Grand Hotel Reviews

70 | Mackinac Island, MI
See photos, pricing and details

70 Reviews for Grand Hotel

Recommended by 99%

70
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 5.0
70 Grand Hotel Reviews
Sort by:
  • M

    Marta · Married on 09/28/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Grand Hotel provided the flowers for our wedding and every detail was perfect! They were creative in offering options and developed a beautiful autumn palette that worked perfectly!

  • R

    Ron · Married on 09/20/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    No detail was missed when my wife and I renewed our 15 year wedding vows at Grand Hotel. The GH team, led by Marty Davis, was punctual and more than met our expectations. Our vows were to be renewed on the West Front Porch -- but with a Fall thunderstorm in the forecast -- Marty provided a number of very suitable alternative locations that allowed us to be outside and remain dry.
    The guitarist, photographer and Main Dining Staff made our evening very special.
    Grand Hotel is a place for a destination wedding. It's also a very romantic spot for a private vow renewal for two.
    Both Laura and I highly recommend Grand Hotel.

    Grand Hotel 1
    Grand Hotel 2
    Grand Hotel 3
  • C

    Corrinne · Married on 09/08/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a Luncheon at Grand Hotel's Woods Restaurant. Everything was amazing, the food was delicious! Marty (Grand Hotel's wedding coordinator) was especially great, knowledgeable and easy to work with. We loved every minute of our wedding day and I attribute a lot of it to Grand Hotel's amazing staff.

  • D

    don · Married on 08/25/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Grand Hotel on Mackinac is the perfect place for a wedding as your guests will start by leaving their worries on the other side of the water, and then will be completely taken by the elegance of the Hotel and property. You won't have to worry about any of the details, because Marty Davis will ask all the right questions upfront, and the staff executes the plan to perfection. The ceremony can be on the lawn, on the beautiful porch, or inside...and Hotel management will help you make a good decision on wedding day, based on weather and many years of expertise. Customer service is flawless because senior management is on site, and looks out for all the details that make the day special and worry-free. I Highly recommend The Grand Hotel for any occasion....the only problem is your departure at the end, because you won't want to.

  • M

    Maria · Married on 08/25/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The place, the staff, the florist, the rooms, the menu were simply amazing....beyond expectations!! The professionalism and the attention to detail made our daughter's wedding a dream come true. How often do you have the guests reach out to THANK YOU for inviting them to the wedding? Thank You Grand Hotel!!

    Grand Hotel 4
    Grand Hotel 5
    Grand Hotel 6
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 08/25/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you are a bride looking for the perfect wedding location or a parent looking to give your daughter or son a fairytale wedding, stop your search now. The Grand Hotel and their team will make sure all your wedding dreams come true. There is no place like the Grand Hotel anywhere in the world. The location, the hotel's beauty, the horse drawn carriages, magnificent porch and incredible staff will ensure that every Grand Hotel bride feels like a princess on her wedding day. It rained during all of my wedding festivities and even so I can't picture a more fantastic wedding. You and your guests will not be disappointed.

    Grand Hotel 7
    Grand Hotel 8
    Grand Hotel 9
    Grand Hotel 10
    Grand Hotel 11
    Grand Hotel 12
    Grand Hotel 13
    Grand Hotel 14
    Grand Hotel 15
    Grand Hotel 16
  • M

    Madeline · Married on 07/29/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had my dream wedding at the Grand Hotel. Marty, the wedding coordinator is a PRO!! She is so helpful and makes the process really easy. Everything is perfect- the landscaping, flowers, china, service, rooms, food, music. Such a beautiful place. It's a stunning location and was really the most incredible wedding weekend.

  • L

    Laurie · Married on 07/13/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Even though our wedding was at a different venue on Mackinac Island, Marty went above and beyond our "long-distance" planning. Our Rehearsal Dinner was planned for the Gatehouse on a Friday evening. We ended up being almost an hour early, yet they accommodated us with no problem. They re-arranged tables for us and were ever-so-patient with our group when it came to ordering and lingering a while. I can't say enough about how special they made our experience and also stress-free. Would highly recommend The Grand Hotel and their staff for any special occasion - or just a weekend get-away!!!R

  • L

    Lake · Married on 06/30/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Growing up on Mackinac Island, I have always been in awe of the beautiful hotel, and having my wedding there was a dream come true! Everything was perfect and all of the staff were wonderful, especially Marty! I wouldn't change a thing about our wedding ceremony!

  • N

    Norma · Married on 06/09/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My son became engaged at the Grand Hotel in October 2017. The wedding took place in June of 2018. Cannot imagine anywhere else to have the ceremony performed.
    Marty Davis, the Grand, Margaret’s Garden, Astor’s Salon, Maxim Studio Photography and DJ Brevin Cawthorne were awesome to work with in making this special day spectacular.
    The Grand Hotel has beautiful options to choose from for the ceremony, cocktail reception and dinner. Marty made planning this wedding easy. She is a very professional wedding coordinator and makes it seem way too easy! She made sure each detail was executed as planned and on time. She is very personable and answers emails and calls quickly. She is like family!
    Margaret’s Garden, the Grand Hotel’s Florist, really made an outstanding statement in the florals we chose. They outdid themselves in making our vision come to fruition. Their staff is easy to work with and they listen and make suggestions to put together phenomenal arrangements.
    The accomodations are always wonderful and our special needs were met. Thank you Steve!

    We got so many compliments on the whole event and the guests did not want to leave when the reception was to end.
    So much fun with great tasting food from beginning to end.
    We love you Grand Hotel and all the staff. You made us feel like royalty.
    If you are looking for a special venue, hands down I say keep the Grand Hotel at the top of your venue list.

  • N

    Nancy · Married on 06/02/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everything about the day exceeded our expectations. Marty Davis, the wedding planner is wonderful to work with, she made the planning process easy and everything about the day of the wedding was perfect. The wedding took place at the Wood’s restaurant which is enchanting, like a fairy tale. The bridal flowers created by Laurie at Margaret’s Garden were beautiful, the service outstanding, the food amazing and dessert bar incredible. Our guests were transported by carriage to the Wood’s creating a magical Mackinac Island experience. The day was soon over but the memories for the bride and groom and our guests will last a life time, a wedding at Grand Hotel is like no other.

  • P

    Patrick · Married on 10/13/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding at the Grand Hotel was an absolute dream come true! When my bride and I turned the corner to enter our reception in the Grand Pavilion, our jaws dropped when we witnessed just what Marty, Laurie, and all their incredibly talented staff had brought to life for us. Every last detail, from the centerpieces down to the arrangement of our special order up-lights, exceeded our wildest expectations. And when it came to planning the big event, we could ask for no better partner than Marty. Her experience shines through and through, and with her helping you plan your special day you can feel confident knowing you're in good hands. We would have been absolutely lost without her skills and amazing positive energy. Planning any aspect of your special day with the Grand Hotel will give you and your guests the true Mackinac Island experience, and a truly special day you will remember for the rest of your life.

    Grand Hotel 17
    Grand Hotel 18
    Grand Hotel 19
    Grand Hotel 20
    Grand Hotel 21
    Grand Hotel 22
    Grand Hotel 23
    Grand Hotel 24
    Grand Hotel 25
  • C

    Cheryl · Married on 10/11/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A dream- that is how I would describe our wedding at the Grand. We could not have asked for a better place to get married. Everything from the staff, the food, the room, the setting, the attention to detail- everything was perfect. It surpassed all of our expectations. Marty Davis was beyond helpful and gave us the wedding we had always hoped for. It was spectacular.

    Grand Hotel 26
    Grand Hotel 27
  • K

    Kim · Married on 10/07/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't say enough about Marty Davis and the Grand Hotel! The service they provided for my daughter's wedding was outstanding - no detail was left undone! The weather was not cooperating and Marty worked so hard to make sure our daughter had her dream of getting married outdoors on the front porch of the Grand. It was a lot of extra work to make that happen but Marty didn't blink an eye and the ceremony was everything my daughter and her fiancée had dreamed it would be! In addition, Margaret's Garden did an amazing job with the flowers. They were simply beautiful and the bouquets stunning!! The reception was held at Chalet at the Woods and it was a perfect location. From the beautiful views to the delicious food to the excellent service, I can't imagine a better location. And, sending the newlyweds off in a beautiful horse-drawn carriage after the reception, was truly a magical moment. As the Mother of the Bride, I was able to relax and enjoy the day because I knew Marty had everything under control. The whole day seemed like a fairy tale and we can't thank Marty and the entire staff of the Grand for making our daughter's and son-in-law's wedding day everything they had dreamed of and more!

  • Andi6688

    Andrea · Married on 10/07/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We can't thank Marty and her team for our amazing ceremony on the front porch at the Grand and our incredible bouquets. We had a rainy start to our wedding day, but the weather held off for the afternoon ceremony, and the porch was truly magical for us and for our guests. Marty takes care of everything before and on the big day, and does so with such a positive attitude and knows how to get it done efficiently and professionally. We both grew up going to Mackinac Island during the summers as children, and getting married at the Grand Hotel was a dream come true. Highly recommend the Grand as a wedding venue!

    Grand Hotel 28
    Grand Hotel 29
    Grand Hotel 30
    Grand Hotel 31
  • K

    Katie · Married on 10/07/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Grand Hotel is the most beautiful location for your fairy tale wedding!! The Grand helped make my wedding even more beautiful, perfect, and special then I ever could have imagined for our wedding day!! I will forever be blessed and thankful to have gotten the opportunity to say “I do” on the porch of the Grand Hotel!!

    Grand Hotel 32
    Grand Hotel 33
    Grand Hotel 34
    Grand Hotel 35
    Grand Hotel 36
    Grand Hotel 37
    Grand Hotel 38
  • M

    Mary · Married on 09/30/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We got married in the Grand Hotel Tea Garden and had a reception in The Cottage Restaurant on September 30, 2017 and it was truly magical. Marty (the wedding planner) is incredible. She made the experience completely stress-free so we could fully enjoy our special day. Everything was perfect. I wish we could do it all over again!

    Grand Hotel 39
  • M

    Mary · Married on 09/16/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We've been going to Grand Hotel for years and thought that we should share it with our immediate family. The wedding coordinator took care of everything we asked and since it was a destination wedding, that was greatly appreciated. Even without meeting with her and Margaret's Garden, everything was as we imagined and amazing!

  • C

    Catherine · Married on 09/09/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Excellent! The quality of service is unsurpassed. From Marty Davis the wedding planner, Laurie at Margaret's Garden, and the stylists in Astor's Salon they went up and beyond to make our day perfect. The dinner was superb as you would get in a fine dining establishment. We received so many compliments on the food and our wedding cake that was done by their chefs. The entire staff at the hotel makes you feel like royalty. If you have never been to Mackinac Island or the Grand Hotel you are truly missing a unique experience. I only wish we could do it all over again! Will certainly plan on returning in the future.

  • R

    renee · Married on 08/19/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Grand Hotel has been a family tradition for my husband since he was a young boy. And nowI can say its mine too! This is where our love story began, with numerous visits, surprised engagement, and finally a over the top wedding! Grand Hotel and their staff always welcomes you home and that truly is how we feel each and every time we visit. Marty, the wedding cooridator was outstanding. She never let us down. Everything that was discussed happened the way we wanted. She took all the stress away. What I would say to couples looking for a over the top location for their wedding, is you will never find a more magical memorable place for the most special day of your lives! And now, we will add another event each year, our wedding anniversaries.

  • E

    E · Married on 08/12/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We celebrated our 10-year vow renewal on Mackinac Island and, even though it was an intimate event, Marty did a wonderful job coordinating everything- the hair and makeup appointment at Astor’s, the flowers from Margaret’s Garden, the cake, the carriage ride to and from the church, the dinner, the toast, etc. Marty asked us what we wanted and made it happen, setting our mind at ease and allowing us to enjoy the occasion instead of stressing over details. The Grand Hotel is a great venue; they have it all and is a gorgeous setting for a wedding or vow renewal!

  • L

    Ciara · Married on 08/07/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a very small (14 guests) ceremony on Monday, August 7, 2017 on the West Porch. I truly cannot even begin to describe how incredible the experience was. Marty Davis, the dedicated coordinator/miracle worker/counselor, made sure everything went smoothly, from planning to actually walking down the aisle. She handled every small detail, answered every question that happened to pop into my mind (and never made me feel like less of a priority just because our wedding was small and budget-conscious).

    To be married at such a historic and beautiful venue with the Mackinac Bridge as our backdrop was something we will never forget (...in part because the photos are breathtaking and we can't wait to display them)!

    Truly, if you're considering a wedding on Mackinac Island, I cannot recommend Grand Hotel more - whether it's a full event, only a ceremony or reception, or even just a cake/bouquet/other service, you won't be disappointed. Marty is like a fairy godmother, but with a far better sense of humor.

  • J

    James · Married on 08/05/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We cannot say enough good things about getting married at the Grand Hotel! Marty, the wedding planner for the hotel, is amazing; she made planning the wedding so easy and made sure everything went perfectly during the event. Laurie, the manager of the flower shop, is also amazing; she and her team work with you to turn any idea you have into the most beautiful arrangements for your ceremony and reception. We were married in the tea garden and then did our cocktail hour in the Cupola Bar and had dinner in the Cottage Restaurant, and got so many compliments on the gorgeous setting/decor and wonderful food/service. The food was awesome; we would highly recommend doing the Grand Reception during cocktail hour (all of our guests loved the food and still talk about the crab rangoon!). The Grand also gives a significant discount on rooms for wedding guests so it ends up being a perfect destination wedding as you really get to enjoy a whole weekend with your guests (and-as a side note-the breakfasts that are included are also awesome!).

  • D

    Doug · Married on 08/05/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding at the Grand Hotel in the Tea Garden was exceptional. The experience started and ended with Marty, our wedding planner, who was both timely and kind throughout. We wanted all ages to feel involved so our harpist learned how to play the Super Mario Bros theme for when the kids walked down the aisle during the ceremony. The adults enjoyed the charm of the Grand Hotel and the unique atmosphere of Mackinac Island. We look forward to visiting Mackinac Island and the Grand Hotel in the future to celebrate our anniversaries. Thank you again to Marty and everyone involved at the Grand Hotel who made our wedding memorable and enjoyable.

    Doug & Jen

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review