Jackson Catering & Events Reviews

19 | Sacramento, CA
See photos, pricing and details

19 Reviews for Jackson Catering & Events

Recommended by 95% of couples

4.7 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.8
  • Flexibility 4.7
  • Value 4.6
  • Average response time 4.7

Awards

19
Order by:
  • Josh

    Josh · Married on 10/19/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing Catering!

    Jackson’s catering is amazing. We used them for our wedding less than a month ago at the Old Sugar Mill in Sacramento. The food, service, and overall experience with Jackson’s was incredible. We had a Mexican taco bar for our Hipster Fiesta wedding and it was a huge hit! The team at Jackson’s was also super accommodating - they had all sorts of ideas and suggestions as we created our initial menu, we had a great first and second tasting (expect to try so much food!!) and they were super accommodating and communicative with any and all changes we wanted to make. On top of all of that, their prices are incredibly reasonable, especially for such awesome food and such helpful service. The day of our wedding - they took such great care of us too! They made sure we had full plates of food, we got to snack on our appetizers, and we got all of our desserts. They were amazing to work with and we couldn’t imagine our big day without them!

    Sent on 11/10/2019
  • L

    Lisa · Married on 06/16/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Food was delicious! I loved all the options we were given and that they did a tasting at our venue. All the guests complimented the food. We had such a hard time picking out menu because everything tasted so good.

    Sent on 12/10/2017
  • L

    Lindsey · Married on 06/03/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Food is phenomenal! During our tasting, we had such a hard time narrowing down our options. On our wedding day, EVERYONE was ranting and raving about the appetizers and main dishes. All the servers and bartenders were great! They were quick to get around to tables and they took great care of us making sure we ate before visiting with our guests. Hands down, best wedding food I've ever had.

    Sent on 06/11/2017
  • Staci

    Staci · Married on 06/04/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Evan, Cory and their staff were amazing!!!! The food at our taste testing was so good and the prices so reasonable that we actually booked them for both our wedding and rehearsal dinner. All of our guests raved about the food many noting that it was the best steaks (filet mignon) that they had ever had! I was floored at what an exceptional job they were able to do despite having to cook the food offsite and drive it 25 miles to our wedding. Everyone's dish was hot and cooked to perfection. They were even able to accommodate a number of guests unique and rather extensive allergies. I cannot recommend them highly enough!!!!

    Sent on 06/23/2016
  • User6729612 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Evan at Jackson was a pleasure to work with and I was PROUD of the quality of food at our wedding! I enjoyed it like a fine restaurant at my tasting, and couldn't wait for guests to try it on the Big Day. The big hit appetizers: mini grilled cheese sandwiches, turkey sliders, and polenta with bacon; and for the main course: chicken with lemon buerre blanc and spring pasta with pesto were what I heard people talking about. I found it very classy that soon after the groom and I sat down to eat, Evan came to our table to make sure we were happy with everything. Food is arguably the biggest cost of the wedding, but also sets the tone for what kind of event you want. If you're looking for classy elegance at a reasonable price, you'll love Jackson.

    Sent on 05/18/2016
  • Haley

    Haley · Married on 10/18/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I have to say that I could not imagine our wedding being handled by another caterer. These guys had their work cut out for them and they were OUTSTANDING!! My wedding was 500 guests and a buffet… Could you imagine? I couldn’t at first either, but they did a great job at easing my worries and explaining exactly how they were going to execute. They served my 500 guests in under 20 minutes… Yes, I said UNDER 20 minutes! I couldn’t believe it and neither could our friends and family. Three weeks later they are still raving about the delicious HOT food, the fact that they got seconds and the speedy but professional service from the staff. Not only was everyone pleased with the food service, everyone has said that the bar service was awesome as well! They were fun, nice and speedy! We had two bars and I believe 2-4 people behind each bar. I never saw the line backed up, they were so quick! It is definitely on the expensive side, but you can’t complain when you find out what is included… it’s not just the food and bar service- you get linens, plates, glasses, silverware, they bring their own buffet tables, serving stuff, bar set up… I literally didn’t have to worry about anything! It was totally worth it!! Thank you so much, Jackson Catering! You guys made my big day just that much better!!

    Sent on 11/10/2014
  • User3991913 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were told by several guests, including our pastor, that it was "the best food I've ever had at a wedding!" And my husband and I agree whole-heartedly! The team at Jackson Catering & Events is highly responsive and willing to explain anything and everything from the menu to their workflow at the venue to the bill. I was very impressed by their professionalism.

    Sent on 11/10/2014
  • M

    Michelle · Married on 09/12/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This catering team and food was out of this world! At the tasting preview and our big day, no one could stop talking about every delectable bite from their plate! Thank you for your professional quality to making our big day an event to talk about for months to come!

    Much appreciation,
    Jason and Michelle Rutherford

    Sent on 09/28/2014
  • T

    Tiffany · Married on 05/31/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jackson Catering provided the food for my beautiful wedding at Newcastle Wedding Gardens on 5/31/14 and they were amazing! It was very tough to choose our dishes as everything we tried was to die for! Cory and Brandon were very helpful throughout the process as well. I am still getting compliments on the food from my friends and family, specifically the boneless short rib with the BBQ glaze. It was perfect for our rustic summer wedding! This company was very professional, affordable, and an absolute pleasure to work with!

    Sent on 07/22/2014
  • H

    Heather · Married on 09/14/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had quite a few people tell us that the food was the best wedding food they had ever had! The food that Jackson Catering provided was great but what really sealed the deal on them being a great caterer was their manager, Evan. He was always one step ahead of us and ensuring that my husband and I had everything we needed (especially when our drinks were low). One of my favorite things was that their waiters would bring appetizers and drinks to the wedding party when we were taking photos after the ceremony. Very professional, reliable and friendly.

    Sent on 10/10/2013
  • L

    Linda · Married on 05/25/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wow, the food was fantastic!!!!!! The staff was great (very attentive) and everyone told us how wonderful the food was (and we agree!). They worked us to deal with a few food allergy issues (they were VERY sensitive to that). I even ordered Mac and Cheese for our buffet (not something I thought I would do for a wedding). It's fantastic!!!

    Sent on 06/04/2013
  • JohnAndTepring

    Tepring & John · Married on 06/16/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A-Mazing. Simply amazing. People went back for seconds and thirds. People that are foodies told us how great the food was. Even our vegan friend had to eat the veggies with butter and salad with bacon bits b/c it looked so good. We come to the restaurant just to eat and we had our rehearsal there. We can't get enough!!

    They are friendly, accommodating, flexible and made our room look beautiful! Everything was setup perfectly. I can't wait to eat this food again.

    Sent on 07/02/2012
  • Ashley

    Ashley · Married on 08/25/2019

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Delicious Food

    Working with Jackson Catering was a breeze! Their office manager and coordinator Danica was so sweet ever since the moment we met her at our sample tasting. She was responsive and always provided ample information and answered our many questions with ease. Their business and their processes are very organized which made it easy for us to trust them with catering for our big day. Richard was also super efficient, and he was even present during our walkthrough at the venue. My husband and I are huge foodies so it was really important for us to provide really delicious food at our reception, and Jackson Catering did not disappoint. Several of our guests complimented the food so we knew it was a hit! I did hear a few comments about how waters were not refilled, and I noticed that the groom and myself didn’t get refills either, and I desperately needed it! Thankfully our friends are so sweet and would run to the beverage table to get waters for us. I am not sure if water service was included or not since we did have a separate water dispenser but it would be nice to request that for those making future bookings! Unfortunately we didn’t get our “to-go” meals at the end as indicated on our contract, but they quickly responded when I inquired about it the next day. Since there was such little food leftover, they were unable to send any food home with us. If this is important for you, I would recommend when booking to request to have something packed for your to-go meals first, so that there is food reserved for you before the guests grab seconds and thirds. Overall we had a great experience with Jackson, and would recommend their catering services! They are on the preferred vendor list at The Willow Ballroom and we loved how many different menu options they have available!

    Sent on 09/05/2019
  • A

    Ashley · Married on 06/06/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jackson catering is pricey but absolutely delicious!

    Sent on 06/15/2015
  • User4732304 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The food was delicious! I only wish I could have eaten more of it. They were also nice enough to give my vegan friend her own meal. I was very impressed with them!

    Sent on 05/18/2015
  • User4061872 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jackson was excellent to work with...always responsive and accomodating. Not to mention...the food is delicious! I have had countless guests rave about how it was the best wedding food they have ever had...We tried nearly everything on the menu and just about everything was fabulous. The most difficult part was narrowing down the choices! Although the price seems a bit shocking at first, they also provide linens, serving pieces, barware, china, and provide bartending services so they end up saving you plenty of time and headache!

    Sent on 12/03/2014
  • K

    Kristin · Married on 05/04/2018

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    I used Jackson Catering for my wedding and rented linens through them as well. The food was amazing, everyone enjoyed it!

    Sent on 06/18/2018
  • J

    Jamie · Married on 06/24/2016

    3.6
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      2.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    This was our only option for Catering with my venue(Newcastle Wedding Gardens & Red Horse Barn) The food was amazing from Jackson Catering. Some places let you take home the extra food, although they did not. I was also very upset that I PAID for and signed the contract to get spritzers at my wedding due to some people not drinking alcohol, specifically my mother. The day of the wedding there was no spritzers. My father asked why and he was told they they didn't have all the materials at Trader Joe's.... with that WE DID NOT GET REFUNDED the money for the spritzers which was over $300. Other than that the food was fantastic.

    Sent on 11/02/2016
  • User3353676 · 2+ years ago

    3.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      2.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Jackson's was ok. Their foor was no doubt the best, however if you deal with them you have to put up with a certain attitude. One of the main chefs (I would prefer not to name names) is a bit cocky and sometimes borderline rude. However he and the rest of the staff do keep things professional.

    One problem we had with them that upset me was they did not seem to be prepared for if my guests wanted seconds which was not fair because the food is not cheap and we do not get to keep leftovers. First we had to tell them to keep the door open to the separate room where the buffet was set up...I don't know why they tried to block people out. Than they collected peoples plates even though they had not brought extras without telling people so when my family and friends went to get seconds at the buffet they were not able to get seconds. I felt a little ripped off.

    Another problem was that when they served the champagne that we had bought they served it on mixed platters with Martinelli's which we had just bought for children and non drinkers. I received a glass of sparkling cider rather than champagne, at my own wedding! Lol. I don't know if anyone else had this mixup but I would have liked a glass of champagne at my wedding...

    If you are willing to put up with a bit of an attitude for the best food than I say go with them. Discuss details of bar and seconds first and make sure they bring extra plates. I would give 5 stars for their food and I must say that despite these problems the food was worth it!!

    Sent on 06/26/2013

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review