James Monroe's Highland Reviews

31 | Charlottesville, VA
See photos, pricing and details

31 Reviews for James Monroe's Highland

Recommended by 95%

31
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.7
  • Professionalism 4.8
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.7
  • Average response time 4.8

23 User photos

James Monroe's Highland 1
James Monroe's Highland 2
James Monroe's Highland 3
James Monroe's Highland 4
James Monroe's Highland 5
James Monroe's Highland 6
James Monroe's Highland 7
+ 17
Sort by:
  • Susan

    Susan Barnes · Married on 06/22/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ceremony and Reception Venue

    Beautiful venue with helpful staff! It was the perfect spot for us- we loved it!

    Sent on 07/13/2019
  • Jacqueline

    Jacqueline · Married on 05/04/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Stunning location, rain or shine!

    James Monroe's Highland is a beautiful space! They have numerous outdoor locations for the ceremony and cocktail hour. The pavilion was perfect for our reception, even though it rained a bit (thankfully later that night so the ceremony still took place outside), there are flaps you can rent that work perfectly. Addie (who has left) and Frankie (who took over a few months before the wedding) were a joy to work with. They were very responsive to questions about what was and wasn't allowed. Putting up our own bistro lights in the pavilion was very helpful and cost saving. The 'bridal suite' is ok, but I ended up deciding to get ready elsewhere. The indoor rain plan - a two story event barn - would have worked for us if we needed it to. We happened to have done our tour while it was raining, so seeing the rain plan before booking was great. The only complaint we really received from guests is that the bathrooms are far away, but Highland is looking to add some up near the pavilion in the future. the venue was a dream for my wedding. It doesn't hurt that a good chunk of the fee is tax deductible too. (Photo credit to Amanda Maglione)

    Sent on 06/10/2019
    James Monroe's Highland 18
    James Monroe's Highland 19
    James Monroe's Highland 20
    James Monroe's Highland 21
    James Monroe's Highland 22
    James Monroe's Highland 23
  • Caroline

    Caroline · Married on 11/17/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Fantastic place to get married!

    Highland was a wonderful choice for us. First of all, the price was manageable for our large wedding. We knew we'd have up to 200 guests and they were a beautiful location with indoor and outdoor spaces for use that could accommodate our number. Addie was our main point of contact for booking and she was so nice, responsive and low-maintenance! Holly was our on-site contact and was incredibly helpful. They worked with us on some quirky aspects - like having skee-ball and foosball at our cocktail hour - and were flexible in giving us access to store various items overnight since they didn't have an event booked the night before our wedding. They were also helpful in making it accessible for my handicapped grandfather. Some of the recent/upcoming improvements (potable water on-site, a concrete slab for the catering vendors behind the pavilion) are just going to make it more and more attractive as a venue. And did I mention that it's STUNNINGLY GORGEOUS? We had our ceremony outside on Nov 17 and the leaves and light looked beautiful on a 54-degree day. We had the ceremony in the peacock yard, cocktail hour in the event barn, and the reception at the pavilion. There's basically no spot on the property that doesn't make for great photos.

    Sent on 11/30/2018
  • C

    Chelsea · Married on 10/06/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This venue is one of the most beautiful wedding destinations in Charlottesville, and is easy to work with, while not breaking the bank! Emilia and the rest of the event staff at James Monroe's Highland are very responsive, helpful, and professional. I am a wedding planner and coordinator based out of Richmond, and it is crucial to have a supportive venue when making plans for clients. If you want a historic venue with gorgeous views at a great price, look no further!

    Sent on 01/12/2018
    James Monroe's Highland 24
    James Monroe's Highland 25
    James Monroe's Highland 26
    James Monroe's Highland 27
  • C

    Catherine · Married on 09/29/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This is the most gorgeous, dreamiest venue with so much natural beauty! Our guests were obsessed with this hidden treasure of a venue. Addie and her team were so easy to work with.

    Sent on 10/09/2018
  • R

    Rachel · Married on 06/30/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am so grateful to Ash-Lawn and Addie (Ash-Lawn's coordinator) for the most amazing wedding. Every inch of the venue is beautiful. The winding driveways, gardens, historic buildings, and mountain backdrop made for the most stunning views and photos. The guided house tour during cocktail hour was a favorite for so many of our guests. Addie was flexible, calm, and did everything possible to make our wedding special. I wouldn't change one thing!

    Sent on 08/02/2018
  • M

    Megan · Married on 04/21/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had the most incredible time working with Addie and the entire team at Highland. We were able to access the site several times in the months leading up to the wedding, the staff answered any questions we had and the property could not be more beautiful! Our guests were so amazed by the views and the gorgeous Virginia landscapes. I would recommend this venue to anyone looking to have a beautiful outdoor Virginia setting for their wedding. There were so many beautiful backdrops for photos. We couldn't imagine a more perfect place to get married!

    Sent on 05/29/2018
    James Monroe's Highland 28
    James Monroe's Highland 29
    James Monroe's Highland 30
  • K

    Kelly · Married on 10/08/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved having our wedding at Highland! Our experience could not have been better.

    Sent on 01/24/2018
  • S

    Harriet · Married on 05/31/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ash Lawn-Highland is a dream venue at which to be married. The ash tree lined drive to the house makes for the most beautiful photos along with all of the gardens and mountain views. There are areas for any size ceremony and the reception pavilion is within walking distance. One of the best touches is that while the bridal party is taking photos, guests can chose to tour the Monroe house if they chose. The staff is very polite and easy to work with making Ash Lawn-Highland an ideal location to have a wedding.

    Sent on 06/10/2015
  • M

    Megan · Married on 06/28/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ash Lawn-Highland is absolutely beautiful and Brittany Harton was a wonderful site coordinator. She was extremely responsive which only made our experience that more wonderful and special to us. Vendors had great accessibility to our reception site on the property and the grounds were absolutely beautiful. It was an unforgettable day overall, and we couldn't be happier to have gotten married at Ash Lawn!!

    Sent on 07/15/2014
  • User4249948 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ash Lawn-Highland was very accommodating to our needs and were flexible regarding the start time of our event. The location is a great value as it is competitively priced and the whole property is available to you for the day. We used one lawn for the ceremony, another for games, and the wonderful pavilion for our reception, which could also serve as a great rain location. It was very reassuring having that safety net as we did have summer storm clouds on our wedding day.

    Sent on 07/15/2014
  • User4260827 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The staff at Ash Lawn-Highland match their venue - pleasant, easy, accommodating. If ALH is your venue choice because of its mix of beauty and vibe, you will not be disappointed by the attentive and professional staff. Book early :)

    Sent on 07/19/2014
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 07/06/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We absolutely love James Monroe's Ash Lawn-Highland. My husband and I visit president's homes as a hobby and literally fell in love with Ash Lawn the first time we visited. A few years later, after my future husband proposed at Monticello.... we booked Ash Lawn as our wedding venue that week! Baylor is simply the best!! He did everything we needed and was in contact with us throughout the process! If you are a history buff looking for the perfect place.... pick Ash Lawn-Highland. No president's home compares!!!!!! Happiest days of our life was at this beautiful location! All of our guests said it was the most amazing wedding they have ever been to.... one guest said, "every nook and cranny is simply gorgeous"

    Sent on 07/11/2013
  • N

    Nikki · Married on 09/10/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    LOVED LOVED LOVED Ash Lawn. Baylor was extremely responsive and helpful leading up to my wedding. Everything went perfectly and my guests were awed by the grounds. I couldn't recommend it more!

    Sent on 10/04/2011
  • K

    Keri · Married on 08/14/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Baylor Reinhart was our contact person at Ash Lawn - Highland and he was wonderful. He was VERY responsive and did everything he could to make sure our day was what we wanted (including accepting Fed Ex deliveries in the days before the wedding as we were planning our wedding from out-of-town). He also inspired some serious confidence when he told me that he had helped organize 132 weddings that were held at the outdoor venue without rain during the ceremony. It is breathtakingly beautiful venue and there is only one rule: no sparklers. Although this venue is expensive there are three important points about the cost 1) the majority of the fee charged is a tax-deductible donation; 2) because the venue is so beautiful, you only need minimal flowers and other decore - i.e. it is different than decorating a hotel ball room; 3) you can have the ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception in different areas of the venue (the estate is large), so you don't have to incur the additional cost of a donation to a church, or renting an additional room for child care (we had child care in the air-conditioned conference room that has a great patio and yard for the kids to play), and you can avoid hosting the cocktail hour in the hallway outside the hotel ball room.

    Although the venue is truly amazing, it is a bit more rustic than most - meaning that you need to build a good team of vendors that are familiar with the venue so you don't get bogged down with the logistics. For example, I would definitely consider 20 South as your caterer as they have their own catering kitchen (a much needed asset at Ash Lawn - Highlands that many other caterers must rent and they pass on the cost to you) and they know the size and number of plastic curtains that you may consider renting in case of rain during the reception. 20 South also handles all the rental orders for linens, china, etc., for you at cost (Ash Lawn has tables you can use, but the chairs are a little beat up so you may consider renting them).

    The last (and probably most important) aspect of this venue is the freedom they give you to make a memorable event. Our wedding was on a Saturday and we were the only wedding of the weekend. We showed up on Thursday morning and clean-up did not occur until Sunday, Baylor was not only OK with our extended use of the property, but encouraged it by saying "The place is yours, use all of it and do what you will - but no sparklers!"

    We would recommend this gorgeous, historic venue without hesitation!

    Sent on 08/31/2010
  • S

    Sharon · Married on 11/05/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ash Lawn was the perfect wedding venue for us! Our wedding was on a Sunday in the Event barn in November. The staff was easy to work with, highly responsive, and helped us talk through any questions we had along the way. Our guests were wowed with the beautiful views and historic setting. Since the property is historic, though, there are some quirks and specific rules to follow. That wasn't a problem for us, though, and we found Ash Lawn to be well worth the value! Would highly recommend!

    Sent on 01/28/2018
  • D

    Dana · Married on 04/23/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We absolutely loved our Ash Lawn-Highland wedding (officially now, James Monroe's Highland). The setting was absolutely stunning and a great way to show off Charlottesville as well as a bit of history to out of town guests. Guests are able to tour the house during cocktail hour. There are multiple options for your ceremony and cocktail hour. One of my top priorities is making sure there was a "back-up" location for the ceremony if it rained, which Ash Lawn offered.

    For their 2016 package, they made quite a few updates including ability to chose color of ceremony/reception chairs (a big upgrade from the previous chairs), a dance floor for the pavilion, and option to use tent sidings if needed (which, we ended up using). The price did go up for 2016, but in pricing out rentals and considering hassle it made sense for us. An added bonus was a week before our wedding they painted the pavilion beams. It now looks incredibly bright and updated:)

    Brittany, the site coordinator, is amazing. She incredibly sweet, flexible and responsive. She always responded to her emails in a timely manner. She was wonderful about answering questions and providing suggestions based on previous weddings/events. She's also great about setting up walk-thru's with vendors or just time for the Bride/Groom to check out the venue (again and again!). I highly recommend a day-of-coordinator as Brittany serves as just the site coordinator. It gave us peace of mind that everything would flow smoothly, and if anything did come up, it was being handled by someone other than the Bride/Groom and/or the families.

    For the future Bride: It can be very windy up on the mountain. This may be something you take into consideration for your table decorations and your escort/place cards. By far the only negative was the bathrooms. Despite signs and the lawn lights, some guests still had trouble. I'd recommend extra lighting for the path and having your DJ make an announcement.

    Sent on 05/08/2016
  • K

    Katherine · Married on 06/13/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ash Lawn was the perfect venue for our wedding. Brittany, the event coordinator, was extremely helpful and encouraging as we were planning our wedding, and worked with us when we changed our ceremony and reception locations - several times! The property is beautiful and is a really great deal compared to similar venues in the area. Since Ash Lawn is such a popular wedding spot, our vendors were very familiar with it, which made planning very easy. My only (small) complaint is that some of the amenities that technically come with the site - particularly the folding chairs - are old and outdated-looking, so we ended up renting more than we expected to initially. I would still unequivocally recommend Ash Lawn - and book early, because it seemed to fill up quickly!

    Sent on 07/12/2015

    James Monroe's Highland's reply:

    We are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful experience at Ash Lawn-Highland, Katherine! Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on how we can improve our wedding operations. We agree that our current chairs are outdated, and so to improve this feature for future weddings at Ash Lawn-Highland, we are offering better quality, wooden chairs in our 2016 weddings package.
  • Amanda

    Amanda · Married on 09/28/2014

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    They were always quick to respond to our emails and questions, we thought the value for having just the ceremony there was very good. The only negative thing we have to say is that there was one employee who promised us things they shouldn't have. However, this person was dealt with and Ash Lawn-Highland was willing to work with us to make sure we still got what we desired & were promised. Our wedding was running late (due to our musician), and a staff member (I think her name was Kate) helped keep me calm, offered water, a chair, ...anything to help make me feel comfortable while I waited. The staff at Ash Lawn-Highland was very professional and we would recommend the venue to others. John's Garden looked perfect for our wedding! Our guests kept complimenting us on how beautiful the location was

    Sent on 10/05/2014
  • K

    Katie · Married on 09/09/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    So glad I picked Ash Lawn Highland as my wedding venue. Such a beautiful drive in (epic photo opportunity on this driveway, a must!) and each section of the estate is gorgeous. I had my ceremony in a tucked away area, surrounded by trees and the mountains in the background, and perfect for my "entrance". Then a few steps over was the reception area, with cocktails and games on the lawn, and dinner under the pavilion. This venue is not too far from Charlottesville and easy to coordinate with shuttles. Convenient, gorgeous and great staff! Such great history at this venue. People constantly came up to me, asking "where did you find this place!!". I highly recommend Highland.

    Sent on 10/11/2017
  • Monica

    Monica · Married on 07/01/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I just wed 7-1-2017 at Highland. It was our dream wedding! We cannot thank Brittany and especially Emilia for all of their superior support in prep and during our special day! It is the most gorgeous venue with a warm vibe that echoes its historic past!

    Sent on 07/21/2017
  • User4635578 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We couldn't have had a more positive experience working with Brittany at Ash Lawn-Highland. The site is beautiful and historic and they were a pleasure to work with. We were able to use multiple areas of the site and take full advantage of the venue.

    Sent on 07/23/2015
  • Heather AG

    Heather · Married on 05/23/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ash Lawn was a beautiful place to get married! We loved that it was a historic venue and that the rental feel supports maintaining this landmark. Brittany was a pleasure to work with during the planning process. There are some downsides to the venue that people should aware of when choosing Ash Lawn: you'll have to spend some money on rentals and lighting (the chairs they have are not in great shape), and it can be hard for older guests to get around. I think the charm of Ash Lawn Highland far outweigh the negatives.

    Sent on 05/25/2015

    James Monroe's Highland's reply:

    Thank you for your feedback, Heather! We appreciate you taking the time to let us know how we can improve our wedding operations. We agree that our current chairs are outdated and that our Event Barn needed better lighting. To improve those features for future weddings at Ash Lawn-Highland, we have installed bistro lights in the upper level of the barn and we are offering better quality, wooden chairs in our 2016 weddings package. We are delighted that, overall, you had a wonderful experience at Ash Lawn-Highland!
  • A

    Amie · Married on 07/13/2014

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I couldn't imagine a better place to host my summer wedding - Ash Lawn offered beautiful outdoor scenery and a rustic venue that was perfect for my tastes, and my history-loving fiance was thrilled to have the wedding at this historic venue. The event coordinator, Brittany, was not only enthusiastic but extremely quick and professional in all communication, answering the myriad questions I had about the venue. All the staff was very kind and helpful each time I visited the venue beforehand. The outdoor Pavilion is simple yet offers amazing views of the Virginia mountains, and was a wonderful place to host my BBQ themed wedding dinner. There was plenty of space for my 240 guests under the Pavilion, and the grounds around it provided ample space for children to play, adults to mingle, and extra dance floor when it got a little toasty under the Pavilion (it was about 100 degrees that day, and while there are fans in there, it was really hot and humid!) I would highly recommend Ash Lawn for Charlottesville brides, as it is more affordable than some other area venues and in my opinion, breathtakingly beautiful!

    Sent on 08/04/2014

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review