Skip to main content
Weddings

Hit Play Reviews

Hit Play

Hit Play

Boston, MA
5.0 out of 5 rating, 36 Reviews
View more information

Reviews

5.0 out of 5 rating
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2024 Winner
36 Reviews
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating
100% Recommended by couples

Awards

36
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2024 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2023 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2021 Winner

21 User photos

  • E
    Emily Sent on 12/20/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The best!

    Ryan and the entire Hit Play team were incredible to work with (from start to finish). We first saw them play at a friend’s wedding and knew immediately we wanted to book them. We couldn’t asked for a better band!
  • Brittany
    Brittany A. Sent on 01/03/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing Experience and Wonderful Music!

    We had a wonderful experience with Ryan and Hit Play!  From start to finish, everything was seamless.  Ryan was communicative throughout the entire planning process and everything came together perfectly on our wedding day.  

    The acoustic music during the ceremony was spot on-- Ryan even learned a song that I requested for the walk down the aisle.  
    As for the reception, the band did an awesome job!  My fiance and I were shocked by their extensive song list.  We met with Ryan before the big day and discussed our music style.  He really nailed the vibe that we were going for to create the perfect atmosphere.

    In the days and weeks following the wedding, our family and friends have continued to rave about the music.  Overall working with Hit Play was a flawless experience.  I cannot thank Ryan and the team enough!  I absolutely recommend this band to anyone looking for live music at their wedding.
  • K
    Kristen G. Sent on 12/30/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing Band, Can’t Recommend Enough!

    Ryan and the Hit Play band were one of our favorite parts of our wedding! We opted for their 7-piece option and couldn’t have asked for a better, more high-energy band! The dance floor was packed all night and our friends and family are still commenting on how fun our band was months after our wedding! Ryan was very easy to work with throughout the wedding planning process and was always available to answer our questions as they came up. We had the band play our first dance, father/daughter, and mother/son songs live and they were AMAZING! We also had Ryan and a few other band members play during our ceremony and cocktail hour and highly recommend adding this on! We can’t recommend Ryan and Hit Play enough. If you want your band to be one of the highlights of your wedding day, look no further than Hit Play!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • B
    Brianna P. Sent on 09/19/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Non-stop compliments!!!

    Ryan and his band were nothing short of fantastic. He is responsive, personable, funny, and genuinely wants to make sure your dance floor is everything you want it to be. For us, we wanted a PACKED dance floor all night long, carried by a lively 7 piece band. Through our many emails/texts/meetings, we chatted about what I thought my guests would want to hear and not want to hear. I picked out a few request songs, but other than that I did not give him a song list, nor did I feel the need to. And DAMN did he deliver. My guests ALL NIGHT were asking me if my husband and I hand picked the song list because it was so true to us as a couple while also resonating with our family and friends. I happily told them NOPE, no set list was provided - Ryan just knows his stuff, how to read/work a crowd, and the vibe we were going for. We had so much fun and as we saw family and friends after our honeymoon, the FIRST thing they remember and want to talk about was the band. Best day ever - it would NOT have been the same without Ryan and his incredible band mates! HIRE THEM!

    Hit Play's reply:

    Thanks so much for the incredible review Brianna! This might be my new favorite and I think I'll pin it to the top! :D Was a pleasure working with you and getting to know you guys!
  • Rachael
    Rachael S. Sent on 12/29/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing Band Experience!

    We heard about Hit Play Band from a friend that saw them at another wedding, and we were beyond happy they were recommend to us! Ryan was so easy to work with. He was super responsive throughout the whole process and made sure he heard our vision and brought it to life. We had a couple of zoom sessions with him ahead of time as well so that he could really make sure he understood what we were asking for the ceremony, cocktail hour and reception. He was flexible with his timing to ensure that we had extra dancing time, and even DJed for some time after the band was done. He was incredibly accommodating to us, letting my husband perform his own song, and even letting him join the band for a song. The band played a great variety of music and kept everyone engaged. We could not be happier with how it turned out - all the guests were up and dancing the whole night. Thank you Ryan and Hit Play for helping make our wedding perfect!
  • R
    Rebecca C. Sent on 12/17/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    10/10 Recommend!!!

    We had Hit Play at our August 2023 wedding in Maine. Ryan was amazing to work with leading up to our day! He was incredibly responsive and accommodated each of our requests. They have flexible packages to fit various needs and price points and soooo many songs/vibes to choose from. The planning document was so helpful and Ryan offered great suggestions. We got so many compliments on our band from wedding guests. They are amazing!!
  • Janelle
    Janelle P. Sent on 12/30/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The best band we could have imagined

    SO many people reached out the day after our wedding to tell us that this was the best wedding band they have seen. Hit Play played all of the best songs for our crowd, were easy to work with, and personalized everything to us.
  • K
    Katie Sent on 09/04/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Had everyone dancing all night!

    We recently had the pleasure of hiring Hit Play for our wedding reception, and we cannot express enough how thrilled we were with their performance. From the very first note, they had our guests captivated and transformed our celebration into an unforgettable night of pure entertainment!

    First and foremost, the band's energy was contagious. They exuded passion and enthusiasm, which was reflected in every beat and melody they played. Their vibrant stage presence had everyone on their feet, eager to join in the celebration. From the young to the young-at-heart, no one could resist the call to hit the dance floor!

    Speaking of the dance floor, it was never empty. Hit Play knew exactly how to keep the momentum going, seamlessly transitioning from one song to another without missing a beat. Their diverse repertoire catered to all tastes and genres, ensuring that every guest found their favorite tune. Whether it was classic hits, current chart-toppers, or timeless anthems, they played them all flawlessly.

    One of the most impressive aspects of the band was their ability to engage with the crowd. They effortlessly interacted with the guests, taking requests, and encouraging sing-alongs. It felt like they were part of our family, bringing everyone together through the power of music. Their charm and charisma created an intimate atmosphere, making the event feel personal and heartfelt.

    Ryan was amazing to work with in the lead up to our wedding. He helped us finalize our first dance and parent dance songs and was so organized and thoughtful as we got closer to the day. Ryan was also great in learning some additional songs which really meant so much to us.

    If you're looking for a wedding band that will exceed your expectations, Hit Play is the absolute best choice. They not only kept the energy up and the dance floor full, but they also created an electric atmosphere that will be etched in our memories forever. Our guests are still raving about the incredible entertainment provided by this talented group.

    Hit Play's reply:

    Thank you so much Katie for this! Also this is so well written you should be a writer of you aren't already!
  • Samantha
    Samantha B. Sent on 12/31/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Such a (Literal) Hit!

    My husband and I saw Hit Play perform at a friend's wedding and we knew immediately we wanted them to play at ours. Ryan was super flexible and responsive to our needs, and even threw in some bonus lighting at the end. We also had a couple of weird requests (like a cotton eyed joe dance off) and Ryan was more than happy to MC that for us. Guests LOVED Hit Play. I am not even kidding people were up dancing before dinner and between courses. Our wedding was May 2023 and I still (Dec 2023) get compliments from family and friends about the band. You should book them, you won't regret it!

    Sam and Adam
  • Taylor
    Taylor L. Sent on 01/01/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Made our wedding!!

    Hit Play was absolutely incredible! Our guests were raving about them, Ryan was incredibly responsive and easy to work with plus they were VERY reasonably priced. They even paid attention to our speeches and picked up that we were big Pearl Jam fan and Ryan shredded some Alive on the guitar. Thank you for making our NYE wedding so special.
  • Megan
    Megan G. Sent on 01/19/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The BEST Band For Any Wedding or Event

    My husband & I booked Hit Play for our December 2022 wedding. We, and our guests, truly are speechless and for many reasons. Ryan acted as MC and did a fantastic job with the ceremony music, cocktail hour music, and reception introductions, transitions, and music. Ryan even performed a life rendition of our first song dance (it's an older song from the 1930's and did not have an appropriate recorded version for our first dance vision). This meant he learned the entire song, lyrics and all, and played it on his guitar. It was incredible and exactly how we envisioned it, except BETTER. We are so thankful to Ryan for learning that song for us, and can't thank him enough. It made it truly special! In addition, we've heard nothing but compliments and good things from all of our guests (ranging in age from 84 years old to 3 years old) about the live music performed by the band and the DJ music. The band sounded fantastic, the song selections were perfect, and all of the different instruments and vocal ranges were just simply outstanding. Lastly, rounding the night off with that last song (that the band also had just learned ahead of our wedding, and was performing it live for the first time together)...wow. It was all around such a fun day/night, largely in part because of Hit Play. We don't know what to say to express how grateful and thankful we are for finding and booking Hit Play for our special day, so: thank you to Ryan and all of the bandmates so very much. You all were a huge part of creating our dream day/night, and we are grateful to have found you guys. If anyone is considering booking a band for a wedding or other big event, look no further than Hit Play!!!
  • J
    Jillian C. Sent on 11/08/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing wedding band!

    We booked Hit Play for our recent wedding and had the absolute best experience! From the beginning Ryan was extremely helpful and responsive. We had Ryan play acoustic for our ceremony and cocktail hour which I highly recommend! The band absolutely killed it for our reception. We had people of all ages at our wedding and almost every person was engaged and out on the dance floor. So many people commented Hit Play made our entire wedding, which I totally agree with! We contacted several bands for quotes and have been to weddings with other bands and I really think Hit Play was worth every penny we spent!
  • T C
    T C Sent on 10/14/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Hire them and boogie the night away!

    I would not call ourselves “party people” by any means but Hit Play transformed us into boogie-ing shimmying party people for our wedding and we had a blast!!! Ryan and his band were super easy to work with, heeded all our music requests, and brought the fun to our reception. From 2 year olds to 90+ year olds, they got people on the dance floor! Everyone loved our band and was blown away.
  • M
    Michael B. Sent on 12/05/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Fantastic experience with Hit Play

    Hit Play played our wedding of approximately 75 people in September. Throughout the planning process, Ryan, the band leader, was incredibly responsive. We had several meetings in the months/weeks leading up to the event to iron out details and discuss logistics. On the actual day, the band did a fantastic job taking our do-not-play list and developing a perfect set list for the ceremony, cocktail hour and reception. The dancefloor was packed the whole night despite the relatively small number of guests. Book without hesitation.
  • Alissa
    Alissa R. Sent on 02/23/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A core piece of our wedding

    Hit Play and get ready to party!
    A live band was one of the non-negotiables for our wedding. Though we only had 6 months to plan our wedding, we didn’t just want a cookie cutter wedding band. We both love music and wanted to make sure we had a band that would keep the entire night moving. 

    We got that and much more with Hit Play! From the moment we first reached out, Ryan was incredibly fast and friendly with his responses. The band has a very diverse catalog and they pay attention to the details with special song requests and blending together the genres you want to hear for the night. Having the conversation with Ryan a few weeks before the wedding really sealed the deal and we knew we were in good hands. 

    From providing excellent MC duties, to learning covers, and offering DJ services, Hit Play really does it all. They even let the groom’s band play a few songs to kick off the night which made it that much more special and memorable for us and all our guests! We had about 100 people at our wedding and the dance floor was packed all night, which was exactly what we were hoping for. Months later, our guests are still talking about how much fun they had and how great the band was. This is a talented and accommodating group for sure, so don’t hesitate to book them!
  • M
    Magdalena R. Sent on 10/23/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best decision we made!

    I can’t recommend Hit Play enough, having them at our wedding was probably the best decision we made. Ryan is easy to talk to and completely understood our ‘vibe’ for the whole evening. He did our music for the ceremony and we had a five piece band for our reception. We had a smaller wedding of under 90 people, but every single person has complimented Hit Play since! We danced all night long. Don’t second guess the decision to hire Hit Play, they do not disappoint. Thank you for making our special day that much more amazing!!
  • D
    Danielle Sent on 07/31/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Absolutely amazing!!

    You cannot go wrong booking HitPlay as your wedding band! Ryan, the leader, was extremely responsive and easy to work with. Everyone was so friendly and the band was absolutely amazing. We had everyone on the dance floor and the band was really interactive with our guests too. Seriously, one of the best vendors I worked with out of all of our wedding planning, would book them again a million times over!
  • Hannah
    Hannah B. Sent on 08/02/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Book this band!

    Hit Play band was THE best choice we made for our wedding. Everyone at the wedding said that it was one of the most fun weddings that they'd ever been to and that the band was one of the best parts. Ryan and the band were really in tune with the crowd, kept the energy levels up, and got even the non-dancers up and on the floor. The highlight was a spontaneous little pop-punk set they did towards the end of the night. They also paid attention to all the details - making sure we had the right mics for a windy day on the water during the ceremony and that the reception ran smoothly. I truly couldn't have asked for a better band and would recommend to anyone.
  • S
    Shelly Sent on 05/23/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Fantastic and easy to work with!

    We continue to receive endless compliments from every guest about our amazing band, Hit Play! They are an amazing talent and go over the top ensuring we had a fantastic wedding. From start to finish, Hit Play was communicative, easy to work with, took every request of ours, and delivered in spades. We consider them our personal friends and look forward to seeing them more in Boston as we've learned about them through planning out wedding. Our guests and ourselves will never forget our reception because of how much fun we had celebrating with Hit Play! Cannot recommend enough!
  • M
    Matt K. Sent on 08/24/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Exactly what we hoped for

    This band has great energy and sounds amazing. Everyone commented on how they won the entire night. My best man is now even using them. 10/10 recommend.

    Matt
  • A
    Alyssa Sent on 03/06/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing!!!

    I had my wedding in August of 2021 and Hit Play was the best wedding decision I made! I first saw them play in Newport and immediately knew I wanted to have them play my wedding. The band manager Ryan really worked with me to stay within my budget and was very generous. He was very responsive to emails and even day of questions I had! The band was amazing! People are still raving and asking where they can see the band play again. They played all the songs I had requested and kept the dance floor full the entire night! Wouldn’t hesitate hiring them again for another event! Thank you Hit Play!!
  • K
    Karen C. Sent on 05/18/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Cannot imagine our day without Hit Play's spcial touches!

    Hit Play was the icing on the cake of a truly special, highly personalized, and overall amazing wedding reception! Ryan worked closely with us leading up to our wedding day to ensure we could include some very special songs, including some odd requests for the kids in attendance! Non-traditionally, the groom picked the first dance song in secret in order to surprise me, the bride. Ryan was great in keeping this detail from me, creating a wonderful moment as we began our first dance as a married couple that I will never forget! He and the band were incredible from start to finish. From cocktail hour, to announcements, to maintaining the flow of the evening, and getting the party pumping on the dance floor, everything was excellent! They even played a couple extra songs at the end that, in retrospect, topped off the evening perfectly. This band is obviously very experienced in special events and knows how to do it right. We have even gone to see them at public venues since the wedding and loved them!

    Hit Play's reply:

    Thanks so much Karen!! Happy to be a part of it. Hopefully we'll see you guys in Newport sooner than later!
  • V
    Valerie J. Sent on 05/19/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Hit Play is the best!!

    We had Hit Play at our wedding 09/2019. They were amazing!! They played everything we wanted them to play, they have a wide range of music that they play. Anything from country to old school songs to pop from today. They kept our guests entertained the entire night! Everyone kept saying that we had the most fun wedding they had ever been to and I think it was mostly because of the band! One of my friends even booked them for her wedding after coming to ours. Very flexible and reasonable. 100% recommend!
  • A
    Ashley Sent on 05/24/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    I wish I could give 10 stars!

    Ryan and his band absolutely blew all expectations I had out of the water. When it came to music and entertainment I didn’t have to worry about a single thing on my wedding day. Ryan was happy to help offer suggestions on intro songs when we couldn’t decide and it was exactly what we wanted. All of the guests danced the night away and had so much fun! I can’t wait to have an excuse to have another event so that we can have Hit Play come and perform again. Our day was absolutely perfect and a big part of that was due to Hit Play. Ryan and the band are excellent and absolutely made the night memorable. I would give them 10 stars if I could!
  • E
    Emily Sent on 05/31/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Ryan and his band were awesome!!

    Ryan and his band were awesome!! Ryan was esay to communicate with. Together we made a plan for the evening; he was willing to move around our venue to create just the right atmosphere. Ryan provided cocktail-hour music from the porch, dining music on the lawn, and of course dancing music under the tent. Ryan definitely knows how to keep the dance floor energy up. We had a blast dancing with our friends and family.
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message
Responds within 24 hours