Skip to main content
Weddings

Indulge Contemporary Catering Reviews

Indulge Contemporary Catering

Indulge Contemporary Catering

Chula Vista, CA
4.6 out of 5 rating, 26 Reviews
View more information

Reviews

Your trust is our goal. Our community relies on honest reviews to help you make those big decisions with ease.
4.6 out of 5 rating
4.6 out of 5 rating
26 Reviews
92% recommend it
  • Quality of service
    4.5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.6 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.7 out of 5 rating

Awards

26
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2009 Winner
  • Lena
    Lena P. Sent on 06/28/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Flor and her team are amazing!!

    Flor created an incredible, delicious menu for us for our wedding. Multiple guests told me and my partner, unsolicited, that our wedding had the best wedding food they'd ever had. She created a gorgeous presentation and everything tasted fantastic. Highly recommend Flor!!!
  • Jessica
    Jessica H. Sent on 11/02/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing people and amazing food

    We had so many compliments on the food from our guests. Jacqueline & Precious were a great pleasure to work with from our first tasting where they customized our menu to our big day where they delivered our plates to us (my husband and I ate by ourselves - HIGHLY RECOMMEND).
  • A
    Ana Sent on 08/08/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Flor is extremely professional. This was the only cater we saw and we decided to go with her after our first tasting. However, we did read multiple reviews and contacted other caters and none of them seemed to click with what we wanted for our wedding. She was willing to work with our budget. She is very reasonable and will keep her word. You can trust this cater. They arranged food beautifully and we were even able to use their bartender services.
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • M
    Masha Sent on 08/06/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Three weeks ago I got married in San Diego at the Japanese Friendship Garden and had my wedding catered by Indulge. I planned the wedding from Washington, DC so I didn't really have an opportunity to have a ton of in-person conversations with Indulge. But I did email them about 10 thousand times :) All throughout the process, Tonya answered all my questions diligently and assured me that everything would work out. And it did! On the day of the wedding, everything went smashingly! They were on location before I even got there. The guests and us loved their food, the set-up was exactly as I described, and the staff were all SUPER nice. Whenever either I or my fiance had a question, they went way out of their way to make sure we were happy. From my point of view, the wedding went as good as it possibly could have.
    Another important point to mention is that they let me customize my wedding, I chose to buy cupcakes instead of cake and decided to buy my own liquor and they were totally accommodating with all of it! The bottom line, it's super important that on your big day you are as stress-free as possible, so you can enjoy the wedding. And that's exactly what Indulge did for me, I did not worry about a single thing when it came from their side. Thanks for coming through on my big day Indulge!
  • J
    Jerica Sent on 10/21/2010
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I worked with Tonya at Indugle Contemporary Catering and I had the best experience out of all of my rental companies. All in all they were the cheapest I found, and I looked day and night for the best deals since I needed to bring in just about everything for my venue. She returned my messages and calls in a very timely manner and was a lot of help since she knew all of the rules of my venue. I got some EXCELLENT deals as well on my specialty linens. I am EXTREMELY pleased and if there is any other event I need rentals for I will be using them. I will also referr all of my friends and family to them. They showed up on time and everything was perect and beautiful on my wedding day.
  • C
    Eugene Sent on 05/26/2010
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Flor and Tonya was simply the best at what they do. They provided us with service like no other. Our wedding was a hit with Family and Friends, their presentation was spectacular. I couldn't have ask for a better night all thanks to Tonya and the crew at Indulge. I really recommend them for any type of formal party.

    Thank you Indulge for a night we'll never forget (aside the fact my wife and I got married ^_^).
  • C
    Carol Sent on 07/11/2010
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My husband and I completely and highly recommend Indulge Catering. We had a vendor fall through towards the end of our planning time and got a hold of Indulge. Flor fit us in and had such a complete wedding package that she ended up not only doing our lighting which was our initial request, but our bar service, and all of our rentals. She is top knotch. We can't say enough about what she did for us. We had our reception at the Japanese Friendship Garden and it looked so incredibly beautiful. Flor has amazing taste and had really good suggestions for us. She has been in the industry for a long time and her quality of service, her professionalism, and overall deliverable shows and is outstanding. We will always be so grateful for everything that she did for us and we got so many compliments on our reception setting.
  • D
    Dennis Sent on 07/19/2010
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Weddings are supposed to be EASY, right?

    It should be simple: all we want is to have a great wedding, at the best value, in the best location- and to feel that our wedding was absolutely stunning and memorable in the end. But, as you may be planning your own wedding as you read this, having a smooth, well designed, perfect wedding can be a serious undertaking. We found this out early.

    One of the best ways to plan our own wedding was by observing the weddings of others. As we attended them, we took note of what seemed to work well and what didn't, making sure we took these observations into consideration as we constructed our own event. Guess what? To our shock, we started to realize something: at these weddings the bride and groom were NOT enjoying their time, and were generally stressed out as their events went under-expectations and didn't go to plan.

    As we pondered this, we thought to ourselves- "How many couples do you know can honestly say they ABSOULUTELY LOVED THEIR WEDDING EXPERIENCE?" Not very many. If you asked most couples, "How was the wedding planning process?", 99% would reply- "It was Wedding Hell!". So, we started to realize: Weddings were fun for the guests, but not for the bride and groom.

    As we delved further into it, we started to realize- wedding planning can be TOTAL madness. If you ever planned an event, sometimes the further along you get into the process, the prospect of having a smooth, fun, and perfect event may start to look dim.
    We were terrified that we would invest so much time and money, just to feel unfulfilled, or even upset at the end of our special day. Who would want that?

    So, we knew we couldn't just settle with just any caterer and planners, we needed THE BEST. With some research, we were suggested to check out Flor Granados, and the Indulge Contemporary Catering team.

    We were impressed.

    Over the months in which we planned, Indulge were there every step of the way to help us, and guide us. From the initial meeting, tastings, and the coordination- we fell in love. They were absolutely amazing to work with, and really made everything flow and come together. The deeper we got into planning stages, the deeper their level of expertise became evident. They made everything happen, turnkey. Peace of Mind is a highly underrated feature for when you choose a vendor, and we knew we were in the right place. Indulge, for those in the "know", have one of the highest reputations in the San Diego marketplace- and after working with them for months, I now realize how they earned it. They made everything perfect and they literally saved us from potential "Wedding Hell".

    The day of the wedding was amazing. We didn't have the biggest budget in the world, but you couldn't tell from how awesome and beautiful our wedding was. We had many of our guests comment on how "flawless" everything was, saying that it was "the best wedding food they ever had", and that it would be a "wedding to remember". Indulge had everything to do with that. The quality of everything they provided from something as simple as appetizers, linens, tables, settings, to the space heaters- all EXCEEDED our expectations. Indulge made the wedding smooth and their expertise was apparent.

    During the wedding we DID NOT HAVE TO WORRY ABOUT ANYTHING. Between the Indulge team and Tonya Davis (Coordinator, supplied by Indulge), everything was geared to making sure myself and Rachelle were enjoying ourselves, without worry. Indulge went WAY beyond what they agreed to contractually, and verbally. We were very, very surprised!

    The Indulge Team was adaptable- my bride was about 45 min late for the ceremony, and Indulge expertly and elegantly adjusted and adapted to the new schedule. Despite our delay in time the food came out hot and fresh. They were impeccable with the timing of everything!

    The team was amazing, and were a intermingled with our guests. That was important to us as well- the servers need to be personable, professional, and presentable. Indulge shined in this department!

    My suggestion to anyone:
    DO NOT TRY TO SAVE A FEW DOLLARS PER HEAD BY HIRING A SUB-PAR CATERER- Your Wedding Day is too important, and you only have one chance to get it right! You can't pay enough money to fix a "wedding that went wrong", it'll be too late. So, to prevent this from happening, I suggest that you put your money on the team that delivers over and over again, like Indulge.
    SCHEDULE A MEETING/TASTING- I know it sounds funny, but most Caterers "look and taste" the same on the internet! Upon visiting the great team at Indulge, you will immediately see how personable and great the team and Flor are, their attention to detail, and the FLAVOR of their amazing cuisine that will undoubtedly impress you and your guests!
    JAPANESE FRIENDSHIP GARDENS- Indulge is the #1 vendor for the Japanese Friendship Gardens, and I can see why- they knew it "inside and out". If you have a wedding at this location YOU MUST CONSIDER INDULGE!
    PEACE OF MIND- This was the most important of all. You do not want to have a caterer that you are not sure can truly deliver. being free from stress, you can spend emotional energy for the important things- celebration, love, family, and your blessed union. Isn't that what a wedding is all about? Can this be possible from simply hiring the right vendor? In our case, it was.

    I think the biggest compliment I can say is, if I had a magic wand to go back and change the wedding- I would not change a thing. I would choose Indulge again, and again. They are world-class, and nothing less. If you want to have an average wedding full of "surprises", get an average caterer.... if you want an exceptional, worry-free wedding that exceeds all of your expectations, get Indulge.

    And, yes "WE ABSOLUTELY LOVED OUR WEDDING". Thank you Indulge!!!!

    -Dennis and Rachelle
  • C
    Catherine Sent on 01/04/2010
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We got married in October 2009 and the reception was at the Japanese Friendship Garden in Balboa Park. We found Indulge on the gardens list of approved caterers, almost booked another caterer but checked out Indulge at the last minute and they blew us away. We wanted a classy yet modern not typical wedding. I'll list why they made us really happy:

    -Cocktail hour coconut shrimp, beef kabobs, crab cakes, lumpia (our request) and fruit and cheese display all great
    -Provided bar service and rentals. We ordered liquor from bevmo and saved $$$
    -They worked well with all the vendors and things went off seemlessly
    -Rentals from the caterer were great. They provided standard stuff but also things like square plates, black chairs, and unique linens- lots of detailed stuff that really made the wedding look great.
    -DINNER (in caps cause I'm yelling) was GREEEATTT (yelled like tony the tiger) we had a delicious stir fry station and beef carving station. I know it sounds like a strange pair but it was a little something for the East Coast whites and something for the Cali Filipinos.

    The reception really went better that we could have hoped and that is in large part due to Tonya and Flor at Indulge!!! Thank You!!!

    The wife and I were probably a pain in the butt and they did everything we wanted and more.... During dinner Flor (the amazing Chef) was apparently bored and whipped up some bomb fried rice.

    If you are shopping for a caterer for a wedding do yourself a favor and check out Indulge!
  • Rock
    Rock Sent on 05/13/2010
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My wife and I commissioned Indulge for our wedding at the LaJolla Women's Club in beautiful LaJolla, California on 9/26/09. This is the most intricate, professional, real, and results driven catering company I ever seen operate. Flora and Tonya were spectacular, and they made the wedding PERFECT. The extreme planning, coordinating and professionalism of Tonya coupled with the warmth and delicious menu of Flora, equals excellence.
    Tonya kept us informed of all progress along the way, and gave us so many great options to choose from. She treated our wedding like it was hers, and always gave us "extra credit". They put on a flawless wedding, and you can tell this company is into doing it with taste, passion and integrity.
    I could not have chosen a more quality company. From the prices, the menus, the decor, the staff, and the communication skills, this experience was A-1! You will not be disappointed.

    Thanks,

    Rock Coddington
  • D
    Dora Sent on 07/25/2010
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I hired Indulge last year for an event, I was hesitant at first since I had not previously used them. When I arrived at the tasting I was impressed not only with the food but whit the great atentiveness that I was received with.
    The event was great the staff was near perfect. All my guest where truly impressed with their level of professionalism and they great eye for even the smallest of details.

    My party was for a very large group which I think makes it that much harder to keep everybody pleased, but INDULGE was the best I could have chosen to take care of that event for us. We have used them ever since and they are our first choice when we need a caterer.

    Chef Franco is wonderful and very detailed to all of our requests. I strongly recommend indulge if you are looking for quality and great service !!
  • M
    Meagan Sent on 10/01/2009
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The creativity of the menu was wonderful, and my guests loved the mashed potato martini bar!
  • S
    Sharon Sent on 08/08/2009
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Indulge was amazing, from beginning to end. Our 1st tasting ever was at Indulge, and no one else could compare. We had to have Indulge cater our wedding! They had amazing food and very reasonable prices, especially given the high quality food. My husband and I were impressed by Indulge's presentation, attention to detail, creativity and enthusiasm. Everytime we visited, the table was decorated with gorgeous samples of table settings, linens, and centerpieces. You could immediately see how impressive Flor's sense of design was. They are a pleasure to work with, on top of everything else. Flor was wonderful to work with during selection and the months of planning, and she was always very responsive. We had 3 stations, to provide lots of variety for our guests with such varied backgrounds. Flor threw in several extra touches, with linens, a fruit display, and a surprise upgrade to our lighting - the Japanese lanterns were spectacular, and a perfect match for the Japanese Friendship Garden in San Diego (wedding & reception was here).

    We couldn't stop bragging about how much everyone would love our caterer, and sure enough, our guests are still complimenting the food, the staff, the linens, the lighting, the display - everything was BEYOND perfect. This company is of the highest quality and professionalism, with the great charm of a start-up business. I would recommend Indulge in a heartbeat, and can't wait to contract them again, next time I have an event. Trust me, you'll love them.
  • L
    Lan Sent on 06/17/2009
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I happened to stumble upon Indulge Catering while contacting other caterers for my wedding. It was the best choice ever. Flor who is the owner and caterer took very good care of my wedding. If you are looking for high end quality food at your reception, they are the ones to call. All my guests said that the food was great. The service is just excellent. Flor gets busy sometimes and you may have to remind her of past conversations but she has a great team to help her. We couldn't be more satisfied with their service.
  • L
    Liz Sent on 08/14/2009
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I have so much to say about Indulge that I don�t know where to begin. I have used other caters for various personal events and as well as business and I thought I was working with the best until I worked with Indulge. Flor was my initial contact and she is absolutely amazing...she knows her work like no one else, she made my special day more than special, I was amazed with the menu, the tasting and the fact that I didn�t have to look around for all of the rentals and linens and even decorations they had it all. It saved me so much time and even money because they owe their own rentals! ;) I was completely impressed with everything that I got to taste and see before my wedding but... It wasn't even close to how amazing they made my special day, they went above and beyond my expectations, their staff was amazing, efficient and friendly and of course very presentable, I didn't worry about a thing, the food was impeccable, they gave me and my guest the service that they had promised me. I certainly didn't mind having to pay a bit more than what the other caters had quoted me because their hi end service and the quality of their food was nothing like what I tasted before. I have deeply thankful with Indulge Contemporary Catering and with Flor Granados for making my event unforgettable. I loved the linens and the fact that they have a wide collection. I have to warn you that it will be very difficult to make up your mind trying to decide with table to use, chairs and choosing a color due to the variety they have. Because of the exceptional job they have done is why I now use Indulge for company events and package deals and I recommend them to anyone, because you truly get what you pay for!! ALL WORTH IT!!!!
  • M
    Mitchell Sent on 04/13/2009
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    WOW! WOW! WOW! We met Flor in March of 2008. She had just opened Indulge and did not have a venue for our tasting. We met her in Mission Valley near Hotel Circle for our tasting. Flor was in the process of aquiring her current location near Morena Blvd.

    We were blown away by her, her chef and her employees. She presented each entree with class. Her attention to detail, spices, sauces, quality of food was amazing. My wife and I left our tasting blown away by Flor and her food. We ended up going to another caterer that day and walked out of the tasting because we knew we had to go with Flor and Indulge.

    Our wedding was very "Mexican". We had Mexican beer, Tequila and Tequila shots for the toast instead of the customary champagne.

    The appetizers were incredible! Ahi tuna, cheeses, assparagus wrapped with Italian fine deli meats. Our guest were in heaven!

    Flor's staff made us a spring mixed salad with nopales (cactus). Very Mexican!

    Flor went along with the theme and made us a very, very delicious dinner. Our guest feasted on shrimp, steak and chicken laid on top of a bed of rice. Beans were sprinkled around the rice and the entree included roasted peppers.

    Flor being a person who values family loved the fact that my mom was going to make our wedding cake. Flor provided the serving fee of the cake for next to nothing. It seemed she was more excited about the fact that my mom was going to make the cake for my wife and me than we were. She kept praising my mom and that made my wife and me feel good.

    The staff for Indulge Contemporary Catering was amazing! They were on top of everything. No detail was over looked. Not to mention the fact that they did an incredible job decorating the hall. FYI, Flor provided great linens for the tables and chairs.

    We can not thank Flor and the staff at Indulge Contemporary Catering enough.

    If you are planning your wedding and need a caterer, Flor and Indulge is the way to go. It is not just dining. With Flor you will get top of the line FINE DINING!

    We never imagined our wedding was going to be such a hit. Here we are three weeks after "D" Day and our parents are still getting calls from friends and family raving about the food.

    Flor THANK YOU very much!
  • L
    Laura Sent on 11/07/2008
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I hired Indulge to cater our wedding and had the best experience! Flor along with the other staff blew us away from the beginning when we came in for a tasting. The food was delicous and you could see their attention to detail in everything just at the tasting. Their office where you have the tasting is set up so beautifully that when my then fiance showed up with me for the tasting he couldn't beleive that we were going to be able to afford them. Everything just seemed so classy!

    Indulge ended up being so great to work with that we used them for our catering, cake (which by the way was the best cake i've ever had!), bar, and linens. We saved ourselves such a pain by having them do everything for us. When you have one place handle so much it takes a lot of work out of the planning process and leaves a lot less room for error. We completely trusted Flor with our details after working with her on setting up the menu. She followed through so beautifully with getting all of the details perfect and even adding little touches that really made a difference all while working within our budget. I got so many compliments on our food and how friendly the bartenders and staff were after the wedding. I just can't say enough good things about Indulge. I would recommend them to anyone! My husband and I had such an amazing night and a lot of that we owe to Indulge for handling everything so beautifully and not making us worry about anything. The time around your wedding can be really stressful, but for me it wasn't because I knew the details were getting taken care of.
  • L
    Lorena Sent on 11/05/2008
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Flor and her staff are just fabulous, SUPER dedicated, creative, and just on-the-ball in every respect. We hired them to execute the bulk of our 10th anniversary event held at the Japanese Friendship Garden in Balboa Park, a GORGEOUS venue, that Flor actually has a TON of experience doing events at, and it SHOWS, from the details she considers to her easy rapport and working relationship with the staff at the JFG. If your are doing your event here, you REALLY want to work with Indulge, trust me!

    "Food Service": We requested very specific Japanese style dishes in keeping with the theme of the location, which they offered various samples of in our tasting, and they delivered true to that original expectation (maybe even BETTER, according to our guests' rave reviews of the fabulous food at our event - and PLENTY of it too!), down to the SCRUMPTUOUS (VERY reasonably-priced!) cake that they also made for us, and also IDENTICAL to (again, maybe even better than) the design we wanted. We had a buffet setup, which looked so attractive and ran marvelously. The serving tables, servingware, dinner tables, and dinnerware were all gorgeous, and Indulge paid attention to details again way beyond our imaginations!

    Staff: I have to give special mention to this, because I think this is Indulge's key to success. The first time we met Flor herself at the tasting, we also met their Chef, who was such a sweetheart and clearly a great listener and "gets" what you want right away, not to mention he's super skilled at putting the food masterpieces together, both deliciously and attractively! On the day of our event, there was so much staff, I was quite impressed! In fact, at first I was like, "wow this is a huge crew" and thought maybe they were just there for the setup, and perhaps that's true, I'm not 100% sure, because all I know after that is that once the reception got going in full-swing, they were transparent to me and yet everything was running smooth as butter! The only one who I was BARELY aware of was the captain (and this is a GOOD THING, as you want to be preoccupied by just your GUESTS and YOU and the MOMENT at an event like this, not your caterer and whether or not they are doing what they are supposed to). He was so professional and just checked with my husband and I a few times (perfect, not intrusive) to make sure we were happy, in need of anything, and feeling like everything was going well. I think he even had our plates served for us, or someone did because we never had a chance to go get in line and hence never did... And yet still had a bunch of food to eat set before us. Flor herself was also there, very much behind-the-scenes, making sure mostly that the whole thing was going according to plan, and that we were on schedule at all times (as bride and groom you quickly lose track of everything, and you should be able to, too, if someone is being paid to juggle details for you!). The bar service was really good too (we had an open bar that we stocked), I know I got comments from my guests that they really liked our bartender.

    "Rentals": Their equipment is top-notch, Flor is very particular about having the absolute best and innovative stuff out there, and is even custom-designing special unique chair-table ensembles that look amazing like nothing you've ever seen before! But don't want to give away her secrets to the competition, so you'll have to ask her to see this stuff yourself when your visit their awesome showrooms near Pac Beach. Bottom line: our reception area (outdoor) looked SENSATIONAL, I felt like someone from the highest ranks of society it was so amazing-looking! The lighting structures holding the overhead organza "streamers" and the Japanese paper lanterns - it was all looked just so fantastic!

    You can trust Flor and her team to LISTEN TO YOU, and to offer up a ton of great creative and innovative ideas, and put it all together for a very unique event that encompasses all your needs, desires, and YOUR personality/style. You can also count on them to put their hearts into your event to make sure you are nothing but SUPER HAPPY and BEYOND SATISFIED! Plus you will definitely have fun working with them! Enjoy!
  • Z
    Zandra Sent on 09/23/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Flor and her team were heaven-sent! My dream wedding was brought to life with the help of her vision, professional experience and love for the catering industry! I loved every area of Flor's designs. From the delicious food, creative centerpieces, professionally dressed staff & fun attitude. I will continue to refer her & her outstanding staff!
  • Zandra
    Zandra Sent on 11/11/2008
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Future Brides & Grooms,

    It is my pleasure to take the hardest part of your wedding planning off your hands and HIGHLY recommend Indulge Contemporary Catering for your most important event needs! We all know how essential it is to have the perfect food, staff & set-up for our one special day. My experience with working with Flor and her awesome team was the BEST decision I made to decrease my stress & worry level. Flor has so much experience within the industry SHE MAKES the industry. The initial taste-testing experience was so amazing that not only was the food exceptional, but Flor's friendly & easy going personality made my fiancee & I feel at ease to know everything was going to be perfect! Every request & desire that I wanted was met beyond my expectations. All of my guests were more than satisfied & the price we paid for such an unforgetting day was unbelievable. For such amazing & accurate service one would expect to be cleaned out, but Indulge was very reasonable! I highly recommend that you don't just choose your Cater based on the "norm", but yet you contact Indulge IMMEDIATELY to prove to yourself that you have a choice for great and affordable service without doubt!

    I would use Indulge again for my next event, which is going to be my 1st baby shower :) I know that Flor will make this next special event just that- SPECIAL! I can count on flavorful food, NEW rental equipment & friendly service. What more can a bride/mom to be ask for! :) It's time for you to INDULGE like we did!

    God bless!
  • J
    Joshua Sent on 07/16/2013
    4.9 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Our full review can be found on Yelp here: http://www.yelp.com/biz/indulge-contemporary-catering-san-diego#hrid:8rg-Y53b2eiL4ws8h5RJLw

    Indulge provided the food, event rentals, and lighting for our wedding at the Japanese Friendship Garden.

    Everyone at the wedding raved about the food that was served. The empanadas, egg rolls and mini pizzas were a hit for the cocktail hour. In fact, the mini egg rolls were better than those we had on our honeymoon (at the winner of best Din Sum restaurant in Vancouver- which is known for its Chinese food!). The beef, chicken and risotto entree options were also well received. As we walked to various tables, the only food I saw remaining on any plates were the carrot tops.

    Indulge even provided our desserts! That is amazing for a caterer! The double chocolate macadamia nut cake we had for our cake cutting was among the moistest cakes I have ever had. But we didn't just want cake, so they also provided us with lemon bars, chocolate mousse with apricot sauce, lady fingers and bread pudding. I have never seen a dessert table look so decimated. I even saw guests pull the wedding topper off the remaining cake so they could eat that. And it wasn't for a lack of food...they just loved the desserts!

    We can't say enough great things about Indulge. One of my friends was the banquets and events manager for one of the largest wedding venues in North County and he told me, "I've been doing this for a long time and I've never seen a wedding go off like this- without a hitch." If I could give them 50 stars, I would. Flor and Tonya will be getting Christmas cards from now on and any event we throw or people who ask for suggestions will only get one name from us-- Indulge Catering.
  • J
    Inna Sent on 08/28/2008
    4.9 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Indulge Contemporary Catering was incredible. They helped me create a beautiful wedding which included gorgeous lanterns lighting and linens, extraordinary service and delicious food. I thought this company was exceptional and I would highly recommend them.
  • J
    Jean Sent on 09/11/2011
    4.4 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    This review is for our wedding rentals only, and not the catering aspect of Indulge. My husband and I worked with Tonya throughout the planning of our wedding. At times, things got challenging with planning rentals with one company and the catering with a different company, but with some collaboration on both ends, Tonya was able to pull it together for us! She is one busy lady so it's understandable that emails might sometimes be delayed. But when we had the opportunity to sit down together, Tonya's warmth and sincerity was overwhelming! We loved the lights that were used for our outdoor wedding, and all the final touches with the rest of our rentals were appreciated as well!
  • C
    Christine Sent on 07/13/2010
    2.5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      1.5 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      2.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      1.5 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      3.5 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      3.5 out of 5 rating
    I got married last month and Indulge catered my wedding reception. Our experience with Flor and her staff was interesting to say the least, and in the end left much to be desired.

    When my fiancé and I began looking for a caterer, we worked off of the preferred vendor list provided by our venue. Tonya told me that she could beat the package we were being offered by another caterer and that we would love their dishes – she was right. My fiancé and I were thrilled after our meeting with Indulge. The food was delicious and they offered us a great package that fit within our budget - It was almost too good to be true! We had heard wonderful things about Indulge and read great reviews. We knew they were a top of the line caterer and we were so excited to work with them. The dishes we tasted were fantastic and Tonya really seemed to know what she was doing. She told us about the excellent customer service we would receive and we were confident that we had made the right decision with Indulge.

    As the months went on, I found that many of the things Tonya had promised as far as customer service was sorely lacking. During our meetings, she spent most of the time talking rather than listening. She was difficult to communicate with and even more difficult to get a hold of. She would talk with grandiose ideas and explain what we could expect from indulge, but we did not see any of it. Several of our meetings were spent going over the same details because Tonya couldn’t seem to remember the items we had previously discussed – including our wedding colors, which courtyard the reception/cocktail hours were being held in, and our dessert choice (we told her we did not want a cake, but a dessert bar and she still brought us in for a cake tasting. It was a waste of both her time and ours).

    She was often preoccupied and rushing to another meeting. There came a time during the planning where we had considered switching caterers because Tonya was so inattentive and difficult to communicate with. In a final attempt to gain confidence in her services, my fiancé and I set up an additional appointment with her so that she could grasp our vision. The service we received from Tonya was as though they had already “done us a favor” and gone above and beyond by providing us such a well-priced package and that our event didn’t deserve or need the same attention to detail.

    We were told that at the final tasting the table would be set up with our choice of linens and china, and that we would taste the final menu. When we arrived, Tonya was in sweatpants and a t-shirt and the table was not set up with our linens or dishes, and we did not taste any of the items we previously selected. During this appointment we were also to taste a couple recipes we had sent her for the “Mac & Cheese” we were having as our pasta dish. I sent her two of our favorite dishes and they had only prepared one for us to taste. My fiancé and I also decided not to have any alcohol at the wedding so we spoke with Tonya at our very first meeting about creating a signature “mocktail”. Tonya loved the idea and said she had done this before. She promised that we would taste the mocktail at the final tasting and she knew how important this was to us. Halfway through the final tasting, Tonya mentioned that she hadn’t worked the mocktails. She went on to say “don’t worry…I’ll throw something together for you” and asked again what flavors we liked. My fiancé and I were incredibly disappointed. My mom had also sent Tonya an email with a list of questions we had and items that we needed to discuss at this meeting. Tonya was clearly rushed, as usual, and flustered. She didn’t seem prepared for our questions and later that evening admitted that she had NEVER read the email. My parents, fiancé and I left the final tasting discouraged and with very little confidence in Tonya. This was the final straw in the series of less than stellar, unprofessional service we received from her.

    That night, we decided that we would look around for another caterer. We spoke with Flor and explained the issues we were having with Tonya and told her we would need the weekend to evaluate the situation before moving forward. Flor listened to our issues put us with Tatiana instead. We were glad that we could still use Indulge as we liked their food and the quality of the rentals – we could just not work with Tonya any longer. We kept almost all of the same arrangements we had made with Tonya. Tatiana was attentive and easy to communicate with. I was hopeful that the event would be a success as we worked with her.

    The day of the wedding came and unfortunately it seemed to be mishap upon mishap. Indulge showed up 1.5 hours late for setup. The bridal party arrived at the church, which was onsite, before Indulge even arrived to START setup. The florist had arrived at the correct time and had no tables to set the centerpieces on. The florist ended up setting up many of the chairs and putting the table clothes on because Indulge was so behind. This took more of her time, and as we all know, time is money. Even with the extra help from our DJ and florist, Indulge was still setting up when guests arrived for the cocktail hour. During the cocktail hour, the mocktails were not served as we had discussed. A few of my friends asked the bartender for the “bride and groom” drink and they had NO idea what my guests were talking about. They did have an “apple-tini” and “pina colada” available, but that was not the drink we had decided upon and it was not served or presented as the signature drink of the evening. So, in the end, one of the elements most important to us didn’t make it into the reception. During the cocktail hour, the truck was open and being unloaded in view of all our guests. By the time dinner service started, we were an hour behind schedule and our guests were very hungry. Tatiana was in charge of dismissing tables to the buffet, but she did not. The DJ then went around dismissing the tables and waiting on our sweetheart table, bridal party & family tables. Some of our guests did not get to sample all of the food because buffet trays were empty and not being replenished. The bar was also left unattended much of the evening. Both times I went to get a drink, attendants were not at the bar. When servers were at the bar, I received complaints that they were cursing in front of guests, including an 11 year old girl from my youth group. This behavior was absolutely inappropriate, unprofessional and tasteless. Two of the servers also got into an argument in front of the guests while clearing a table

    Overall, the service we received from Indulge, particularly on the day of the wedding was horrible. I understand that things always go wrong at weddings, but these incidents were beyond small wedding day glitches. The behavior of some members of the staff was absolutely inappropriate and unprofessional. We spoke to Flor after the event to explain the extent of these mishaps and she did not offer a single apology for any of the issues – including the offensive behavior of her staff. She refused to meet with us, extend a refund of our deposit, or communicate on the issue. I truly wish that we would have experienced the same level of service and quality from Indulge that others seem to have received. The “detailed planning and personal attention to detail” that Flor declares is given to each client was NOT a part of our experience. Their service was unprofessional and not in keeping with the standards they claim to uphold. My husband and I were not asking for anything extraordinary or being unreasonable -we were simply looking for the things that Indulge said we could expect from their catering service - a stylist who listened to us, understood our concerns and delivered what they promised. We DID NOT experience the same Indulge that we were expecting based on their wonderful reviews. What should have been an exciting journey was a taxing battle that ended with horrible service and Indulge not delivering what they promised.
  • A
    Ashley Sent on 08/12/2014
    1.7 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      2.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      0.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      2.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    When we came for the initial tasting, there was a different owner than there is now. She was awesome and I can honestly say that it was the best food I had ever had. Since then, a multitude of things changed (new venue, new owner, new chefs) and I was deeply disappointed with the food that I received on my wedding day. The pork tenderloin was way overcooked, the vegetables had ZERO flavor (not even salt?) and the shrimp and grits (we wanted southern food) were sub-par. Horrible. I am still so mad that I paid a ridiculous amount of money for food that would have been better if McDonalds catered....
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message