Gold Canyon Golf Resort Reviews

25 | Apache Junction, AZ
See photos, pricing and details

25 Reviews for Gold Canyon Golf Resort

Recommended by 88% of couples

4.4 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.5
  • Professionalism 4.3
  • Flexibility 4.5
  • Value 4.4
  • Average response time 4.2

Awards

25

1 User photo

Gold Canyon Golf Resort 1
Order by:
  • Kate

    Kate Li · Getting married on 09/09/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best Wedding Decision You'll Make

    For an out of town bride, I was really concerned about planning and keeping all the details together. I went with the wedding package and all the recommended vendors at Gold Canyon Golf Resort, and I regretted not a thing. Everything turned out so perfect with almost no involvement from me - I can't stress how much it meant to me to have a stress free wedding! I feel like I breezed through the day, and was allowed to just appreciate marrying my husband and being in the moment. We just brought all our favors/programs/signage/decor and Robert took care of the rest. Everything ran so smoothly. We had a combination of out of town and in town guests and almost everyone stayed in the rooms and loved the facility so much. The food was amazing, the staff was warm and welcoming. My bridesmaids (six of them) and myself got our hair and make up done at the spa, and they did such a fantastic job. For someone who shies away from make-up for the day to day, I can't stress how great of a job Kat did in making me comfortable and making me up to be both the glamorous bride but also leave it natural enough that I felt like myself!

    My fiance and I had gone to multiple wedding venue tours including several in Phoenix. Several of the wedding coordinators were cold, haughty, late to the appointment, or worse. Charlene, who was our wedding coordinator before the day of was responsive. We connected right away when we first met her because it was clear she was both incredibly capable and experienced with weddings, and really loved her job. She was a pleasure to work with throughout. Unfortunately, she was unavailable to coordinate on the day of our wedding, but we had a seamless pass-off to the Catering Manager, Robert, who was seriously the best. He was so adept at making our guests comfortable and welcome and making sure our wedding went off without hitch. Honestly can't say that I had to be asked even ONE question my entire wedding night and absolutely got to enjoy the moment!

    Sent on 10/17/2019
  • Allie

    Allie · Getting married on 06/13/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I love this place!

    Charlene is wonderful! She sat down with us to find out exactly what we wanted but also used her past experience in event planning to give us opinions on what she thinks would and wouldn't work or look good.

    Sent on 12/08/2018
  • C

    Cassandra · Married on 03/24/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ryan at Gold Canyon Gold Resort was SO helpful in helping my family and friends with their stay at Gold Canyon! Everyone loved it and the price was definitely right, especially during Spring Training time in AZ!

    Sent on 03/31/2018
  • D

    Deb · Married on 04/15/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The entire staff at Gold Canyon was so wonderful in making sure our weddng weekend was beautiful and fun for all our guests. The food was incredible for both our sit down rehearsal dinner and our morning wedding reception buffet. Our guests remarked the dessert was the most amazing they've ever had (and they've had more than a few in many places!). Robert made the planning process very easy and enjoyable.The spectacular backdrops every where you look, top notch service, fabulous food - and awesome golf make Gold Canyon Golf Resort an easy choice. We highly recommend it for any special event!

    Sent on 04/23/2017
  • C

    Curt · Married on 11/22/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Outstanding on all levels is the only way to describe our wedding and reception at Gold Canyon Golf Resort. Everything was perfect from beginning to end thanks to Robert Manger and Nicole Walker. Our wedding ceremony was held at the Flat Iron outside area with the beautiful Superstition Mountains in the background and our reception was held at the Resort Pavilion outside area just west of the lobby and restaurant.

    Everyone at the resort was very helpful and accommodating for our special requests and changes that needed to be made to our menu and guest list which made our wedding and reception even more special.

    We had 30 people attend our wedding and about 15 resort rooms for our guests. All of our family and friends stayed at the resort. Most of our guests stayed 2 nights and enjoyed several meals at the resort including breakfast, lunch and dinner. Some of our guests also used the Salon and Spa and were very happy with the services at the Spa. The rooms at the resort have a nice design and are very spacious compared to other resort rooms we have seen. All of our family and guests made several comments to us about how pleased they were with the quality of the food and how nice everything was at Gold Canyon Golf Resort.

    We were also happy to have a hiking area close to the resort for a short hike in the beautiful Superstition Mountains which was something our out of town guests really enjoyed.

    The pricing at Gold Canyon Golf Resort was very reasonable for the level of service and quality of the food and facilities. We couldn't have made a better choice for our wedding and reception and we plan to come back to stay at Gold Canyon Golf Resort for a special weekend or to enjoy a special dinner.

    We would definitely recommend Gold Canyon Golf Resort to anyone for any event if you are looking for a great value with outstanding food and comfortable rooms in a beautiful setting.

    Curt & Therese Davis

    Sent on 12/04/2014

    Gold Canyon Golf Resort's reply:

    Curt & Therese,

    Thank you for taking the time to leave such an incredible review following your big wedding weekend! It was fantastic having you, your family, and friends with us here throughout the excitement. We hope you will make it back to see us soon, as we would love to visit with the both of you!
  • D

    Daniel · Married on 04/04/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding at Gold Canyon Golf Resort in April. It was an amazing experience. Robert and Tracy were both very professional and a pleasure to work with. They answered all our questions and did a great job making sure everyone and everything was in place on the wedding day. The entire night ran smooth with no major hiccups. Also, the price for the venue is a great deal! We had a ton of space, which was in a private section of the resort, and the food was awesome! I highly recommend this venue to anyone looking for a place to get married.

    Sent on 05/02/2014
  • K

    K. · Married on 03/21/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We hosted my sons rehearsal dinner here and had friends stay in about 35guest rooms. Robert, catering and event manager, and Nicole W, group hotel sales manager, were both great- efficient, effective, professional and nice! Brides family hosted wedding ceremony and it was lovely. A bit of a drive from central phoenix, but worth it. Lovely setting at a reasonable price. Great choice for a wedding weekend.

    Sent on 03/24/2014
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 03/08/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I truly loved the wedding experience at Gold Canyon Golf Resort. They are very flexible and take great care of their customers. My wedding site was gorgeous. I couldn't have asked for anything better. Their staff is amazing! We received the very best care from Robert all the way down to the young men escorting us around their campus on golf carts. I still cannot believe that I left my bows on the chairs and in the dark, with his flashlight on his phone, Robert went and got all my bows for me. What quality service!! I would recommend this venue to anyone and everyone! They are fabulous!!

    Sent on 05/19/2014

    Gold Canyon Golf Resort's reply:

    Lauren,

    We appreciate you choosing us to help you with your big day, and then taking the time to review about it! We understand that a wedding day can be one of the most important days of a couples lives, and our staff is trained to treat it as their own. It is great to know that your special day was a great one and we hope to see you back at Gold Canyon Golf Resort soon!
  • K

    Kasbi · Married on 02/17/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    June and Rob were awesome. We switched venues after meeting them. They did everything we could have ever asked for. I mean dealing with the mother of the bride can't be done by just anyone and June was irreplacable for us.

    Sent on 02/26/2013
  • A

    Abbie · Married on 12/02/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    June (the wedding coordinator) did an absolutely outstanding job for my wedding!! She was able to accommodate my needs and my wants and was there every step of the way to make sure my day ran very smoothly. She went above and beyond to help me with set up and doing little jobs that i would request. The site was absolutely gorgeous. The space they have for a reception is breathtaking. One of the most beautiful sites I have seen with a scenic mountain view. The food was also FABULOUS!! Everyone raved about how good it was. overall I would recommend Gold Canyon Golf Resort to anyone looking for a beautiful venue.

    Sent on 12/29/2011
  • J

    Judi · Married on 12/11/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Written below is the letter I sent to Gold Canyon Golf Resort after my daughters wedding on December 11, 2010 : )

    Jason Bracamonte
    Director of Food and Beverage
    Gold Canyon Golf Resort
    6100 S Kings Ranch Road
    Gold Canyon, AZ 85118




    Dear Mr. Bracamonte,

    I wanted to write you a letter to express our thanks and gratitude for such a beautiful wedding for our daughter Mandi and her new husband Preston on December 11, 2010.

    We met June Tortorella for the first time while visiting Superstition Views last July while trying to decide on our venue. From the very beginning June reached out to my daughter and I, and put us at ease. The very next day I drove out to tour the property and put my deposit down.

    During the next several months our guest list went from 150 to over 200. I was in a sheer panic!! Not so much for the amount of people, but could Gold Canyon Golf Resort pull it off? June continued to assure me that the wedding would be beautiful, and continued to answer my phone calls, my constant emails, and meet with me whenever I needed to ask questions. I cannot even tell you how many times she went out of her way to open up the tent, explain where things would be placed and convince me that things would be great.

    One of the nicest things June did, was the week before the wedding she came out to the resort “on her day off” to escort myself and my photographer to the ceremony site (Flat Iron), showed us an open suite that the bride would be using, and again opened up the tent to give my photographer the visual that he needed.

    The wedding was absolutely beautiful! More beautiful than I even imagined! The food was absolutely delicious, the service superb, and the experience unforgettable.

    I would also like to acknowledge Rizalde Sherwood as he was also great at relieving my fears, and did a beautiful set up with the tent.

    You have a great employee with June Tortorella. If she had not reached out to me with all of her willingness to help, I may have kept looking. June is a great asset to Gold Canyon Golf Resort and I wanted you to know how much we appreciate all that she did for us!

    Thank you for everything! I will definitely let people know how wonderful our experience was with your beautiful property!


    Sent on 02/09/2011
  • D

    dana · Married on 04/29/2006

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    John was my wedding cordinator and was amazing. Just loved him!

    Sent on 08/06/2008
  • R

    Rachel · Married on 01/20/2013

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rob was phenomenal at our wedding! I truly had a wonderful experience. My sister-in-law had just had 4 teeth removed and couldn't eat the food we had ordered, so the staff actually took a special order just for her so she could have something to eat (mash potatoes and soup)! Everyone commented how wonderful the staff was and how effortless it was.

    I am so thankful we went with such a wonderful site, with wonderful people to help us in our big day!

    Sent on 01/21/2013
  • C

    Cindy Peterson · Married on 10/13/2018

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful outdoor wedding

    We had our wedding Oct. 13th 2018 and we couldn't have picked a more perfect venue! Robert was very easy to work with and worked with us the whole time. With the package we purchased include the cake, DJ and most of the flowers. It also included a night stay and open bar for beer and wine. They provided the vendors to us, which made it easy. We were told we can find different vendors if we preferred as well, but ending up going with their recommendation. We also decided to stay an extra night and got massage in the spa, which was very relaxing.

    On the day of the wedding, it was raining all day long. We were nervous about not being able to do the wedding outside. To allow us to make the decision as close to the time of the wedding as possible, Robert set up the chairs and everything both inside and outside so we just had to move the decoration when we decided on what to do. Luckily, we were able to do it outside and it was gorgeous outside! The mountain behind is beautiful when the sun hits it, which was right during our ceremony. Everyone kept telling use how beautiful it was. During the wedding, everything went smooth and there was no issues that came up. Robert also let us leave the some of decoration in the reception area over night and we picked them up the next morning that way we didn't have to hurry up and clean after the long day.

    We also did out rehearsal dinner here as well. We decided to invite the guest that were stay at the resort to come to dinner so we had about 50 people. The dinner worked out great. We order pizza from their kitchen which were delicious. The food come out promptly and no one left hungry.

    The only issues we had were with the rehearsal and getting my and my bridesmaids down to the ceremony location. For our rehearsal, there was a last minute wedding that was booked for a ceremony only and was set to start when our rehearsal was done. Unfortunately, this made us feel like we had to rush because their guest were arriving. We were still able to get through the rehearsal, but wished we knew about this wedding so we can have moved our rehearsal up or back. To get me down the ceremony, we didn't realize that we had to call to get someone to pick us up. When we called to get picked up, it was about 20 mins or so before the wedding and people saw me and my bridesmaids going down since we were in a golf cart. However, the official decision to have the wedding outside was made 30 mins before the wedding was suppose to start. I believe this was why there was miscommunication because everyone by the ceremony, including Robert, was working on getting that ready fast. Even with those few issues, we had a great wedding and are very happy with the service we received and the venue we selected! Definitely recommend using this venue!

    Gold Canyon Golf Resort 2
    Sent on 11/02/2018
  • S

    sandy · Married on 10/17/2010

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful setting and great resort for out of town guest to stay. Early in planning, somtimes calls were not returned promptly. But as wedding day approached everything went well. Any problems or concerns we had were addressed and taken care of. The Spa was great for hair and nails. Some of our guests had massages and played golf. We had a rehearsal lunch in the restaurant. The wedding was outside and the reception in the tent. Everything was great!! The food, wait staff, and wedding co-ordinator were all wonderful. Would highly recomend.

    Sent on 10/19/2010
  • N

    Nicole · Married on 03/04/2010

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The location is BEAUTIFUL!!! I can't wait to see all of my pictures! If you are looking for an outdoor location, this should be at the top of your list to look at. The only difficulty was after the ceremony we were going to do photographs, we had a hard time finding a golf cart with enough battery power to find different locations for photo spots. It very well could've been a fluke situation, but it was a stressful moment when we weren't sure how far we could go for pictures. It all worked out though and we got to hit up all of the photo opportunities. If you are looking for an east valley location... or willing to travel... this is elegant, beautiful and absolutely breath taking!

    Sent on 03/08/2010
  • User3174396 · 2+ years ago

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    June is amazing! And the grounds are gorgeous!!

    Sent on 04/03/2013
  • User3048417 · 2+ years ago

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Beautiful location and everything turned out exactly how we hoped.

    Sent on 04/08/2014
  • D

    Danielle · Married on 03/08/2009

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    We used Gold Canyon Golf Resort for the ceremony site and cocktail hour. It was a little pricey for the minimum amount of time spent there, but the manager was helpful throughout the process. We ended up getting exactly what we wanted, despite our somewhat non-traditional request (cocktail hour before the ceremony!). The views of the Superstition Mountains from the first fairway were amazing and worth the expense.

    Sent on 06/28/2009
  • E

    Elana · Married on 03/06/2016

    3.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      2.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    We used Gold Canyon for our accommodations for our wedding at the Paseo, a couple miles away. The rooms were very pricey and a little outdated but outside of that I have nothing but good things to say. The staff was outstanding!!! They were so flexible and understanding and helpful. They allowed us to check in to our honeymoon suite at 8am in order to use the room to get ready the day of. My grandmother was originally checked into a room but found it too difficult to get to (the rooms are on hills and can be twisty and unsteady for elderly). The staff moved her immediately into a more accommodating room. My wife and I booked a couples massage for the day after and both the ladies were phenomenal!

    Sent on 03/26/2016

    Gold Canyon Golf Resort's reply:

    Elana,

    We would like to express our gratitude towards you for choosing us to accommodate your friends and family. Keeping everyone together and removing as much stress as possible for you and your guests is our ultimate goal, and we are thrilled to hear that your special day was fantastic.
  • M

    Monique · Married on 10/06/2006

    3.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    There was a different gentleman handling the catering and events department who had been in the business for years. About 6 months out, we found out he had left and that a new person had taken over. It was a little rocky and stressful because it seemed as though no one knew what we had planned for our ceremony and reception (although we had taken notes with the previous planner). Overall, it ended up going smoothly. Staff was very courteous and friendly. Many of our guests were from out of town so it was nice to be able to have everything in one spot (and save money for the guests!).

    Sent on 11/06/2007
  • S

    sara · Married on 10/30/2010

    3.4
    • Quality of service:
      3.5
    • Responsiveness:
      2.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    The site is absolutely beautiful!!! I would never recommend this site to anyone because I had so many issues with the staff the deals with all the wedding planning. They went through 2 people within my 8 months of planning this wedding before they finally settled on someone who finally figured things out for me, which was June. She was great to work with....not sure what to call her but I guess, the wedding planner? The day of the wedding went pretty smooth but I went through a lot of stress to get there.

    Sent on 11/18/2010
  • G

    Virginia · Married on 03/24/2012

    2.8
    • Quality of service:
      3.5
    • Responsiveness:
      2.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      2.5

    I fiund that working with Rob in Catering was much more productive than working with June their wedding coordinator, The food was delicious but the hor d'oerves were skimpy. There was a huge mix-up on the day we were to set up. They had booked another group in at the same time. The setting is beautiful but I'd think twice about using this venue.

    Sent on 04/03/2012
  • User3212765 · 2+ years ago

    2.0
    • Quality of service:
      2.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.0
    • Value:
      2.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.0
    • Professionalism:
      2.0

    I don't have much positive to say. There were several behind the scene issues that happened but when they were addressed after the wedding they were very kind and apologetic. The venue itself was breath taking. The view sold itself, and by looks is the best venue I had found. The guest had a blast and didn't encounter the issues I had an in the end my husband and I have a fabulous time. Their hotel rooms were beautiful.

    Sent on 04/22/2013
  • E

    Eileen · Married on 04/07/2012

    1.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      0.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      0.0
    • Professionalism:
      0.0

    We Used Gold Canyon for accomodations and booked 9 months in advance. I notified family and when we considered and toured the property we broached the subject of housing family members in the same buildings and were assured that would be easily accomplished. Two weeks before were were informed they had another wedding party there that same weekend, my parents were moved from their building the night before they checked in even though there were trying to be next to the rest of my family in the same building and when they called to try to rectify that situation, they were yelled at not, once, not twice, but THREE times, loud enough that I could hear the Gold Canyon Representative through the phone. This occurred over 3 different phone calls and with 3 different employees. I did NOT hear my parents yell in response, although I Did hear the tension in their voice. Do NOT book with these people, even though their accommodations are nice, they aren't nice enough to warrant that kind of treatment.
    They also do not return phone calls from the spa for potential bookings NOR do they return calls for rehearsal dinners before 6 months have passed. We booked with another company, had the written contract, details all worked out and then another 4 months passed before they returned our calls about the rehearsal dinner. They will flat out tell you they only want golf business and they prove it every step of the way. I even heard reports from my vendors about how they were Not helpful.

    Sent on 04/25/2012

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review