Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines Reviews

13 | La Jolla, CA
See photos, pricing and details

13 Reviews for Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines

Recommended by 85%

13

4.2 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.5
  • Professionalism 4.1
  • Flexibility 4.1
  • Value 4.5
  • Average response time 4.0
Sort by:
  • User3262777 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had my wedding at the Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines in August 2013 with almost 500 guests. The hotel sits in one of the most incredible locations in San Diego, right on the water! I called over 50 hotels to search for the right venue for my wedding, and we picked the hotel for a number of reasons:
    - location (the ceremony was beautifully situated outside overlooking the ocean)
    - pricing: their rates are extremely competitive given their location and size
    - customer service: the team that manages the venue provided the best service, hands down, I could have possibly asked for. Other hotel managers had horrible attitudes, little no patience to answer your questions, etc. The hotel staff is INCREDIBLE and will make your wedding planning a walk through the park. I have already had a number of my close friends and family members reach out to them since our wedding for upcoming events.

    If you are looking for a destination wedding (which ours was) or the most beautiful hotel on the water in San Diego, then include this hotel in your list of places to check out!

    Sent on 09/16/2013
  • L

    Lisa · Married on 07/19/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Hilton at Torrey Pines was such a beautiful location for our wedding and all of the staff and service we received was top notch. I worked primarily with Erin Thompson (catering manager) and she was so attentive and made sure every detail of every request was met. The hotel also had a very reasonable food/beverage minimum compared to some of the other venues in the La Jolla area.

    Sent on 08/06/2013
  • User3249703 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cheri, the catering director, was awesome :) She helped us put together a wedding package that was perfect for us - and within our budget! The food and service during the reception exceeded our expectations. The wedding cake they provided turned out exactly as we envisioned it.

    Sent on 05/11/2013
  • U

    Jennifer · Married on 01/15/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We looked at numerous venues before deciding on the Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines. My husband and I went to the Buick golf tournament the year before and I fell in love with the views. We decided on the Parterre Gardens for the actual location for the ceremony. It was beautiful! The Hilton was very accommodating, thanks to Cheri! The day of the wedding the weather was questionable but the Hilton let us wait it out until the last minute to make a weather decision. It held out and the day was gorgeous! The food was amazing (which was my father’s only criteria for the wedding) and the service was great. I couldn’t have asked for a better wedding location! Thanks again the Cheri, Director of Catering!

    Sent on 01/26/2012
  • C

    Caitlin · Married on 02/22/2014

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Truly could not have been happier with the La Jolla Hilton! They were the epitome of flexibility - my husband and I live in Tokyo, Japan, and we planned the entire thing from overseas...we made a bunch of small changes and a few big changes upon arriving to California 3 weeks before the wedding...and they were happy to do everything for us! The food was excellent...expensive but worth it!

    Sent on 03/13/2014
  • L

    Ling · Married on 03/30/2013

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    ERIN THOMPSON is the best to arrange your wedding events, she is very friendly, responsive, helpful and be there for you through the whole event planning and your big day! I highly recommend her to be your wedding coordinator.

    Sent on 05/13/2013
  • L

    Leyla · Married on 07/05/2013

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    To say that my husband and I had a great wedding would be an understatement. The Hilton Torrey Pines, and Cheri Walter, helped make our wedding day the best day of our lives. Do I recommend them? - Absolutely! They are friendly, attentive, and will do all they can to accommodate to your needs. The reason why I gave Flexibility 2.5 stars is because the Hilton IS a large chain and there are many rules set in place in case of a liability. However, they are as flexible as they can be within their guidelines. A note however, If you have a tight budget, the Hilton is probably not the best way to go. They are a little pricey. They charge you for everything - no breaks. But other than that, our experience was unforgettable...in a good way! We still get compliments to this day that our wedding was the best wedding our guests had ever attended.

    Sent on 09/16/2013
  • D

    Doreen · Married on 06/28/2014

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    After researching and visiting many potential wedding venues in Southern California coastal regions, we decided the Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines would be perfect for what we were looking for and in our budget. Lets face it, locations on the ocean in Southern California will give you the biggest sticker shock ever. We ended up working with Marina as our catering manager, and we just loved her. She was great from the start and extremely comfortable to work with. She always got back to us as soon as she could and was more than flexible to work with us when it came to our requests and questions.


    We got married in the Parterre Gardens and had the reception in the Grand Ballroom. The Parterre Gardens are more gorgeous than the Fairway Garden in my opinion. However, the Grand Ballroom is older and has an older feel than the Fairway Ballroom. The only downside there is they are group together and you can't have the Parterre Garden with the Fairway Ballroom, unless nothing else is booked there that day. The Parterre Garden is so beautiful as is that minimal decoration was needed for the actual ceremony. All the guests loved the setting.

    The food was really good. Everyone seemed to like it. My only complaint is that I asked them to not put the salsa on top of the steak, but on the side for picky eaters and it showed up on top of all the steaks. So you might want to confirm any special requests right before going into your wedding.

    We were also given the bridal suite as a part of the package and it was amazing! One of the biggest and nicest rooms I have ever been in.

    I would definitely recommend this place to friends who are getting married.

    Sent on 07/30/2014
  • J

    Jeffrey · Married on 01/27/2008

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Good service, very comfortable environment for guests, professional services.

    Sent on 07/30/2008
  • N

    Natalie · Married on 08/04/2007

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.5
    • Professionalism:
      3.5

    Greatly priced! Was so beautiful! Go take a look. I had 2 friends get married there after they saw it.

    Sent on 04/24/2008
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 08/11/2012

    3.6
    • Quality of service:
      3.5
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      2.0

    Our wedding coordinator suggested the HTP as it was a location we hadn't even considered, so we visited the property and instantly fell in love with the grounds. It was beautiful, yet intimate enough that you felt your function wouldn't get lost in the mix. The senior catering manager we originally met and gave us our initial quote was WONDERFUL and such a pleasure to speak to. Unfortunately, she left two days later for a better opportunity at another property and then were assigned to another senior catering manager.
    Initially, she was nice to work with, but following some back and forth on the planning, her unprofessionalism started to rear its ugly head and unfortunately, that's also the note in which our experience with the HTP ended. Overall it was a great experience for our guests and ourselves, but its funny how one representative from their property can also leave an equally indelible, but lamentable impression that almost eclipses all the positives of that great experience.

    Sent on 09/07/2012
  • User2067319 · 2+ years ago

    2.8
    • Quality of service:
      3.5
    • Responsiveness:
      2.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      2.5

    I would think twice about having a wedding here. The positives about this place is that their location is beautiful. Torrey Pines Golf Course is a stunning backdrop. Their day of servers and bartenders are wonderful. Their hotel bar is open late. Negatives are many. They don't answer emails promptly (get prepared to wait a week), not flexible about much, don't really disclose all their added charges upfront. The hotel wedding coordinator dropped the ball a lot on the day of, she was no where to be found. Our reception area was rented out to another event during the day, we had less than 2 hours to convert the ballroom into our space. We had the ballroom rented out till 1 am, the hotel coordinator tried to close our party down at 11pm, they started taking down decorations while guests were still there and there was nothing we could do (we tried!). We paid for 3 ballroom areas, but only got 2 because the day event people left there "stuff" in the other ballroom. They of course said "sorry, nothing we can do now" and we were forced to squish all of our tables into the smaller space.
    If you do decide to have it here, you need your own wedding coordinator to help you with this place. They will try and cheat you from a lot and it's good to have someone experienced fix their wrongs.

    Sent on 06/25/2012
  • R

    Reena · Married on 05/06/2012

    1.8
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      0.5
    • Value:
      2.5
    • Flexibility:
      1.5
    • Professionalism:
      1.5

    Torrey Pines has a beautiful view and good food, but that's about it. It is very very very difficult to work with them and it takes them forever to respond. That being said, if I were to get married again, I would still have my reception at the hotel because the ambiance and the view is incredible. It is just very difficult to work with their catering staff and they do not stick to their word. I signed my contract 1yr prior to my wedding and I still did not sign my final banquet order until the day before the wedding, and there were still mistakes.

    Sent on 06/01/2012

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review