen in a while. As you can tell, this is a very emotional email because they forced me into a position where I could no longer tolerate them not holding up their contractual agreements. And honestly, I do not write reviews, but I felt it was important that I share my experience so no one has to go through this poor treatment again. Pronghorn, I hope you do better next time.
  • T
    Theresa N. Sent on 02/15/2021
    1 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      1.0 out of 5 rating

    Lack of Professionalism & Not Reputable

    We had to cancel due to COVID and public gathering restrictions. The "Wedding Team" acknowledged the cancellation and said they would get back to us regarding the refund. Weeks have gone by and we have made multiple requests--including to the General Manager--and no response. I am disappointed in their lack of professionalism and empathy. Don't be mistaken into thinking this is a reputable Resort, it is not.
  • J
    Jake T. Sent on 07/02/2021
    1 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      1.0 out of 5 rating

    Please consider another venue...

    My fiancé and I were very excited to find Pronghorn. They had the facilities to accommodate guests in one place so we could enjoy our wedding week with our family and friends. I’d like to keep my review as succinct and fair as possible, so I’ll jump right in.

    The positive: The venue is beautiful. We were looking forward to an island ceremony with a mountainous background and moving to the indoor/open air reception area. The hotel would accommodate all our guests, allow us to gather for days at the pool, play sports, etc. Holding one wedding per day gave us piece of mind that we wouldn’t be fighting another couple for space or staff. When the pandemic hit, they were able to postpone our wedding to the summer of 2021 without penalty, which was appreciated.

    The negative: We had four wedding dates pulled from under our feet. Between the summers of 2020 and 2021 we would be deciding on a date, held for us, and then be told it was booked by another group. Throughout the process, we worked with seven different contacts at the venue, having to continually catch people up on our plans for the wedding date. There were consistent issues with hotel reservations; different rate quotes, wrong cards charged, reservations being moved without notice, and guests not being able to reach anyone to take a reservation. We reached our breaking point while working with the Director of Sales and Marketing and the complete lack of professionalism. Our emails went unanswered, we had to set up conference calls and reserve calendar time from our side, appointments weren’t held, flippant emails were fired off without any research, among other customer service concerns. In trying to reach the General Manager, Spencer Shaub, I phoned his office seven times but was never able to get past his assistant. He had no interest in speaking with us or working out our concerns. When employees at the Director and GM level have no interest in the customer experience, we were ready to walk away.

    A final positive or two; Although we were put in contact with so many different coordinators at the venue, they were sweet and did their best. Additionally, Sarah Hanson (GMs Executive Assistant), was kind enough to return phone calls and attempt to get interest from the General Manager. I appreciated her work at a very difficult time.

    If I chose dig into the past 18 months, I could have written a multi-page negative review. In short, our experience left my fiancé exhausted by the process and dreading communication with the resort in any form. We wouldn’t want anyone’s experience to be ruined as ours was. I implore you to seek options elsewhere.
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message
Responds within 24 hours