Skip to main content
Weddings

Gettysburg Hotel, Est. 1797 Reviews

Gettysburg Hotel, Est. 1797

Gettysburg Hotel, Est. 1797

Gettysburg, PA
4.7 out of 5 rating, 240 Reviews
View more information

240 Reviews

Rated
4.7
out of 5.0
Recommended by 94% of couples
  • Quality of service
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.7 out of 5 rating

Awards

  • 240
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2009 Winner

85 User photos

  • A
    April S. Married on 06/22/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Smooth and beautiful

    Megan with Gettysburg hotel made our planning process for our wedding day smooth and easy! Any questions we had, she could answer quickly and accurately. Our wedding turned out so beautifully!
  • Wendy
    Wendy M. Married on 06/18/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful Wedding Venue

    Highly recommend The Gettysburg Hotel for your wedding venue! Megan and Alaina were SO helpful and easy to communicate with! They also did such a beautiful job of arranging all of the decorations we brought. All of the food was also delicious. Thank you!!

    Gettysburg Hotel, Est. 1797's reply:

    Thank you so much for your kind words. Congratulations on your wedding and thank you for choosing the Gettysburg Hotel to host the special occasion.
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • B
    Blair T. Married on 10/23/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Gettysburg Hotel Review

    We highly recommend the Gettysburg Hotel as a wedding venue. The venue itself is beautiful , which for us was great, as we wanted to minimize decor costs. You also can't beat the location, as it's centrally located and within walking distance to lots of shops, restaurants, the battlefield etc. We also can't speak highly enough of the events manger and her staff. She kept us on track, was always available for question, and really made the planning process as seamless as it could be! With the exception of a few things ( flowers, DJ, Photographer), everything was included in the costs which also made planning that much easier.
  • H
    Hannah R. Married on 09/18/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The Gettysburg Hotel was the BEST wedding venue EVER!!!

    The Gettysburg Hotel was the absolute best venue we could have picked! The venue is beautiful and offers so many great locations for pictures! Everything is in one location: ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception. Megan is so amazing to work with she made the entire planning process so seamless, answered all the questions that I had and is SO GOOD at her job. They have so many things already onsite it made planning so easy! They have a ton of local places they parter with such as DJs, photographers, cake bakers it really was a no brainer when deciding to choose The Gettysburg Hotel. If you're looking for a beautiful venue that takes so much stress off of the planning process for you this is the place for you. I can't say enough good words about our experience there and would advise any couple looking for the perfect venue to book their wedding with The Gettysburg Hotel
  • S
    Sheila R. Married on 09/18/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Personalized with great suggestions and flexibility!!

    Every expectation was met… Megan went up and beyond anything she had to do to make it the best day ever for The kids!! Top notch! I would highly recommend for anyone wanting elegant simplicity and an amazing day to remember!!
  • Laura
    Laura L. Married on 08/08/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Megan Wherley

    We had our rehearsal, wedding and reception at the Gettysburg hotel and everything went smoothly. The staff was outstanding. I if you are interested in having a wedding or other occasion please call event manger Megan Wherley she was with us from beginning all the way to the end.

    You won’t be disappointed should you choose this venue.
  • C
    Courtney C. Married on 07/10/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Gettysburg Hotel is Amazing!

    When we toured the Gettysburg hotel, we knew right away that it would be perfect for our wedding day and let me tell you the staff at the hotel made the day go so seamlessly and I couldn’t have imagined a better wedding day! Highly recommend.
  • Laura
    Laura L. Married on 07/03/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing Venue & Wedding Coodinator - Megan Wherley

    We had our daughter's wedding at the Gettysburg Hotel in the Grand Ballroom over the summer of 2021. Megan Wherley, the wedding coordinator, was amazing from start to finish. As mother of the bride, with a daughter out of state, Megan went above and beyond to answer all of our questions via zoom, phone, email or text messaging. Add a pandemic into the mix, she still helped to make a 2020 wedding, moved to 2021 due to the pandemic run smoothly. The staff, food, and overall organization of the entire event was flawless. Thank you to Megan and the Gettysburg Hotel for giving our families memories to last a lifetime.
  • Danielle
    Danielle D. Married on 07/02/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing and highly recommend

    Do you want a one stop shop with an amazing wedding coordinator? Then look no further. At first, I wasn't sure that I totally loved the Hotel as our venue, but the more we looked at different places and talked to different people, I fell in love. Megan was absolutely amazing and one of the main reasons we decided to book the Gettysburg Hotel. She answered all of my questions in a timely manner, was so professional and nice, and took so much stress out of the equation for us. The day of our wedding, we didn't have to set up a thing. She took our decorations and brought my vision to life. Compared to other venues, the hotel had the most bang for our buck. The food was absolutely delicious. We have received so many compliments about our wedding and all of the guests loved that they were downtown and had several options for dining and shopping over the weekend.
  • T
    Tim Married on 10/24/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    What a wonderful destination-wedding option!

    Wonderful first impression! Megan and the rest of the hotel staff have been very attentive, friendly, and professional, thus far! We're still early in our planning process, but so far we're extremely impressed and happy we chose to have our wedding at Gettysburg Hotel!

    Gettysburg Hotel, Est. 1797's reply:

    Tim, we are so happy that you're planning your destination wedding day with us and are glad you've enjoyed the experience thus far! Thanks for being a gem of a couple!
    -Megan
  • K.C.
    K.c. T. Married on 09/09/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect Venue!

    If you are thinking about booking this venue- do it! We had the most amazing wedding! Megan and her team did an phenomenal job. I have so many pros about this location such as
    1. It is right in the middle of town. Easy location for guest to find
    2. You can get married in the hotel or at the train station
    3. Apart of our package was having the honeymoon suite which was 100% more helpful then we thought it would be.
    4. Megan always helped me and answered all of my questions
    5. The team was very dedicated and set up everything the way we imagined it
    I would not have changed anything about our wedding and I am SO happy I booked our venue with the Gettysburg Hotel. Thank you for giving us the most wonderful day we could have ever asked for!
  • Kristi
    Kristi Married on 12/20/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Christmas wedding made amazing

    Megan and her team at the Hotel are fabulous!!! We had our ceremony and reception in the same room and they absolutely transformed the ballroom into something spectacular. Our guests said it was the best and most perfect wedding they have ever been to. Guests did not want to leave when it was over. We booked 14 guest rooms and reserved a room for a breakfast buffet the next day. Our wedding has literally been the talk around town and the talk among our friends. Everything stayed on point and made the night go by very quickly. The team at the Gettysburg Hotel will not disappoint you!!! Book your wedding there!!
  • Adrianna
    Adrianna Married on 09/28/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect Venue

    Everything at the hotel was perfect. The staff for weddings is phenomenal. They really know how to host a great wedding! They set up everything for us so all we had to worry about was bringing all the decorations and enjoying the weekend! The food was excellent, the atmosphere is beautiful, and our guests keep raving about our wedding. The hotel was the only venue we looked at during the planning process because the attention to detail (i won't spoil the little touches they provide when you tour) was so amazing, we didn't want to be disappointed with any other venue. Megan is truly an asset to the hotel and I hope they realize what a wonderful person they have coordinating and planning their wedding events. Casey, the banquet manager, is also so wonderful and kind.
  • P
    Paige Married on 06/28/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Professional, Polite, Perfect

    The Gettysburg Hotel was an amazing place for us to have our wedding. The staff was super friendly and accommodating. All requests we put in, were answered. Megan made sure everything went smoothly and listened to what we said we wanted. The food was wonderful too.
  • Brigette
    Brigette A. Married on 06/15/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Experience was Above and Beyond

    I would absolutely recommend the Gettysburg Hotel as a wedding venue. Their customer service and the experience they provide their couples is above and beyond any other venue we looked at. We worked with Megan at the Hotel and she made sure every aspect of our bid day ran smoothly. From decorating to managing the day-of logistics, she was incredibly helpful. She went above the call of duty and even helped me fix my dress when the bustle broke. The Hotel gives you the best experience on your wedding day, one where you don't have to worry about anything but enjoying and celebrating the moment.
  • A
    Ashley C. Married on 06/08/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Experience of a lifetime

    My husband and I had the most spectacular and stress-free wedding day at the Gettysburg Hotel. It all started with the amazing professionalism and organizational skills from Megan Wherley. Starting early on in the planning process, she was so attentive to details and so helpful with any and all questions I had regarding the day. Megan and her staff were so easy to work with, so it made my job that much easier. I knew if Megan said she was going to take care of something, it would get done efficiently.

    Megan was very in tune with my vision (which, by the way, was not very detailed) and she hit the nail on the head with the decor even with the little information I gave her. If you're unsure, just tell Megan to use her best judgement! It was also so helpful not to have to worry about my decor; I dropped it off the day before and it was all set up and taken down by the staff and organized for me to easily pack in my car the day after the wedding.

    The wedding day itself was perfect. Megan helped coordinate our ceremony at the Train Station and made sure everything ran organized, smoothly and on time.

    The dinner options were spectacular. The chef was also able to accommodate my guest with a food allergy. I remember looking at the food on the buffet table and knowing that my guests would not leave hungry! We used Jennifer from Main Street Sweets for our cupcakes and they were DELICIOUS! The details on the cupcakes were exactly what we had hoped for and our guests couldn't give enough compliments about the flavors.

    Megan and her staff were so attentive to not only mine and my husband's needs during the reception, but also made sure our families and guests got the royal treatment as well. All of our guests complimented on the politeness and service of the staff during dinner and the reception.

    At the end of the night, there were nice treats in our room to welcome us in for the evening, along with any presents that we received that night.

    I cannot write enough about how amazing our ENTIRE experience was with the Gettysburg Hotel. It was truly a day that will NEVER be forgotten by us or our families and guests. I'd go through the wedding planning process and get married all over again!! Don't hesitate to contact Megan to enjoy the same great service!
  • M
    Meighan P. Married on 05/26/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A truly unforgettable wedding

    I knew that I wanted to get married in a Gettysburg, but my husband needed a bit of coaxing. That’s what I told Megan when I met her in May of 2018 to tour the venue while I was out there for work, and to my shock she was more than understanding. We had been to Gettysburg a few times before for weekend vacations with my family and loved the area, but he was stuck on getting married in our home state of CT to accommodate more friends and family. After a few months of looking at venues near us, I finally convinced him to come and check out The Gettysburg Hotel and meet Megan with me on a Sunday and instantly he was hooked. Not only is the space perfect for a couple of history nerds like us, but Megan truly set us both at ease that day when we bombarded her with tons of questions and she had every answer. And it was nothing short of that for the next 10 months leading up to our wedding, especially not being local to the area and working with her to plan it from afar. Everything was done through email which was fantastic, and she juggled numerous silly questions and countless redundant emails from the both of us-ultimately leading to the absolutely perfect day in May for us to say I Do. If you are a newly engaged couple looking to have a memorable wedding experience I mean it when I say look no further than The Gettysburg Hotel. The value for the amount we paid was incomparable, the entire staff was so accommodating, the venue was incredibly amazing, the vendors they work with are truly wonderful, but it is really Megan who is a true star. Also, if you can, opt to have your ceremony on the historic train platform right behind the hotel, and get the ice cream bar for dessert- our guests are STILL raving over it!
  • Mpasick3
    Mpasick3@Yahoo.com Married on 05/26/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing Experience

    Having a destination wedding, my biggest concern was how difficult it would be to plan everything from five hours away. Megan Wherley and the team at the Gettysburg Hotel quickly put my mind at ease. They could not have made the process easier! The communication with Megan was timely and thorough. She was dedicated to making sure our day was special and flawless. Not only did she work with us well, she built relationships with our vendors to ensure everything and everyone was where it needed to be. The venue itself was fantastic. We loved the historic element of the train station and reception hall (an old bank that still has the vault in the back). It made for some excellent pictures. Additionally, the building was well maintained and the hotel rooms were very comfortable. Honestly, I could not think of one thing we would have changed. Thanks to Megan, our wedding day was truly the best day of our lives.
  • M
    Melissa G. Married on 05/18/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful Intimate Brunch Reception

    We had a small (approximately 40 guest) brunch reception at the Gettysburg Hotel in May 2019. The Hotel was able to accommodate our wedding on very short notice (about 3 months!) and bent over backwards to make our day as spectacular as it could be. From start to finish, every detail was attended to, from the napkin fold to the dismissal of guests to the brunch buffet. The Gettysburg Hotel is also extremely attentive to guests with food allergies or special diets, such as vegetarians. Megan, the Catering and Events Manager, was AMAZING! About a month before our wedding, they held a tasting for weddings and each bride-to-be went home with a door prize and had the ability to sample the different menu options. Megan handled everything for us and was so accommodating of all of our wishes. Since we had to leave immediately from the reception, the Hotel helped us to pack up our gifts and sent us away with some treats for the road. Overall, the Ballroom Venue was stunning, the Vault in the Ballroom was a hit, the food was AMAZING, and the staff were incredible. We could not have been happier with our day and our family members still keep raving to us that "That was the BEST wedding we have ever attended!"
  • K
    Kelsey Y. Married on 05/03/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wonderful and Helpful

    My husband and I had a perfect wedding, stress free wedding day. I contribute this to Megan and her staff at The Gettysburg Hotel. When my husband and I started touring venues, we decided to visit the Gettysburg Hotel as a higher scale, upper end choice. Quickly my husband fell in love with the venue. The historical ballroom, the vault and location. I appreciated all the extras that the hotel offered with their package. I travel for my work and I knew that would cut into planning time. The hotel took care of a lot of the planning, the set-up, the tear down and clean up; for not just me and my husband but our wedding party and our families as well. We met with Megan about a month before the event to discuss our vision for the wedding, show her some of our decorations and talk about the timeline of the day. After we dropped off our décor to the venue prior to the event, I did not have to worry about a thing concerning the venue until the next day. Megan was so in tune with our vision that when we saw the decorations it was obvious she put as much thought and care into my wedding as we had. What really sold us on the Gettysburg Hotel was one of the tastings we went to. The food was amazing at the wedding. We had chef create a pesto potato that our guests were running around trying to see who had not eaten theirs yet! The Hotel works with two bakers and gives their wedding couples a cake stipend. We worked with Jennifer at Main Street Sweets. Her cupcakes were delightful! She allowed us 4 different cupcakes, a cake to cut, an anniversary cake, and a few gluten free cupcakes for my guests with that restriction. At the end of the night we had a bottle of champagne, two flutes and some fruit and our deserts waiting for us up in our room. This review cannot even begin to touch the gratitude I feel. My wedding was nothing short than wonderful. If you want the same, make an appointment and go talk to Megan.
  • R
    Rashell Married on 03/30/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Couldn't have asked for a better venue!

    I fell in love with the venue and knew it was where I wanted to get married, but working with Megan made everything better! Gettysburg Hotel helps you every step of the way while planning your wedding with multiple food tasting opportunities, showing what the table settings might look like, and walking through everything with you so there's no stress. My guests all loved the place and everything was perfect!
  • K
    Kelly B. Married on 01/20/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    It was a great experience and everything came together with ease on the big day.

    It was a great experience and everything came together with ease on the big day.
  • M
    Monica E. Married on 12/29/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Simply outstanding!

    Our experience using the Gettysburg Hotel was simply outstanding. From the initial stages of the process all the way to the actual wedding day, everything was done with excellence and in a timely manner. Megan was very responsive and super attentive to our needs and preferences. The Gettysburg Hotel is sure the way to go!
  • R
    Reagan G. Married on 12/28/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Spectacular

    My Christmas wedding was a dream come true at the beautiful and historical Gettysburg Hotel.
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message