Ghiselani Designer Wedding Cakes Reviews

9 | Makawao, HI
See photos, pricing and details

9 Reviews for Ghiselani Designer Wedding Cakes

Recommended by 99%

9

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.8
Sort by:
  • Beverly

    Beverly · Married on 04/15/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I found GiGi and her cakes from the 2016 Maui Wedding Expo. At that time, I wasn't able to taste any of her cakes since I wasn't feeling too well when I attended. With the help of my two trustworthy Maid & Matron of Honors, out of all the cake vendors they tasted at the expo, they had told me that GiGi's cakes tasted the best. I contacted GiGi, and she is absolutely adorable and fun to work with. My husband and I had our cake taste testing at her place and we had so much fun the whole time we were there.

    GiGi is also easy to communicate with. Usually when I would have any questions or changes on my order, I wouldn't hesitate to give her a text or call. She would respond/answer right away. For example, the day before my wedding, I just had found out that the cake stand I ordered myself was defective, I called GiGi right away and she told me not to freak out or worry and that she could lend me one of her stands. She was such a life saver!

    GiGi also stayed at my reception, which I thought she would have just delivered the cake and not seen her afterwards. I was happy and surprised! She even helped me go to the ladies' room with my ballgown dress. LOL! Also, after the wedding, she sent me photos of my cake and a picture of me and my father. She is seriously just too cute! I love her! Other than that, my husband and I shared our cake with our family and they all loved it! It was the carrot cake. We finished our bottom tier cake in 3 days. We might just have to order more again!

    If you're looking for a cake, and have a special bond with your baker, GiGi is the best person to go to!!! Thank you for everything, GiGi! We love you!!! <3

  • J

    Jamie · Married on 03/17/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Working with Gigi was absolutely wonderful. We met her at the 2016 Wedding Expo, and were instantly impressed. So we contacted her as soon as we ready to select a wedding cake. She was quick to respond, and was happy to accommodate us as our work schedules were a bit hectic. We had a tasting at her lovely home...and we had a blast! We were pretty clueless, but she was happy to help us by making recommendations and offering different options to choose from. She was attentive while we told her what we wanted. And even after we left, she thought about our cake more. She emailed me a few days after the tasting to tell me of a more exquisite idea for the flowers on our cake. It was AMAZING!
    She even helped us by building a base for our cake topper as it was a fairly heavy ceramic topper. When we arrived at the reception, we were blown away by her creation. We wanted a simple, yet elegant cake...and Gigi sure delivered a top-notch cake. The cake itself was absolutely stunning, and the taste was SOOOOO delicious. Our guests were very happy; and my husband & I were completely 100% MORE THAN SATISFIED. We will recommend Gigi as the #1 choice for a wedding cake vendor. You will not be disappointed. :)

  • C

    Corinne · Married on 03/06/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Marie (Gigi) is a very talented baker and will absolutely make you a beautiful and delicious wedding cake. We went to her house for the tasting (as the other reviewers mention- she has a longer, more involved tasting, which can be really fun if you set aside the time for it! Lots of funny wedding/marriage advice that is actually good, and loves to chat about food and her previous baking competition experience.) The payment you make at the tasting goes to your final invoice for the cake, so it’s really not bad at all. I wanted a pretty plainly decorated cake (textured white frosting with some real flowers on the top and side) and while I know she wanted to do more design- she delivered exactly what I asked for. I’m sorry these other ladies had such a hard time communicating with her for their cakes, but that was a few years ago and my experience with her was the exact opposite. She was on time for our meeting, she took wonderful notes, sent several follow up emails making sure she got the flavor/filling combinations correct, and then even emailed me a week before the wedding to triple check the date, time, and location of the wedding. I was wondering if people actually cancelled this close to their wedding, but apparently it’s just to assure them that they will have their wedding cake! She’s great and her cakes are amazing. We ordered a 2-tier cake for a party of 45 for our 3/6/16 Olowalu Plantation House wedding, and there wasn’t any left over. I wish there was because it was so good! Thanks, Gigi!

    Sent on 03/28/2016

    Ghiselani Designer Wedding Cakes's reply:

    Aloha Corrine and Eddie, Mahalo for your great reviews about your wedding cake and my services! I look forward to our future relationship. You are on my list to mail some great cakes to you 2! With much appreciation and Love! GiGi
  • C

    Ciara · Married on 09/25/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    What can I say, Gigi really is fantastic. My husband and I married on Maui on 25th September 2015 on the Kukahiko Estate. Gigi delivered our cake to the estate on the day and so I got to meet her in person. The cake looked amazing and as she described to me the detail about the ingredients and flavours on both tiers her enthusiasm and passion for what she does was clearly evident. I knew before we even tasted the cake that it was going to be something special. We had travelled over from the UK so we didn’t have time to do a cake tasting before hand, Gigi was specifically picked by our amazing wedding planner Shane Canada at Bliss Wedding Design. I cannot put into words how amazing our cake tasted, absolutely delicious, everything about it was truly divine. Any cake my husband now has he is always disappointed as he compares it to our wedding cake and says “Nowhere near as nice as Gigi’s cake”. If you are looking for a great wedding cake then look no further Ghiselani Designer Wedding Cakes is the place to go. Thanks again Gigi for being part of our day and creating a such a wonderful cake.

    Our flavours were as follows:
    Top tier cake:
    Strawberry cake filled with fresh Kula Strawberries in cream and frosted with a Vanilla classic Buttercream. (Made with Hawaiian Vanilla pod seeds)
    Base cake: Chocolate Fudge Cake filled with Chocolate Mousse Grand Marnier liquor and frosted with a Bavarian Buttercream.

  • T

    TIANA · Married on 11/15/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing lady and super tasty cake! All my guests were raving about the cake and how it was so delicious!!! I wish we had leftovers, so I could have had a piece the next day, but it was all gone. Let her recommend her specialty cake flavor as it is just that. Also, she went out of her way to deliver the cake to the airport during my 2 hour layover...a brides savior!! Thank you Gigi!

  • Gwen

    Gwen · Married on 01/13/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ghiselani is a unbeatable cake maker. All of my contact with Ghiselani was via email. I do not live on Maui. I ordered, confirmed and paid for my cake online. When I arrived on Maui Ghiselani contacted me to confirm time location etc. Ghiselani delivered my cakes personally and I have to say the best tasting cake ever. I wanted the inside to be lime green and black to match my colors and the cake exceeded my expectations.

  • Gregory

    Gregory · Married on 03/24/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Gigi made the entire process of selecting our cake into a memorable and wonderful event.

    We had the benefit of doing a pre-wedding trip to Maui before our wedding and looked at a few different bakers. BUT - once we met Gigi it was super easy to pick her.

    When you start planning your wedding and get to the details of the cake, you want the best and Gigi is the best. She made the tasting process and event that I will remember my whole life. She had us taste multiple cakes and frostings and we got to design our just perfect cake.

    At our wedding, the arrival and presentation of the cake was mentioned by many guests as a highlight of the event. Even better was the raves from our guests who loved the cake!

  • User5641387 ·

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ghiselani made a wedding cake for my sister's wedding. The groom asked for a dairy free millenium falcon cake, so my sister had me handle it. (She didn't know what the millenium falcon was). The cake was amazing, and looked like the millenium falcon. The leftovers from the cake were still amazing three days later. She also made cup cakes for the wedding in various tropical flavors. They were very good as well.

    Sent on 11/24/2015

    Ghiselani Designer Wedding Cakes's reply:

    Mahalo for your review! It has been an honor to work for you and your family. We appreciate your time as well as your comments. I look forward to your Maui return. Warmest Regards, GiGi Ghiselani Designer Wedding Cakes
  • User3366288 · 2+ years ago

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cake tasting was so much fun! She is extremely creative and very personable! She has props to help you design and see the cake you want to build. The cake tasted amazing; especially since there are endless flavors you could mix and match from. The details outside of the cake were exquisite, detailed, and extravagant. The cake itself wasn’t very impressive and lacked the awe factor, but the details outside around the cake made up for it. We set aside a fairly large budget for an extravagant cake, but the cake itself only had different colors of butter cream on it. Gigi was great to work with. My husband and I gave her ideas of what we wanted and her creativity took it from there. Overall we were very pleased and happy with our cake.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review