JaCiva's Bakery Reviews

74 | Portland, OR
See photos, pricing and details

74 Reviews for JaCiva's Bakery

Recommended by 94% of couples

4.7 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.7
  • Professionalism 4.6
  • Flexibility 4.7
  • Value 4.7
  • Average response time 4.7

Awards

74

4 User photos

JaCiva's Bakery 1
JaCiva's Bakery 2
JaCiva's Bakery 3
JaCiva's Bakery 4
Order by:
  • M

    Mary · Married on 09/15/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    JaCivas is masterful in creating wedding cakes. From our first meeting with Madison, to the taste-testing and the delivery of our lovely two-tier cake, the experience was wonderful. The chef at Portland's White House recommended JaCivas, particularly as we needed a two tiered cake for a smaller wedding - it was perfect! Lots of compliments from guests about how delicious the cake was, as well! I highly recommend JaCivas - what a fabulous experience.

    JaCiva's Bakery 5
    Sent on 10/05/2018
  • K

    Kaera · Married on 10/13/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My cake was absolutely delicious! I ordered a really big cake, four tiers, and the delivery men made sure everything was properly set up. When it turned out the cake was too big for the fridge they gave us all the information we needed to know to leave it out and made sure we knew what signs to look for that the cake was getting too warm. When I was designing my cake they were amazing as well. I don't think I went with a single ordinary pairing. I took elements from several cakes, changed colors and design, and definitely mixed and matched cake and filling flavors. They made the whole process super simple and never made me feel like I was asking for too much. Everyone at the wedding loved the cake and I cant wait till my free anniversary cake so I can eat more!

    Sent on 10/18/2017
  • B

    Breanne · Married on 09/30/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    First things first, I don't really like cake. There is generally too much frosting and too much of a sugar overload and too much of a fake flavor. Needless to say, finding a wedding cake wasn't something I was looking forward to. Well, until I went to JaCiva. The cake there was so remarkably good that we had a hard time picking the flavors for our wedding. We ended up going with a three-tier cake with a different flavor at each layer and requested that we, the bride and groom, get a slice of each to share because we couldn't decide on what we wanted. I also have never seen an entire cake eaten at a wedding until I got married. There wasn't a single slice yet, which is the defining sign of a good cake. Not to mention, it was GORGEOUS. The gold and white melted into each other perfectly creating an elegant and stunning cake.

    Sent on 10/16/2017
  • Karla

    Karla · Married on 07/01/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    JaCiva’s Bakery is the best! I’m truthfully not a cake person at all but I have to admit theirs is the best in town! I received so many compliments on how amazing my cake was! I agree!

    Sent on 04/30/2018
  • C

    Carmen · Married on 09/17/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Just go try the cake. It was a pretty easy decision after that. We did a teal ombre two tiered cake (one white layer and one poppy seed layer) - it was beautiful and delicious!

    Sent on 12/09/2016
  • K

    Kate · Married on 08/13/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We got married at Silcox Hut at Timberline Lodge. They have a contract with JaCiva’s for their wedding cakes. We were a bit nervous about that, as we wanted autonomy in choosing our bakery - but after the cake tasting it became clear that we would’ve hired JaCiva’s regardless of contract. The cake was delicious. They had Oregon-specific options, like hazelnut or marionberry filling. I wanted blush ombre icing, and was a little worried that it would be out-of-control pink, but it was subtle and classy, as promised. Delicious! We are going to have a mini-cake made every year for our anniversary.

    Sent on 09/07/2016
  • K

    Katelyn · Married on 07/25/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our cake was delicious! We only wish we could have enjoyed more of it.

    I had a distinct vision for our cake and they took my admittedly lame drawing and made it come to life. Our only complaint was the purple color was a little bit darker than preferred. The chocolate flowers on the cake were beautiful.

    We also ordered chocolate daisies on lollipops. They were delicious, made a nice guest favor and added color to the tables. The colors matched perfectly.

    The delivery was on-time and organized. However, there was a fee to come to Oregon City.

    Sent on 11/23/2016
  • T

    TAMI · Married on 07/16/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    IT MAY SEEM A LITTLE EXPENSIVE, BUT THEY DO A WONDERFUL JOB AND THE CAKE IS ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS!!

    Sent on 09/07/2016
  • S

    Sara · Married on 06/04/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From our consultation to the wedding day, the staff at JaCiva's maintained a high level of professionalism and quality. The tasting was difficult because everything was so great, it was hard to narrow it down to our favorites. We ended up choosing three different flavors of mini cupcakes so our guests could try them all, and we also had a two-tier wedding cake for our cake cutting. They showed up early to the venue and set up a lovely display of the cakes, and our two-tier cake looked exactly like the photo we brought in to the planning meeting. They've been doing this for years and they know what they're doing! A huge bonus they offer is a FREE anniversary cake if you return their dowels and serving materials!

    Sent on 08/08/2016
  • A

    Asiha · Married on 04/08/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jacivas did a great job on our wedding cake. It turned out exactly as we had envisioned from our cake tasting/design meeting. The cake was delicious as well, we couldn't be happier with how it turned out

    Sent on 04/11/2016
  • User4561180 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I chose JaCiva's Bakery for my wedding cake from the recommendation of my wedding planner. I was NOT disappointed. The cake was so beautiful. It was exactly what I had asked for. It was delicious, moist, flavorful, and very impressively decorated. The cake decorators did an outstanding job and I couldn't have been happier. They helped make my wedding perfect. I was so thrilled with JaCiva's that I ordered my niece's 16th birthday cake from them as well and they did a jaw-dropping job on the steampunk theme I requested. I would recommend JaCiva's to anyone.. anytime.. hands down the best bakery in Portland!

    Sent on 10/26/2015
  • L

    Liz and Sadie · Married on 09/06/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our cake was so beautiful and delicious....and JaCiva's delivered to our venue in Oregon City! Here's how good it was: our friends posted pictures of our cake to facebook. :) Highly recommended.

    Sent on 11/19/2014
  • K

    Kari · Married on 08/02/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    People asked to take home left overs and asked for seconds. The cakes were so good. I'll only butt from them! !

    Sent on 08/21/2014
  • J

    Jenesa · Married on 07/26/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our cake was gorgeous and delicious. They were even able to take a color swatch from our wedding colors so that it would be incorporated into the design. We also got a groom's cake which look phenomenal and also tasted delicious.

    Sent on 08/13/2014
  • User4321712 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    They made a beautiful cake that made our wedding day memorable. Can't wait for the anniversary cake.

    Sent on 02/06/2015
  • N

    Nancy · Married on 11/09/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We felt we had the best wedding cake we've ever tasted at any wedding. We did 4 layers, all different kinds. It was so moist and fresh! 7th Heaven was our biggest layer and it was so fabulous. They advised us very well about size for our number of guests. And, you can get a fresh top layer for your anniversary if you bring back the supports, so you can be serve all of the layers at the wedding.

    Sent on 11/25/2013
  • Amber

    Amber · Married on 07/21/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Delicious cake! And it was gorgeous. So much detail in making it perfect.

    Sent on 07/30/2013
  • M

    Misti · Married on 05/11/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    They were great! Easy to work with from the start! I got excellent assistance during my tasting. The wedding coordinator brought a plate with a sample of about 8 of their most common cake/filling combinations. We had a great experience with this--other bakeries simple gave us a few slices of stale cake and filling that tasted like jam. You can tell that JaCiva's has a lot more experience in this area, as they also brought us coffee and had far more photo samples of their work. As for the end result, the cake was gorgeous--I hated to cut it! And absolutely delicious! Probably the best cake that I've eaten in my life.

    Sent on 09/23/2013
  • E

    Erin · Married on 04/06/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you want delicious cake then don't go anywhere but JaCiva's. Delicious, beautiful, and surprisingly affordable. They did a cake topper and 110 cupcakes for less than $400. Amazing.

    Sent on 04/26/2013
  • H

    Heather · Married on 07/21/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    They were soooooo accommodating! The cake turned out beautiful! And it was so delicious! I highly recommend them!

    Sent on 12/10/2012
  • User2102513 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jaciva's was amazing! The cake is so soft and exactly what we ordered! They were willing to take our order on with just a month before the wedding. They were cheaper than others in the area and the best cake we tasted!

    Sent on 07/21/2012
  • Kessley

    Kessley · Married on 05/27/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I highly recommend Jaciva's bakery for any cake need that you may have. Not only is it completely melt in your mouth fantastic, but they do such amazing work to make it look just the way you want it to look too! I can't say enough good things about Tami! She helped me so much with finding the perfect wedding cake for my husband and I to share with our guests. The cake was beautiful and tasted so great. The groomsman cake was also really cool looking. Tami really heard all of our ideas for it and it was far better than I ever imagined it would be. Thank you so much for making my wedding day and the rehearsal dinner extra special with your yummy cakes. I really can't say enough good things about them. And, I keep craving them. I wish I lived closer. So very very good!

    Sent on 06/08/2012
  • S

    Chad · Married on 05/12/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wow! What a great wedding cake! My wife was able to select the perfect cake. It was so beautiful and very delicious with a great texture. I can't wait for our one-year anniversary when JaCiva's will bake a fresh cake so we don't have to pull an old nasty frozen cake out of the back of the freezer. What a great idea! Thank you JaCiva's for helping make our wedding day such a big blessing!

    Sent on 06/09/2012
  • B

    Breanna · Married on 09/10/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We got our wedding cake here and man oh man what a treat! Not only was it delicious, it looked amazing and they were so flexible with us and they really have so many options to choose!

    Breanna and Kyle Gustafson
    9/10/11
    Oregon City, OR

    Sent on 09/12/2011
  • I

    Dena · Married on 08/20/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our cake was SO good! It was absolutely beautiful and the colors they used for the icing were exactly the color of the samples I had brought in to them. JaCiva makes the best cakes in town and not only are they amazing, they are also very reasonable!

    Sent on 09/27/2011

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review