Skip to main content
Weddings

Gwyn Careg Inn Reviews

Gwyn Careg Inn

Gwyn Careg Inn

Pomfret Center, CT
5.0 out of 5 rating, 20 Reviews
View more information

Reviews

5.0 out of 5 rating
20 Reviews
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating
100% Recommended by couples

Awards

20
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2023 Winner

73 User photos

  • P
    Prima Sent on 08/28/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wonderful Garden Venue

    The Gwyn Careg Inn was the perfect setting for our wedding of 65 people. The owner is helpful and attentive. The inn is charming and the garden and grounds are a dream. The catering partner is fantastic. Staying at the inn for the wedding was so wonderful and we hope to visit again in the future. A true gem of CT’s quiet corner.
  • Tim
    Tim T. Sent on 08/28/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Elegant and Enchanting

    The Gwyn Careg Inn was everything my daughter, son in-law, and family dreamed of and more for a wedding venue!
    The Inn offers a Spanish garden, where the wedding vows were exchanged. It is a beautiful timepiece surrounded by well manicured flower beds, highlighted with arrangements of seasonal flowers.
    The reception was held under a large tent on the sprawling estate, near the Spanish garden, overlooking a large pond with the Inn in the background. The grounds are absolutely breathtaking!
    We rented all of the lovely decoratived Inn rooms for the bride and groom, wedding party and immediate family members. Each room is lavishly decorated. The Innkeeper's attention to detail is impeccable, all the way down to ironed bed linens.

    The entire experience from start to finish was wonderful. The owners and staff were professional, accommodating, incredibly friendly, and truly a pleasure to work with. Every aspect of the day went as planned; a true testament to their hard work.

    We highly recommend the Gwyn Careg Inn for a wedding venue!

    Gwyn Careg Inn's reply:

    Thank you Tim for your lovely review. It was such a pleasure hosting Emily and Andrew's wedding day! It was a gorgeous day for a beautiful couple. We enjoyed serving your wonderful family and friends. We do hope you have an opportunity to return for a getaway and stay in one of our guest rooms again. Best wishes, Rose & Dennis
  • N
    Nicole Sent on 08/28/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    European Garden wedding

    We loved working with Rose to create our small intimate wedding this past June! Everything was perfect and she was extremely helpful with the details and working with outside vendors. Landscaping is gorgeous and gave it a perfectly rustic garden theme with was magical.

    Nicole and Andy
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • L
    Lauren Sent on 10/04/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Gwyn Careg Inn will meet your needs!

    I booked The Gwyn Careg over zoom without seeing the property in person, that's how confident and safe I felt, when I met the Gwyn's owner Rose. You might think I'm crazy, but it was worth it! The Gwyn offers a fully customizable wedding. Rose is super easy to work with and makes the process fun!
    I chose this venue for several reasons. First I wanted a small wedding, many venues have a minimum of at least 100/125 people, my wedding was only 75. I believe the Gwyn can accommodate up to 150 guests. Next, I loved the idea of staying at the venue for the weekend with a small group of friends and family. The Gwyn has six guest rooms, you can book all of them, or none of them (if the go unbooked, Rose does not allow anyone else to book them, so strangers won't watch you get married!) Also, The Gwyn Careg has business relationship that take care of catering and your cake! By choosing this venue, I did not have to worry about booking two vendors! Lastly, please look at my pictures. The venue and it's grounds are to die for. If you want dreamy pictures with your loved ones on a gorgeous day, choose the Gwyn Careg Inn! My photographer was like a kid in a candy store, trying to narrow down pictures!
    I would recommend The Gwyn Careg and Rose to my best friend or a total stranger, it's a lovely place to stay and an even better place to get married. You will make beautiful memories and even prettier pictures here!

    Gwyn Careg Inn's reply:

    Dear Lauren and Keith,
    I'm just seeing this wonderful review you provided regarding your positive experience at the Gwyn Careg Inn. It was such a pleasure making your vision come to life on your special day! Both you and Keith were such a delight to work with and the long distance working relationship was seamless and most successful! I hope you have a chance to visit the Gwyn Careg Inn when you are back in Connecticut! It would be wonderful to see you both! Best wishes, Rose
  • C
    Caitlin B. Sent on 06/24/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A Beautiful Intimate Experience

    The Gwyn Careg is beautiful, intimate and welcoming. The Host Rose made us feel right at home, providing wonderful breakfasts and helping us pull together our wedding. We couldn't have done it without her!
    The beautiful garden, small pond and lovely stonework made the ceremony just that more special. We had a very small ceremony and Rose was able to accommodate us amazingly.
    Rose provided a wonderful experience for us and we hope to visit again soon!

    Gwyn Careg Inn's reply:

    Dear Caitlin,
    It was such a pleasure hosting your wedding. I thoroughly enjoyed getting to know you and Mariah and I hope you both make it a point to revisit the Gwyn Careg Inn. It would be so lovely to see you both again! Best wishes to you both! Warmest regards, Rose
  • A
    Angelica A. Sent on 06/16/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    My friend's wedding

    Breath taking place. Most amazing experience. From the rehearsal dinner to tgr wedding. Beautiful place and setup. The staff is amazing.

    Gwyn Careg Inn's reply:

    Thank you Angelica! It's wonderful to hear what our guests thought of the Gwyn Careg Inn. I hope you have the opportunity to visit with us again! Warmest regards, Rose
  • K
    Kayla S. Sent on 06/21/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Cute bed and breakfast on incredible property

    I stayed at this inn for a wedding I was attending. The room I stayed in was huge, well-decorated, and really clean! Each room in the inn has a different style and decor theme which was really fun. The property is absolutely magnificent! They have a beautiful garden area, lots of open fields, and a pretty big pond out back. It was an incredible setting for a wedding. The innkeepers Rosie and Dennis are so kind and helpful - they really go above and beyond. Highly recommend!

    Gwyn Careg Inn's reply:

    Dear Kayla,
    Thank you for your kind words. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. Our hope is to have you return for another visit soon!
    So very grateful, Rose & Dennis
  • N
    Natasha F. Sent on 07/05/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A little slice of heaven

    I can’t even begin to describe how incredible our experience with Rosemary & Dennis of the Gwyn Careg Inn was. From the start to the end we were supported and met with joy, professionalism and memories to last a lifetime.

    The rooms are unique and spacious in their style and will surely make you feel right at home. The detail in every room makes you appreciate the history of this historic inn.

    The grounds, oh the grounds! They made you feel like the world around you didn’t exist. The stone walls which line the Spanish Garden was something out of a fairytale. You truly felt as though you were in the secret garden.

    The horses and mini donkeys kept your experience unique and down to earth. The “girls” as Rose calls them enjoy grass and all the pets. It was special to see how much they loved the guests.

    Our wedding day was nothing short of surreal. I’ve never felt more out of body then i did that day. I truly felt like a princess and the Gwyn Careg was my holy estate. You cannot beat the natural painting that is the grounds.

    Words and pictures don’t even do it justice. An in person visit better get an event is a must!!! Thank you thank you we will surely be back!!

    Gwyn Careg Inn's reply:

    Dear Natasha and Ryan,
    Your wedding will remain a memorable one we will always remember. Thank you for allowing us to host your beautiful day! While the setting is ideal for romantic and intimate wedding ceremonies and receptions, it is truly you, our cherished guests, who make the Gwyn Careg Inn come alive. We look forward to your visit with us again. May your marriage continue to shine as the day you were married. Sincerely grateful, Rose and Dennis.
  • E
    Elizabeth Z. Sent on 06/22/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Just Lovely

    We loved the entire experience! Rose and the rest of the staff were so accommodating and kind. Our room was so lovely and comfortable. Weddings are stressful but the venue and Rose made everyone feel so welcome and relaxed!

    Gwyn Careg Inn's reply:

    Thank you Elizabeth for your kind words! Your family and friends were a pleasure to serve. Wising Chelsea and Bobby a lifetime of happiness! Please visit us again for a relaxing getaway.
    Best wishes,
    Rose
  • J
    Jeanine A. Sent on 06/10/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The Perfect Bridal Shower

    The Gwyn Careg was the perfect place for my daughter's bridal shower. The atmosphere was the right balance of elegant and relaxed. Rose was an absolute peach to work with, and the brunch was divine, with a menu that we tailored to accommodate numerous food allergies. Matthew was super and the guests raved about the food. The mimosa bar was also a nice touch. I highly recommend the Gwyn Careg.

    Gwyn Careg Inn's reply:

    Thank you Jeanine for your wonderful review. It was a pleasure hosting your daughter's bridal shower. The day was perfect and your guests were beautiful. It was wonderful to see you and them enjoying themselves. Perahps we'll see you for a future baby-shower(?) :) Thank you for choosign the Gwyn Careg Inn.
    Best wishes to all! ~Rose
  • J
    Jane B. Sent on 05/04/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Forever Memories

    We had the most beautiful bridal shower at the Gwyn Careg Inn. We walked through the elegant & welcoming foyer to the back dining room & sunroom where large windows give an amazing view of the grounds. Every detail was on point and even more than we had imagined. The food & desserts were delicious & creatively displayed. Walking through the colorful gardens with unique stone walls gave so many photo opportunities. Innkeepers Dennis & Rosemary were very responsive, helpful and welcoming which helped give everyone a wonderful experience.

    Gwyn Careg Inn's reply:

    Dear Jane,
    Thank you for such a wonderful review. It was our pleasure hosting your daughter's bridal shower. We hope you have an opportunity to visit with us again soon. Best wishes to all!

    All our best,
    Rosemary & Dennis
  • K
    Kaley C. Sent on 06/16/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Baby shower

    I had my baby shower at Gwyn Careg Inn and it was absolutely amazing! The owner was so helpful and accommodating and I was able to create my dream shower for out little boy. The Venue itself is stunning with so much vintage charm and the food was to die for. Farm to table and I was able to create my own menu! Highly recommend for any event!

    Gwyn Careg Inn's reply:

    Dear Kaley,
    Thank you for providing such a wonderful review. It was our pleasure to host your baby shower! I'm sure little Oliver is growing so quickly. When ever you have a chance, I would love to meet him!
    Sending you best wishes!
    Rose
  • M
    Monica B. Sent on 06/22/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful Venue for Bridal Shower

    I was lucky to have my bridal shower at the Gwyn Careg Inn. We had an indoor brunch in the back dining room and sunroom spaces and it was a beautiful setup for my guests. We had plenty of room for a mimosa bar, buffet brunch, about 30 guests, and gift opening area. The space is nicely decorated and also gives you a beautiful garden backdrop for photos. I would highly recommend brides to be to consider the Gwyn Careg Inn for bridal events!

    Gwyn Careg Inn's reply:

    Thank you Monica for your wonderful review. It was our pleasure hosting your bridal shower and seeing your guests enjoy the property. Wishing you and your now husband all the best in your life together. Please stop by and visit us when you can.
    Fondly,
    Rose
  • A
    Ashleigh J. Sent on 06/16/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful and Unique

    The Gwyn Careg is a beautiful and secluded venue, where you’ll be the sole focus for your wedding weekend. The sky is the limit to what you can do in the space and touches you can add to personalize it. Rose & Dennis were always available to coordinate between our vendors and organize the day. They also made sure the wedding went off without a hitch. Great experience and would recommend to everyone!

    Gwyn Careg Inn's reply:

    Thank you Ashleigh for your kind words. I remember your day and wish you and Andrew continued love and happiness forever after!
    We hope you think of us again for other special occasions in your lives. Best wishes, Rose & Dennis
  • C
    Candace S. Sent on 07/06/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Couldn't have had a better venue!

    This was the perfect venue for our garden wedding! The location is spectacular and the property is absolutely beautiful! We loved that fact that everything was done in house, and we could have both our ceremony and reception here. We also loved that our whole wedding party and family could stay over at the Inn for the weekend, it made it that much more special. Rose and her staff were extremely helpful throughout the planning process and were very responsive and worked with us to have our dream wedding! Would definitely recommend this venue for anyone who is looking for a unique and special place to have your wedding.

    Gwyn Careg Inn's reply:

    Dear Candace,
    Thank you for your beautiful write-up of the Gwyn Careg Inn. We enjoyed hosting your wedding day! Both you and Matt have wonderful family and friends. The day was perfect and it was so nice to see you all having such a great time! I hope you both have an opportunity to visit us again soon! Best wishes, Rose
  • F
    Frances Sent on 07/24/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wonderful Venue!

    My husband and I are so happy that we had our wedding at the Gwyn Careg Inn. Rose is absolutely lovely and worked so hard to make sure that our day was beautiful, personal, and stress free. When we had initially found the Inn for our wedding venue (pre-COVID), we planned on having about 100 people at the Inn for both the ceremony and reception. Unfortunately because of COVID, we had to decrease the size of our wedding to 10 people including myself and my husband for safety reasons. Rose gracefully helped us re-plan everything, and it felt like the wedding had been supposed to be like that from the beginning. The grounds at the Inn are gorgeous, and there are many outdoor spaces that lend itself well to groups of all sizes for many different events. Juniper catering was delicious, and Chef Michael and Chef Monica were able to create a delicious menu taking into account allergies and food preferences. My husband loves pie, and Chef Monica made several different "wedding pies" for us to enjoy! Overall, I can't recommend the Gwyn Careg Inn enough, and although it wasn't our initial vision, our wedding was perfect thanks to Rose and Dennis!.

    Gwyn Careg Inn's reply:

    Dear Frances,
    Thank you for your kind words. Your wedding was a truly a memorable event. The setting was so intimate as you and your family enjoyed a delicious dinner under the stars. I hope you have a chance to revisit us to celebrate an anniversary. All my best, Rose.
  • T
    Tammy L. Sent on 07/04/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Stunning Grounds and Romantic Setting

    The grounds are breathtaking and so charming as is the inn itself. There are so many flowers and plants to make beautiful pictures. Rose and Dennis, the owners, were very accommodating to us and our guests. Each suite has its own personality and is simply gorgeous, especially the bridal suite. Our guests raved about how good the food was. So many people told us our wedding was the most romantic wedding they had ever been to. If we had to do it all over again, we would not change a thing other than videotaping the ceremony. I highly recommend having your wedding here; you won't regret it.

    Gwyn Careg Inn's reply:

    Dear Tammy,
    I am so grateful to receive your wonderful review. I remember your wedding so clearly! Your day was perfect and you and Martin were beaming with joy. You make a beautiful couple. I hope you have another opportunity to visit us again soon!
    Sincerely,
    Rose
  • A
    Alexandra P. Sent on 06/16/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect venue for our wedding day

    The Gwyn Careg Inn was the perfect venue for my husband and I! Since both of our families are in CT, we wanted to be married somewhere that was accessible but still felt like a getaway, and the Gwyn in Pomfret fit that perfectly. The setting was beautiful in September; the gardens were in full bloom, the sun set over the pond during the reception creating beautiful photos, and the weather was warm during the day and cool at night. The owners of the Inn were so helpful during our planning process as well. Highly recommend!

    Gwyn Careg Inn's reply:

    Dear Alexandra,
    Thank you for your beautiful note. It was such a pleasure hosting your and Kyle's wedding. You were a gorgeous bride and together you both make such a beautiful couple. I look forward to seeing you again soon! Rose
  • Rhonda
    Rhonda O. Sent on 07/05/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing Inn with Amazing Owners!

    What makes this inn so special are the owners - Rosemary & Dennis. They are such a lovely couple. Laid back and professional at the same time. You feel part of the family and at "home" when you stay with them.

    Gwyn Careg Inn's reply:

    Dear Rhonda,
    Thank you for your kind words. We thoroughly enjoy having you as our guest. It's such a pleasure hosting you and spending pockets of time with you! I hope you have the opportunity to visit us again! It gives us great pleasure to see guests again and again!
    Warmest regards,
    Rose and Dennis
  • Brian
    Brian W. Sent on 07/04/2022
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A+ would recommend

    We had a magical two-part wedding here. The pandemic could have ruined things, but instead the kind and professional staff came to our rescue. It was so special that I would almost recommend people do it on purpose; have a small intimate ceremony with close family and friends, and then one year later have a big celebratory reception bash! Any way you choose to do it, the Gwyn Careg can make it happen with style. Delicious food, an enchanting garden, and a great place for a live band to set up.

    Gwyn Careg Inn's reply:

    Dear Brian,
    Thank you for providing such a wonderful review! We were so happy to accommodate you and Jackie. It was a treat to have you back, the following year of your ceremony, to host your wedding reception. God bless you and your growing family! We hope you have a chance to visit with us soon! Warmest regards, Rose and Dennis
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message
Responds within 24 hours