Skip to main content
Weddings

Great River Golf Club Reviews

Great River Golf Club View more information

Reviews

Your trust is our goal. Our community relies on honest reviews to help you make those big decisions with ease.
4.9 out of 5 rating
4.9 out of 5 rating
121 Reviews
99% recommend it
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.9 out of 5 rating

Awards

121
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2023 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2021 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
Weddingwire
4.9/5 121 reviews
Google
4.6/5 326 reviews
  • A
    Ashley V. Sent on 11/21/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing wedding experience

    I cannot say enough good things about Great River. Our coordinators Chelsea and Abby were phenomenal and made sure everything wen completely smooth on our wedding day. Any questions or last minute changes we had to make were accommodated immediately! The food was also great! The golf course itself is stunning and the perfect backdrop for photos. Highly recommend this venue!
  • S
    Sonia D. Sent on 10/16/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great River is the perfect wedding venue

    We had our wedding reception at Great River in early September and it was the most amazing day. The entire team at Great River is kind, helpful, and professional. The venue is absolutely gorgeous, and they handle it all, the food and coordinating with your vendors, and even have relationships with several bakeries to choose your cake from. The whole process couldn’t be smoother, Caitlin is a joy to work with, she answered every question and concern we had. Chef Matt is phenomenal at what he does. From our food tasting to the week of the wedding he made sure every detail was perfect. Our friends and family are still talking about the delicious food a month later! Abby was my bridal concierge and she was so attentive, I didn’t have to worry about a thing except just enjoy our wedding day! The entire team at Great River is incredible. We highly recommend Great River for any special event. They will certainly make it very special and memorable!
  • Annelise
    Annelise Sent on 08/10/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Such an amazing venue and staff!

    We had the most amazing wedding day at Great River. We couldn’t recommend this venue enough. The entire staff was so organized, efficient, friendly, and helped make our day special and exactly what we wanted. Caitlin, Carly and Karin went above and beyond throughout the entire planning process and made sure every detail was discussed and carried out on wedding day. Even at our food tasting, Chef Matt went above and beyond to make sure he curated a menu we loved. Caitlin and Carly were AMAZING on the wedding day and kept us organized and taken care of. I couldn’t imagine how our day would have gone without them. The food was delicious, the grounds are gorgeous, and the ballroom is spacious and beautiful. People are still talking about the food! Our day went so smooth and was stress free. My husband and I are so happy with our decision to get married at Great River and wouldn’t change a thing! Don’t hesitate- you will be so happy!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • Alaina
    Alaina P. Sent on 10/15/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The Perfect Venue

    Great River Golf Club was the perfect venue. They handle everything from food to cake to day of coordination so we didn't have to worry about a thing! The staff is absolutely amazing and we didn't have a single issue. The food was more gourmet restaurant quality than typical wedding food and their chef personally walked us through the options to customize anything we wanted. There are multiple options for bakeries so finding a cake was super easy and then they handled it from there. For coordination we had multiple people waiting on us to ensue every little detail went smoothly, from bringing us snacks and drinks, to coordinating with outside vendors for us, to decor details, it was all wonderful. I could not recommend Great River more highly!
  • Molly
    Molly H. Sent on 06/15/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing experience at Great River

    We loved everything about our experience with the team at Great River. From the first tour of the space with Chelsea, to the day of with Caitlin, Madison & Lucy, to the follow up post event, everyone was kind, professional, and extremely helpful. Our guests loved the dinner and we loved the fact that we could offer four meal options. Don’t sleep on their chicken- it is the best catered chicken I’ve ever had. The coordinators and bridal concierge team handled everything for us including set up, clean up, running the rehearsal, and making sure everyone was where they were supposed to be throughout the day. It absolutely poured all day, and they made the rain locations feel like the original plan. Caitlin kept me calm when things had to change, and Madison & Lucy made sure I was dry and warm during any down time. They even made sure my husband and I had water while we were taking endless pictures! I can’t say enough about Great River.
  • A
    Allison K. Sent on 04/07/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Flawless from beginning to end

    I can't say enough good things about Great River. They were absolutely wonderful to work with! From beginning to end, working with them was a breeze. After my now husband and I had our initial meeting with them, I went back with my mom a few weeks later and they happily walked us around a second time so that my mom could see everything. I was not expecting that, and it was really nice that they took the time. The coordinator we worked with was great. We emailed her so many times with questions. We had a couple of unique requests, one for the ceremony and one for the reception, and they were happy to accommodate us. They set everything (seating cards, favors, guest book, etc.) up in the banquet room perfectly. It looked so good! I can't say enough good things about our bridal concierge that was with us on the day of from beginning to end. She was absolutely wonderful and so attentive. Their food was amazing as well. We got to taste test a set of food choices ahead of time and they were all really really good. We only heard compliments from our guests regarding the food, including the late night snack we chose. Don't sleep on the late night grilled cheese, I cannot tell you the number of guests that raved about these! At the end of the night they helped pack up any gifts and cards to send home and they happily held on to any decor items until the next day when we could come pick them up. I truly don't think there is one thing that I would have changed about the day, they were flawless!
  • Lauren
    Lauren R. Sent on 11/04/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    I would rate them 100 stars if I could!

    Do yourself a favor and book your wedding with Great River, you won't regret it!! They were extremely organized, attentive and just so incredibly helpful at all times and never once did I feel like I was a bother to them. They answered any and all questions I had and were excellent at providing guidance throughout. As a perfectionist and a very type A kind of bride, I was expecting a lot to go wrong on the day of but I can honestly say it went off without a hitch thanks to the staff at Great River. They were on top of everything and ensured all went according to plan and made sure I did nothing but enjoy the day, and enjoy the day I did!! From the beautiful setting and attention to detail to the delicious food, they ensured all was perfect and people are still raving about how great everything there was. Thank you to Chelsea, Caitlin, Madison and everyone who helped to make our day unforgettable!

    Great River Golf Club's reply:

    Thank you for your kind words Lauren! It was truly a pleasure working with you, Bobby and your families and making your dream wedding come to life! We wish you a lifetime of happiness! Come back and visit us soon :)

    ~Caitlin
  • C
    Christina S. Sent on 11/15/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Everything a Bride & Groom could ask for!

    Our wedding day & rehearsal dinner were truly perfect thanks to an amazing team at Great River! From the planning process to the day of, the event team was available to answer all of our questions and guide us through every step. Our menu tasting was such a special experience with the chef and the food was outstanding; some of the best we've had! Our meals the day of tasted exactly like they did during the tasting and the service was exceptional! We also had our rehearsal dinner at Monty's River Grille with a pre-set menu that we selected with the team. The food, again, was amazing; even our foodie family was raving about how delicious everything was and how big the portions were! I can't recommend Great River enough for their outstanding service & amazing event team!!
  • Andrea
    Andrea P. Sent on 09/26/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Working with Great River was A+

    We toured about a dozen wedding venues and nothing felt right until we arrived at Great River, almost instantly we knew this was the venue for us! The grounds were beautiful as were every indoor area, this was a place we knew would "wow" our guests! We also could not have asked for better staff to work with. Chef Matt is so talented and we could not have asked for better food at our wedding, all of our guests were so impressed. The events team were also so accommodating and really took the time to get to know my husband and I to make our day extra special. We truly enjoyed working with every single person at Great River! Lastly, a big selling point to us was the multiple options for the ceremony, cocktail hour and reception in case of bad weather! This allowed our day to be as stress free a possible. Highly recommend Great River to any future couples!
  • C
    Caitlyn C. Sent on 09/11/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Everything we could have hoped for!

    Great River made all of our wedding dreams come true! The whole process was seamless. Our wedding concierges Gail and Carly were always very responsive and helpful. They truly went above and beyond for us. The food was great, the room was decorated beautifully, and the grounds are amazing for pictures! We can’t say enough good things about Great River and we look forward to going back on our anniversary.

    Great River Golf Club's reply:

    Caitlyn,
    Thank you so much for the wonderful review! It was our pleasure to host your special day! XO Gail & Carly
  • L
    Lauren C. Sent on 07/12/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The best wedding venue ever!!!

    Our wedding at Great River Golf Club was everything we hoped for and more. From the planning process all the way to wedding day, they did not disappoint. Our guests could not stop raving about the delicious food, attentive service and all around beautiful venue. Chelsea and Caitlin, our bridal planner/concierge made sure my husband and I were where we needed to be and had everything done for us. We didn’t even have to ask for another drink - they just appeared! I could not say enough good things about Great River - wish we could relive our wedding day again!!
  • T
    Tiana L. Sent on 07/16/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The Best Venue in CT

    I can’t say enough wonderful words about GR. They made my wedding day the best day ever and I can’t thank them enough. Everyone is still talking about how much they enjoyed our wedding from the food and the all the staff that was so kind and helped us navigate through the day. Gail, Grace and Madison are wonderful to work with! They were on top of literally EVERYTHING I couldn’t ask for a better team that helped us have a magical wedding day! Thank you ladies again!

    Great River Golf Club's reply:

    Thank you so much Tiana for your kind words! We are so happy you & Sam had a Magical Wedding day! Please come back to visit us soon :-)
    All the best,
    Gail
  • B
    Brianna V. Sent on 06/30/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfection!

    Great River was the perfect location for our wedding. It is a beautiful place and the staff is very helpful. Not only did they answer all my questions before the wedding, but were at my service the day of (Special shout out to Carly and Madison)! I could not have imagined a more perfect day.

    Great River Golf Club's reply:

    Brianna, Thank you so much for leaving us a review on WeddingWire. Your opinion helps us improve and grow our business each day. It was our absolute pleasure to host your special day, and we hope you will come back and visit us very soon! All the best, Gail, Carly & Madison :-)
  • Samantha
    Samantha W. Sent on 11/07/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Absolutely Amazing Venue

    My husband and I got married here on 10/30/2020 in the middle of a pandemic... with temperatures lower than they had been...it rained, it snowed ... anything you could think of. But the amazing and wonderful people at Great River made it the most memorable day of our lives. To start, we booked Great River before the pandemic, and when things started to get bad, we wondered what we would do about the wedding. Luckily, when things started to change and look up here in Connecticut, Great River told us that they would be getting a tent to continue to safely host weddings and other events. We were so excited that our wedding was still on! They worked with us from start to finish on food tasting, cake tasting, rehearsal dinner planning and were so helpful, especially during this time of uncertainty. Of course, as I mentioned, the day before the wedding, heavy rains caused the tent to flood, but again the people at Great River worked with us to safely move everything into the ballroom. Every guest had their temperatures checked upon entry to ensure peace of mind as well as to keep everyone healthy and safe. A week has passed since the wedding and everyone is still talking about it, still sending each other pictures and still reminiscing about the wonderful moments we all shared together. Not to mention the AMAZING food. Everyone can't stop raving about how good the food was! If you want to have a memorable, relaxed, fun and overall wonderful wedding experience I cannot recommend Great River Golf Club enough!!
  • Kaitlynn
    Kaitlynn F. Sent on 11/03/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A day we will never forget

    This venue is gorgeous! We knew when we met Gail at our venue tour that we were in good hands. Gail and Grace helped make our wedding visions come to life on our beautiful and well organized wedding day on 9/30/22. We still have guests reaching out complimenting the food and cocktail hour (we used the fireplace area). We are so grateful for the Great River staff for helping to make our day so special and memorable.
  • Rachael
    Rachael G. Sent on 05/27/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wedding Coordinators are Incredible!

    HUGE shout out to Caitlin and Lisanne for making our day exactly what we wanted, and so much more. Also, big thank you to Gail who was there throughout the long planning process. We got married at GRGC on April 23rd, 2022 and it is a day we will never forget. I appreciate Caitlin and Lisanne beyond words. The month leading to our wedding was hectic, but Caitlin was always so speedy on her responses and had the answers to all of my questions. When rehearsal day came around, both Caitlin and Lisanne were rockstars! There wasn't an event the day before so I was able to walk around the ballroom, bring all our decorations into the bridal suite and walk through my vision with Caitlin and Lisanne. I could feel their excited energy which made me even more excited about the big day! Our wedding day was pretty much flawless, all thanks to our team of wonderful women. They kept our timeline on time, were always there for any questions we had, and both truly made the evening perfect. For example, I noticed a few guests getting warm on the dance floor so I asked if we could get the doors propped open to cool off the room, two seconds later the room cooled down. Caitlin and Lisanne were SO attentive, kind, supportive, and truly amazing. There aren't words to truly describe how they made me feel on my wedding day. My husband and I had one goal, to have fun (and get married of course). We wanted everyone around us to have a good time and enjoy themselves. Caitlin and Lisanne helped us reach our goal. I should also mention, the food at Great River is SO GOOD! Our food tasting was unreal and the day-of was even better. The guests commented on how amazing all the appetizers were at cocktail hour and how delicious the entrees were. If I were to do my wedding again, I would do nothing different. Great River Golf Club was the PERFECT venue.

    Great River Golf Club's reply:

    Rachael,
    Thank you so much for all of your kind words! It was truly a pleasure to work with you and Garrett and make your wedding the best day ever!! Wishing you both all of the best in married life and an incredible future together - come back and visit us soon!

    ~Caitlin
  • T
    Thomas B. Sent on 08/04/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Very helpful and thorough

    With questionable weather for an outside wedding, Caitlin and Gail were extremely flexible and supportive in making last minute decisions. They guided us and reassured us that they would take care of every detail regardless of the weather. The experience couldn't have been better and we are so appreciative of the team at Great River! It was a fabulous wedding in all aspects. Thank you!

    Great River Golf Club's reply:

    Hi Tom!
    Thank you so much for your kind words! It was a pleasure to help you and Wendy celebrate your dream wedding day. We hope you are both doing well and come back to visit us soon :)
    - Caitlin
  • Kelley
    Kelley J. Sent on 04/29/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Bride & Groom

    We can not say enough about Great River! From the beginning to the end the entire bridal staff were there for us. Always getting emails with any questions or updates leading up to the best day! My husband & I recommend Great River for your best day as well. You will not be disappointed from the staff to the food to the grounds! We were so grateful that we found Great River for our wedding day!
  • Shelby
    Shelby L. Sent on 04/12/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wonderful Wedding

    My husband and I had the most amazing day. The entire staff at Great River from Gail, Caitlin, Grace and the rest of the team made our day absolutely seem less. I have been planning weddings for over 20 years and Great River managed to exceed our extremely high expectations. Thank you for helping make our day so special.
    Love, Shelby and Sam Moskaluk (And Baby Lucas)

    Great River Golf Club's reply:

    Shelby, Thank you so much for leaving us a 5 Star review on WeddingWire, we really appreciate it!! We are so happy to have exceeded your expectations and help make your day so special!!
    We hope you will come back to visit us this summer :-)
    All the best,
    Gail, Caitlin & Grace
  • Ashley
    Ashley M. Sent on 04/13/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Ashley & Michael March 19th, Wedding

    It's taken a bit to write this review because we truly can't stop taking in how incredible our wedding day was at Great River! My husband & I got engaged in October, booked our date in early November & got married on March 19th, with such a short time frame & a wedding of 150+ guests we knew it would be stressful, however, with the amazing support & planning from Gail, Chelsea, Lisanne & the entire Great River Team we were able to enjoy every second of planning & had no doubt in our minds that our day would be perfect! Chelsea & Lisanne went above & beyond on our wedding day, making sure everything was in line (bridal party included :) ) & we truly can't thank them enough! From the beautiful venue, the extra details, delicious food & most of all the incredible staff, it was a day we will never forget! Thank you to the entire Great River Team!!

    Great River Golf Club's reply:

    Ashley, Thank you so much for writing us a 5 Star review, we really appreciate it! We are still thinking of how incredible your day was and are so happy that the day was perfect for you! Please stop by for a visit, as we'd all love to see you & Mike again! :-)
    All the best, Gail, Chelsea & Lisanne
  • J
    Jeanne H. Sent on 03/14/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Bridal Shower

    My daughter’s Bridal Shower was held in the ballroom at Great River Country Club and it was everything I could have hoped for! Caitlyn. Our event planner, was incredibly responsive and supportive of all my questions and wishes for the shower. The cub was very easy to work with and accommodating to all our requests. The food was delicious and plentiful, and the food director worked with me to customize our brunch. I have received many compliments from guests! I would wholeheartedly recommend Great River Golf Club for wedding of showers!
  • Samantha
    Samantha Sent on 12/06/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great River is everything a bride wants in a venue

    Great River is everything a bride wants in a venue. I don’t have enough great things to say. The entire staff was flawless. Chelsea always responded to my emails promptly and never made me feel like I had tons of annoying questions (which I am sure I did). She was very organized and asked me great questions to help me stay organized. Caitlin was my bridal concierge on the day of the wedding and I don’t have enough great things to say about her. She held our coats while we took photos outside, kept my bouquet in water (including overnight!), was always nearby when we needed to get into the bridal suite, had great suggestions for the photographers, and overall was just lovely to spend the day with. The food was just as we requested and the kitchen/serving staff did a great job. Everything occurred according to the timeline that I created with Chelsea. We held cocktail hour in Monty’s because of the cold weather and it had the coziest and most festive atmosphere. There is nothing I would have done differently!

    Great River Golf Club's reply:

    Sam, thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this review! We absolutely loved being a part of your & Sean's special day. It was our pleasure to serve you and your guests! Please come back and visit us soon!!! :)
    -Chelsea
  • LISA
    Lisamalloy Sent on 12/16/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Spectacular!

    Thank you very much for everything you did to make our wedding as spectacular and memorable as it was.
    We could not be happier with the service provided by your staff. The level of service and attention that Julianne provided helped make the day extra special for Taylor & Dan. She went above and beyond to ensure they had everything they needed. In fact, all of the servers were courteous and provided impeccable service -- including the bartenders who were top notch!
    The food was outstanding. The presentation was perfect and we received rave reviews from our guests about all of the entrees. Please extend our highest compliments to Chef Matt. We were extremely pleased with the food. Honestly, it was the best food we’ve ever had at any wedding.
    Many of our guests also remarked about how beautiful the venue was, made even more so by the holiday decorations. It was simply magical.
    Overall, Great River did a beautiful job and exceeded our expectations on every level imaginable.
    We are out of daughters, so there won’t be another wedding, but we will look back with fond memories on the most fabulous wedding we could have asked for!
  • N
    Nicole B. Sent on 10/19/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The perfect day

    We had the most perfect wedding day at Great River on 10/15/21. From the start, all of the staff at GR was extremely helpful, enthusiastic, and kind. Chelsea served as an excellent point person throughout the year of planning our wedding. She was quick to answer questions and make our vision come to life. Lisanne is an incredible asset to GR! She made sure our wedding day at GR was fun and went according to plan. She did it all, from carrying my train to making sure my drink was never empty. Chef Matt also did not disappoint. Our tasting was one of our favorite parts of wedding planning. We heard from all of our guests just how great the food at cocktail hour and dinner was. We were lucky to have great weather and have our ceremony at the gazebo however, we would have been just as happy to have the ceremony in the breezeway if the weather didn’t cooperate. Having a second ceremony location that was still outdoors was a huge selling point for us. The bridal suite was beautiful and my bridesmaids were excited to see champagne and fruit waiting for us. The groom and his groomsmen also had a great spot to hang in with beer on ice ready for them. The layout of the course has so many opportunities for great pictures, no matter the time of year. We would plan our wedding here one thousand times over again if we had to. Thank you GR for a day we will never forget!

    Great River Golf Club's reply:

    Thank you so much, Nicole, for this wonderful review of our performance on your wedding day! It was our absolute pleasure to be a part of your celebration and we wish you and Sean a long, happy married life together!
    -Chelsea
  • Margaret
    Margaret H. Sent on 11/15/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Absolutely amazing wedding venue!!

    I cannot recommend Great River enough as a venue!!! This was the only venue that we toured and they went above and beyond in every aspect. Caitlin answered my countless questions via email and was always very polite and accommodating. Chelsea was stellar as our day of coordinator - anticipating our needs, and making sure that we, and our guests, were well taken care of. Our guests had an absolutely wonderful time, and many of them have commented on how delicious the food was. The space was perfect for our wedding (130 people). If you are looking for a beautiful wedding venue in CT, look no further!!

    Great River Golf Club's reply:

    Margaret, Thank you so much for your kind words! It was our absolute pleasure to host you & Marcello on your big day. We wish you all the best in your new married life together :) Come back and visit soon!
    -Chelsea
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message
Responds within 24 hours