InStyle Event Planning Reviews

16 | San Diego, CA
See photos, pricing and details

16 Reviews for InStyle Event Planning

Recommended by 82%

16
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner

4.1 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.1
  • Professionalism 4.1
  • Flexibility 4.1
  • Value 4.1
  • Average response time 3.9
Sort by:
  • D

    Darius · Married on 09/06/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The first thing I did when my husband proposed last year, was convince him we needed a wedding coordinator. That was the best decision we made! We got married on Sept 6th and we couldn't have had a more perfect wedding without Shellie of Instyle.

    Shellie brings years of experience to the table and was able to sort out what would and would not work for what we had in mind. There are a lot of moving parts for such an event. Between coordinating all the vendors, the officiant, the venue and keeping us in the loop, Shellie had it all working like a well-oiled machine!

    We started working with Shellie a year before our wedding date. From day one, Shellie had us on track and made sure we were locked and loaded on all the key tasks that needed to be done right up to, through and after our big day. From figuring out the decoration color scheme to reviewing all the vendor contracts, Instyle was our single point of contact.

    No matter how much up front planning there is, things change and adjustments must be made. InStyle not only navigated us through these rough waters, they kept our budget constraints in perspective and shielded us from the typical stress and distractions. This alone is worth its weight in gold for what is to be a once in a lifetime event!

    On our wedding day, Shellie and her team were nothing short of amazing. When the bride hit traffic en route; No prob., Shellie stages everything so that as soon as I arrive, what could have easily been a 20 minute delay turns out to only be a 5 minutes. When we realized that the video we plan to show during the reception is washed out because of the sun, Instyle on the fly rearranged the schedule and coordinated with all the vendors without a hitch!

    From start to finish Shellie and her team went above AND beyond the call of duty. As a result everything came together making it a memorable experience that our guests are still talking about weeks after the event and a day we’ll always remember and treasure!!!

  • A

    Alma · Married on 03/16/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Let it be known that Shellie Ferrer from InStyle Event Planning is my hero. Like a fairy godmother, Shellie calmly took the reins from my inexperienced planning hands and created a gorgeous wedding beyond my expectations in just five months. She saved me & my husband money, time and most importantly, our sanity!
    Within minutes of our phone consultation, Shellie was confident that a wedding for 150 guests could be done on our small budget. She emailed me a breakdown of vendors and prices a couple days later, and that is when I realized that I had made the right decision contacting her. I would have NEVER gotten the low prices she quoted me no matter how much I researched on my own, simply because she gets incredible deals with vendors she does repeat business with. All the vendors were professional, experienced, and the quality of services were definitely worth more than what we paid. SCORE!!!
    Being able to spend time with my family the day before the wedding, and simply relaxing the day-of, knowing and trusting everything is taken care of by her, it was truly priceless. I arrived to a venue that was so beautifully decorated, it was like a page from a wedding magazine. Her assistant Lacey was so calm & efficient in making sure the time line was followed, and was always nearby in case we had questions. Shellie's staff was extremely attentive and professional also, that some personally catered to my husband & I to ensure we did nopersonally catered to my husband & I to ensure we did not have to get up for food or drinks. I can confidently say that everything we requested was honored that evening!
    I cannot recommend Shellie Ferrer from InStyle Event Planning enough. It was the best decision I made in the wedding planning, 2nd to saying "Yes" to my husband of course. Family & friends would comment that I was the calmest bride they've known, and I always say that it was because of Shellie. Thanks again to InStyle Event Planning for all you've done!!

  • Nikki

    Nikki · Married on 10/13/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Let's just say I was a complete wreck when it came to the details of our wedding. I was a state away, and had not the slightest clue on where to begin. When I called InStyle Event Planning, I talked to Shellie, and held my every step of the way. With short notice and a not so big budget, Shellie assured me that she and her staff could pull off the vision that we saw. On our wedding day,Shellie was very calm and attentive while I was freaking.out inside. By the time I finally arrived at the wedding site, I was put to ease. With the beach being a public place, InStyle Event Planning designed it as if we were on a private island.the setup was extremly beautiful with finishing touches of perfection. The bouquet was breathtaking the food was delicious! I am extremly happy that I chose InStyle Event Planning toplan one of the most memorable days of my life! Thank you for goign over and beyond for us! I would love to work with you again in the future!

  • Kathy

    Kathy · Married on 09/21/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    For our destination wedding, right away I became over whelmed with the planning. The very fist time I talked to Shellie she made me feel like she had dropped EVERYTHING she was doing to cater to me and make sure I was at ease that the wedding planning was already taken care of. She truly went out of her way to make sure I knew exactly what I was getting, what the venue was like, what it looked like and every single detail of the entire day. The biggest part that helped us was that Shellie already knew a ton of vendors and she know which one fit our needs and budget. The day of the wedding InStyle went into overtime. Lacy was in and out of my room all day delivering items, checking on me, making sure I was calm. Shellie, as busy as she was transforming the La Valencia Ballroom to a magical dream come true wedding site, called me constantly just to say "Hi" or "Is everything okay?" When I first walked into the venue, I cried. It looked like something out of a magazine and I could not believe it had all been done for us, little ole us from El Paso, it was a moment I will never forget. The flowers were so amazingly beautiful I thought they were artificial, but were not. Diamonds and sparkles shined as if lighting was focused on just them, the center pieces were something I had only seen on TV. When I walked down the aisle on a custom made beautiful aisle runner along side color coordinating orchids in beautifully placed glass vases I still couldn't believe my eyes. When I finally reached my husband underneath the custom made chuppah with beautifully flowing drapery and a chandelier it finally hit me that Shellie was the BEST and none of these dreamed visions would have came true with out her. Through out the wedding I noticed that EVERY SINGLE one of the vendors Shellie hired were absolutly amazing and did everything I had asked Shellie. I felt like I had not only hired a wedding planner but a friend to hold my hand through it all, from the beginning to the end.

  • Alicia

    Alicia · Married on 08/11/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I honestly can’t say enough great things about InStyle Event Planning. With only 3 months to plan a wedding, I knew an event planner was a necessity. InStyle was the first event planner I called and I didn’t even feel the need search for more after speaking with Shellie. All of my worries were put at ease, from that very first call.
    Shellie had incredible communication and a way of making me feel like I was the only bride that she was attending to. We didn’t have to worry about anything from researching vendors to linen ideas, Shellie handled it all. As well, listening skills, coupled with her creative eye and attention to detail, helped with turning our visions and dream wedding into reality. With Shellie’s guidance overseeing every detail leading up to and including the day of the event, my husband and I were able to enjoy our wedding and guests.
    We received countless compliments from all of our guests about what an amazingly beautiful wedding this was and the credit goes to InStyle 100%. My venue’s coordinator said that she was the best they’ve worked with. On the day of, Lacy with InStyle kept me calm and worry free while Shellie attended to the details, they make a tremendous team.
    For anyone getting ready to plan a wedding or event either near or far, hiring InStyle would be money well spent. Shellie will make that special day, one that will blow you away!
    Shellie, we absolutely loved working with you and will recommend you and InStyle Event Planning to anyone looking for a event/wedding planner. We absolutely loved working with you and your team.
    With sincere appreciation for making it all possible.
    Alicia & Scott Gilliam

  • Michelle

    Michelle · Married on 07/21/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The BEST money my husband and I spent on our wedding was on a wedding planner. Worth every single penny!
    At our first meeting with In Style Event Planning I knew we had to hire them. It was essential that we hired someone to help plan and make recommendations since we lived in Orange County and our wedding was in San Diego. In Style was so personal and so genuine but always maintained that professional balance. They asked questions about us and wanted to get a good feel for what we were looking for. I loved their energy and how passionate they were about our wedding. I cannot stress enough how much better off we were in the long run because we hired In Style for full coordination for the entire year before our wedding and it ended up saving us so much money!!
    Shellie Ferrer was our wedding planner and I cannot say enough wonderful things about her. She was efficient, organized, helpful, kind, detail-oriented, has impeccable taste, and she was not phased but the incessant questions I asked! Shellie handled the details and helped keep everything on track. In particular she helped us save so much money on my wedding dress, transportation, our photo booth, photographer, room blocks, flowers, DJ, Band, linens, etc.....you name it and she negotiated it no matter what and made it work! The money she was able to save us was more than worth her personal fee.
    When I arrived in San Diego for our wedding weekend Shellie had everything organized and was available to handle all the last minute details. I was able to let go of the wedding-related stress and enjoy my weekend with my family and friends. Everyone commented and how seamless the ceremony and reception were and how everything just flowed. Well, that was all thanks to Shellie and the In Style staff.
    It was such a joy working with Shellie. She truly cares about her brides and makes you feel like you are planning your wedding with your best friend.
    In Style Event Planning leaves no detail overlooked and are so wonderful to work with. They worked with my husband and I to achieve our vision and helped us stay within our budget. My wedding was amazing!!
    If you are looking to get married anywhere give In Style Event Planning a call.
    LOVE, LOVE, LOVE them!

    Michelle Molina

  • Jeanine

    Jeanine · Married on 06/04/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    They provided the beautiful linens, did custom flower design based on my vision, and all decor for the ceremony and reception. They negotiated vendor contracts from chairs for the ceremony, to photographer, to DJ and limo service, saving us thousands. She finalized timelines for all of the vendors for me, and did all of the coordinating with them on everything, so this stressed out bride needed to do nothing other than know that it was all taken care of.

    They worked one on one with the general manager and assistant manager at the reception site regarding set up, timing, tear down, everything.

    The day of the wedding Shellie, the owner, was a phone call away at all times, and she and her assistants were there until the very end. When pictures took a little longer than planned and Shellie noticed that we were behind schedule, she asked if we wanted her to work out one more hour with the dj for more dancing after dinner. A quick yes from us was all it took and we were on.

    She also added some surprise touches to add to my english garden ball theme. Fresh ivy and organza, a chandelier with dangling crystals over the dance floor, and mini chandeliers incorporated into the design at the cocktail hour. Everything was gorgeous and really brought out my theme.

    I can't stress how perfect everything was for our special day. Truly amazing.

  • S

    Stacy · Married on 12/31/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We hired instyle event planning for our wedding planner for the month of the wedding at the end of 2010. Shelle was great to work with. He hired her about four months before our wedding and she gave us even more time than the month of the wedding. We also used her for our wedding flowers that were gorgeous. On the day of the wedding she was early and made the wedding perfect. She had an assistant that went to the church for the ceremony and she was at the reception site making sure all the details were taken care of. I will absolutely recommend her to all my friends who are getting married. One of them was so happy with my experience that she already hired her for her summer 2011 wedding.I really cant imagine getting married and not hiring her, now that I look back at it all. She really helped get me organized and made everything fun and not stressful. I live in Arizona so it was really nice having somebody local who knew all the vendors, hotels, restaurants, etc for making this fun for our out of town guests.

  • E

    Erin · Married on 04/05/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Shellie and her team at InStyle provided day-of coordinating and all of the flowers for my April 2009 wedding. My flowers were amazing & Shellie thought of everything - including things I didn't even think of! I didn't even know what I wanted - I gave Shellie an idea of what I liked and didn't like and she came up with arrangements I absolutely loved.

    From a time perspective, my venue posed a challenge for Shellie and her staff and everything was ready to go and looked fantastic in more than enough time. I don't know how they did it, but they did and I didn't stress about a thing all night! Hiring InStyle was probably the best decision I made in the wedding planning process.

    They also did all of my catering and 2 years later guests are still asking me about her shrimp stuffed chili dish (and I've hired her to make it for subsequent events)!

  • P

    Pattie · Married on 05/27/2012

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Where do I begin???....... I had absolutely NO plans to hire a wedding coordinator. What was I thinking?? From the very first phone call with Shellie, she had me hooked!! I could not have pulled off the most beautiful and amazing wedding for my only daughter without her. Shellie returned every email and phone call within a reasonable time. Shellie helped me tremendously with major aspects of the wedding, she definitely has an eye to detail and her EXCELLENT and strong interpersonal skills made the day of my daughter's wedding, a day for me to just sit back and enjoy. Shellie and her assistant Lacy oversaw EVERY detail and ensured that everything went smoothly and it most certainly did!. Shellie even made sure that my grandson had milk at the wedding! Who does that....?! Shellie and Lacy are an excellent team and were such a pleasure to have at the wedding, while I was totally enjoying my daughter's wedding, they quietly worked behind the scenes and help me give my daughter, her perfect wedding!. Shellie and Lacy was the best investment I made out of the entire wedding. Worth every penny!!!!! Thank you both so much!!!
    Pattie A. Funk

  • User3323375 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Shellie with instyle events can really make your dreams come true she has resources to great people who will make your day the way you want it.

  • B

    Breanne · Married on 05/12/2012

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I have nothing but praise to sing for Shellie at Instyle Event Planning. She paid for her services with the money she saved us, before we even hired her! I threw crazy ideas at her with no clue how to execute them, and she made all of my dreams come into reality. She is very detail oriented, organized, and super fun to work with.

  • K

    Kathleen · Married on 10/08/2010

    3.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    We booked with InStyle for our wedding and were very pleased. We were really impressed with the food when we did our tasting and she really delivered on our wedding day as well. I've heard stories where the food at the tasting and at the actual even can differ with some vendors and everything was very consistent--great quality and our guests could not stop raving about the food we selected. Shellie also helped us pull off a miracle when our cake vendor flaked and did not show up. She recommend a local vendor and we had 120 cupcakes delivered and set up from this other vendor within less than 1 hour. Her staff was friendly and provided great service and Shellie provided many extra touches to help make our evening unforgettable. I highly recommend using Instyle for your wedding or special event.

  • T

    Tanya · Married on 09/28/2017

    1.0
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    Shellie, Shellie, Shellie. We had very had very high hopes for this

    ‘well established” coordinator. She told us her fee was $5000, which she said was a $2500 discount from her usual price of $7,500 (because we had already booked a venue). Her website makes many promises, but does not disclose pricing (no transparency). Keep in mind, we were only planning a 100 person wedding. 


    After an initial call, before she did any work, she demanded a $2,500 deposit. Foolishly, we paid the deposit. After we hired her she sent us a recommendation for a photographer in an email. She offered only one option and did not suggest we meet with the photographer before booking. Naively, we agreed to use the photographer. She then send us a PayPal invoice to pay directly to her to book. Then she proceeded to ask about flowers. i send her a few pictures of things that i liked with heimpression that she would take the ideas and come up with a great company that would was our style. She gave us no options, but sent us an email right away with a PayPal invoice as if there was a sense of urgency to lock the date dawn (mind you this was months prior to the wedding). We panicked and payed the $2094.77 deposit and asked her to send us the website of flower shop so we could check out their work. Only after we made this request did she tell us she did the decor “in house.” Again, a complete lack of transparency. At this point, we started to become suspicious.


    When it came time to pick s DJ, we told her we needed to see options up front. She sent three, one she highly recommended, one she discouraged as twice the price and one who was UNAVAILABLE on our wedding date. We again felt like we had no options. Given this frustrating situation, we did our own research and found a great DJ on our own. We met with him (without Shellie) before we booked. Notably, Shellie did not meet with us with any vendor before booking.


    When it came time to meet at the venue to review the timeline and see a sample o

  • J

    Jason · Married on 08/27/2017

    1.0
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    Hours after writing this review we received a text from shellie trying to extort us instead refunding.
    The rest of my review :
    When it came time to meet at the venue to review the timeline and see a sample of the centerpiece, Shellie brought a very sad looking example of what we were to receive. It looked pathetic. We expressed our disappointment. She apologized, telling us it was too expensive to produce a full example of the centerpiece and promised it would be better at the wedding. We were frustrated and doubtful.  
    Moving on, we asked if she knew a good place for linens and chargers…. he response was literally “since you told me your budget was not flexible, i didn’t want to bring up ay extras like champagne flutes or chargers.” What I took from this is that if you were not so cheap i could have planned a better wedding for you. However, her website boasts about making your budget go further. 
    As time passed, Shellie became very hard to get a hold of. She would not answer for days and then say she was just way too busy or the she had other events At some point I was very upset and was emailing her my unanswered questions; nothing crazy just things like “can you please do a mock up of the table with the chargers and linens, and with the centerpieces with he actual flowers we would see at the wedding. Her answer was no, she doesn’t do mock ups.
    We ended up firing Shellie. After we terminated her she sent my finance an email saying that my emails were getting “bothersome.” Bothersome? AlthoughShellie did not provide the flowers for the wedding, she did not offer to return the $2094.77 deposit
    The most troublesome part of all this is that we had several deposits that we had payed her through Paypal instead of directly through the vendors like photography etc. Only after we fired Shellie (months after she collected the deposits) did she forward the deposits to the vendors.

  • C

    Christy · Married on 09/07/2018

    0.0
    • Quality of service:
      0.0
    • Responsiveness:
      0.0
    • Value:
      0.0
    • Flexibility:
      0.0
    • Professionalism:
      0.0

    Had high hopes for Shellie helping us accomplish what we envisioned for our wedding...

    we hired her a year and a half before our wedding since I was trying to get as many deposits in while I was on deployment, which I thought would be great. It turned out that Shellie wasn't answering emails my husband was sending her while I was gone.
    When I returned she told me we would meet to get caught up on what we needed that never happened. She replied to some emails I sent her in December but then disappeared and stopped replying to me. I emailed her several times with no answer, called her and left a voicemail several times and got nothing. Finally she texted me telling me she had a family emergency after a month of me trying to get ahold of her and told me she would reach out to me in a few days, a few days turned into getting nothing from her I waited 2 wks for something.
    We ended up just firing her and losing out on $2,500. Her contract states everything she is supposed to do and fell short of that. Very poor communication skills for someone who is running a business of customer service.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review