Skip to main content
Weddings

Hotel Van Zandt Reviews

Hotel Van Zandt View more information

11 Reviews

Rated
4.8
out of 5.0
Recommended by 96% of couples
  • Quality of service
    4.5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.6 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.9 out of 5 rating

Awards

11
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner

3 User photos

  • Laxmi
    Laxmi A. Married on 11/20/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Dream Venue

    We did our due diligence when selecting our wedding venue, but knew we were home when we set foot in Hotel Van Zandt. The hotel is the perfect balance of unique sophistication and elegance. We used a variety of spaces including the main ballroom for our Indian ceremony and reception, the Meriwether ballroom for our rehearsal dinner and the pool area for our evening western ceremony. The team at the Van Zandt is knowledgeable and helpful - they have your best interests at hand and incredibly responsive, and they make you feel welcome every step of the way. We were so lucky to work with both Molly and Samantha throughout the last year leading up to our big day in November 2021. Our families still talk about lovely the team was and could see them working hard to ensure there we no hiccups to our day. The decor is breathtaking, and the chef + team will curate a menu that will leave you reminiscing for days after your meal. The service staff will greet you with the biggest smiles and somehow make your day extra special. If you have the opportunity to get married in heart of downtown Austin, look no further than the Hotel Van Zandt.

  • Carolina
    Carolina T. Married on 06/05/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Highly Recommend HVZ!

    Highly recommend the Hotel Van Zandt for your wedding or event - they are absolutely fabulous! Sam and Molly are both rockstars and will make sure every little detail is taken care of. They also go above and beyond to make your whole stay as wonderful as possible. The whole HVZ team made sure we were taken care of the whole time - their catering team was always on top of it and the food was delicious! We had to postpone our wedding and the HVZ was willing to work with us as we changed our wedding plans - we are so happy we were able to have our celebration this year and the HVZ made sure we had the best day ever!
  • T
    Todd F. Married on 04/12/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Awesome Downtown Austin Venue

    We held my daughter's wedding at the Van Zandt on 12/28/19 and we are still glowing about the entire weekend. The location is terrific, everything about the hotel is very Austin / cool and our main contact Samantha was perfect. Sam helped guide us through the process since last February and she organized and executed everything perfectly. Her can-do attitude is so refreshing and she felt like part of the family by the end of the entire process. I highly recommend the hotel to host a wedding.
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • Claire
    Claire B. Married on 06/07/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Exceeded expectations!

    The Van Zandt team (especially Samantha) exceeded our expectations! All of our guests that attended our reception and stayed in the hotel had a wonderful experience. The service was beyond top notch. The hotel had treats for us in our room every time we returned (welcome treats, extra slices of our wedding cake and water, hangover kits, etc). Our wedding reception went off without a hitch. Samantha kept the whole night flowing seamlessly. The food was beyond amazing, service staff was friendly and quick, A/V team helped with all of our technology with no issues. Our family even hosted a next day brunch in the same event space and the food, service and room were exactly what we needed after a night of partying! We definitely made the best decision having our reception at the Van Zandt and staying there all weekend!
  • M
    Michelle C. Married on 05/04/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Seamless and perfect wedding weekend!

    The Hotel Van Zandt was the absolute perfect choice for us! The location is hard to beat and our out of town guests loved being able to experience the city and turn their trip into a weekend getaway. The décor is unparalleled and completely breaks the stereotypes of what most people think of for a hotel wedding, we are still getting compliments from our guests. All the staff were helpful and amazing but Samantha, the on-site coordinator, truly took our experience to the next level. She was responsive, attentive, and flexible and worked really well with our coordinator from Lovely Day Events. Food and drinks were fantastic. We were aiming for convenience for our guests, so being able to have our ceremony and reception all on the second floor was perfect for us. The HVZ has really thought through their event space design, built up a great team, and I would highly recommend them.
  • M
    Maxine Married on 04/06/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A beautiful venue in downtown Austin

    The Van Zandt venue is so warm and beautiful compared to others we looked at, which felt cold. It is already so ornate , with great colors, which cuts down on your decor. The reception and cocktail area are perfect and plenty of space for large crowds. The cocktail area we are using has lots of cocktail tables, sofas, chairs, etc... and lends itself to a very comfortable environment. The staff is great and very attentive and open to questions, very responsive. Our tasting was a great, delicious experience, and loved by all whom attended. Samantha, is very professional and available to any questions or concerns that arise. We look forward to our wedding day!
  • E
    Emily Married on 02/24/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful space! Great service! Delicious food!

    Hotel Van Zandt was the perfect setting for the wedding of our dreams. We booked HVZ for our wedding reception nearly a year in advance of the date. They worked closely with us throughout the year to make sure every detail was considered and the reception was exactly as we dreamed. The food is out of this world! They were super accommodating to our odd request to serve breakfast for dinner (brinner) and created a mouth watering, custom menu just for us! Sam, the event coordinator, is an absolute dream to work with! She is enthusiastic, responsive, patient and extremely thoughtful. She made us feel so special with every detail down to - meeting us at the hotel entrance when we arrived back from the ceremony with a glass of champagne to calm our nerves! The event space is mind blowing! You get the entire 2nd floor - which is a lot of great space to work with. It is designed so beautifully and doesn't look like a generic hotel ballroom. This space is perfection. Working with HVZ also made wedding planning so easy. They provide most of the big stuff - the catering, waiters, tables, chairs, linens, etc. It reduced our stress as we didn't have to find a caterer and hire a rental company. This space was perfect for our unique look and taste. I highly recommend considering HVZ for any event needs!
  • Luis
    Luis S. Married on 09/01/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Stunning Hotel

    This is a very unique place. The wife fell for all the designs and color used inside the hotel, along the venue area. All of our guest staying there were well accommodated and we didn't hear not one negative thing about service from anyone. The food at their restaurant is phenomenal. Then the catering was exceptional. Everything was perfect on the day of our wedding. They coordinated well with our wedding planner from Pearl Events.
  • J
    Jessica Married on 11/17/2007
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    This place is AMAZING. The look of the entire hotel impressed my guests and the reception room was so beautiful I barely added any decorations! My coordinator Molly was FANTASTIC. She went above and beyond to make our day special and stress free. The staff at this place is consistently courteous and kind. They accommodated all sorts of last minute requests with class and grace. The food was fabulous and the decor made pictures fun and interesting. I will be recommending HVZ to everyone and especially snag Molly as your coordinator if you have the chance!! As an aside, this was a same sex wedding and everyone involved was able to navigate the craziness of that with understanding and professionalism. So pleased with this venue, i will be having some work functions there moving forward!
  • L
    Liz Married on 04/27/2018
    4.4 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    We loved having our wedding at Hotel Van Zandt. The Sales manager, Samantha was easily the BEST and most professional person we worked with during our wedding. She was beyond organized and responsive and went out of her way to make sure we had everything we needed. The venue itself is gorgeous and the food was excellent. The service / serving staff during the event could use some improvement (we had several mistakes made during the dinner service), but I suppose that can happen anywhere. Otherwise, we're very happy with the outcome of our wedding.
  • Steven
    Steven R. Married on 04/11/2020
    3.4 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful hotel, service was a little lacking

    This is a tough review for us to write. On the one hand - the hotel is incredibly beautiful in an awesome part of town. On the other, the service that we received while setting up our block was not up to par. Although we were able to get our initial block set up in a reasonable amount of time, anything after that was incredibly difficult to do as any response from the support team would take weeks to get an answer back. I understand the hospitality industry is struggling with staffing but it felt like until we sent a sternly worded email that we wouldn't get an answers that we needed. Again, the hotel space was fantastic and we spent a lot of time at their great restaurant/bar.