Weddings

Grand Hotel Reviews

Grand Hotel View more information

91 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 99% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.9 out of 5

Awards

  • 91
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner

68 User photos

Sort by:
  • Karlie
    Karlie N. Getting married on 03/06/2022
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Our Wedding Was A Dream Come True! Thanks So Much, Marty!

    Our wedding at the Grand Hotel was absolutely amazing!! Due to COVID-19, we had to cancel our original wedding plans, but ended up having the perfect wedding on Mackinac Island. Marty was so helpful and accommodating to our situation and helped bring to life our dream wedding within our budget. We had a small wedding of 15 people, but the guests at the hotel cheered for us as we said "I Do"! It was an absolute perfect day! We will definitely be celebrating our anniversary for many years at the Grand Hotel.
  • Casey
    Casey Married on 07/31/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Love love love

    Love the originality about the hotel, the grounds are beautiful. The wedding was amazing.
  • M
    Marci J. Married on 05/18/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Our wedding

    I was pleased with the wedding planner and she was there for us during the entire wedding day
  • D
    Danielle B. Married on 04/09/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Beautiful Venue

    Our wedding at the Grand Hotel was just beautiful. Small, intimate and just wonderful. Marty and other staff were so easy to work with. Marty very responsive and helpful, taking the stress away, in planning our wedding. We have terrific memories of our special day.
  • S
    Sandra R. Married on 03/07/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The Stables

    Our daughter's wedding rehearsal dinner was held at the Grand Hotel Stables.... yes, the Stables! What a beautiful building! Our 65 guests were treated to an amazing barbecue, beverages, and desserts -- everything was delicious and the ribs were the best we've ever eaten. The bride and groom (and many of the guests) are farriers so the location couldn't have been more perfect. Marty and staff were wonderful to work with.
  • Kate
    Kate C. Married on 12/08/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Dream wedding!

    GRAND HOTEL IS AMAZING! The views, the ambiance, the staff, it's all beyond anything you could imagine and a true fairy tale. Marty is the bomb dot com and we absolutely adored working with her, she is super fun, easy to work with, and so knowledgeable about the island as she has been here and in her role for many years. Our guests are still talking about our wedding - I mean really, what beats a jazz trio playing "Don't Stop Believin'" as you recess down the aisle looking over Lake Huron? We somehow said "I do" and had champagne in our hands simultaneously but no one can figure out how it was finessed - that's how good the staff is. Grand Hotel is EASILY, hands down, the #1 place to get married on Mackinac Island and I would really argue the state. Book it.
  • Patrick
    Patrick C. Married on 12/08/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    THE BEST! Look no further.

    I can't think of a more perfect location! We had our wedding on the front porch of Grand Hotel in late August and my wife and I could not be happier with how it all went. Our guests are still raving about the location!
  • M
    Mary C. Married on 06/27/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Mary Chambers Smith (Bride)


    Marty Davis and her team at the Grand Hotel went above and beyond to make our wedding reception absolutely perfect! Everything exceeded our expectations. The piano player was very talented and provided the perfect compliment to our wedding luncheon. The service was outstanding and food absolutely delicious! Laurie Williams and her team at Margaret’s Garden created beautiful table arrangements, bridal bouquet, boutonnières and corsages. We can’t say enough good things about the Grand Hotel and their staff. They created a truly magical reception that our families and guests are raving about! We highly recommend the Grand Hotel and their team!
  • E
    Elaine F. Married on 11/07/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Sampanis-Ferguson Wedding

    Marty Davis and her staff were extremely helpful, attentive, and made the experience truly the best day of our lives!
  • C
    Carol H. Married on 10/11/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wedding and Stay at the Grand Hotel

    Our stay at the Grand Hotel and the staff was superb. Marty was extremely helpful and organized. Because of her guidance and caring professionalism, our wedding and stay at the Grand was perfect.
  • D
    Dennis P. Married on 10/05/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Awesome and wonderful

    My wife and I celebrated our 25th anniversary by renting the porch and renewing our vows with family and friends. I cannot express in words the most wonderful time that it was. The porch, the ballroom, and the food and flowers were awesome. Marty Davis, the wedding coordinator was extremely helpful and kind. Everyone who attended had a most wonderful time!!
  • Nicole
    Nicole T. Married on 08/24/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Dream Come True

    Marty Davis did an amazing job with our wedding! I was very needy leading up with many random e-mails of questions. Marty always responded very quickly and never made me feel like a bother. The dinner was set up exactly the way I pictured, and was beautiful! I was also pleasantly surprised at the low cost by the end of it. Thanks to Marty assisting me to stay within my budget. The service was also amazing! I would highly highly recommend.
  • Justine
    Justine L. Married on 07/06/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Great rehearsal dinner location!

    We had our rehearsal dinner at The Gate House, owned by The Grand Hotel. They were wonderful. Guests loved the atmosphere and the food. The staff was attentive and did a great job serving all of us. Thank you!
  • Trish
    Trish M. Married on 06/28/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Truly "Grand"

    Our experience working with Marty Davis and the staff at Grand Hotel could not have been better. The responsiveness to questions and concerns was fantastic; a real stress reliever when planning such an important event. It was so easy having everything we needed under one roof. Margaret's Garden provided the most stunning bouquets and centerpieces! They had great style and vision and were so sweet to work with. The stylists at Astor Salon were fantastic and the bridal party looked gorgeous! We used the Grand Hotel musicians, as well, who are so talented and fun! We added a D.J. (Northern Entertainment Consultants; Michael Wiliford) to the mix and it really created a great balance of music for the evening. The food was so delicious, too (the cake was pumpkin for fall; everyone raved about it). The service was by far the best I have experienced at a wedding; there was not an empty wine glass to be seen!
  • Cheryl
    Cheryl W. Married on 06/22/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Perfection!

    Our daughter was married on Mackinac Island in the Somewhere in Time gazebo this past June. We held the wedding dinner at the Grand Hotel’s Wood Restaurant. We cannot say enough about our time there! They provided a special menu for guests to choose from which was perfect. The service was impeccable, the presentation of our meals was beautiful and the food tasted as wonderful as it looked. Everyone in attendance said they would definitely go back. The bride and groom can’t stop talking about their experience there. We also really enjoyed our ride through the woods there and back. Woods Restaurant is a beautiful venue in every way.
  • Renee
    Renee B. Married on 06/18/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Absolutely amazing!

    I cannot say enough about how amazing Marty Davis is! My family has been coming to the Grand Hotel for years. It is truly one of the most beautiful places there is. After my husband and I met a handful of years ago, he joined us on our annual trips and fell in love with the Grand as much as we have. When he proposed on Valentine's day we both knew immediately where we wanted to have our special day with family. We were married this past June on the front porch of the Grand Hotel. It was absolutely perfect! Having the Mackinac Bridge in the background while we exchanged vows in a private ceremony on the front porch with the sun shining couldn't have been any more amazing. I consider myself to be a very detailed person but Marty absolutely thought of everything! She is very thorough, has wonderful recommendations and goes the extra mile with every single detail. She made sure our wedding was unforgettable! Thank you Marty for everything you did and everything you do.
  • J
    Jenny N. Married on 05/10/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    excellent!

    Marty did a wonderful job helping us plan our wedding! She was attentive to every detail and our day was perfect!
  • M
    Marta Married on 09/28/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Grand Hotel provided the flowers for our wedding and every detail was perfect! They were creative in offering options and developed a beautiful autumn palette that worked perfectly!
  • R
    Ron Married on 09/20/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    No detail was missed when my wife and I renewed our 15 year wedding vows at Grand Hotel. The GH team, led by Marty Davis, was punctual and more than met our expectations. Our vows were to be renewed on the West Front Porch -- but with a Fall thunderstorm in the forecast -- Marty provided a number of very suitable alternative locations that allowed us to be outside and remain dry.
    The guitarist, photographer and Main Dining Staff made our evening very special.
    Grand Hotel is a place for a destination wedding. It's also a very romantic spot for a private vow renewal for two.
    Both Laura and I highly recommend Grand Hotel.
  • C
    Corrinne Married on 09/08/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We had a Luncheon at Grand Hotel's Woods Restaurant. Everything was amazing, the food was delicious! Marty (Grand Hotel's wedding coordinator) was especially great, knowledgeable and easy to work with. We loved every minute of our wedding day and I attribute a lot of it to Grand Hotel's amazing staff.
  • M
    Maria Married on 08/25/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The place, the staff, the florist, the rooms, the menu were simply amazing....beyond expectations!! The professionalism and the attention to detail made our daughter's wedding a dream come true. How often do you have the guests reach out to THANK YOU for inviting them to the wedding? Thank You Grand Hotel!!
  • L
    Lauren Married on 08/25/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    If you are a bride looking for the perfect wedding location or a parent looking to give your daughter or son a fairytale wedding, stop your search now. The Grand Hotel and their team will make sure all your wedding dreams come true. There is no place like the Grand Hotel anywhere in the world. The location, the hotel's beauty, the horse drawn carriages, magnificent porch and incredible staff will ensure that every Grand Hotel bride feels like a princess on her wedding day. It rained during all of my wedding festivities and even so I can't picture a more fantastic wedding. You and your guests will not be disappointed.
  • D
    Don Married on 08/25/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The Grand Hotel on Mackinac is the perfect place for a wedding as your guests will start by leaving their worries on the other side of the water, and then will be completely taken by the elegance of the Hotel and property. You won't have to worry about any of the details, because Marty Davis will ask all the right questions upfront, and the staff executes the plan to perfection. The ceremony can be on the lawn, on the beautiful porch, or inside...and Hotel management will help you make a good decision on wedding day, based on weather and many years of expertise. Customer service is flawless because senior management is on site, and looks out for all the details that make the day special and worry-free. I Highly recommend The Grand Hotel for any occasion....the only problem is your departure at the end, because you won't want to.
  • M
    Madeline Married on 07/29/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I had my dream wedding at the Grand Hotel. Marty, the wedding coordinator is a PRO!! She is so helpful and makes the process really easy. Everything is perfect- the landscaping, flowers, china, service, rooms, food, music. Such a beautiful place. It's a stunning location and was really the most incredible wedding weekend.
  • L
    Laurie Married on 07/13/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Even though our wedding was at a different venue on Mackinac Island, Marty went above and beyond our "long-distance" planning. Our Rehearsal Dinner was planned for the Gatehouse on a Friday evening. We ended up being almost an hour early, yet they accommodated us with no problem. They re-arranged tables for us and were ever-so-patient with our group when it came to ordering and lingering a while. I can't say enough about how special they made our experience and also stress-free. Would highly recommend The Grand Hotel and their staff for any special occasion - or just a weekend get-away!!!R