Hank's Grille & Bar Reviews

44 | Mc Gaheysville, VA
See photos, pricing and details

44 Reviews for Hank's Grille & Bar

Recommended by 97%

44
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.6
Sort by:
  • Peter

    Peter Radue · Married on 04/05/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wedding catering

    Had a great experience with Hank's catering our daughter's wedding. Food was excellent and the service was both professional and very personal. Would highly recommend.

    Sent on 05/06/2019
  • M

    Madalyn · Married on 10/13/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best BBQ in the Shenandoah!

    Hank's did a wonderful job catering our wedding at Hermitage Hill. They were so helpful in the build-up to our wedding. We made multiple changes in the months leading up to the wedding, but they never complained. They were patient and understanding! Their food was spectacular and their staff was friendly and attentive. We still get compliments on their BBQ! We cannot thank them enough for all of their help and making sure that the food on our wedding day was delicious.

    Sent on 11/17/2018
  • K

    Kate · Married on 09/22/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hank's catered our wedding two weekends ago and did a FANTASTIC job!! The food was amazing (we got tons of compliments), and the staff was beyond wonderful - friendly, professional, and enthusiastic. We had never met them before, but were so happy to have them there as part of our special day! Can't recommend these guys enough!!

    Sent on 10/06/2018
  • A

    Alex · Married on 09/15/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Excellent Food and service!!

    Hanks has delicious food for an incredibly reasonable price! Hanks catered both our rehearsal dinner and wedding. We loved Matt, the catering coordinator and it was a fantastic experience working with Hanks. They made everything so easy and stress free!

    Sent on 01/18/2019
  • D

    Dan · Married on 06/16/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hanks was great to work with. The manager, Matt, was very responsive and pleasant, even when we made changes. We ordered place settings through them and they set them up with the napkins we supplied and everything looked beautiful. They also provided bartending services (but allowed us to purchase our own alcohol, saving us some money). They accommodated our speciality (kind of complicated) cocktails and were very friendly. They have many different options but we did the BBQ buffet. Even though it was BBQ, their most affordable option, the presentation was beautiful. The guests loved the food. Even the grilled chicken served buffet-style was moist and delicious.

    Sent on 06/19/2018
  • R

    Robert · Married on 05/26/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hanks provided the food for our wedding 9-29-18. Our guest loved it. We got so many complements on the BBQ and chicken breast. The new potatoes were just loved. The portion provided assured our guests got plenty. And the price was under our budgeted cost. All in all, for my bride and I Hanks did hit a home run!!!

    Sent on 10/05/2018
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 03/24/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hank's catered our wedding on March 24th, 2018 at Stover Hall. They came highly recommended by the venue owners and I was relieved to use a vendor so familiar with our venue. The food was fantastic - I highly recommend the beef brisket! Hank's was very accommodating to us in making our menu personalize and outside of the typical wedding package. Our guests loved the food selection. The staff was very attentive at the bar, buffet and in the dining area. I was so incredibly impressed by the service and how great the food was. I would highly recommend them to cater as well as a great restaurant to eat at!

    Sent on 04/01/2018
  • Frugal Fiancée

    Courtney · Married on 09/10/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't say enough amazing things about the service and experience I had with Hank's Catering! The whole process from inquiry to taste testing to our wedding day services was absolutely tremendous! So affordable and the quality of food was out of this world! My guest are still talking about how amazing the food was from our Sept. 10th wedding. I highly recommend them! Thank you Matt and our servers for making our wedding day absolutely wonderful! Blessings!

    Sent on 09/24/2017
  • R

    Rebecca · Married on 09/10/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We used Hank's for our wedding and it was phenomenal! Everyone kept telling us how much they liked the food! We used them for our cocktail hour and did a buffet meal through them. Would highly recommend!

    Sent on 12/13/2017
  • Shelby

    Shelby · Married on 06/17/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hank's is top-notch barbecue & service at amazingly reasonable prices! Our wedding included appetizers (both passed and a tray), a buffet of marinated chicken, brisket, salad, and sides, and a tea & lemonade station. Everything was wonderful and the catering manager, Matt, helped us select the perfect options for our guests. He also didn't try to have us buy more than we needed - suggesting we actually lessen our appetizer number from what we were assuming we'd need because it would be too much! He was right, the apps were perfect and while we did end up having some leftover buffet items (we had a few last minute guests unable to attend) our wedding party couldn't have been happier to have some late-night mac n cheese! The set up looked great and the servers were all very friendly and attentive. We wouldn't hesitate to use Hank's again!

    Sent on 06/20/2017
  • C

    Craig · Married on 06/04/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our venue coordinator recommended Hank's Smokehouse because of their quality, affordability and familiarity with the venue. They did not disappoint. They were also located less than a mile from The Columns at Six Penny Farm so they made catering easy and their BBQ was very fresh. The catering team was awesome and we hired two bartenders through them to work both the cocktail hour and reception which was a perfect number for 150 guests. You will be hard pressed to find a caterer that is more affordable than Hank's that can deliver the same quality. So many of the guests (many northern traveling from New York) were talking about how awesome the BBQ was. We ordered the pulled pork and marinated chicken which they cut on site straight off the bone. The sides were phenomenal as well, people loved the Mac & Cheese, potatoes and green beans and the tea/lemonade bar were a huge hit. Their catering team was timely, professional and made clean-up easy. If you are looking for awesome BBQ in a buffet style format for your wedding reception, look no further than Hank's!

    Sent on 06/15/2017
  • J

    Joni · Married on 10/29/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hanks catered our wedding at On Sunny Slope Farm in October. Hanks was very easy to work with from the very beginning. Since we live out of town, the majority of our communication was done via email. Matt was very responsive and worked with us to make sure everything needed was in place. The food was delicious and our guests loved it.

    Sent on 02/05/2017
  • A

    Ashleigh · Married on 07/16/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hank's provided the food for our wedding. Matt was extremely easy to work with while planning the menu and tasting the food. On the day of the wedding the caterers were flexible, when torrential downpours forced our wedding inside, where they were supposed to be setting up. They patiently waited until the ceremony was over and were gracious throughout the process. Everyone loved the food, and I don't think you can beat the value!

    Sent on 08/25/2016
  • User4599751 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We used Hanks to cater our wedding because it was the most bang for your buck. The quality of food was exceptional for the incredibly reasonable price. They were very professional throughout the whole process by answering all of my questions throughout the planning as well as exciting all of my wishes on the day of the event. I would highly recommend Hanks to everyone thinking of catering a meal.

    Sent on 11/25/2015
  • M

    Megan · Married on 10/01/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We decided to use Hank's after having their food at a friend's wedding. The food was so good that we knew we had found our vendor. Not only was the food just as delicious for our big day, but you cannot beat the price. Matt (the catering manager) is professional and very easy to work with. His crew set up and broke down our event in addition to serving all of the food. You won't be disappointed with this company.

    Sent on 10/29/2015
  • User5489804 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We used Hank's for our daughter's vineyard wedding and could not have been more pleased. The staff was professional and experienced and the food was delicious ......our guests raved about it! Everything went so smoothly....from the time we called to book them to the end of the reception. I have nothing but good things to say about Matt and his staff.

    Sent on 10/03/2015
  • C

    Cassie · Married on 07/25/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hank's Smokehouse was amazing! They catered our rehearsal dinner and wedding reception! Extremely professional, great value and the food was AMAZING! They wrapped up our leftovers for us and of course everyone wanted to take the leftovers home themselves! I would HIGHLY recommend them for your event!

    Sent on 09/18/2015
  • B

    Ben · Married on 05/30/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hanks did a fantastic job catering our wedding a few weeks ago at Shenandoah Woods. We loved them at the initial meeting/ tasting -- not only was the food fantastic, but they were extremely helpful and honest. They told us things like "we could sell you fancy plates, but it'd be cheaper to just pick up some nice plastic ones at the grocery store" (that's what we did) -- we never felt taken advantage of or misled. And on the day of the wedding, they were total pros -- polite, clean, helpful, and willing to help out in any way. Plus the food was amazing! Just as good as it was when we tasted it in the restaurant, every dish was fantastic (pulled pork, sliced brisket, grilled chicken, mac 'n cheese, mashed potatoes, black eyed pea salad, rolls/bread, iced tea/lemonade) and our guests loved it. They also provided us with veggie lasagnas for the vegetarians. And the price was fantastic. Couldn't recommend Hank's strongly enough!

    Sent on 06/11/2015
  • A

    Amy · Married on 10/18/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hank's not only provided the catering for our wedding, they serviced our bar, served our pies, and cleaned up the decorations. They did an amazing job at an amazing price! The food was delicious and they are very professional and were highly responsive to my questions and contract changes before the wedding.

    Sent on 11/12/2014
  • A

    Abby · Married on 06/28/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I used Hank's for both the food and for a bartender for my wedding. Matt who takes care of the catering services was very responsive and was willing to spend time with me to make my menu exactly how I wanted it to suit my guests for my wedding. The guests all remarked on how good the food was, and for the price (about $10 a head) you can't beat the value!

    Sent on 12/22/2014
  • chelseab1124

    Chelsea · Married on 06/21/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We used Hank's Smokehouse to cater our wedding at Shenandoah Woods in June 2014. We had eaten at the restaurant before and loved it so we were confident that our guests would love it. We chose the Pork BBQ package and the silver service upgrade, plus a bartender and two extra staff members. The price was fantastic, the service was fantastic, and all of our guests loved the food. Matt was very easy to work with and was always professional, even when we had to redo the headcounts and tweak a few items that we forgot about at the last minute.

    Sent on 06/25/2014
  • D

    Dawn · Married on 07/06/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hanks was great to work with. Great at offering suggestions at how to plan for a group of my size. Food was out of this world and everyone raved about it. Food was cooked properly. Staff serving was friendly and courteous. Food was presented nicely and everything was of great value.

    Sent on 08/03/2013
  • L

    Linda · Married on 06/15/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hank's provided full meals for both the rehearsal dinner and the wedding. The food was absolutely delicious, the service was prompt, the staff was friendly and helpful, constantly helping guests. They were fun and personable!! A "to go" box was prepared for the bride and groom to enjoy after all 260 guests left!! Now that is attention to detail!! Thank you for making a special day absolutely perfect!

    Sent on 06/21/2013
  • C

    Connie · Married on 06/08/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Matt, Shawn and the team of Hank's Smokehouse are amazing! Their food, service and hard work can't be beat! Highly recommend!

    Sent on 06/25/2013

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review