Skip to main content
Weddings

Hot Wax Entertainment Reviews

Hot Wax Entertainment

Hot Wax Entertainment

Hornbrook, CA
4.9 out of 5 rating, 143 Reviews
View more information

143 Reviews

Rated
4.9
out of 5.0
Recommended by 98% of couples
  • Quality of service
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.9 out of 5 rating

Awards

143
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
  • F
    Frances Married on 07/30/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had the ceremony, cocktail hour and reception all in the same area and Hot Wax took care of everything. In addition to the audio, we got eight uplights in two colours, the ceiling stars, rented a screen for our slideshow, and rented the photobooth. They were very responsive to all our inquiries and usually got back to us within 48 hours, max - and if they couldn't they'd get back to us and let us know when they could.

    The photobooth was one of the biggest hits of the night! There was a screen you stood in front of and a box that took the pictures that faced you and your group. They supplied the costumes and we had 3 poses per picture. 2 copies 5x7. You can take multiple pictures. There was an attendant to help out.

    The music was exactly what we asked for and everyone, including the kiddies experiencing the "disco" for the first time, had so much fun!
  • User2679182 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Elliott called back within a few hours after sending the original email request for a quote and was available to answer any questions throughout the whole booking process. DJ Ward was fantastic, he played all of the top 20 dance requests submitted via website and also took requests as much as possible on the night of. We used the restaurant's speakers for the MCs and slideshow and there were a few problems and DJ Ward was even helping fix the restaurant's equipment. Thanks DJ Ward for an incredible night!
  • E
    Edgar C. Married on 06/04/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Elliott is very responsive to all our emails and calls in regards to all details prior to the wedding. Mike (our dj) is also amazing, timing all our music the best that he can. We also didnt pick some of the music played, and his picks were amazing! There was no dancing at our wedding but if there was, i am for sure they will get our crown pumping and dancing!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • C
    Chloe Married on 01/10/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    we had our wedding last week and hot wax was our preferred vendor for our venue at UBC Boathouse. they definitely did not disappoint us with their services. From our initial phone call to our wedding day, everything was smooth and . Our DJ Mike did a great job making sure the music are played as we requested and he also made our dance floor moving! Had so much fun, will definitely recommend them!
  • User2443467 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Very impressed with this company through the whole process. To book you deal with Elliot. He is knowledgeable and friendly. You select special songs and playlist requests through an online system. This was fairly simple to use. Your actual DJ you don't meet until the event, but if they are all as good as Chuck you won't have a problem. He was punctual, professional, and did an outstanding job reading the room and keeping people dancing. I've never been to a wedding where people danced so consistently. Also felt like they were a great value for us. They are well known by other wedding vendors as one of the top DJ's in Vancouver. Can't go wrong!
  • B
    Bryan Married on 10/31/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We would love to thank Hot Wax for putting on a rocking wedding for us. Our wedding was nicknamed "The Rock-o-Ween Wedding" on Halloween 2015 and you guys made it happen!

    Elliott was a pleasure to work with and he was always accommodating and professional. Being worried and probably a little paranoid, I wanted to test out the projector we were renting and Elliott was kind enough to invite me over to his home to try out the projector. Also, his suggestions about the 8 uplights were spot on and made the room fill with colour as the dance floor opened up in the night.

    DJ Elliott (himself) made our Ceremony work beautifully with our custom music. And with our little dance routine during our Reception Entrance, he saved us when my wife and I danced a little too fast and missed our cues. The second half of the night with DJ Chuck was phenomenal; it definitely helps when the DJ is in tune and likes the kind of music that we selected. He mixed the songs masterfully and everyone was dancing the night away. Not only us but everybody didn't want the music to stop because we were having so much fun.

    We will look to Hot Wax for our next event!
  • S
    Shir Married on 09/06/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Hot Wax did a great job at our wedding!
    Mike was our DJ for the night and he was very easy going and accommodating. He smiled the whole night and was very warm and welcoming. We also had a photo booth; the lady running the booth was fun and energetic and made the booth a great attraction for our guests.
  • User2308287 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Ward was a great DJ for our wedding day. Working with Elliott and Ozzie was a real pleasure.
  • S
    Saar Married on 08/20/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Our wedding was a HUGE success thanks in large part to Hot Wax!

    First off, Elliott was a pleasure to deal with and was really fast in replying to any questions or concerns we had; we really felt at ease communicating with Hot Wax and we knew we made the right choice choosing them for our Entertainment.

    DJ Mike was awesome- the timing for the processional songs was perfect and the entire ceremony & reception went off without a hitch; he played great music and packed the dance floor with people of all ages ALL NIGHT LONG. Our dance floor was seriously off the hook and people make sure we were aware of this. People still tell us almost a month later how awesome the music was and how much fun they had!

    Speaking of fun, we also got the Hot Wax photo booth, which everyone thoroughly enjoyed and we have visual proof :)
    The photobooth attendant was really friendly &helpful and the costumes were pretty hilarious. All the guests receive copies of their photos, which is nice so it ends up serving as a kind of wedding favor too.

    More than anything, we wanted people to have fun at our wedding and we know we made the right choice with Hot Wax as our DJ.

    Thanks Elliott & team!
  • User2275062 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had both our ceremony and reception DJ by hot wax and they were amazing :) all our family and friends had a great time ! they were extremely attentive and keep the night running smoothly :)
  • S
    Sean Married on 08/15/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Hot Wax Entertainment was fantastic to work with; Elliott was great through the planning process and our DJ Andrew was also fantastic. One word of advice... get the photo booth! our guests had so much fun with it and we received a link afterwords to all of the photos and my Wife and I had fun going through them.

    All in all a great experience, will definitely recommend.

    Sean
  • M
    Mary Married on 08/08/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We were so happy with Hot Wax! The DJ was able to read the crowd perfectly. Everyone commented on how awesome the music was and a friend of mine even asked for their card! They brought a photo booth which was a hit and handed out glow sticks which was a fun touch. I would definitely recommend them to others as well as use them again myself.
  • Ryder & Simona
    Ryder Married on 08/08/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The quality and professionalism was unbelievable. I had timely responses to the many questions I kept asking. Elliot went above and beyond to help organize what I needed for the day. Ashley the DJ/MC for the night in my mind is unmatchable as he had everyone up on the dance floor all night including our 90 year old granny rocking away. He made the night memorable and keep having people asking for their info. The photo booth was a huge hit and I highly recommend it. The quality of photos is very high quality and they give you prints right away for you and your guests. I have no issues recommending this company to anyone looking to make a great evening turn out to be the most memorable ever. 6 stars if I could give it.
  • User2262979 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Our DJ, Mike was phenomenal. He was punctual, professional and friendly... the dance floor was bumping all night! He had a great selection for dinner music and every request cued up and ready to go at just the right time.
  • User2415090 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The people at Hot Wax Entertainment are simply the best in the business. We really enjoyed having them at our wedding. The DJ kept the partying going and instantly knew how to get the party started. There was a slight blip with our photobooth at the start of the night but Elliot took care of it right away.... so fast in fact that I didn't even know it happened! What great service! Don't forget to order uplights from them too!

    Highly recommended, always professional and fairly priced!
  • K
    Kelsey Married on 07/18/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Hotwax Entertainment really helped to set the tone for our wedding. The DJ (Chuck) was very friendly and professional, he handled all of our song requests promptly and had a really good feel of what music to play based on our crowd.
  • R
    Rita Married on 07/11/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Elliot was very helpful and responded to our enquiries very quick. He offered extra services such as the awesome LED lighting that could change to many different colors. However, we went with our wedding designer's recommendation. Chuck who was our DJ did an amazing job. During the reception, he played some good jazzy songs that went really well with the dinner. He ended the night by playing all the songs we requested. All in all, our guests had a great time and danced till the end of the night. We are extremely happy how everything turned out. If ever we need a DJ, we will definitely use Hot Wax again.
  • H
    Heather Married on 07/01/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great prices
    Great staff
    Great music
    Great job!!

    I was lucky enough to have hot wax recommended to me by our venue. They were so fun and very enjoyable to deal with. Our dj was Mike and he was nice enough to even mc the wedding...even though I gave him 3 days notice haha but he did a great job and I really appreciated it.
    We had a big varietie of songs we wanted played and they played them all... ones they didn't have they bought and made sure they had it for the day of my wedding. They songs were queued perfectly and the dj was very friendly and took requests all night.

    Thank you so so so much I can't say enough good things about hot wax dj services.
  • User2230012 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Wonderful job on our wedding. Dj went above and beyond to make our wedding special. He listened to the crowd (Polish&Indian wedding) and we got so many complements on how nice party it was. Dance floor was full till the last minute.Thank you Hot Wax!
  • K
    Kerstyn Married on 06/13/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    AMAZING. I can’t say enough about Hot Wax Entertainment. What I loved most was I spoke to the owner, Elliot, in regards to every detail. He was overly accommodating with us being out of town and really wanted to make our day about us. The DJ and Photobooth were fantastic and fit in perfectly to our personality styles. Our DJ was so easy-going and adapted to changes which made him so memorable--Our guests couldn't say better things! The photo booth was a huge hit and our guests couldn't say enough positive things about Leanne. The day was flawless because of Hot Wax’s professionalism and attention to detail. I would highly recommend Hot Wax Entertainment to anybody looking for an amazing team to work with! Thank you over and over again!
  • K
    Kim Married on 06/12/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Chuck was an excellent DJ. I could not have been happier. Elliott was excellent at responding to my inquiries and making sure everything went as planned. Use them if you get a chance. You won't be disappointed.
  • B
    Anita Married on 05/23/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had an amazing wedding located at Westwood Plateau and decided to use Hot Wax Entertainment for the reception. This was an outstanding decision as we were extremely happy with the service they provided! There wasn't one technical issue throughout the night with regards to the sound, everything ran smoothly, our massive list of songs (all types of genres) were accommodated with ease and we loved it all! The dance floor at our wedding was always full and the music selection was outstanding!

    We even had a slideshow created for the evening however the sound file was saved incorrectly and we were not sure we should even play it... Chuck, our DJ, helped us out and played the songs we needed, transitioned perfectly from each song at the right time and made it all work as if nothing was wrong!

    We would strongly recommend Hot Wax for you DJ needs at any occasion! They are professional, accommodating to all your needs and will make your special day a one to remember!
  • M
    Meghan Married on 05/16/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We used DJ Hot Wax for our wedding reception in May and we were really happy with their services! To start, the consultation and booking process was very easy. Elliott always responded quickly to messages left by phone or e-mail. There was confirmation of our songs and the details of our booking the week before our wedding, which gave me one less thing to worry about in that hectic week leading up to the wedding. Finally, on the night of our wedding reception the DJ they provided was extremely professional and our guests commented both on how well he read the crowd and how flexible he was in accommodating song requests. I'm glad that we chose Hot Wax and I would definitely recommend them to anyone looking for a DJ!
  • User2041754 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Scott was an excellent DJ! He was friendly, enthusiastic and did a great job of selecting songs to play. We didn't select many songs, but he played all the ones that we requested and the rest of his selections were great. He hit all the cues for the ceremony (despite not having a great view of the ceremony from where he was set up), showed refined taste in background music for our dinner reception and kept the dance floor lively all night with a good mix of danceable songs from all eras and many different styles.A conga line even broke out and nearly all the guests joined! The sound quality was also very good. With regards to coordinating with Hotwax, Elliot was very responsive, personable and professional, even when he was sick. All-in-all we were very happy with our DJ service and would highly recommend HotWax for any wedding!
  • A
    Andie Married on 11/08/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Elliot and Hot Wax are great. The up lights not only helped with soft lighting but were perfectly dramatic in pictures. The photobooth was popular from the time it got there to the time it closed down and I was send a digital copy of every picture. The DJ introduced himself to myself and my husband early on in the night. Mike worked with my emcees and helped out with showing video and slide shows.
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message