Skip to main content
Weddings

Hemant Mathur Catering Reviews

Hemant Mathur Catering

Hemant Mathur Catering

Yonkers, NY
5.0 out of 5 rating, 17 Reviews
View more information

17 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 100% of couples
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating

Awards

  • 17
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner

18 User photos

  • A
    Aastha M. Married on 06/08/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Taste their food to believe heaven in mouth

    From selecting menu to understanding details of every dish till the execution on the day was smooth and fantabulous. All they need to know is your and your guest preferences. And since most of my guests were Indian, we did follow our India palate with savory and flavorful dishes.
    Most of my guests filled their food plates at least twice or thrice as the food was delicious to death. All I was hearing that food was soulful. And we all know if the guests are fed well and happy about the food then half your job in executing the special occasion is worth it. And not just the taste but the way they serve and the unique fusions in the starters, tasty desserts absolutely synced in with the weather particularly makes it even more appropriate. The one word for the food is 'scrumptious'. I wish I could eat a lot more on my own engagement but I had to keep my lipstick shine on till the end. Last but not the least, your each peny will be worth the spend. I certainly recommend them for catering food for your any special occasions in all kind of gatherings and then thank me later on your experience. Chef Hemant Mathur has magic in his cooking and so does his team is very helpful. I personally dealt with Seema Pai and she made my life so easy with all the planning throughout. Goodluck to the 'Saar team' and many thanks from our side.
  • V
    Vikram M. Married on 10/14/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Extraordinary! Spectacular event!!

    Extraordinary! You and your team arranged a spectacular Sangeet. Your team was magnificent. The hors d’oeuvres, the food stations, the setting, the service – could not have been any better. Everything was just perfect (particularly the Dosa Station and the Jalebi Station). Your team (and both of you) are simply the best. I am very grateful and deeply appreciative of all of your help and attention to the details. Having Chef Mathur there overseeing everything was so appreciated.
  • Manthan
    Manthan Married on 08/28/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Above and beyond - service and food!

    Chef Mathur has had his success at Tamarind, Amma, Devi (Michelin Star), Tulsi, Saar, etc. just to name a few. His creativity and mastery at the tandoor is all the more prevalent at Hemant Mathur Catering. We worked with Seema to schedule multiple tastings and the whole menu. She was responsive and very transparent throughout the whole process. Seema worked with The Marigold to make sure the live stations during cocktail hour would fit in the floor plan, and to get all the food delivered seamlessly. From the appetizers to the desserts, our guests could not stop raving about how unique and delicious the food was. We loved the service and food so much, that we have asked them to also whip up a delicious menu for our Diwali party.
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • Udgeetha
    Udgeetha M. Married on 06/26/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing food and experience

    When we were looking for an Indian chef to work with our venue's required in house catering team we were stressed to say the least about if we could even find anyone who could work with them to meet our vision. After speaking with Seema, our point of contact throughout the entire process, we could finally breathe a sigh of relief. After one conversation we had the confidence that the Saar team led by Chef Mathur would do an amazing job. Seema is a true visionary and designed the menus for our welcome party, ceremony lunch and reception dinner from start to finish with complete detail, adding on unique presentation and plating tips herself. She is someone who takes pride in her work and has taken the opportunity to understand us a couple to help design a menu to reflect our backgrounds. Each step of the way she was building on our ideas to make each dish so unique from the others. When the menu was designed and it was finally time to taste the food, Chef Mathur came to our venue to make the food with the kitchen team so we can taste what it would taste like day of. Seema and Chef Mathur even invited us to their restaurant to try all of the remaining items on the menu that we didn't get to try at the tasting. We were so excited during the tasting because the food was out of this world and we couldn't wait to share it with all our guests. The team was just incredible to work with, always making sure we weren't wasting money on things that were unnecessary and working with our venue to see how they could reduce the cost to us by having the Saar team bring in ingredients.

    Weekend of we were blown away by the food. Each dish was so delicious -- our guests are still raving about Chef's lamb chops, butter chicken and biryani and I personally miss the mini beet uttapams that stole my heart. Chef Mathur's team is incredible! But what's even more incredible is how they were able to work with our venue's catering team, sending over recipes, spending hours discussing preparation/plating details to help the venue's catering team make dishes in a style they had never made before -- and that takes true talent.

    We are so lucky to have met Seema, Chef and the Saar team and are so excited to dine again at Saar NYC in the near future!!
  • M
    Manoj T. Married on 06/25/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Simply the best

    Hemant Mathur is simply the best Indian food catering service provider for large gatherings. We used his services for our son's wedding party. Hemant was personally involved in helping us select the menu, visited the party location before the event and was managing everything on the day of the event. Seema Pai who leads all the operational planning for Hemant was involved in every aspect of the planning before and on the day of the event including presentation of the food, managing the bar service, and providing and managing the service staff throughout the event.

    The food was just perfect, and it was well beyond what one can expect from the well-established NJ / NY vendors. Among the items that stand out were lamb chops, jackfruit biryani, kurkuri bhindi and shahi tukra.

    We were so thrilled with their services that we strongly recommend them, and I have promised Hemant and Seema to personally talk to anyone who would like to learn more about them.
  • Melissa
    Melissa Married on 06/12/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    One word. Exceptional!

    I took a leap of faith hiring Hemant Mathur for my backyard wedding without tasting any of their food. This was the best decision I could have made. Seema, was so kind and helpful In every single detail from beginning to end. Her and her team absolutely nailed not only my vision but the most delicious food. My guest are still talking about it. I had such a positive experience with them, I would choose them again in a heartbeat. Do not think twice when looking for someone trustworthy, responsive, professional and kind. They are the whole package. I rate them 10 stars!!
  • R
    Rp Married on 05/30/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Excellent service and tasty food.

    Their food quality and service were excellent at reasonable price.
  • I
    Ian Married on 10/10/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The total package

    Seema, Chef Hemant, and the rest of the Saar Catering team are amazing! The food was delicious and beautifully presented. Seema was very responsive to our questions, so knowledgable about how to pair different dishes into a cohesive menu, and was sensitive to the different dietary restrictions of our guests. She graciously helped us incorporate foods from our families' backgrounds into the Saar menu. They helped make our day special and we highly recommend them!
  • Grace
    Grace Married on 08/21/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best Caterer You Can Get!

    When I say this whole team was phenomenal, it feels like an understatement. This team went above and beyond to make us feel heard, loved, and beyond happy during our wedding weekend. We originally planned on using Saar for our main wedding reception, but when COVID-19 upended our plans we were forced to reconfigure everything. The Saar team was with us every step of the way with countless phone calls, texts, and emails. No matter how many times we needed to rework the plans Seema and the team responded w/ "not a problem". We decided to use Saar not just for one meal but for the majority of meals for our entire wedding and we do not regret it one bit. (The one thing we regret is not having Saar catering ALL the meals!!) During the actual wedding Sue and the whole team went above and beyond to make sure everything was right. And did I mention the food?? The food was SO DELICIOUS!! Chef Hemant is a pro if I've ever seen one, and they worked w/ our choices, allergy, and dietary restrictions w/ no hesitation! Our guests kept telling us how delicious the food was, and no one was left hungry or complaining! We 100% recommend this team, and you won't be disappointed either!!
  • A
    Aditi C. Married on 07/25/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best Indian Caterers in NYC

    Saar Catering is one of the best decisions we made for our wedding. Not only was the food delicious but the presentation was beautiful and the team on site were incredibly professional. Our guests were raving all night about how good the food was (not always an easy feat with a majority Indian audience!). I especially loved the chaat station we had set up during cocktail hour. The whole team were lovely to work with and I'm excited to relive the magic at their restaurants soon!
  • Tiji
    Tiji G. Married on 08/31/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Absolutely amazing!

    Our wedding was on August 31st at The Manor, West Orange NJ.
    We had two caterers for the evening...food from the caterers at the venue was served along with Saar. No one bothered to eat the venue food instead everyone was flocking to eat Saar catered food.
    They had creative ways of serving Pani Puri which everyone loved! People are still talking about their lamb chops and tandoori shrimp. They served an array of desserts which tasted amazinnggggg. People to this day state that we served the best food ever served at a wedding. This is all thanks to Saar. The owner of the restaurant was always receptive to communicating with us. He met with me in person and help curate a wonderful menu. Do yourself a favor and hire Saar. They will not disappoint!!!
  • Sapan
    Sapan P. Married on 08/02/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing Partner

    Saar Catering was great in making sure our event went without any issues.
  • S
    John H. Married on 07/27/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Would I recommend them to a friend? Hell yeah!

    (A fair disclaimer - ours was a destination-micro wedding, I was planning a Beacon, NY wedding from Chicago, IL)

    It is definitely true what they say, finding the right vendors is key to organizing a comfortable wedding. Saar was wonderful from the beginning!
    After speaking with a couple of vendors one kind-of get the hang of how the whole wedding - thing functions. Saar was a breeze to speak to and work with. They were quick to respond, just understood my vision. Seema, my point of contact at Saar, was an absolutely delight. She was easy to talk to, she didn't cringe that we were in Chicago, she listened patiently to what I wanted, and explained patiently if my ask was a little ridiculous (As opposed to just adding a $ amount to my quote every time we spoke!!). She also gave some great recommendations (although I must admit, I was skeptical about some – they turned out to be a great hit!!) I don’t think Saar ever said they wouldn’t be able to do something. They always worked with us to get us what we wanted or come close to it.

    Once we figured the logistics out (venue, the style of the spread, # of people, etc.) we went ahead with the tasting to finalize the menu, and OH.MY.GOD was the food delicious!!! The flavor was phenomenally balanced and had the right amount of zing to it. Chef Hemant's hospitality was impeccable and deeply touching!

    As it was a small wedding, getting rentals for 25 people was excruciatingly expensive. Seema worked with us to sort everything that required renting.

    On the day off: The food was delicious, it was flavorful and served hot, the presentation was great, and the team was really polite and respectful to my guests. They cleaned up after the event and there was no drama or issues later.

    (If I have to find something to complain about, I’ll say the bartender needed some guidance, but once we told Seema what we wanted, she took care of it immediately!)

    A HUGE shout-out to the entire team! As all brides do, I do regret not eating as much!!

    Pictures: Our lovely photographer, lily Szabo
    Venue: Lambs Hill
  • V
    Violeta F. Married on 07/03/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Saar catering - the best cuisine one can ask for at a wedding

    Surbhi and Hemant are phenomenal to work with. they created a dream wedding food and experience for us. We are an interracial couple with cuisine backgrounds from Europe and Asia and Surbhi designed a menu to cover both cuisines. Our wedding guests raved during the wedding about the food and well after the wedding. We are so fortunate to have worked with Saar and cannot recommend these Michelin start chefs enough to anyone looking to have memorable food at their wedding
  • Sanjay
    Sanjay Married on 06/15/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best Indian wedding catering vendor

    SAAR catering performed very well is all categories of service for our daughter’s wedding in June 2019.
    The food quality was was high and we are still receiving accolades from our guest about the quality and variety of menu items.
    They are very good to work with and understand the needs of Indian wedding.
    They brought their team from NYC to Charlotte, NC and did a wonderful job.
  • Nisha
    Nisha M. Married on 06/08/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    TV producer- mother of the bride

    Chef Hemant, Chef Surbhi, and the entire team were flawless in their preparation and execution. The food was phenomenal with an unimaginable variety of delicacies to satisfy every pallet. The personal attention to detail is what added the magic touch to the entire weekend. The appreciation and positive feedback from our guests is still flowing in. I would strongly recommend this team for a delightful, classy, and simply perfect food experience!
  • Caroline
    Caroline Married on 06/15/2019
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    We love Saar!

    My husband and I got married back in October and chose a cute little venue a couple hours upstate. When looking for caterers, we struggled to find a company that offered interesting food, a reasonable price, and were willing to work with us in NYC but travel for the day of. Saar fit all of our needs and more! Seema, Surbhi, and Hemant make a great team and went above and beyond to make our wedding day the best day of our lives!

    First off, the food is AMAZING! We heard so many compliments for the hors d'oeuvres during cocktail hour, and even though dinner was a buffet Surbhi found my husband and I while we were making the rounds to demand that we sit and had our food brought to us. We're so grateful she did so we had a chance to relax for a second and enjoy a delicious meal.

    They made a point to accommodate even our pickiest family members, helped us coordinate the alcohol, and generally made sure the whole day went off without a hitch. They worked closely with the venue and were in constant communication with us during the lead up to the Big Day.

    Long story short, if you love Indian food and don't want to go with the standard "chicken or beef" wedding menu, I couldn't recommend Saar enough!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message