J Danielle Photography Reviews

15 | Salem, MA
See photos, pricing and details

15 Reviews for J Danielle Photography

Recommended by 95% of couples

4.7 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.7
  • Professionalism 4.7
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.7

Awards

15
Order by:
  • E

    Erin · Married on 04/18/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    She was so great to work with and captured so many moments on that day. Lots of candids! I got a great amount of photos for the value which was awesome! She did engagement as well which was great!

    Sent on 08/09/2010
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 04/17/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We absolutely loved our pictures for our wedding!!!! That was one thing that was super important to us. Ella Rue Photography far exceeded our expectations and would highly recommend them to any other bride and groom. I actually had a good friend of ours see our wedding pictures and said she wished she had chosen a photographer like ours for their wedding when they got married.

    Sent on 08/09/2010
  • P

    Paula · Married on 03/06/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wow!

    Quality of Service:
    Danielle is not your typical photographer. I could tell from day one that she was different than all the others. Every detail was captured (and I didn't even give her a list!) and everything that was written in the contract was fulfilled. When I saw my pictures from my Engagement session, I was so happy and so excited for her to do my wedding. I got so many compliments on them! I was POURING with sweat and had tons of bug bites at our session, but those were some of my favorite pictures she took!

    Responsiveness:
    She was always quick and easy to get in touch with. Always alert and paid attention.

    Professionalism: Even though she became my friend through a friend, she was serious about her work and kept everything professional. She always made us laugh and she was a fun person to be around.

    Value for the Cost: I was honestly confused when I heard the prices because I saw all the weddings she did on her blog and was really impressed. I was on a low strict budget and I do NOT think I would have ever found such a good photographer with such a great outcome for this price. The other photographers I interviewed do not compare. I ordered a TON of wedding pictures from her after the wedding. I ordered some for my whole album (of all sizes) all of them for my side of the family and my husbands for about $150. I got a LOT of pictures.

    Flexibility: Not only was she flexible but made great suggestions that really helped the whole flow of my wedding. I changed my mind a lot (even my date once!) and she was always cool about it.

    Creativity: They should really have this as one of the rating categories. I was really concerned about where to take my engagement photo shoot and where to take my wedding pictures before my wedding. In the end, I realized it didn't matter that much. Because she can make an ugly broken down truck, an abandoned house, an ugly shed, and nasty shrubs.. look beautiful! I would have never thought up of the places she took us.

    PS. I already told Danielle this, but she is definently shooting my maternity/baby shoot! (Whenever that may be!)

    Sent on 08/09/2010
  • Chibba

    Hibba · Married on 10/11/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We chose to go with Ella Rue because we liked the edgy style of photograph. We wanted to have candid fun photos, and stylish editorial photos and Danielle was not one to disappoint! The pictures look amazing and we would recommend Ella Rue to everyone!

    Sent on 11/07/2009
  • C

    Crystal · Married on 10/10/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Danielle is absolutely amazing. She did our engagement pictures as well as our wedding. She is unbelievably professional. Our photos were incredible and we received them within a month of our wedding. Having her take our pictures was actually fun and didn't feel uncomfortable and awkward. She is very affordable and you get an unbelievable amount of pictures. I would definitely recommend her to anyone looking for a wedding photographer.

    Sent on 11/28/2009
  • T

    Courtney · Married on 09/26/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Danielle was amazing:)!!! She definitely made our wedding day super fantastic...our engagement and wedding pictures were wonderful and everyone (especially us) love them. I would highly recommend her if you want original, detailed, beautiful, classic, and unique pictures of you and your family on whatever special occasion that you are having. I can't wait for her to take our pregnancy pictures in the spring with our growing family. She is worth every penny and every mile driven from Virginia to Georgia for her to be a special part of our big day...highest recommendations possible:)

    Sent on 11/29/2009
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 07/18/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Danielle did the most wonderful job with our wedding photography. Her style was young, fun, and very colorful. She created the most wonderful photo opportunities that still wow me every time I look back at my wedding album. I have and will recommend her for every photo opportunity (wedding, engagements, family portraits) that people are desiring a genuine and beautiful glimpse into your special moment. She meet us to look at the venue so that she could formulate some perfect picture spots. She was great about returning phone calls and emails quickly. I've already got her on speed dial for when my husband and I have a baby!

    Sent on 11/28/2009
  • L

    Laura Beth · Married on 06/06/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I wholeheartedly recommend Ella Rue Photography. Danielle, our photographer/the owner, far exceeded our expectations, and I honestly can't say enough wonderful things about the service we received. She is well worth the money! We had a very non-traditional, offbeat wedding, and Danielle captured the pure emotion of the ceremony and reception amazingly well - which is exactly what we wanted. My husband and I wanted very few "staged" or posed photographs, and we were really more concerned with her capturing, in candid, photojournalistic style, our interactions with each other and our guests. She did just that! She gave us a priceless set of pictures that reflected all the happiness, love and support we felt on our wedding day. I got my pictures about 3 weeks ago and I can't stop looking at them! I'd book her all over again, without hesitation.

    For example: right before I walked down the aisle, it hit me. I had this "oh my God, I'm getting married!" moment, and I had to take a minute to stop myself from crying uncontrollably. The whole ceremony was such a blur, and I had totally forgotten that happened. I didn't even realize she was taking pictures of me right then, but when I was looking through the finished product for the first time, I saw that set of pictures, and was immediately taken back to that particular moment, and it made me cry all over again! I share that story to illustrate just how brilliant she is in finding those candid yet meaningful shots that other photographers would probably miss. I was amazed at the way she uses lighting. She obviously knows what she's doing behind the camera! Her style is edgy and modern, which we loved - but may not be for everyone. Her online portfolio is a good representation of what you'll get by booking Ella Rue, except those pictures just don't do full justice to the outstanding job she did with our wedding!

    Not only were my husband and I thrilled with the finished product (and with her laid-back, go with the flow style on the night of the wedding), we have received so, so many compliments from our guests on the candid shots she got of all of them during our wedding. We've heard everything from "those are the best wedding pictures I've ever seen" to "these look like they belong in a magazine." In fact, one of my favorite pictures of the night is of my husband's uncle that I barely know! The pictures were THAT GOOD. We appreciated the creative liberties she took with things like black & white, sepia tones, and final finishing - there was a perfect balance between bright and colorful shots, and very classic black & white pictures.

    In short - we're clients for life. She did an outstanding job with our wedding pictures, and Ella Rue is certainly one to be trusted with the most important pictures of your life.

    Sent on 07/21/2009
  • S

    Stephanie · Married on 04/04/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    She did a great job! I absolutely loved my pictures and have gotten many compliments on them.

    Sent on 07/24/2009
  • E

    Erin · Married on 04/13/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely the best photographer we interviewed; artistic, creative, and fun!

    Sent on 07/09/2008
  • C

    Courtney · Married on 03/15/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The photography services were exceptional. I loved our engagement pictures that were taken on site at a park. The wedding photos turned out great. I loved how we got great photos as us girls were getting ready, beautiful ones at the church, etc.

    Sent on 07/07/2008
  • K

    Kyra · Married on 05/05/2007

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I could not afford a good photographer for my wedding and really wish I had the money then. Instead I saved up and did a bridal shoot a year later. Danielle gave me the bridal pictures that I should have to begin with. She did such a wonderful job on my bridal shoot. She was so creative and fun with the pictures she took of me. I was so impressed with how well the pictures came out and would recommend her to anyone looking for a wedding photographer. She is amazing!

    Sent on 07/07/2008
  • K

    Kenna · Married on 02/24/2007

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Danielle was fantastic. She shot everything the rehersal, rehersal dinner, getting ready, the ceremony & reception. I have a gazillion photos from our special day. Her style is so unique and I couldn't have been happier!! We have since used her to photograph other major family event and she has done an exceptional job with those as well!! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!!

    Sent on 07/08/2008
  • S

    Sharon · Married on 09/20/1975

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    How wonderful it is to have so many priceless pictures to remember such a special day! If you want the BEST, this is the photographer to use for not only your wedding but for every special event you want to capture in a fun and unique way! Ella Rue Photography is simply the BEST in so many ways: photographs, service, price, and customer service! We will continue to use Ella Rue Photography for ALL of our photography needs!

    Sent on 08/05/2008
  • R

    Rachel Wright · Married on 06/04/2011

    0.8
    • Quality of service:
      0.5
    • Responsiveness:
      0.5
    • Value:
      1.5
    • Flexibility:
      1.5
    • Professionalism:
      0.5

    I had Danielle photograph our wedding back on June 4, 2011. I was soooo disappointed with the pictures. She took very few pictures of my husband and I and the ones that were taken were horrible. I wasn't holding my bouquet in any of the pictures taken at the altar with my family and husband. I just didn't think I would have to tell her, "please remind me to hold my bouquet in the pictures we're taking beforehand". I though she would manage all of that since she is the professional. As a matter of fact, she didn't take any of the two of us at the altar when we took the pictures before the wedding at the altar. The photographs were so poor quality and the lighting or the flash she was using was so bad- they don't look professionally done at all and it took forever to get them back. One of my guests at the wedding said she was just hanging out with guests the whole time and not taking pictues. She had an asst with her and still only took around 700 pictures. I felt she took advantage of me that day. No wonder the pictures were so bad.

    I think I'm going to take them to a talented graphic artist or photographer and have them "doctor" them so they don't look so cheap.

    Our wedding photos were so important to use and everytime I think about it, I get so upset.

    Sent on 06/26/2012

    J Danielle Photography's reply:

    I'm so sorry that she was disappointed in her pictures. After having received them (they did not take forever to receive... they were delivered within the contract deadlines), she expressed to me that she thought she looked fat (insinuated that I made her look fat) and that there weren't enough pictures of her and her husband (they were hardly in the same room the whole night). With any wedding, I ask for a list of photos that are must haves. I never received such list and was never told what was most important to her to have shot. All the pictures taken at the alter were dictated to my by her sister, who was orchestrating the families for each grouping. Usually, most couples I have had do not ask for pictures at the alter. We usually do them outside in a more styled way. All she would have had to do is speak up and say she wanted them. As for the bouquet not being held, I am not at all responsible for that. That is a personal choice that some brides make and some do not. If you're not holding it for the pictures, I assume you didn't want to. I am a professional photographer... if you wanted someone there to orchestrate the minute details of your wedding, you should have hired a wedding planner. As for the guest that said we were just hanging out and not taking pictures... For most of your reception, no one was dancing and pretty much everyone was sitting in a table in various rooms. I can only make my rounds so many times taking pictures of people having conversations for a few hours before I've ran out of memorable moments to shoot. Every wedding photographer takes a small break when there are lulls in the activity.

    Me and my assistant took way more than 700 images. 700 was what was delivered to you... and happens to be a very standard amount for shooting 6 hours worth of coverage.

    Sometimes, the customer isn't always right.