Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa Reviews

16 | Sonoma, CA
See photos, pricing and details

16 Reviews for Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa

Recommended by 96%

16

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.7
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.7

3 User photos

Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa 1
Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa 2
Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa 3
Sort by:
  • Lindsey

    Lindsey · Married on 09/07/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wonderful and so excited to get married here!

    The staff has been so amazing and has made this experience so easy.

    Sent on 02/06/2019

    Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa's reply:

    Thanks Lindsey! We are so excited for your upcoming wedding!
  • Divya

    Divya · Married on 08/10/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best caterer in wine country!

    Hands down, Fairmont is the best caterer to go with for a wine country wedding. We received so many compliments on the quality of the food at our wedding. Our guests loved the creative appetizer (goat cheese flan) and the chicken dish (with amazing risotto) and vegetarian dish (Thai curry) received rave reviews. We did not have red meat at our wedding, but from our tasting, we know that ANY of the Fairmont food is delicious. We had guests tell us that our cake set the bar for all wedding cakes and they loved the surprise of a late night snack. During the planning process, every interaction we had with Fairmont was helpful, professional and so friendly - from Sasha who did our first tasting with us, to the chefs, and to Lisa who we primarily interacted with. We had a lot of different questions and requests and Lisa was always responsive and flexible with us. We had a special family recipe that we wanted to incorporate into our hor dourves, and Lisa worked with the chef to make sure we were able to serve it to guests on our wedding day. Lisa and the chef even went out of her way to let us do a special tasting of the family recipe prior to our wedding day. In addition, on the day of our wedding, we got ready at the Fairmont with our wedding party and did our first look on the property. The bridal suite was perfect for us to have many girls in one place getting hair & makeup done. The Fairmont property was a beautiful setting for our first look. We are so happy to have chosen Fairmont for our wedding day!

    Sent on 10/15/2019
  • Melissa

    Melissa Sanchez · Married on 06/08/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Highly recommended

    We were very happy with food and service. Our cake was stunning and good to eat. The food was excellent.
    We also stayed at the hotel and spa 2 nights. We were treated so well. Thank you Fairmont for our dream wedding.

    Sent on 06/11/2019
  • earias

    Elizabeth · Married on 12/23/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful venue for a wedding reception

    This is a stunning venue with impeccable service. I love that it combines rustic elegance together so that you feel comfortable while enjoying the finer things in life simultaneously. It is black tie without feeling stuffy. The staff were very accommodating to my vision and worked hard to make my wedding weekend one to remember!

    Sent on 12/27/2018
    Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa 4
    Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa 5
    Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa 6

    Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa's reply:

    Hi Elizabeth! It was so wonderful to see your review today!! You and Jim were amazing to work with. Your attention to detail and the small touches made the Sonoma Valley Room feel so cozy and elegant. I still talk about the fire pit with the great blankets you brought in. Happy Anniversary! - Sasha Talsky, Catering Sales Manager
  • D

    David · Married on 02/16/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The most beautiful wedding location you could image. If you get the chance to work with Katie DiStefano, you'll be in for a very pleasant experience.

    Sent on 04/08/2013
  • C

    christine · Married on 10/23/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our ceremony and reception here on October 23, 2010. First off, this site is absolutely beautiful, romantic and intimate. We were so excited to have an outdoor wedding in the beautiful fall weather. We were thrown for a loop and it POURED RAIN on our wedding day! The Sonoma Mission Inn (Catherine Merry and her employees) had to provide a last minute back up plan for our outdoor wedding. At the last minute, they were able to move everything indoors and still make the wedding absolutely beautiful and memorable. They also provided very nice and expensive umbrellas for all 150 of our guests to use during the wedding! So many things had to be changed the day of the wedding to fit the weather and the Sonoma Mission Inn did an amazing job executing it.

    Also, the wedding coordinator Catherine was just amazing. So responsive, polite and professional. The servers and bartenders at the reception were as incredible. The food was DELICIOUS!! And the pastry chef put together an absolutely stunning 5-tier cake. I would not have changed a thing!

    Sent on 02/16/2011
  • K

    Leigh · Married on 10/05/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a small outdoor wedding right on the Fairmont Sonoma property and it was absolutely perfect. We chose to to the elopement package for up to 10 guests. It was exactly what we had envisioned. We both wanted a short but sweet outdoor ceremony with our immediate family present. We had our champagne toast on the lawn and Dinner and Sante afterwards. The food was some of the best I've ever had. If we had to to it all again, we wouldn't change a thing!

    Sent on 05/23/2010
  • H

    Heather · Married on 09/04/2010

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had my wedding ceremony and reception at the Sonoma Golf Club this weekend and it was more amazing than we had anticipated. The location of our ceremony and cocktail hour was so beautiful that we didn't need to dress it up with large floral arrangements and rented linens. Guests were excited about the cocktail canapes and service, but were especially wowed during the dinner reception. The room was beautiful and the service was extremely professional. The staff paired our own wine with the food (just as we had requested) and were wonderful about staying in the background to allow guests to enjoy their food and conversations. I highly recommend this location for weddings as well as the preferred vendors they work with in the area.

    Sent on 09/07/2010
  • N

    Rose · Married on 05/09/2009

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our cocktail hour and reception here (Sonoma Valley Room) and it was just perfect! The service was fantastic, as was the food, and all the staff. Perfect, perfect day!

    Sent on 05/30/2009
  • C

    Christina K · Married on 08/24/2019

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great to work with

    We chose the Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa because we wanted something close to San Francisco but also really wanted a beautiful outdoor ceremony with great weather. The team at the Fairmont was beyond fantastic- particularly Lisa Hale and Sasha Talsky. They were super responsive and made sure that every detail was taken care of. We are so happy with how everything turned out and would definitely recommend the Fairmont Sonoma for a wedding.

    Sent on 09/03/2019
  • Christina

    Christina · Married on 05/26/2019

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful historic hotel!

    We stayed here for our wedding in a Vineyard Suite and the room also served as the getting ready room for the entire bridal party. It was a nice large room that was perfect for up to 8 people getting ready. The grounds are beautiful and there were a lot of places to take nice photos. The service was amazing and they greet you with glasses of champagne! Definitely a beautiful place to stay and the service is excellent!

    Sent on 05/31/2019

    Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa's reply:

    Christina,

    Thank you for this great feedback! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay! Congratulations on your wedding! We hope that you join us again soon!
  • Y

    Yuliya · Married on 02/24/2018

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding at Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn last Saturday went extremely well. We wanted to Thank both Erica Simonson, Director of Catering Sales, and Liz Schrader, Catering and Conference Services Manager, for their help in every step of the way: booking of the venue, arranging the hotel rooms for our guests, coordinating the rehearsal dinner with Sante restaurant, and for referring to us Fairmont preferred wedding planner, Jennifer Tan, Tan Weddings & Events. Without all of their engagement in planning and coordination of our "big day", and back & forth communication over the past four months, it would not have been possible for us to celebrate our joyful event with such success!

    As we came close to the wedding date, we had to make a few last minute changes (drop a guest from the block of room registered list of guests, add another guest to the hotel registered list of guests, add a few guests to the wedding dining list and drop a few other guests from the dining list). Liz was very understanding and flexible and she accommodated every single request that we made. Liz was wonderful to work with on the planning and execution of our wedding day events. In addition, she was thoughtful to bring the heat lamps for the outdoor reception. It made a big difference to our guests. We wanted to express our gratitude to Liz Schrader for her role.

    Sent on 02/26/2018
  • S

    Stephanie · Married on 10/21/2012

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We absolutely LOVED having our wedding at the Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn. Their catering manager Katie D was fantastic! They were willing to work with us to make our wedding the wedding of our dreams! We had our ceremony, cocktail hour and reception right on site and a number of our guests stayed there as well. Their honeymoon suite is AMAZING. Highly highly recommend!

    The food was phenomenal - they did gluten free wedding cake for me and it was soooo good!

    Sent on 11/20/2012
  • K

    Khe · Married on 05/09/2009

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I held my wedding at the Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn's Golf Club (The Sonoma Golf Club) and it was absolutely picturesque. The ceremony site has a beautiful oak tree for everyone to sit under, the cocktail hour was held in the courtyard reminiscent of Italian villas and the reception was held indoors in the Vintage hall with wrough-iron chandeliers and windows with a great view of the golf course.
    The service at the Fairmont is exceptional. We stayed at the Hotel for the weekend and they treated us like we were celebrities. The service at the wedding was even better. All of my guests complimented how organized everything was and you almost didn't notice them, but they were attentive and delivered on every request. The bartenders were fun and definitely gave healthy portions to our guests! Jill, my catering manager, was on top of everything. She gave us some amazing deals on the chiavari chairs, corkage fee and really dedicated herself to our wedding which I really appreciated.
    The food was outstanding. Multiple guests told me it was the best wedding food they ever had and that they would normally pay a lot of money at a regular restaurant for the food that we had. The only thing I would say was slightly negative was our cake. I had given a picture to the pastry chef months before but he ended up losing the picture and I had to explain what it looked like over the phone. The design wasn't what we had planned, but the flavor of the cake was great. I would consider going to a different cake vendor if I were to do it again.

    Sent on 06/05/2009
  • A

    Amanda · Married on 08/12/2010

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding at the Golf Club in the courtyard, the canape reception on the Lawn followed by the dinner on the back side of the Course under the arched patio.

    It was perfect.

    The food was phenomenal, all our guests loved it. The service was fantastic and overall Catherine was good to work with.

    We did have to continue to follow-up on requests we'd made as they weren't executed as quickly as we would've liked. We would make suggestions or comments and then find they had been ignored. They fixed most things, but there were many holes.

    The grounds were well maintained, the staff was friendly and our guests thoroughly enjoyed themselves.

    Sent on 09/13/2010
  • D

    David · Married on 09/09/2017

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    My wife specifically picked this venue due to the outdoor setting, if you're looking for a beautiful outdoor ceremony and dinner with your friends and family. This is the place to be! I'm going to be brutally honest here, when we first signed our contract for this venue, we were excited about planning our wedding. The issue we had during our planning was the catering manager changed multiple times (one getting fired and another having a family emergency). At first it was a huge headache, because we had to go back and forth with our plans and making sure nothing was being missed. Once they hired Sasha, she did her best to smooth out all the details. I'm sure it must have been very difficult for her to come in and keep everyone calm about their wedding planning. There were many things that were promised to us and she did her best to accommodate. I really appreciate that she helped out during our wedding day as well and made sure everything ran smoothly. All our guests LOVED the food here, the wedding food is AMAZING! The venue itself is beautiful and doesn't need the overboard decorations. It was a plus that we were able to have our dog Ellie during our ceremony. Enjoy the space, enjoy your wedding day. It goes by so fast, after the months and month of planning. It truly will be one of the best days of your life. I'll leave off by saying if the wedding planning started with the same manager, I'm sure this would have been even higher reviews, but I'm being fair here and still giving it a huge thumbs up!

    Sent on 06/20/2018

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review