Flax Studios Reviews

26 | South Thomaston, ME
See photos, pricing and details

26 Reviews for Flax Studios

Recommended by 100%

26
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

29 User photos

Flax Studios 1
Flax Studios 2
Flax Studios 3
Flax Studios 4
Flax Studios 5
Flax Studios 6
Flax Studios 7
+ 23
Sort by:
  • K

    Kathleen · Married on 10/02/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Captured our Love Story

    We are absolutely thrilled with our wedding pictures from James! There are so many wonderful pictures to choose from (and I honestly can’t believe how good he made me look!). The pictures are artful, creative, playful, and I believe he truly captured our love story. I could tell there was something distinctive about James’ work when I was doing my research – his work is special. I am so very glad he was available for our wedding. He was such fun to work with, and he gave us the most beautiful photos to remember such a remarkable day. Thank you, James!

    Sent on 12/24/2018
  • A

    Audrey · Married on 08/04/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Flax studios is the only photography company you need to consider for your wedding day

    Flax studios is the only photography company you need to consider for your wedding day. My wife and I had the pleasure of working with James for our August nuptials, and we were set at ease with his approach and overall care that he took to make our day special. He was able to communicate with us effectively his style of photography, and how the order of events was going to play out, and he made it seamless. There are so many photos of candid moments from our family and friends and we still continue to look at to this day, and we are continually elated with the results. He was able to make use of our venue to create moments that we may not have otherwise thought of, and those areas we did have in mind, he blew our expectations out of the water, and was able to capture those scenes better than we could imagine. He has a laid back but professional approach, confident in his ability to take pictures. James makes his subjects look and feel a level of comfort, we don’t think that any other photographer could replicate to his standards. His level of detail, artistic reach, and ability to see what others are not, is beyond anything we could have dreamed of. James Fleischbert and his studio are the only photography company that you should consider for your wedding or special occasion. You will not be disappointed.

    Sent on 01/21/2019
  • D

    Danielle May · Married on 11/11/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    So grateful we found James!

    We can't possibly say enough about how wonderful James was to work with, both leading up to our wedding and on the big day. We had some sensitive family situations to work through, but James had the perfect solution to everything. He made everyone feel so comfortable and really listened to the things we were most excited about to make sure he captured those moments. We will cherish our wedding photos forever and feel so fortunate to have had the chance to work with him. Thanks James!

    Sent on 01/16/2019
    Flax Studios 8
  • Abigail

    Abigail · Married on 10/28/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best Person for the Job

    James was the perfect person to photograph our wedding. All of his photographs were beautiful, and he never pulled us away from our party. He was able to capture us enjoying every moment of the day. James always listened to what we wanted and had recommendations to make things run smoothly.

    Sent on 01/14/2019
    Flax Studios 9
    Flax Studios 10
    Flax Studios 11
    Flax Studios 12
    Flax Studios 13
  • H

    Heather Quintal · Married on 09/09/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    authentic & timeless - HIGHLY recommend!

    James was EXCELLENT from start to finish he produced pictures that were authentic and real - from candids to formals and his eye for lighting is impeccable! His standards are high so his quality is incomparable. His photos are stunning. We chose James because we loved his work (specifically his night sky photos - so cool - granted you can’t always get them especially if it’s a full moon!) and he wasn’t like every other wedding photographer!! He didn’t have the cheesy, staged wedding photos he had real, timeless photos that you’ll hang on your wall for a lifetime because they won’t go out of style. In our opinion, photos were the only thing you would have to really remember the day - and it’s a day that flys by so fast! We are so grateful to have worked with James and that we chose him to capture the Day!

    Sent on 12/14/2018
    Flax Studios 14
    Flax Studios 15
    Flax Studios 16
    Flax Studios 17
    Flax Studios 18
    Flax Studios 19
  • Hannah

    Hannah F · Married on 08/12/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    James is Excellent!

    If you need any significant event photographed in Maine, hire James with Flax Studios. He is the best you will find anywhere. James photographed my wedding in August of 2017 and I am still getting compliments on our photos to this day. James has an incredible eye for photography and the pictures you get from him are breathtaking. James has a talent for capturing the setting just as beautifully as the people, and that for us, was what set him apart from other photographers. We loved seeing the photos of our guests throughout the wedding, which he captured perfectly. If you want the best pictures, you have to hire the best people to do the photography. Flax studios is the best.

    Sent on 12/13/2018
    Flax Studios 20
    Flax Studios 21
    Flax Studios 22
  • Laura

    Laura · Married on 07/29/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    So happy to have found Flax Studios!

    We are so thrilled to have had James take our engagement photos and photograph our wedding day! We are absolutely in love with the photos! He did a beautiful job capturing the natural emotion and spirit of our special day. He made the planning process easy and rolled with our ideas. He is attentive to detail, timely and very responsive. His printing services are also top notch. The prints we ordered from him are of the best quality we have ever had printed. James is a true professional! We are so lucky to have found him. Thank you for everything, James!

    Sent on 12/03/2018
  • D

    David · Married on 07/02/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We hired James to photograph our wedding and it was one of the best decisions we made! James was incredibly professional, took amazing photos and above all was a pleasure to work with.

    James went above and beyond the call of duty when we arranged for him to photograph my soon-to-be wife and I on her father’s sail boat in Camden harbor. We marooned James, with all of his camera gear, on a boat dock floating in the harbor and cruised past him. Not only did James get some amazing shots, but one of them was featured in Real Maine Weddings magazine!

    The rest of the time we spent working with James was also a pleasure. James specializes in flash, nighttime and celestial photography with a photo journalist style. He captured a ton of incredible shots that showcased our wedding and all the the fun had by our guests. However, James also highlighted his skill as the artist that he is working with shallow depth of field, extreme wide angles, lens flares and composite shots that make for the ultimate ‘wedding under the stars’ pic!

    We unequivocally recommend James to anyone planning a wedding in mid-coast Maine and beyond. You will not be disappointed!

    Sent on 09/11/2018
    Flax Studios 23
    Flax Studios 24
    Flax Studios 25
    Flax Studios 26
  • Ashley

    Ashley Spears · Married on 05/12/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    An absolute must for quality photos that capture your special day

    James is hands-down the best wedding day photographer. My husband and I had a blast shooting with him and are more than pleased with our photos. James made us feel comfortable to be ourselves, which resulted in pictures that captured our personalities and love for one another perfectly. Going through the shots captured at our wedding and at blogs he has shared of other weddings he's done, it is clear that he puts great effort into creating breathtaking photos that are unique to each couple he works with.

    Sent on 12/12/2018
    Flax Studios 27
    Flax Studios 28
    Flax Studios 29
    Flax Studios 30
    Flax Studios 31
    Flax Studios 32
    Flax Studios 33
    Flax Studios 34
    Flax Studios 35
    Flax Studios 36
  • N

    Nathan · Married on 01/07/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    James was, in a word, fantastic! As a hobby photographer myself, I appreciated the PROFESSIONAL level of work that was delivered! James HAS the camera equipment and knowledge to use it! He provides such a high level of service that some may not even know how to appreciate it!

    Sent on 02/27/2017
  • R

    Rosalie · Married on 10/22/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It's hard to sum up just how terrific our experience was with James as our wedding photographer! Right from the start we could tell how organized James was by taking the time to walk through what the day might look like. This helped put us at ease, it also was very helpful that we met James ahead of time for our engagement photos! We can't say enough about how happy we are with the end results! The photos are incredible and we were SO lucky to work with someone as professional, fun, reliable, punctual, and down to earth as James! You can not go wrong booking with him, however you will go wrong if you don't book him! We would highly recommend him to anyone we know looking for a photographer to capture once in a lifetime memories.

    Sent on 01/02/2017
  • K

    Krista · Married on 10/01/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I cannot say enough about our wedding photographer James of Flax Studios! I had researched many photographers in the state and was immediately drawn to his style of photography, knowing I had to book him. Throughout planning our wedding, James was very organized and detail-oriented. He made time to talk over the phone to go over what visions I had, throw out ideas that I hadn't thought of, and help organize the formal pictures beforehand which was a big time saver. When our wedding day came, James was extremely professional, showing up on time and even capturing some of our last minute decorating moments before guests began to arrive. He was so much fun to work with and when our night ended, both my husband and I could not wait to see some of our photos! James took the time to capture not only the big moments of our day, but also the small, intimate moments. In looking through our photos, I was able to see many moments throughout our day that I wasn't able to witness while getting ready or later into the night. Our photography was one of the most important aspects for our wedding day for me, as these photos will hold our memories for years to come. We couldn't be happier with the outcome! Thank you James!

    Sent on 02/15/2017
  • E

    Emi · Married on 09/10/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    James was absolutely incredible to work with for our wedding. He was very flexible as far as the schedule for the day and really went above and beyond to get some amazing shots for our formals and bridal party. He also had a very laid back attitude that put both my husband and I at ease and I think really helped us to look comfortable in all of our photos! I would highly recommend him to anyone!

    Sent on 01/22/2017
  • J

    Jo · Married on 09/03/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    James did a phenomenal job capturing the simplicity and elegance of our wedding. We were blown away by the final results. All day long he was polite and professionally handling every situation. He worked with us months in advance to have everything setup just right and organized beforehand. My wife and I highly recommend him!

    Sent on 02/12/2017
  • J

    Justin & Kristi · Married on 07/23/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    You will not regret it! James did an amazing job and was so good to work with. If you're on the fence about hiring him, think no more. Just hire him and enjoy!

    Sent on 08/26/2016
  • T

    Travis · Married on 07/09/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    James did an excellent job as photographer of our 7/9/2016 wedding. He was eager to recommend staged shots, but was also able to blend in and capture the candid moments of our wedding and reception. Both before and after the event he was available for questions. A great photographer, who cares about his art, with a focus on customer service. I strongly recommend James for any of your photography needs.

    Sent on 08/26/2016
  • S

    Shaina · Married on 07/03/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We cannot say enough great things about working with James as our photographer. He was very responsive to emails and open to ideas. He was easy to work with on the wedding day, and made taking the photos fun and enjoyable. He has a great eye for artistic shots, and we couldn't be happier with our final product! I would recommend Flax Studios to anyone for their wedding day!

    Sent on 08/06/2016
  • M

    Mary · Married on 02/27/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I loved having James as our photographer! He was both professional and fun to work with, and we always trusted him to provide great quality photos. We got so many compliments on our photos! We also enjoyed getting to do an engagement photo session as part of our package. We would highly recommend Flax Studios to anyone!

    Sent on 04/14/2016
  • User5093169 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    James was amazing! He captured our day perfectly, and made it look easy. I would highly recommend Flax Studios to anyone looking for a quality, professional photographer.

    Sent on 04/13/2016
  • K

    Kaila · Married on 08/01/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband Andy and I had James for our August wedding in 2015. We couldn't have asked for a better photographer! He fit right in like we have known him for years. We would absolutely recommend him to anyone that asked!

    Sent on 04/13/2016
  • Amanda

    Amanda · Married on 06/13/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    James was a phenomenal photographer! We loved our wedding photos! For our recent one year anniversary I was able to make a nice collage for my husbands office as a gift and he loved the variety of photos James was able to catch. We were thoroughly impressed with the work James put in the day of the wedding. He ran around the church without being disruptive to the ceremony, would lay on the ground outside to get the optimal shot, and he was creative in finding unique spots to take some intimate photos of my husband and I. Our venue had an industrial looking space that was used for covered parking that James was able to capture some photos of us, I was skeptical how these would turn out but the contrast between my vintage inspired dress, my husbands tux, and the industrial venue made for some spectacular photos. He has an eye for beautiful photography. We would highly recommend James, he was a joy to work with and well worth the minor travel expenses we paid to get him from the coast to the Lewiston area! You won't go wrong choosing him!

    Sent on 06/15/2016
  • J

    Jody · Married on 06/12/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Book early, he's very good and very busy. James listens to what you want and uses his own creative genius to come up with some wonderful shots. I will be using him in the near future for some family photos.

    Sent on 04/13/2016
  • A

    Aaron · Married on 06/06/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    James was great and extremely helpful. Wonderful pictures

    Sent on 04/21/2016
  • L

    Lily · Married on 07/18/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    James was great! his photography was just a described in our personal meeting! Love him!

    Sent on 04/15/2016

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review