FoodE Reviews

15 | Fredericksburg, VA
See photos, pricing and details

15 Reviews for FoodE

Recommended by 91%

15

4.5 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.5
  • Professionalism 4.5
  • Flexibility 4.7
  • Value 4.5
  • Average response time 4.5
Sort by:
  • N

    Nancy · Married on 08/26/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Foode was awesome and the perfect caterer for our daughter's wedding! We worked with Beth, one of the co-owners, to come up with a true southern family style dinner and cocktail hour for our guests! The food was amazing and the staff, complete with Joy, co-owner and chef, were the best and beyond what we had dreamed of for this special day! Each dish they came up with was so incredibly delicious and amazing! They were a dream to work with and so appreciative for letting us be the caterer for the wedding! A true Fredericksburg gem!

    Sent on 09/05/2017
  • E

    Emily · Married on 04/21/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beth was truly a godsend for me. She was one of the first vendors I contracted with, and she was so much more than a caterer. Beth helped me find a venue, made countless other recommendations, graciously went over many menu revisions, and met me at the venue beforehand to make sure everything would run smoothly. They really went above and beyond to help. We ordered doughnuts from a local bakery, and Beth and her team graciously set them out for us. We provided everything for the bar, and Lindsay, one of the managers, told us to drop all our limes & lemons at the restaurant and that they would take care of cutting them up, so we wouldn't have to. Both of these services were non related to their business, but they graciously provided them free of charge.

    On the day of, she was extremely calm and grounding, and made sure everything was perfect through the whole night. She made sure I had her cell phone number, and even stepped out of a business meeting to answer some last minute questions I had. All of our food was DELICIOUS! I've heard a lot of people complain about their caterers not providing enough food--we had so much food at the end of the night that was packed up for us, that we actually had an impromptu after party in our hotel lobby and fed everyone there as well!

    That morning, I went to Foode for a quick brunch with my bridesmaids. Beth called over to the restaurant and told the staff to give me a Bloody Mary on the house, which was SO sweet! Just another way in which they go went above and beyond to make the experience perfect! PSA to locals--they are the BEST bloodies you will ever have!

    Sent on 05/02/2017
  • M

    Meg · Married on 02/19/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beth and Joy were our go to for our wedding day catering. They were efficient and courteous, and a joy to work with. Our first date was at Foode, and my husband took me there the night that he proposed. There was no other caterer we could even think of going with, and we were so blessed to have them on our team!

    Sent on 06/04/2017
  • A

    Ashley · Married on 12/17/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Simply outstanding.

    Beth was fantastic to work with, from start to finish. She was organized and detail-oriented, responsive to our many questions and requests throughout the process. Beth and Joy embraced our vision of food stations and helped us navigate through the potential pitfalls to create an evening reception that was fluid and lively, but in which guests got lots to eat.

    Joy's food is, obviously, amazing. We've been fans for years and it was so great to be able to share FOODE with our friends and family from out of town, and to highlight Joy's talent!

    We also coordinated bartenders through Beth, and are so glad we did! I cannot say enough good things about Beth and the team she brought together to execute our vision.

    And in terms of flexibility, we could not have asked for more. We had an issue with our rehearsal dinner venue at the last minute and so approached Beth about their space Mercantile. We were lucky that it was available for the Friday Rehearsal, and did some 11th hour planning to pull off a very cool rehearsal dinner. Beth made the whole thing feel effortless and the effect for our family and friends was seamless.

    Sent on 01/16/2017
  • D

    Diana · Married on 10/24/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Foode is my favorite restaurant - once my husband and I decided we would hire a caterer for our wedding, I immediately thought of Foode and was extremely excited once I knew they would be available for our wedding! The southern menu was perfect for our intimate wedding! Beth is one of the friendliest people I know and Mark, the chef for the night, blew us all away with the delicious dishes! The duo went above and beyond taking care of our guests. They really helped make our wedding feel very special.

    Sent on 12/02/2015
  • M

    Michelle · Married on 05/31/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When we started looking for someone to cater our daughter's wedding, we didn't have to look to long or too hard. We have eaten at Foode and knew their style of cooking and their professionalism would not only meet our needs, but exceed them. And we were not wrong. Both Beth and Joy created a wonderful meal for our event that left people talking for days. They spent time working with our daughter and new son-in-law to create a meal that met all dietary concerns and tastes. The day of the wedding, we don't think anyone worked as hard as they did to make sure we had wanted we needed and that everyone was happy.

    Thank you to Beth and Joy for making this a very special day for our daughter. We would have no problem in recommending them for any event!

    Sent on 06/04/2015
  • C

    Carol · Married on 07/19/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We died and went to heaven when we found the owners of foode of Fredericksburg! We had short time to plan (11 weeks from the weekend we booked the venue), so local caterers to Orange VA were not available. I asked one of them to recommend his favorite and he said "hands down, foode of Fredericksburg". They gave us picture perfect and melt in your mouth good food we were proud to present to our guests--many "know food" for a day job in NYC and Charleston SC and DC food/beverage/hotel industries. Others, like us, just know when they've had quality food experience served simply and expertly prepared without fuss. Their mission is to buy local and make the most of their region in all they do. That was our goal: good old,Summer time fresh, picnic buffet. It could not have been better and more easily planned and executed. Thank you, foode! We will recommend you to everyone who wants to be proud and happy about the meals they present to their guests.

    Sent on 08/04/2014
  • User3335351 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Foode is, hands down, my most favorite place to eat so I was super excited when I found out they could cater my wedding. It was a pleasure dealing with them because you could really pick exactly what you wanted to have. They gave you a list of options to pick from and if there was something else you wanted that was not on the list, they would just add it for you. Also, since we had a bunch of left over food it was really nice that Foode let us take it all home! So it doesn't matter if people who originally said they are going to come to the wedding, do not show up since you will get to eat their share later. All my guests said it was the best wedding food they have ever had and it really was the best I have had as well. I would also like to point out that the staff (bartenders, servers, etc) were all super amazing and so friendly. I would definitely recommend Foode to anyone getting married or not getting married. They are amazing.

    Sent on 05/19/2014
  • M

    Monica · Married on 07/13/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    FoodE is my husband's favorite restaurant (he has a friend who used to work there), and when we found out that they did catering we were pretty much set on using them because we knew they'd be amazing. Even with our high expectations, they went above and beyond our ideas. Who knew that hamburgers could be that classy?

    Sent on 10/01/2013
  • User5410066 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Beth and her team at Foode were the foundation of our wedding. We held our rehearsal dinner at Mercantile, and they also catered our wedding. They worked within our budget, provided absolutely fantastic food, and ensured that we were completely satisfied with each aspect of these events. Beth was also incredibly responsive and so unbelievably kind in helping us plan our event and ensure it ran smoothly. Our family members have consistently said that our wedding was one of the best they have ever attended, and we attribute much of that to Beth and her staff.

    Sent on 07/01/2016
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 09/28/2013

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everyone at my wedding commented on how amazing the food was! We were able to pick from great selections, and you can tell Foode only uses the freshest, local, ingredients. They were timely in their responses to us, and were able to answer all the questions we had thoroughly (and we had a lot!).

    Sent on 10/01/2013
  • K

    Karen · event on 09/12/2014

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    My daughter and her friends had a great time in the private room. they said the food was good and they enjoyed their server. I had one problem and Beth took care of it right away. Thank you for a great evening for the girls.

    Sent on 09/14/2014
  • User2368618 · 2+ years ago

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    As they are a growing business we did on occasion have trouble getting them to respond in a timely manner, but in the end I was absolutely blown away by the quality of the food and the service we received at our reception. They made the event completely enjoyable for me because they took care of everything and people raved about it for months afterward. I would say that was a success in my book. Plus, Joy is just an awesome person and chef.

    Sent on 05/16/2013
  • User6354701 · 2+ years ago

    3.6
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    We worked with FoodE via our wedding planner, but I was really happy with how flexible FoodE was during the planning phases. We were able to supply our own wine and liquor, dinner was buffet-style, they prepared a vegan dish for me and my now-husband even though we had chosen chicken as the protein for our guests, and we were able to swap out the speciality drinks from the package we chose for bread and salad instead. On the day of, everything was well-organized, they came to find me and my husband to feed us appetizers while we were having our photos taken, they looked sharp, and they were friendly. The food itself was pretty good, though I think we didn't at all get our value as far as the protein in the main course. We assumed that "citrus chicken" would be a breast (our fault, I guess), but we learned from our guests that all that was being served were wings and thighs. That was disappointing for sure as several guests complained to us about it, and we spent a ton of money. FoodE also provided the cupcakes and our cake, though, and both were amazing. Our cake was vegan, and they provided a great mix of flavors for our cupcakes, including a mix of vegan and regular. They were a real hit with our guests. I'd still recommend FoodE, but my advice would be to get more details on the menu.

    Sent on 07/09/2016
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 10/05/2014

    0.2
    • Quality of service:
      0.0
    • Responsiveness:
      0.5
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      0.0
    • Professionalism:
      0.0

    My wedding was October 5th. I met with FOODE in March and decided to have them as our caterer. I was supposed to have a proposal from them within 2 weeks. I received nothing. I constantly contacted them only to have minimal response saying the Chef was busy but would get to me soon. Almost 2 months go by and I still had not heard a thing from them despite me calling and emailing many times. I had heard they are pretty notorious for this so decided to go with another caterer. I am very disappointed with them, but am happy with the other caterer I found. I am going to guess I got lost in the mix with them because I never heard from them. How sad, they seemed like they would have been great to work with. Hopefully they pull it together and this won't happen to anyone else. I would not recommend them.

    Sent on 10/18/2014

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review