Weddings

HairSpray Studio Reviews

HairSpray Studio View more information

23 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 100% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Awards

  • 23
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner

23 User photos

Sort by:
  • M
    Magda D. Married on 01/16/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Loved it!!!

    I have to say, my experience with Sara, trial and day-of, was incredible. I had been searching for hair/makeup for a few months before scheduling a trial, and had no idea how much it entailed. It is a complex art. Sara is your artist.

    I scheduled my trial, prepared with little except for my insecurities of my ultra baby fine hair and my under eye circles. I had no clue what to expect. I'm generally pretty light on the makeup for day to day (and nonexistent due to COVID due to WFH), but I wanted something that would enhance and look great in pictures and stand up to the elements (sweating, crying, etc.). She took her time to ask questions about all the details of my wedding. She transformed my TINY ponytail into the most gorgeous updo I've ever seen. Since I couldn't go dancing after my trial, instead I went out to dinner, walked around Little Italy, had some nighttime activities, slept in my full hairdo (not my makeup though), and woke up to do a Zoom bootcamp in the morning just to see how it held up. Not only did it keep its shape and mobility, the curls stayed springy and with a quick touch-up hairspray it was good as new. Incredible.

    I highly recommend Sara, you will not be disappointed. Her price is below average in San Diego, for talent that is worth its weight in gold. She's highly credentialed, uses excellent quality products, and can transform you into the most beautiful version of yourself.
  • Samantha
    Samantha J. Married on 10/11/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    1000% satisfied! Exceeded expectations!

    Absolutely fabulous experience!
    I contracted Sara for my wedding in 2020. As a 2020 bride, so much had gone awry, and our 250 guest wedding was restricted to a 20 person max guest list.
    All I desperately wanted was to have beautiful photographs that I could share with all our “would be guests” that were cut due to COVID.
    This meant that hair and makeup HAD to be absolutely perfect. No pressure, right?! Spoiler: Sara and her team left me speechless!

    Hair and makeup was done for myself (the bride), mother of bride, mother of the groom, and my two sisters (mid to late 20’s). My biggest concern going into it was the age range of my ladies: I wanted to make sure “my mothers” felt comfortable and confident with their looks (not too much makeup but also not too little or old fashioned). I also wanted my sisters to feel free to make “modern” requests for their hair and makeup... which meant I needed to hire a stylist that had the skill set to do EVERYTHING in all styles.
    Sara and her team delivered beyond anything I could have imagined.
    Extremely talented, exceptional listeners, creative, patient, and fun; not to mention the bullseye execution! Everyone left looking like movie stars!
  • Becky
    Becky L. Married on 10/10/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Beautiful Hair and Makeup!

    I was a pandemic bride, but I didn't know that at the time when I booked HairSpray Studio.

    I am generally a no-fuss kinda gal who doesn't wear makeup and has only two hairstyles: up and down. I knew that I wanted to get my hair and makeup done for my wedding, but I was overwhelmed on what I actually wanted since I didn't really know much about getting these services done. I had tried one other hair and makeup artist, which I liked, but I didn't walk away from with a feeling of - "this is it". I stumbled across HairSpray Studio and I was in complete awe by the photos and reviews. I was really looking for someone who could do both my hair and makeup and I knew I had to get a trial!

    During my trial, Sara took the time to ask me questions about the venue, dress, and my overall personality to make sure she gave me the best look possible. She was so kind and patient and asked my opinion along the way to make sure we got it just right. I was completely in love with the trial, so much that my then-fiancé got dressed up and we went out on a nice date. I got a lot of complements on the hair and makeup while we were out.

    I booked HairSpary Studio a few months before the pandemic hit and Sara was so kind to check in periodically to see how I was doing and what the status of the wedding was given the global crisis. She was always quick to respond and very sweet.

    Sara gave me a timeline for hair and makeup for myself, my mother, and my mother-in-law a few days before the wedding. Sara showed up on time and got straight to work on the hair and makeup of the moms. Neither of the moms are used to getting their makeup done so Sara was able to talk over their likes and dislikes until they found "the look" - and wow, did they look beautiful!

    Let me just say... my hair, was one of the top memories of the day (besides marrying my husband!). I was absolutely LIVING for the braid she gave me. She did such an amazing job and was so professional throughout the entire experience.

    I highly recommend HairSpray Studio for your next hair or makeup needs! I wish I would afford to have my hair done every day by Sara!
  • J
    Javeria K. Married on 09/04/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Bridal hair and makeup

    Sara blew me away, she was so amazing, I was a little worried going into my bridal hair and makeup trials because I am very picky and have had bad experiences in the past but Sara knew exactly what to do and gave me the exact look I wanted. She’s very talented, not only did she do my hair and makeup she also helped me pin my veil and traditional bridal jewelry I highly recommend her she won’t let you down, my hair and makeup lasted all night and didn’t budge despite it being so hot! Love you Sara thanks for everything!
  • J
    J J Married on 07/04/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Miracle worker!!

    Sara brought tears to my and my best friend’s eyes. It was an extreme makeover with the way our makeup and hair turned out! It is no wonder that she has a massive amount of followers on instagram. With a combination of superb talent and conversation, she made the experience more than memorable! We were so blessed to have been able to book her!
  • Bridgette
    Bridgette J. Married on 03/08/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    An answer to prayer!

    I can not say enough about Sara... it was an absolute answer to prayer to find her! I have naturally curly hair, and was having the hardest time finding someone who knew how to deal with my hair for my wedding day. I went to multiple different stylists and no one was ever able to work with my natural curl, until Sara! Every one I had tried wanted to straighten my hair and re-curl it, even through I explained that that doesn’t work with my hair. Sara completely understood, and found a way to keep my natural look but enhance it! She listened to what I wanted and was willing to work with me until we found exactly what I was hoping for! She went above and beyond. She was incredibly kind, caring, and a joy to be around. She drove to San Juan Capistrano all the way from San Diego, was on time, and very professional. Every one of my bridesmaids and family members who were styled by her were shocked at how amazing she was able to make their hair look! Her rates are extremely reasonable, and her talent is worth every bit! I could not be more thankful to have found Sara. If you are looking for styling for any event, she is your girl!
  • K
    Kathy O. Married on 01/25/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Beautiful work!

    I was thrilled with Sara’s work with the bridesmaids hair, but in absolute awe of what she did for me (mother of the bride) and my daughter. Over the top beautiful
  • S
    Sarah I. Married on 09/14/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Sara is so talented!

    If you have a desire to look like a goddess for any occasion, Sara is the person for you. She does such quality work that will last all day. Our wedding was such a blast and at the end of the night my hair still looked AMAZING! Not only does she do such quality work, she’s so pleasant to be around. Getting ready for your wedding is such a magical time and having people as nice as Sara in your room with you makes a huge difference. I 100% recommend her!
  • C
    Caroline K. Married on 09/07/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Most Talented Hair Stylist

    Sara did my hair for me, my mother and my bridesmaids on my wedding day and I was in love with how beautiful she made everyone look! Sara is timely, professional and so friendly. I’m so glad I had her as our hair stylist for my wedding. She was so flexible and easy to work with and was able to help me pick out the style that would be best for me. We all gave her photos of what we wanted and she made every look come to life and then made it better! Our hair stayed beautifully all night after taking photos by the windy ocean and dancing all night. She is the most talented stylist I’ve ever met. Thank you so much Sara for making our hair look perfect and being so sweet throughout the whole process.
  • T
    Toni M. Married on 07/12/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Perfect Stylist for the Perfect Day

    Working with Sara start to end was one of the best experiences I’ve ever had regarding hair and makeup specialist. To start – I was a destination bride. It’s a nerve-wracking experience to book hair and makeup from a distance because to be honest – you’re booking solely based off reviews and photos. You have no idea the type of person or if they will understand your style. Well, I flew into San Diego for a work trip and had a limited amount of time to really spend with her. She hit the mark on this trial in no time. She came to my hotel, I looked fierce and amazing in under two hours. Good thing I had plans that night! Then came time for my wedding. Sara came the night before for my rehearsal dinner. She did a messy high pony and a bridal smoky eye, and of course NAILED IT AGAIN. We bonded over boys and living your best life. Honestly, she’s one of the sweetest most genuine people I have ever met. I do want to be her friend when I move to San Diego! When my wedding approached the next morning, she was on time with a second assistant ready to go. My entire group looked amazing in their various styles, as we had a range from minimalist (my sister in law) to “I don’t want to look like myself” (me) Her and her assistant we’re professional, barely ate, and just amazing. They made my dreams come true and I wish she could paint my face and do my hair every day. I highly recommend her as she’s extremely attentive to detail, really understands and asks a ton of questions so she makes sure she gets it right, and she has some amazing tools and make up palettes. I guess this is why she’s obviously a finalist in every bridal competition I see on Instagram. Truly impressed by her and I really believe every bride will have this experience too!
  • T
    Toni M. Married on 07/12/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Perfect Stylist for the Perfect Day

    Working with Sara start to end was one of the best experiences I’ve ever had regarding hair and makeup specialist. To start – I was a destination bride. It’s a nerve-wracking experience to book hair and makeup from a distance because to be honest – you’re booking solely based off reviews and photos. You have no idea the type of person or if they will understand your style. Well, I flew into San Diego for a work trip and had a limited amount of time to really spend with her. She hit the mark on this trial in no time. She came to my hotel, I looked fierce and amazing in under two hours. Good thing I had plans that night! Then came time for my wedding. Sara came the night before for my rehearsal dinner. She did a messy high pony and a bridal smoky eye, and of course NAILED IT AGAIN. We bonded over boys and living your best life. Honestly, she’s one of the sweetest most genuine people I have ever met. I do want to be her friend when I move to San Diego! When my wedding approached the next morning, she was on time with a second assistant ready to go. My entire group looked amazing in their various styles, as we had a range from minimalist (my sister in law) to “I don’t want to look like myself” (me) Her and her assistant we’re professional, barely ate, and just amazing. They made my dreams come true and I wish she could paint my face and do my hair every day. I highly recommend her as she’s extremely attentive to detail, really understands and asks a ton of questions so she makes sure she gets it right, and she has some amazing tools and make up palettes. I guess this is why she’s obviously a finalist in every bridal competition I see on Instagram. Truly impressed by her and I really believe every bride will have this experience too!
  • Hanna
    Hanna C. Married on 05/10/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Could not have asked for better!

    Sara and her assistant did hair for me (bride), my mother-in-law, my sisters, my sister-in-law, and three of my girlfriends, and we were all so thrilled! We each requested very different looks - one of the girls requested a victory roll - and she made us all look and feel fabulous. All of the hairstyles lasted the entire day and night, and it was a warm day in San Diego! Sara is super prompt, professional, easy to work with, and so talented! I would not hesitate to recommend her!
  • B
    Brit Married on 03/17/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Sara and her team are truly the best in San Diego. I was a NYC bride planning a destination wedding and I never met Sara in person prior to the day of the ceremony... talk about pressure! I had extremely high expectations and she still managed to exceed them. Every single female in my party was impressed and ecstatic about her final look, including me. She was professional, responsive, friendly and calming to a nervous bride. Her finished product was complete perfection and I would hire her again in a heartbeat. I strongly recommend booking her ASAP.
  • S
    Shanay Event on: 02/17/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    She was amazing. She’s Flexible and has such reasonable prices. She made me feel like a queen. Her technique isn’t easy to duplicate. So if you are like I was searching endlessly trying to find someone to make me look beautiful for a decent price, end your search here and thank me later. ?? Oh and she travels ????
    Thanks Sara, you were such a blessing.
  • K
    Kelly Married on 01/20/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My hair came out absolutely perfect! Very pleased!
  • H
    Heather Married on 12/29/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My wedding hair and makeup by Sara looked awesome!! Everyone commented on that, even more than my dress!
  • V
    Vv Married on 11/17/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I absolutely love Sarah and her assistant. Even though she has a busy schedule she was so accommodating and was able to assist me. She is very kind and quick to reply back. Their work is professional and on point. Love how my hair and makeup turned out; it was exactly what I wanted. They both delivered beyond my expectations. I will definitely be calling them back.
  • M
    Morgan Married on 09/16/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Sara is absolutely incredible.
    Very responsive - any questions were answered immediately . She kept in contact with me for check ins.
    Organized / prepared- her timeline was kept exactly as she promised, she had all photos of what I liked and our trial pictures accessible day of , my bridesmaids were different skin types/ ethnicities - all were matched with colors and products that they loved, she arrived early and finished on time. Easily accommodated the needs of my party .
    Friendly- I loved talking with Sara , she's super friendly and you can tell she is passionate about what she does. I felt very comfortable with her. She was very patient and kind.
    Final look- most beautiful I've ever felt . Her attention to detail and talent left me so impressed. I had a beach wedding and an outside reception - didn't have to touch up hair /makeup once!!! Came home still feeling as amazing as I did in the morning.
    If you get the chance to book with Sara , you hit the jackpot!
  • M
    Morgan Married on 07/08/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Sara was amazing! She was very flexible with our schedule and helped a lot! Even when I had to move my wedding due to the military she was was more than willing to help. Thank you for making my day so amazing!
  • S
    Samantha Married on 10/29/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Sara did an amazing job on my makeup along with my bridesmaids. We all looked gorgeous! She's also super sweet and made getting ready for my big day that much more enjoyable!
  • K
    Kimberly Married on 09/23/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Sara and her team are amazing! They perfectly created my bridesmaid hairstyles and did such an incredible job on the makeup. All my girls looked like movie stars, they were so stunning. And I also looked absolutely beautiful. My makeup had the staying power to last through a night of high intensity dancing and my hair was so so gorgeous. I could not have been happier. I highly highly recommend.
  • OliviaReynolds
    Olivia Married on 09/03/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Sara was wonderful! I hired her to style my moms, mother in law, grandmother, cousins and aunts hair for my wedding. Essentially she was in charge of some of my most important guests and she did such an amazing job, everyone looked so beautiful. In addition to being talented and professional Sara was also very responsive to all my questions, making is easy for me to relax and enjoy the day.
  • Katherine
    Katherine Married on 09/29/2018
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Gorgeous work! Felt so beautiful ❤️

    Sara and her team were amazing, and they made myself, my bridesmaids, mom, mother-in-law, and aunt all feel so fantastic about our final looks! We had 12 ladies total for hair (8 bridesmaids!), and everyone except 1 got makeup done as well. That is a lot of work and moving parts and Sara was very organized in planning time slots for everyone between herself and 3 other girls on her team. She made the getting ready process run so smoothly! I was so happy with my hair (she put in extensions for me as well) and my makeup looked perfect and stayed on great throughout the night. The makeup style of Sara and her team was warm and modern, and myself and many of the bridesmaids got half-up half-down hairstyles with curls that were expertly done. And the mothers and my aunt loved their gorgeous looks as well! I highly recommend Hair Spray Studio and am so happy with my experience with Sara and her care to make myself and all my ladies feel so great and confident going into such an amazing day! Thank you Sara!