Hyatt Regency Newport Beach Reviews

21 | Newport Beach, CA
See photos, pricing and details

21 Reviews for Hyatt Regency Newport Beach

Recommended by 93%

21
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner

4.6 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.7
  • Professionalism 4.6
  • Flexibility 4.7
  • Value 4.6
  • Average response time 4.5
Sort by:
  • D

    Dean · Married on 04/22/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hyatt was very helpful and accommodating our wedding and catering to our food preferences and guests. They assisted with transporting our grandparents and mother (who uses a wheellchair) from site to site which helped greatly in our day. Would highly recommend!!!

    Sent on 05/03/2017
  • User6258066 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding was 3/25/17 and we couldn't have asked for a more perfect day. We worked with Christeen Orr, who was professional, friendly, and efficient throughout the entire process. She is quick with email responses and also helped us when there were random and at times, last- minute snafus. The Hyatt amphitheater where we had our ceremony, just got remodeled, and everything was so lush and green! Having guests transfer from ceremony here to ballroom for receptionwas so easy. The ballroom is a ballroom but once transformed with draping and decor was gorgeous and comfortably housed our 300 guests. Overall experience was smooth, grounds were beautiful, and it was easy for guests to find the venue and be comfortable at this venue. Hyatt team is great to work with and I definitely recommend!

    Sent on 03/30/2017
  • K

    Kristen · Married on 06/25/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding in June 2016 at the Hyatt. Our ceremony and reception were both outside and it couldn't have been more perfect! The venue was clean, inviting, and special! Christeen and all of the Hyatt employees that we worked with couldn't have been nicer! They were friendly from day one when we did a walk through of the venue. She took an interest in us as a couple and did everything she could to best accommodate us, our families, and guests. From the delicious food tasting, to the vendor recommendations, and the day of attention to details, our wedding day was beyond perfect, in large part to the organization and expertise of those at the Hyatt. Weeks later and we are still reflecting on what a magical evening it was and how thankful we were to have selected the Hyatt! We highly recommend this venue for your wedding!

    Sent on 07/06/2016
  • A

    Annie · Married on 01/23/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our Indian wedding at the Hyatt Newport Beach in January 2016. I LOVED everything about Hyatt Newport Beach! The property is gorgeous and massive. We found perfect locations for each of our four events (garba, ceremony, reception, breakfast) over three days. There’s so much natural beauty: colorful flowers, lush greenery, stunning views of water and golf course. Our wedding pictures turned out to be beautiful!

    It was so convenient to have all events at the Hyatt. Our guests loved the <10min drive to SNA airport with free shuttle available. The hotel rooms are very nice and recently renovated. There are lots of spaces ideal for causal hanging-out. Between events and after hours our guests spent lots of time in the main lounge, restaurant bar, and outdoor patio.

    My husband and I enjoyed every moment of our wedding weekend. We owe a big thanks to Ashley Rivera. She was extremely professional and made everything come together. We talked and emailed dozens of times with Ashley before our wedding weekend. When we finally met in person, it was clear she knew our wedding details better than we did! She coordinated all events and was always available when plans changed last minute. Ashley went way beyond what I envisioned as a wedding coordinator. Hyatt Newport Beach is lucky to have someone who is so invested in making sure her clients and wedding guests have an incredible experience!

    Sent on 03/05/2016
  • User5157879 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This is an amazing location to have a wedding. When we were reviewing all different places in southern California, we fell in love with this place instantly. We got married in the Plaza Ballroom and it was a beautiful wedding. All of our guests commented on how elegant the ballroom and the outside arbor were. It really helped set the tone for our reception. The ceremony area within the Hyatt property is also incredible. The services provided on the day of our wedding was also very professional and top notch. Again, our guests and families kept complimenting us on the beautiful location. Most importantly. we couldn't have such an unforgettable day without the Hyatt's liaison/coordinator Christeen. She was truly committed to carrying out our vision for our wedding day, was incredibly available and reachable, and was very flexible to work with. Of the many vendors involved in our wedding, I believe Christeen will be the most unforgettable person as we reflect on our experiences. Overall, we could not be happier with the Hyatt for our wedding.

    Sent on 12/22/2015
  • User6094531 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Must meet with Christeen Orr at the Hyatt in Newport Beach for an effortless experience! She is a true dream at meeting with all of our needs. The stress of planning a full service wedding completely dissipates when talking to Christeen. She's that vendor friend that you need in the industry that alleviates that stress and makes it pure laughter.

    Sent on 12/27/2015
  • User6131069 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hyatt Newport Beach is a beautiful venue: We did not utilize the ceremony space since ours was at a church, but we did use that space & other picturesque areas within the hotel for Bridal Party photos. A great venue to keep in mind if planning 1 year in advance with the possibly of rain in the forecast -- picturesque hotel for all you photo needs & the set up of the Arbor / Grand Plaza Ballroom area offers a romantic & intimate vibe. Lastly, if given the option, pick Christeen Orr!

    Sent on 01/02/2016
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 07/11/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I got married at the Hyatt Regency Newport Beach on July 11, 2015. The Hyatt and Christeen Orr were very organized in making our wedding day memorable. From the champagne and amazing meat and cheese platter delivered to my room the night before the wedding to the added touch of fun with our reception fire pit lounge, they truly helped transform the Oasis Courtyard into a dream wedding. All wedding planning will have some bumps in the road but Christeen and her team were more than accommodating making sure that our vision and style were truly captured on our big day. From last minute umbrella ordering to comfort our guest to special meal orders for those who have food allergies, the Hyatt team was more than willing to do what it took to make our day perfect. Luis, our banquet captain was amazing! He continued to check on our families and both the groom and myself to make sure everything was to our liking. He went out of his way make sure everything was perfect all through the night. We cannot thank the Hyatt Newport Beach enough for making our wedding special. Thank you Christeen, her assistants, Luis, the sales manager, & even the bellmen who went out of their way to make our day perfect. Jenny & David :)

    Sent on 01/16/2016
  • T

    Tyler · Married on 01/03/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kate Eaton was above and beyond from start to finish. Her and her team definitely made this possibly for my new wife and I. The best day ever!

    Shout out to: (I wish I remembered everyone's names)
    Kate Eaton
    Banquet Staff
    Front Desk
    Bell Desk

    Sent on 01/21/2015

    Hyatt Regency Newport Beach's reply:

    Thank you, Tyler & Becky, for letting US be a part of this magical night!
  • User4699348 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were very very pleased with Christeen and very thankful for her help. She made our great day even better. We were so happy with all she did. Thanks again!

    Sent on 01/14/2015
  • S

    Smita · Married on 08/01/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Eddie Gonzalez is such a pleasure to work with! He truly understands what teamwork is and pulls through every single time! We, as decor & planning vendors, have to work closely with the hotel for all logistics. He & the staff work diligently to ensure every event is flawless.

    Sent on 08/05/2014
  • N

    Niloufar · Married on 07/12/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Eddie and his staff at the Hyatt Regency were amazing to work with. Easy going, very responsive to emails and requests pre wedding and also the day of. As a wedding planner it is so important to work as a team with other vendors, especially the venue where the wedding is taking place. Everything for Meaghan and Justin's wedding was smooth and a fabulous time. thank you!!

    Sent on 07/29/2014
  • A

    Alex · Married on 03/19/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot say enough wonderful things about this venue. We worked with Christeen Orr, who was beyond accommodating when we made several changes throughout the planning process. She was quick to respond to our many emails and phone calls, and went above and beyond to help us feel comfortable and enjoy ourselves! The venue itself is beautiful, and our guests had so much fun celebrating with us! We were able to enjoy the garden space, including s'mores at the fire pit, as well as host a small reception in the wine cellar, which I would highly recommend for those with small groups. The Hyatt also has so many awesome places to take pictures, which we and our guests enjoyed! Highly, highly recommended.

    Sent on 03/26/2016
  • M

    Michael · Married on 08/16/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a great time with celebrating our wedding at the Hyatt! Christine and the entire staff made sure the event went off smoothly and the ballroom really looked great. The reception staff was excellent as was the hotel staff who made us feel like bride and groom. The ceremony area is beautiful at this hotel and was a big reason we chose it. As with any venue, it is very important to read through the contract in detail and make sure everything is covered and spelled out up front. Once signed, very challenging to make changes.

    Sent on 11/07/2015
  • User5602293 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The event coordinator always responded very quickly to questions, which was much appreciative. We got exactly what we wanted in a simple wedding ceremony.

    Sent on 11/09/2015
  • T

    toshika · Married on 09/27/2015

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    We had Christeen Orr for our wedding. She was so helpful, flexible for our day. Also, we enjoyed all food you had :)

    Sent on 11/06/2015
  • V

    Verita · Married on 07/06/2018

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This venue is beautiful & has many sites worth seeing. Staff is friendly and extremely helpful. Day of, I had an amazing time working with Jessica R.! She checked in often, helped improvise when necessary and helped everything run smooth.

    Sent on 08/13/2018
  • User5460564 · 2+ years ago

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.5

    This was an amazing venue, we had our wedding dinner on the garden patio. It was perfect weather and amazing service. Kelly and Moses were the leads for our dinner and so helpful and accommodating. Our wedding coordinator was Christeen and she was great to work with. The food was delicious and everyone who attended commented on how great the venue and food were.

    Thanks for the perfect wedding day!

    Sent on 09/22/2015
  • L

    Linda · Married on 10/29/2016

    3.6
    • Quality of service:
      3.5
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    Beautiful location, but service is honestly underwhelming. Make sure you check your banquet order to make sure the numbers add up correctly. In addition, the staff cleaned up the wedding cake too quickly - many guests, including myself (the bride) did not have a chance to try the cake. Water service during dinner was also lacking (make sure you clarify if you want water replenished throughout the meal). The MOB also commented that one of the bartenders during cocktail hour was rude to her. Overall, you will not be disappointed with the aesthetics of the venue - we got many compliments about this and agree. Just be sure to emphasize the types of service that you expect upfront (we made the mistake of not doing this).

    Sent on 11/16/2016
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 04/20/2019

    1.2
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    Terrible experience working with Hyatt Regency Newport

    TL;DR - Hyatt Newport cancelled our wedding, never provided a clear reason for why they did this, and was cheap / extremely difficult to work with to transition our wedding to a new venue. Would never recommend anyone to have any event here at all.

    Our story with the Hyatt Newport started in April of 2018. Jessica (the first / original person we worked with) showed me and my parents the resort a couple of times before we decided that it would work for us. We signed one contract to secure the event space, and another for the room block. It took us about 1.5 months to finalize the event space document since Jessica threw in a bunch of incentives for us but some of those details (and other key details including prices, dates, etc.) weren’t properly documented in the contract. The room block contract took another 1 month to finalize after lots of back and forth. We found out a little late that the rooms at the resort are quite terrible (look at the Yelp reviews) so we requested that our guests stay in two specific towers. It apparently took 1 more month to get that approved. After around August we didn’t hear from them for a while.

    In September, we get an email out of the blue saying that Jessica is no longer working at Hyatt Newport. They eventually hired someone else (Ashley) but we hardly spoke to this person. In fact, we only sent her one email.

    The nightmare really began in October. We received a phone call from Lindsay (new person we never heard of before) informing us that the Hyatt Newport can no longer host our wedding on that day. When we pressed her for more information about why this is happening after we signed a contract. The most she would tell us is that a “third-party bought out the entire hotel, including event space and hotel rooms, for a two week span that conflicts with your wedding date.” That’s all the information we ever received from them. She couldn’t tell us if she was even part of that decision (her answer was “A group of people made this business decision”).

    We ordered our save-the-dates literally the day before we received the phone call from Lindsay. We had to reprint those cards and delay sending our guests when our wedding was going to be held.

    We received this news three weeks before we were planning on going to India and we told them we needed to figure out a new venue before we left. To their credit, they helped us book additional hotels that we could visit. However, some of them were not comparable by any means to the Hyatt Newport (some were just a joke and a waste of our time). We had provided them additional venue options we considered back in the summer of 2018 but they only considered a handful of these places.

    Once we decided on a new venue, things became even more difficult because Hyatt Newport lacks attention to detail (see first paragraph, apparently it wasn’t limited to one person) and was now super cheap. They coordinated with the new venue and dropped numerous details in the new contract that could have a big cost implication for us. For instance, we had unlimited soda in our original contract but our new hotel’s contract included a limit of 30 soft drinks and we would have to pay anything on top of that (we had one event without alcohol for ~200 people so 30 soft drinks wouldn’t last very long). Hyatt Newport also has a gazebo area that we were going to use for our mandap (where the Indian ceremony takes place) but the new venue doesn’t have anything like this. We eventually convinced them they needed to pay for the mandap with our decorator. However Hyatt Newport emailed our decor vendor and asked them what specific mandaps would cost (our vendor emailed us with those same photos and some looked trashy). Lastly, my wife’s parents couldn’t visit the venue in our original visit and we asked them to support a separate trip so they could see where their daughter was going to get married, but they refused to do this.

    This went on for months, and we definitely didn’t sign the new contract before we went in India. In fact we had to go through all the details of the contracts while we were halfway across the world since we didn’t trust that this team would actually do it correctly. If my wife and I weren’t so detailed oriented, they would have easily dropped numerous things that we worked so hard to ensure were in there (e.g. chivari chairs, charger plates, drink specials, etc.)

    The story has a happy ending since we ended up getting a good deal at the new hotel and eventually had a really fun wedding. However, I would never ever recommend anyone to have any type of event at the Hyatt Newport. Their lack of professionalism and communication will make wedding planning for you a complete and total mess. Please steer clear and go somewhere completely different.

    Sent on 05/17/2019

    Hyatt Regency Newport Beach's reply:

    We are so sorry that we were not able to host your wedding. This was a very unfortunate situation in which the hotel was no longer able to offer the ceremony and reception space as originally intended. The hotel worked diligently to assist you in sourcing, and ultimately securing, another venue with similar pricing which was not required as part of the contract. The hotel also paid the difference of those items which were not matched by the other venue. The hotel played an active role in the many conversations that were needed to ensure the details were covered in the new contract. We are glad that you had a fun wedding and that another Hyatt hotel was able to take care of you on this special day.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review