First Colony Inn Reviews

19 | Nags Head, NC
See photos, pricing and details

19 Reviews for First Colony Inn

Recommended by 98%

19
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.8

14 User photos

First Colony Inn 1
First Colony Inn 2
First Colony Inn 3
First Colony Inn 4
First Colony Inn 5
First Colony Inn 6
First Colony Inn 7
+ 8
Sort by:
  • Deirdre

    Deirdre Orem · Married on 06/04/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful Wedding Venue

    This was the perfect backdrop for our wedding – we wanted a beach ceremony with a tented lawn reception and despite the slightly chilly temps in early April, everything was gorgeous! The staff was wonderfully accommodating to our group and made sure everyone was well taken care of. Delicious hot breakfasts, large and comfortable rooms and the beautiful grounds just contributed to our amazing weekend. Hannah was so helpful throughout the planning process and keeping track of all our room reservations and guest counts. We went back and forth over email many times and Hannah’s responses were always quick and very informative. I’d highly recommend this as a wedding venue or even just for a weekend getaway!

    Sent on 04/20/2019

    First Colony Inn's reply:

    Thank you so much for your kind words, Deirdre! We are so glad you had such a memorable experience at First Colony Inn for your gorgeous wedding. Your tidy, respectful and FUN group was so great to have on the grounds to kick off our 2019 wedding season! Best wishes for a happy life as Mr & Mrs Hirt
  • P

    Paige Minka · Married on 11/03/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The incredible Staff

    An addition from my review below - First Colony Inn staff was one of the best parts of our wedding! Each and every person made our guests feel welcomed and right at home. Hannah was incredible! I could go on for hours, but she is the nicest person and very helpful with any questions I had. Her positive and easy-going attitude will make you feel calm and stress-free throughout the entire wedding process. Kanda, Joe and all of the ladies (some names are escaping me!) were also amazing! Our wedding guests that stayed at the Inn raved about the staff - they were so helpful, personable and kind. My Parents went on about Joe and the young lady who was there Sunday - Tuesday for weeks after the wedding! The location and beauty of FCI would certainly bring us back every year, but the staff sealed the deal. There is something to be said about people who treat you like friends/family during your stay!

    Sent on 01/21/2019

    First Colony Inn's reply:

    You are too kind, thank you so much! Our small staff is like a little family that loves the inn as much as our guests and we're so glad it shows.
  • K

    Keaten · Married on 09/30/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The First Colony Inn was everything we wanted in a venue. We were able to have friends and family stay at the Inn and use the grounds the entire weekend. Everything about it was perfect, and Hannah West (First Colony Inn’s event coordinator) was beyond helpful and accommodating!

    Sent on 10/23/2017

    First Colony Inn's reply:

    Keaten,
    Thank you so much for your kind words and taking time to write us a review! Your friends and family were such a wonderful group to work with and your event was just stunning. Congratulations, Mrs. Davis!
  • D

    Dianne · Married on 05/20/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our daughter's wedding at the First Colony Inn on May 20, 2017. We reserved the Inn for the weekend and filled it with family and wedding party. The wedding ceremony was on the front deck and the reception in a large tent provided by Ocean Atlantic Rentals. It was a magical weekend with family and friends and the best part is that we were all on site for the event! The accommodations were comfortable, breakfasts delicious, and staff was very accommodating. Highly recommend this event space for a destination wedding!!

    Sent on 06/17/2017

    First Colony Inn's reply:

    Thank you so much, Dianne. What a gorgeous wedding it was!
  • K

    Kriston · Married on 06/06/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    First Colony Inn was the perfect venue for my wedding! I have always loved the Outer Banks and even lived there for a period of time so when it came time to pick a place to get married there was no doubt that the Outer Banks was where it was going to take place! I fell in love with First Colony Inn several years ago when I saw it in a wedding magazine. After searching around the beach I decided to inquire about having my wedding there and sure enough the date was open and they could accommodate our huge guest list. The staff at the Inn are amazing and will do any and everything they can to make sure your day is perfect. Some will even go to Food Lion after the wedding and cook frozen pizzas for some guests who needed a late night snack. It was so nice to have my family and close friends all staying there for the weekend. The library is a perfect spot for the girls to get ready in. They have a private boardwalk that leads to the beach for an amazing beach wedding! The Inn is absolutely beautiful inside and out and makes the perfect destination wedding venue.

    Sent on 06/12/2015

    First Colony Inn's reply:

    Thank you so much for the review and for choosing the Historic First Colony Inn.
  • L

    Lynn · Married on 06/22/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    First Colony Inn catered to our every need. They were background present at all times. The venue was perfect for our daughter's destination wedding. Being able to have all of the wedding party in one location was key. Almost all of the wedding guest came to the First Colony Friday night after the rehearsal dinner to socialize and play corn hole; it was a great kick off to the weekend. Most of the wedding guest stayed on after the reception to keep the party going. The grounds and decking of the First Colony were perfect for a large group (we had 140 people).
    First Colony serves a delicious breakfast in the morning and in the afternoon serves wine, cheeses and dessert. They also decorated outside by the pool with colored banners and made the breakfast room very pretty - just as an added part of the charm of the Inn. The Inn was beautiful and we loved having the entire place filled with family, friends and the entire wedding party.

    Sent on 06/27/2013
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 06/08/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    First Colony Inn was the ideal reception location for our 220-person June wedding. Sarah Close and the staff at First Colony Inn were fabulous to work with during the entire wedding weekend, and jumped through hoops to accommodate our needs and the needs of all of our friends and family who stayed there. They made the jobs of our other vendors easy, and gave us every flexibility that we requested of them. The location could not have been better for a wedding at the beach: directly across the street from the ocean, directly across the highway from the sound, and views of both from the wrap-around balconies. The building is unique and historic; the rooms are comfortable and welcoming; the staff are patient and warm. I cannot recommend them highly enough and we are so grateful that we chose them for not only our wedding day but our entire wedding weekend.

    Sent on 06/21/2013
  • M

    Mary · Married on 05/05/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The First Colony Inn is a wonderful setting for a wedding. The staff was great to work. Our guests also enjoyed the Inn and many said they would love to return for a vacation.

    Sent on 06/21/2013
  • K

    Kimberly · Married on 07/08/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    First Colony Inn was so amazing! Our wedding took over the whole Inn for two nights, and the staff there was outstanding. Anything we needed from booking rooms, wine, breakfast, etc. they bent over backwards for us. They even put our wedding colors in the breakfast room and by the pool! I highly recommend First Colony Inn!

    Sent on 08/01/2011
  • A

    Ali · Married on 10/17/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This is the best inn in Nags Head, NC. They provided so much help to us and were so flexible when it began to rain just before our ceremony, that let us use the front porch of the inn. The rooms are bigger then you would expect for an inn, and it is more beautiful then any of the pictures can describe.

    Sent on 11/13/2009
  • E

    Erin · Married on 06/14/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The staff of the First Colony Inn were very accomodating to us and our guests. They were more than willing to help with anything we asked and went above and beyond in providing services. The location was absolutely beautiful and made for a beautiful wedding reception venue not to mention a wonderful wedding weekend altogether. I would recommend them again and again.

    Sent on 10/13/2008
  • C

    Courtney · Married on 03/24/2018

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wedding weekend

    I absolutely loved First Colony Inn. It was perfect for our rustic beach wedding and for accommodating all of our out of town family. We loved being with everyone for the weekend and not just our wedding day. It was also great having private access to the beach!

    Sent on 01/16/2019
    First Colony Inn 21

    First Colony Inn's reply:

    Thank you so much, Courtney. Your wedding in March was a great kick-off to our 2018 wedding season here on the Outer Banks. We hope you and your sweet family are having a happy new year!
  • F

    Fran · Married on 09/17/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We held our daughter's wedding at 1st Colony in September, 2016. The staff at the Inn could not have been more accommodating with any and all of our needs and requests. We held a "happy hour" on Friday evening as well as the main event on Saturday. Whatever and whenever we needed something the response was always the same, it's your Inn for the weekend! They accommodated special requests, extending their staff to help with clean-up and coordinating activities on the beach for the ceremony.
    We highly recommend the Inn and their staff. Both were exceptional for us and we're sure will meet your expectations.
    Fran and Carol
    New Jersey

    Sent on 05/11/2017
  • User5078677 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    We held a wedding on the beach in front on First Colony Inn. A large number of our guests stayed at the Inn that weekend. First Colony was very flexible and accommodating. In addition to the beach wedding, we held a welcome reception and cocktail hour on the back patio. Both were beautiful and just what we had hoped for. The staff did a great job. We had the reception at another venue, primarily to provide a backup location in case of inclement weather. The only real downside with using the Inn as a gathering place for a wedding weekend is that the Library and Breakfast Room are closed before 9pm, leaving only outdoors or individual rooms as after-hours gathering place. I would definitely reccomend this location. The rooms and grounds are beautiful and Kanda will go above and beyond to make arrangements for you and your guests.

    Sent on 11/02/2015
  • User5093353 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    First Colony Inn was the wedding venue we had been searching for! We searched up and down the Outer Banks and toured several venues. We were looking for something that our guests would remember and that would be quaint, classic, and charming. The Inn had it all! They require that you rent the entire Inn for the weekend of your wedding (Friday and Saturday night) but that was no problem because it gave us the chance to spend the weekend with our family and friends and we had the WHOLE place to ourselves! It poured Friday night before the wedding and we had originally planned an outdoor welcome reception for 60+ people and the Inn was so gracious to us and our guests when it was moved inside. They worked with the caterers and made sure that everything ran smoothly. The rooms are so cute and old fashioned looking, yet clean and upgraded where needed. The grounds are gorgeous and even though it rained the day before, the grass was luckily dry enough to have the ceremony on the South Lawn. Oh, and the breakfasts were GREAT! People are still talking about the breakfasts :) The only downfall is that they require a hefty rental fee for use of the lawn and then they make you rent restrooms! Like we are already paying for the entire Inn for the whole weekend, and there are 26 bathrooms there, but we have to dish out an additional $3,000+ for use of the lawn and to rent restrooms? But, of course, anything that has to do with a wedding is additional! That aside, they were GREAT and we can't wait to go back to celebrate our first anniversary there!!

    Sent on 05/19/2015
  • User2569168 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Such great hospitality and service. They made our stay and our day absolutely perfect! We even moved our small reception outside last minute!
    I highly recommend them and we will be going back in the future for vacay!

    Sent on 10/09/2013
  • K

    Katie · Married on 06/01/2013

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    First Colony Inn is an absolutely first rate destination venue for a wedding. We loved working with the staff and our guests loved the laid back yet full service vibe. We had lots of reservation changes in the months and weeks leading up to the wedding, but staff at the Inn were accommodating at every turn.

    The only reason for the 4 star score on Responsiveness is that when phone calls would roll over to the management office if Inn staff were busy with guests, confusion could ensue. Because our wedding weekend event contract booked the entire Inn, the management office sometimes told callers that the Inn was full and turned them away. If they had asked if the caller was part of the wedding party/family and put them through to the Inn staff who were handling our weekend reservations directly, that would not have been a problem. All that said, this would not deter me in the least from booking First Colony again...loved it!!!

    Bottom line, if you're looking for a fabulous coastal venue with lots of charm and attentive on-site staff, you can't go wrong at First Colony!!

    Sent on 06/20/2013
  • kathleen · Married on 09/21/2013

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    These people were extremely flexible and pleasing to work with! Very professional and pleasant, went above and beyond to accommodate our every desire!

    Sent on 10/03/2013

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review