Jim Colman Photography Reviews

36 | Raleigh, NC
See photos, pricing and details

36 Reviews for Jim Colman Photography

Recommended by 100%

36
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0
36 Jim Colman Photography Reviews
Sort by:
  • Jamie

    Jamie · Married on 09/22/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jim was wonderful! He was very responsive, very thorough, and made sure we all felt comfortable. He also made sure he got our picture proofs to be before he left for an out of country wedding he was photographing! He allowed me to swap our "complimentary engagement photos" for my bridal photos instead which was very helpful. He was truly wonderful to work with! I highly encourage everyone to consider using Jim's services for any photography needs!!

    Jim Colman Photography 1
    Jim Colman Photography 2
    Jim Colman Photography 3
    Jim Colman Photography 4
    Jim Colman Photography 5
    Jim Colman Photography 6
    Jim Colman Photography 7
  • S

    S · Married on 11/25/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jim is so fantastic!! We loved working with him from the moment we met. He was very responsive, flexible, and just a pleasure to work with. Wedding planning can be difficult and having vendors who are nice and easy to work with is so awesome! Jim took the time to customize a photo package to fit our needs and budget. And he had the pictures up and ready for our viewing within a few days following our wedding day! He did a beautiful job of capturing our wedding and we love every photo. I would highly recommend Jim to anyone needing photography services! He’s the best!

  • C

    Christina · Married on 10/21/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jim was fantastic. 5 stars is not enough! He truly has an artist's eye, and captures truly amazing moments of our wedding. His pictures showed the unique and quirky personalities of my husband and I, as well as our friends and family. He was very accommodating to unique requests, and had a lot of advice to offer when needed. Jim gives you the option of adding an assistant who is equally talented, and brings his own lighting options to enhance his work and accommodate any venue.. His photographs from our wedding are works of art, and I am honored to have been in them. Jim will give you complete access to all photos that he takes by way of high resolution photos on a flash drive. You are free to use the photos however you please.

  • S

    Stephanie · Married on 10/08/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It was a pleasure to work with Jim as my daughter's wedding photographer. She chose Jim because she loved his style and I feel her choice was excellent. Jim was very easy to work with and his pictures were amazing. It was lightly raining that day and he was still able to capture some pretty outdoor shots. I highly recommend Jim to photograph your special event!

  • S

    Sarah · Married on 03/26/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ben and I were engaged for almost a year before we finally found Jim. This was definitely not an impulsive pick, we thought long and hard about other photographers in the area but Jim blew all of them out of the water with his professionalism and genuine character. He is very personable and easy going. Being in front of a camera isn't easy for everyone, but Jim makes it so fun and easy to do. He gets you to smile and laugh in the most natural manner, we seriously couldn't have picked a better photographer for our wedding. He is FIVE stars all the way around for us. The best money we spent on our wedding, for sure. Better book him now, I'm sending friends left and right :)

    On top of his talent, he got our pictures back to us two days after our wedding!!!!!!!!

    Thank you Jim, for your hard work to make our wedding pictures the best.
    - The Evenson's

  • P

    Piyali · Married on 12/10/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I first met Jim Colman almost 5 years ago as he was the photographer for my best friend’s wedding. Their pictures were incredible and were filled with candid shots that I knew I wanted to work with him whenever I did get married.

    I reached out to Jim soon after I got engaged. My only concern is that my friend’s wedding was 42 people versus mine which was a large wedding of over 360 people and filled with indian traditions. After going through all details, expectations, and the rough agenda...we were set. Jim also brought on another photographer, Christobal Perez, to work with him that day as it was such a large gathering. They had a great rapport and the helped us stick to the busy agenda.

    We worked with Jim prior to the wedding day to go through the day and all the must have photo shots. We had photography for the rehearsal dinner, getting ready pics, family shots, first look, baarat, ceremony, cocktail hour, reception, and dessert (viennese) spread. So many guests mentioned how hard my photographers worked and that they literally were running around all day to make sure we had everything we wanted captured. Between Jim and his partner, they shot over 8,000 pictures. In just one week, he sorted through the entire cache of photos and sent us a link to all the edited photos (approximately 3,000). A short time thereafter, he mailed a personalized box containing three thumb drives: one for the rehearsal dinner; one for the ceremony; and one for the reception. The pictures came out beautiful and captured all the little touches for the day in a candid way. The pictures speak to the energy that was there for our fairy tale wedding. You will not be disappointed with the professionalism, quality, and timeliness with Jim Colman photography.

  • B

    Becky · Married on 07/23/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We looked through dozens of photographer cards from bridal shows, but it was Jim's work that stole our breath away. With an eye for lighting, color, and great framing, he puts together not just an image but a story. Needless to say, our wedding pictures came out fantastic. We didn't get a videographer, so having great pictures was extra important to us--Jim came through for us! He really captured the joy of the wedding, and our quirky spirit, while catching elegant and classy shots that will look great on our mantle. Heck, they wouldn't look out of place in a bridal magazine! He's also a joy to work with, being very congenial and professional. Even our shy toddler of a flower girl liked him (and she's not sure about anyone but her parents and grandma!). Great artist, who has caught great memories, and a pleasure to work with.

  • S

    Sacha · Married on 06/18/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I would highly recommend Jim Coleman for your wedding, or any event where you want to capture the memory. One of the reasons we chose Jim was because he had a background in photojournalism. His photos were dynamic and really told the story of our day (as opposed to many photographers whose pictures were bland and staged). Jim, as a person, was truly a joy to work with. Many photographers tend to be overbearing and insist on their vision - but Jim was open-minded and thoughtful about venues/positioning. He had great ideas for our shoots, but also let us explore our own ideas. Our pictures turned out beautiful, and was well worth the price!

  • L

    Lauren · Married on 06/09/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We used Jim Colman for our planned elopement/wedding and we consider ourselves SO lucky we had him as our photographer. He is responsive, easy going, and relaxing to work with. His photography is AMAZING! I have never seen a photographer who has a better understanding of natural light and how to best capture it. I am simply blown away by the photographs he took. HIRE Jim, you will not regret it!!

  • R

    Renee · Married on 05/21/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I couldn't have been more pleased with the service and quality that my husband and I received from Jim Coleman. He was extremely flexible with our busy schedules, while planning our engagement pictures and was quick getting them back to us. He was extremely easy to talk to and keep in touch with, he made this process so enjoyable and easy! He was always on time and reliable. His knowledge for photography and his eye for an amazing photo opportunity is what sold us to use him. We couldn't have been more please with our decision! Our engagement and wedding photos were beautiful! We are still in love with them almost a year later! Above anything else Jim made us feel at ease, he was friendly and funny and we felt as though we were working with a friend not a stranger!

  • User5581493 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jim photographed our wedding and did an amazing job. Great personality. Very responsive. Very talented. I would recommend him to anyone!

  • User4192714 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I were just recently married and we could not have been more happy with the pictures that Jim took. He was very professional, flexible with our schedule (as we were planning the wedding from out of state), and we loved the final product. We had our engagement pictures, bridal portraits, and wedding day pictures taken by Jim and he always had the pictures available to us within 3 days of taking them. We would recommend Jim Colman to anyone looking to have a photographer who cares about the client and provides beautiful pictures.

  • G

    Gretchen · Married on 04/18/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It's difficult to put into words what a professional Jim Colman is. You can tell he loves his job and really cares about the people he works with. From the moment I first met him at his home, I couldn't wait to work with him. And then I saw our engagement photos and I was so glad that we chose him. He got our wedding photos back to us within a week and everyone has loved looking at them. Jim captured every single moment that we wanted and more. We went slightly outside of our budget to have Jim as our photographer, and we have never regretted it for a second.

  • User3338605 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jim was our photographer for our Durham wedding last October. He was THE BEST. Our ceremony was just when the sun was setting and he did an amazing job getting night pictures of us. All of our pictures are so beautiful they look like art! Also he was was very organized and got through all the pictures we wanted without a problem. He was also so great at the reception and would pull us away for a few photos here and there throughout the night. His eye for great background and composition is just fantastic. Would HIGHLY recommend him to anyone!

  • User4521106 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jim is GREAT! He is very laid back and easy going and from our first meeting, he made me feel comfortable with him. He took our engagement pictures and took extra care to make sure we got the photos we wanted. I was blown away by them. He also did my bridal portaits and I can't even express how beautiful those turned out. When I first saw my bridal portriats, I was just completely overwhelmed at how beautiful they looked. He isn't stingy with his time and is willing to work with ideas that you have for photos. On our wedding day, he was with us the whole day - not 5 hours or 8 hours like some photographers limit you. He was with us while we were getting hair and make-up done, while we were putting on dresses and up until we left our reception. He had a second shooter come with him who was also fantastic. I kept an idea book of photos I liked and gave them to him, and he was willing to create some of the ideas that I had given him - and they turned out beautiful!!! I just got back from my honeymoon and looked at the proofs from our wedding day and was so happy - the photos made me laugh and cry. Having gone through this process, having a good photographer is KEY b/c unfortuantely, being the bride or groom, you miss so much of your own wedding. It was great getting to come back and see all of the details from the wedding and it just took me back to that day. You can't go wrong with Jim - he is highly professional and talented beyond belief. The photos he creates are beyond amazing!

  • K

    Kathy · Married on 10/11/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jim was wonderful to work with! I met him at a wedding show and called to book later. I was happy that my date was still available since it was only 6 months out.

    He tailored his package to my needs and even brought a second shooter on the day. Jim was very understanding on the day of my preference to stay inside and was creative in organizing our first look pictures at the venue. He also incorporated a lot of the decor which was a request of mine.

    The pictures were delivered to me SUPER fast (within 2 weeks) and are of great quality!!

  • F

    Fonda · Married on 06/21/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jim Coleman is truly professional

  • A

    Allison · Married on 12/21/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jim Colman was the perfect photographer for our wedding. He also photographed our engagement session and my bridal session. Jim was extremely responsive and was more than willing to answer all of my questions in a timely manner! Jim is so personable and he made us feel so comfortable. Our pictures turned out beautiful and Jim did an excellent job at capturing every moment! Jim's work is the perfect mixture of beautiful artistic pictures and personable meaningful pictures. I would recommend Jim to any bride!

  • R

    Rebecca · Married on 07/13/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot say enough wonderful things about Jim! My bridal portraits are STUNNING! And I still cannot get over how awesome all the pictures are from our wedding! From the first meeting, Jim was very professional, listened to what we were looking for in a photographer, and tailored a package to meet our needs. My husband and I felt relaxed and confident that our pictures would come out fantastic, and Jim has exceeded all our expectations!

  • User3368300 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Fantastic quality and very professional!!!

  • User2188604 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We really enjoyed working with Jim. He knew exactly what we were looking for and have us plenty of options to choose from. He had a great attitude and even dealt with my photographer father. We had a great time and our photos were gorgeous!

  • User2729362 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I moved to the Raleigh area about two years ago (in 2010), found the man of my dreams and got engaged October 1, 2011. When we got engaged we started immediately finding our vendors. I am a huge planner (I'm a teacher) so I knew I wanted to get the "BIG" plans out of the way. One of which being our photographer. We searched around quite a bit, asked for quotes, looked at websites, met for coffee but it wasn't until a week or so later that I tried begging my photographer friend back in WI to come do our wedding in NC. We both knew it wasn't feasible so he recommended Jim to us instead. We met with Jim a few weeks after we were engaged and immediately loved the vibe we got from him. He is professional but laid back and seemed to know an awful lot about the business.

    We took a while before taking our engagement photographs but afterwards were really pleased with the results. My now husband and I are not very comfortable in front of a camera but Jim did a phenomenal job helping us feel comfortable. When we sent out the proofs to our friends and family members they were RAVING about them.

    This past weekend we got married and used Jim as our photographer again. He made the day go by so smoothly and worked with me to get some of the shots that are not "traditional" but I wanted to have.

    I highly recommend Jim to anyone who is looking for a fun, laid back, professional who has a TON of knowledge in the field.

    Thanks Jim for being amazing. Ben and I love you!

  • M

    Maxine · Married on 09/08/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jim Colman was the perfect photographer for our wedding; his attention to small details and the broad picture at the same time is truly admirable.
    He captured every image I would want and got all our photos to us ONE week after the wedding. The photos are so lovely, my husband and I are really happy with the work he has done. In addition, the coffee table book is made with the best quality, and looks like it will last us forever. We show it to everyone visits our home.
    Jim has a deep love for his photography and carries himself with great professionalism. His prices were great too! All said and done, with all the choices we made to make our wedding day special, our photographer was the best!

  • C

    Priscilla · Married on 04/29/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Pictures were beautiful! He really knew what he was doing with his prices being affordable I also loved that we had the rights to all the pictures and they were ready in 2 weeks after the wedding.

  • H

    Heather · Married on 11/06/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jim is great. Nicest guy ever. Craftmanship is excellent. He did my engagement photos and bridal portraits ... beautiful work + great price. Only reason that he did not do the wedding day photography is because he was already booked. Very good with making suggestions about locations and poses. Very flexible.

    Recommended to me, and now recommended by me.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review