Events by Sonya Reviews

18 | San Diego, CA
See photos, pricing and details

18 Reviews for Events by Sonya

Recommended by 100%

18
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0
Sort by:
  • S

    Sam · Married on 10/06/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sonya was great to work with!

    We used Sonya for partial planning and day of coordination. She was extremely organized and responsive. We didn’t live in San Diego, so we counted on Sonya to take care of a lot of things before the wedding for us. We relied on Sonya for recommendations of various other vendors and everyone she recommended ended up exceeding our expectations and were all reasonable in cost. Day of the wedding, Sonya had everything running extremely smoothly. I didn’t have to worry about any details day of the wedding. Numerous guests commented how well the event was being run, which was all thanks to Sonya. I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend her for anyone looking for a wedding planner or coordinator. Sonya was great!

  • R

    Randall · Married on 09/28/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sonya was so pivotal in the success of my wedding. I am definitely the Type A personality and mix that in with wedding planning can be the perfect storm. Not with Sonya, she is incredibly professional, organized, and follows up with all details. She consistently answers her emails, made sure we were on track, and give us tips on what to anticipate with her expertise. I found it hard to "let go" on the day of my wedding, but I knew I could trust Sonya to make my visions come alive. She put up all my DIY decorations as described and created beautiful spreads out of my welcome table and dessert table. During the actual wedding, I was not bothered by ANY logistical details. Sonya took care of everything and anything. If there was a question that she could not answer, she used my designated point person to answer the question. I was blissfully entertaining and dancing the whole night! Looking back, I can't believe how incredibly smooth my wedding went and it's a huge part in thanks to Sonya! Also, super reasonably priced for her services. There is so much unknown about planning a wedding, therefore it's so helpful to have someone with so much experience guiding you. Having a wedding coordinator is a must, and so is Sonya! Would recommend her over and over again to any couple!

  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 08/04/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had partial planning help and took full advantage of her recommended vendor list. She was super easy to talk to and communicated with my vendors with my requirements and interests in mind. For example, she collaborated with my florist on what arrangements I needed and made a design board to convey what I envisioned while making sure I got a good quote. I was so relieved to not have to think up of the design on my own and knew I was in good hands with her direction. She helped us figure out the order of events during the reception that made sense, made personalized timelines for our vendors/party/family, and went beyond what was required of her by even printing and framing our 2’x3’ seating chart for us since I was flying in and did not want to fold it to fit in my suitcases. Planning a wedding was easier with her guidance and I would recommend her to anyone who wants a less stressful wedding planning process!

    Day of, Sonya was again there every step of the way showing us how to position our hands when exchanging rings so that the photographers could capture a good shot, how and where to cut the cake, bustling my dress, leading us around to greet our guests and take a photo at each table in a timely manner, even finding me so that I could take a photo and chat with my cousin who had flown from Taiwan to the States but could not stay for the reception because she knew how important that was to me. Our day went exactly as planned and I knew she was taking care of all the small details while I was enjoying every second of my wedding day.

    Even though I had a coordinator at the church for the ceremony as well as a coordinator at the reception venue, having Sonya as our overall wedding coordinator was what made our entire day so smooth and special! If you have her as your coordinator, you will not regret it!

  • L

    Lisa · Married on 05/12/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sonya was amazing. Leading up to the wedding, Sonya was always quick to respond to me and if I couldn’t reach her, she would call or text me back immediately. I was always able to bounce ideas off of her or even just to tell her an issue I was having with the wedding.
    On the day of the wedding Sonya and her team did an outstanding job. Anything that I needed help with or if an issue came up, Sonya and her team handled it. I had last minute decorations at my house that someone else was supposed to do, but they weren’t there to set it up, Sonya came early in the morning and did it.
    All the decorations (Table numbers, menus, welcome table set up, sweets table) for my reception, Sonya and her team set it up so that my bridesmaids had less work to do. Throughout the night Sonya and her team members checked in with me to make sure everything was ok. At the end of the night, Sonya and her team helped with cleaning up and packed everything in the cars.
    The one thing my husband had cared about was making sure things started on time, especially the ceremony and they did!

    I can’t say enough good things about Sonya. I highly recommend her!!

  • J

    Jane · Married on 03/24/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I truly had such fantastic and wonderful engagement period and wedding experience and we both can confidently say, without teaming up with Sonya, our experience wouldn't have been the same.
    I must say words are not enough to describe. Sonya always made us feel comfortable and cared for through her smiles and encouraging words. And WOW, she is organized and well knowledged about the ins and outs of process of tying the knot. She knows when to assure with flexibility and when to hold your hands tight and guide you through all the crazies of getting married. There was never a time, which our questions or concerns weren't addressed.
    Wedding weekend was even better. Rehearsal was so smooth and she even gave us great tips on how to stand/pose/gaze and such! Though I was experiencing an unforeseen medical condition on the week of and through the wedding day, I felt so relaxed because I knew I was in such good hands aka, Sonya. During the whole time on our wedding day, my husband and I were able to enjoy and indulge every moments with one another and our loved ones without having to worry about anything else; all thanks to Sonya :).
    I really think she was one of the best decisions we made as an engaged couple <3. Thank you Sonya!!
    -J.&D

  • N

    Nam · Married on 11/04/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sonya is an amazing wedding planner! She's very detail oriented and easy to communicate with. For every problem we encountered, she quickly found solutions to. Even though she is based in San Diego, she had many great resources and vendor recommendations within the LA area. Sonya was always available to make sure that your planning needs were met. She made timelines for all the vendors and wedding party. She even sent out reminders and tips throughout the planning process that guided us through our wedding day.

    We were very happy with her services. Her positive attitude and professionalism always put us at ease. Thank you Sonya!!

  • S

    Stephanie · Married on 08/05/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sonya is amazing to work with. We partnered with her on a handful of specific aspects for our wedding, and anything that she touched was taken care of without a hitch. Any time we took a new worry or concern to her, Sonya was quick to put us at ease. She is incredibly organized, has lots of thoughtful suggestions and ideas, and is the most prompt and responsive vendor we worked with.

    Sonya loves what she does and genuinely cares about her clients - this shines through in her ever-upbeat attitude and the way she goes the extra mile on everything she does.

    Thank you, Sonya!!

  • C

    Cara · Married on 05/27/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sonya was absolutely fabulous from start to finish. My now husband and I weren't sure we needed to hire a wedding planner. My family is from Kauai where weddings are very community oriented and everyone helps out - people bring food, set up tents, do the florals, etc. We weren't sure we would need a wedding planner or coordinator but my husband is from the Mainland and we knew we would need to do a blend of both his and my culture. Sonya was fantastic at making everything work smoothly. She had great ideas on how to make it a wonderful blend of our two cultures and put everything together seamlessly. All our parents, wedding party, vendors, etc had their own personalized timelines and contact sheets so they knew where to be when. It was so easy and seamless! Sonya was great at navigating our cultural differences and expectations in what we would want for our wedding weekend. We were so lucky to have her.

    Not only was her work exceptional and executed so well, but she was the utmost professional and such a calming presence on a hectic day! Everyone had the best time and we had very few hiccups. One was my fault - I didn't think about how to present the table assignment cards (normally on Kauai you have open seating but since we had a multicultural wedding, we did assigned seating so they would be more comfortable) and the morning of didn't know what to do! Sonya to the rescue! She went to the store and quickly purchased some art stands and boards and thumb tacks so we could put them up for everyone to grab their cards. It was so perfect! Much better than my idea of leaving them on a table (it is very windy where we got married). Our other issue was that it started to absolutely pour after the ceremony. It wasn't completely unexpected since it rains on Kauai every single day but Sonya handled it like a pro and ushered everyone under the tents. Mahalo Mahalo Mahalo Sonya for executing the best wedding weekend we could have ever hoped for!

  • C

    Christine · Married on 02/25/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot say enough good things about Sonya. She was a dream to work with. I never had to tell her anything twice, she reminded me of things I didn't even think of and she kept all my vendors up to date with specific timelines. She was positive and organized and so incredibly helpful. She made the last month leading up to my wedding so easy. Thank you Sonya!!! You are the best.

  • C

    Cynthia · Married on 02/18/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sonya is insanely organized. As things became more hectic in the months and weeks leading up to our wedding, Sonya was the calm and steady force that nudged, pushed, and finally dragged us to where we needed to be for the big day. She made beautiful and detailed timelines for each vendor and each family member/bridal party member. Her constant reminders of deadlines and to-dos, her confident and immediate answers to all my questions, and her fantastic attitude throughout the whole process made hiring her worth every single bit.

    On the day of the wedding, I experienced absolute calm and serenity for a full 12 hours. There was nothing I needed to worry about because Sonya had a list, it was a super detailed list, and I had absolute faith that she was going to coordinate every last item on that list to perfection without a single bit of effort from me. She did everything you would expect a seasoned wedding coordinator to do and then she went above and beyond. How do I know this?

    My videographer provided me with all the raw footage from the day. Since the wedding went by so fast for us, we really took our time enjoying the raw footage and seeing all the behind the scenes moments that we had no way of experiencing on the day of. And throughout the raw footage, there were clips of Sonya and her assistant going above and beyond, checking details, arranging decorative items, coordinating vendors, answering a million questions and never once losing their smiles and calm demeanor, all while being unaware that their hard work was being filmed!

    Thanks to Events by Sonya, our wedding was stress-free and memorable for all the right reasons!

  • K

    Kirstie · Married on 12/28/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    LOVE LOVE LOVE SONYA! Five stars are just not enough to praise Sonya for her hard work, creativity, dedication, and professionalism as a wedding planner!
    She was such a pleasure to work with! We ended up getting the partial planning package with her, and I'm so glad that we did!
    Even though our our venue had an event coordinator, Sonya was the real reason that EVERYTHING went smoothly. She is one of the most professional vendors to work with, and she really does care and tries to accommodate all your requests as much as possible. If you want someone who truly loves what she does, loves her clients, and is the best at her craft, go with Events by Sonya! You will not be disappointed.

    Thank you Sonya for making everything so wonderful!




  • K

    Kate · Married on 09/03/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was hesitant at first about hiring a wedding coordinator at all because I thought we could handle everything ourselves. However, as we were hiring each vendor, the first question they would ask is: "Who is your wedding coordinator? I am going to need their number." So we started looking! We decided to hire Sonya for the "month of coordination." She gathered all of the information she needed (i.e. vendor info, our wedding day schedule, our style, etc.) promptly after booking. She created a pinterest board to help us "see" the wedding before the actual wedding. This helped because I do not personally enjoy browsing wedding websites for ideas. She also sent periodic emails with useful wedding tips and to follow up on our progress. We especially appreciated the one that reminded us to apply for the marriage license beforehand (whoops!). Approximately one month before, we met at the venue to hammer out every single detail. With that information, she sent individualized timelines for us, our vendors, the bridal party and our family. She was very responsive to any question or concern we had and was quick about updating timelines whenever something came up. There was even a last-minute change the day before of my "getting ready" location. I was worried because it meant some vendors had to change their plans. But I reached out to Sonya and she took care of everything! On the day of, she was good at letting us mingle with our guests and then taking us away promptly (and politely!) as needed to keep to the schedule. Everyone told us the month before would be the worst wedding planning-wise, but I honestly did not feel the stress or the pressure because Sonya was communicating with all of my vendors instead of me. Each vendor spoke very highly of her, saying that she would update frequently and that she asked them about their needs as well. Her attention to detail is what made the whole event a success and allowed us to just enjoy the day!

  • J

    Jonathan · Married on 08/12/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We asked for Sonya’s help and used her “month of” service and she was amazing, well worth the money, and saved us a ton of hassle and time. Both my wife and I are full time medical and graduate students and really had very little time to plan a wedding. We started well in advance but as the big day was coming up we had briefly talked to our vendors (cake, DJ, photographer, florist, venue) and had signed contracts with them, but had not ironed out any of the schedules or plans, or even know what to ask them to do. As soon as we talked to Sonya we realized how experienced and professional she was. She immediately contacted every vendor and asked them all the important questions that we didn’t even know to ask and organized them so we only had to talk to her and not to twenty different people. She reminded them and us what needed to be done and made sure everything was done on time. Sonya walked us through our ceremony multiple times weeks before and pointed out things that we hadn’t thought about and would have likely just have not done or forgotten to do if she was not there. Sonya was an even bigger help the day of. Our wedding would have been drastically different without her. Before the ceremony started she made personalized schedules for our groomsmen, bridesmaids, family, and vendors, so everyone would know what they were doing and where they were supposed to be. She contacted everyone individually to introduce herself and answer any questions. Before the big day she went out to stores to buy little things that she thought we may want or need without us even asking. She also has a stock of wedding products (votives, mason jars, vases, for emergencies, that we definitely used). Our venue only let us set up 90 minutes before the start of the ceremony and all of the bridal party and family needed to take pictures. Sonya took care of everything, from setting up the tables, chairs, lights, escort cards, centerpieces, coordinating the vendors, and always had one eye o

  • J

    Jessica · Married on 07/29/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I have known Sonya since college, and she has always been that amazingly sweet person who greets you with a smile and a positive attitude. When we found out about Events by Sonya, we wanted Sonya to help us plan our wedding at Stone Brewery - Liberty Station and we wouldn't have had it any other way. We did not even pursue other wedding planners. My husband and I are constantly repeating to ourselves that we would not have been able to pull off our wedding day without Sonya. Sonya is beyond incredible and definitely worth every penny!
    From our first phone conversation to the venue cleanup, Sonya has only been exceptionally responsive (within the same day!) and professional. Throughout the planning process, Sonya was easy to reach (via phone, text, or email) and would provide helpful checklists, spreadsheets, timelines, and templates. Although we only booked the month-of-coordinator package, she would still periodically check in with us to keep us on track until the final days. If ever I had a question, she always provided an answer quickly, whether she knew it or had to do some research. We definitely did not make it easy for her because we planned our SD wedding from LA, but Sonya was more than accommodating by meeting with us on weekends despite the busy wedding season. Sonya coordinated our wedding rehearsal and, within minutes, everyone knew what they had to do during the ceremony. She collaborated and organized our multiple vendors to create a cohesive and amazing wedding day. Despite one snafu with paper lanterns, Sonya used her creativity and expertise to quickly resolve the issue, and everything (decor, desserts, displays, etc.) looked beautiful. Sonya listened to all our wants and needs and truly brought our wedding vision to life! What I personally loved the most about Sonya is how she made me feel that our wedding was her top priority despite the reality that she was planning many other events. I highly recommend Sonya and Events by Sonya!

  • F

    Felice · Married on 04/09/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I have to admit, choosing a wedding coordinator was difficult. After all, this person essentially will be helping plan and execute almost all of the crucial details of your wedding.

    Sonya, though, was beyond incredible. My (now) husband and I hired her for month-of-coordination, and right from the start she was on top of everything. I could create a huge list of why Sonya was such an asset, but the one attribute that I think is most crucial to include in this review is her ability to balance everything in a timely and informative manner. I never felt pressured to finish anything at an overwhelming pace, because Sonya would make spot-on timelines and send friendly reminders when needed. In addition, she would be more than happy to contact vendors on my behalf and take care of little details that she knew I wouldn't have time for.

    Overall, if you are hesitant about spending money on a wedding coordinator, trust me, it's worth it. Sonya is amazing and she helped make my wedding day one of the happiest (and most stress-free) days of my life.

  • User5484100 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I recently got married on 9/19 at Balboa Park (the Botanical Garden lawns & MOPA) and I can honestly say the day would not have been the same without Sonya's help!

    Months prior to the big day, Sonya and I met a few times to develop a checklist of tasks I needed to get done. There are wedding checklists available online but trust me, it helps to have someone like Sonya check in on you from time to time! Sonya is very responsive and will email you back the same day.

    She also has great ideas that she caters towards your taste. For example Sonya designed my beautiful escort cards and hand painted each one in my wedding colors. She also put together the table decorations.

    About a month before the wedding, she sent out timelines to each of my vendors which I think was essential for a great wedding. Everything went very smoothly and I got many compliments from guests and vendors about Sonya's organization! The wedding party also received a color-coded, detailed, easy-to-read timeline which really kept us on the move and on schedule.

    Sonya was absolutely amazing on our wedding day and I highly recommend her! She's organized, punctual, creative, and open-minded. You can't ask for much more than that!

    Sent on 09/30/2015

    Events by Sonya's reply:

    Thank you Angie and John for your positive review! I am so glad that you and your guests had a memorable time on your wedding day! You were a great couple to work with and I truly enjoyed getting to know you both! Enjoy your honeymoon!
  • User5529712 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sonya was a pleasure to work with.

    She was extremely organized and very detailed. She is super helpful with suggestions, ideas, and feedback. She made planning this event a breeze and I would absolutely recommend her to anyone who is looking for help planning their wedding.

  • User5355345 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    First, I am not the bride, but a wedding vendor who had the pleasure of working with Events By Sonya. I’ve worked with tons of wedding coordinators over the last 6 years of running a wedding photography & videography company, and wanted to give a special shout out to Sonya. A wedding coordinator is essential in ensuring that your wedding day goes as smooth as possible and Sonya does just that. She introduced herself to us with plenty of time before the wedding which gave us confidence that the wedding was in good hands. From our perspective, it’s vital to have an organized, and easy to follow timeline so that we can prepare and do our job as best we can. Sonya delivered just that. She’s super friendly, approachable, generous with her time, and down to Earth—which is exactly the kind of person you want planning the wedding of your dreams.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review