Story + Style Events Reviews

17 | Dumfries, VA
See photos, pricing and details

17 Reviews for Story + Style Events

Recommended by 99%

17
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 4.9
Sort by:
  • C

    Courtney · Married on 10/10/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Events a la Chic took our dream and made it reality. We loved Raquel's attention to detail and professionalism, especially when coordinating with our vendors. It was truly a pleasure to work with her.

    Sent on 03/14/2016
  • User5482582 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Raquel enabled my wife and me to focus completely on enjoying our wedding reception. Any issues that came up were handled out of view and created an environment where all of our guests could enjoy the event. She was absolutely fantastic. My wife and I cannot recommend her more highly.

    Sent on 09/30/2015
  • User5642063 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everything went as smooth as possible and having Raquel there really helped us enjoy the moments without worrying!!!

    Sent on 11/25/2015
  • M

    Melissa · Married on 11/03/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had the pleasure of attending an event that was coordinated by Raquel. An absolutely beautiful affair! The detail that she used, even the smallest details were stunning! Can't wait to have her work on an event for my company; I know it will be a success.

    Sent on 01/29/2015
  • E

    Edrea · Married on 11/03/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Events a la Chic decorated the venue flawlessly and all the guests had an amazing time because the whole evening flowed effortlessly. So happy with the attention to detail and professionalism! Could not ask for a better planner to make my otherwise stressful day pure perfection!

    Sent on 03/02/2015
  • B

    brandy · Married on 11/02/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The service Raquel provided was outstanding! Everything was perfect and elegant. There were things i've never seen before at a wedding reception, but Raquel made it so beautiful . I can't wait to plan my own event and call Raquel to handle the entire thing

    Sent on 01/29/2015
  • K

    Keisha · Married on 11/02/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Events á la Chic coordinated a destination wedding I attended. I was thoroughly impressed with the attention to detail, rich colors and just overall beautiful presentation! I will definitely be in contact for future events!

    Sent on 02/02/2015
  • User4768876 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was extremely impressed with the attention to the detail and the beautiful decorations of an event I attended hosted by Event a la Chic. I would highly recommend them to plan any events from wedding showers, to baby showers, business openings, bridal showers and much more!


    Sent on 02/05/2015
  • E

    Elaine · Married on 06/04/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfect Personal Touch!

    I have recommended to a couple of friends after attending two weddings prior as personal experience! Both weddings were very different AND both were stunning in presentation and ambiance.
    They really DO know how to tell your story with style!!!

    Sent on 02/28/2019
  • cheryl

    cheryl · Married on 09/29/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had the pleasure of working with Raquel and Events a la Chic for my wedding back in September and I can honestly say this woman is nothing short of a miracle worker! I initially booked her services to oversee the creation of my invitation suite, that I still to this day, have people complimenting them. Both my parents and in laws have even chosen to have them framed. I was so pleased with her work that I also had her create all of the other "paper" items for the wedding: my seating chart, programs, menu, she even planned my entire bachelorette party since my bridesmaids weren't able to take on that task. Out of all my wedding vendors, Events a la Chic was by far the easiest to work with! Communication was always there from the very beginning and I have every intention of using their services for future events! Thank you again Raquel for all of your hard work. My wedding wouldn't have been as amazing as it was without you!

    Sent on 12/30/2014
  • M

    Mary Ann · Married on 01/02/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    There was a point in the planning process when I thought I didn't need a wedding planner. I was strapped for cash (as most brides are) and thought that wedding planners were way outside of my budget... and then I found Raquel. She made it possible for me to enjoy my wedding day and all at a price that was completely affordable. I don't want to imagine what that weekend would have been like without her! From one bride to another trust me when I say you owe it to yourself to hire her. She anticipated every need, was super easy to work with, and she made everything come together so beautifully. I can't thank her enough, I can only hope that someone reads this recommendation and comes to the same conclusion that I did. Thank you, Raquel!!

    Sent on 12/16/2011
  • M

    Makia · Married on 10/09/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Being a DIY bride was a tough challenge, and a few months before my wedding, I realized it was a bit too much for me to handle. That’s when I reached out to Raquel Imes of Events á la Chic. She welcomed the challenge of helping me tie up loose ends and finalize decisions.

    Raquel was anxious and full of ideas. She is also extremely organized, which helped to keep me on task with getting vendors coordinated, décor finalized, and layouts planned. She gladly jumped on board and made herself known to my vendors when I had other things to worry about. Raquel ensured that contracts were finalized and payments were made. She coordinated arrival times and drop off plans and made suggestions about decorations and such when I felt completely stumped.

    Raquel also served as my day-of coordinator, and she was extremely helpful. She arrived at the rehearsal the evening before with a game plan, along with options just in case the choosy bride had other things in mind. She also pitched right in to help with getting decorations up, pictures framed, and making sure everyone was abreast of the timeline for the next day.

    During the wedding and reception, Raquel made sure things moved along. She was extremely pleasant and attentive to the bride and groom, and made sure all of the different events adhered to the timeline. She finished her long day by ensuring the bride and groom had a lovely suite to return to once the event was over!

    It was a true pleasure having Raquel and Events á la Chic help me with my big day! With so many things to keep straight and worry about, it was nice having her on my side to keep me on track.

    Sent on 07/18/2012
  • D

    Dawn · Married on 09/18/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am writing to highly recommend Raquel Imes as a capable, energetic, and knowledgeable wedding coordinator. Raquel’s professionalism was evident at our first meeting, when she arrived prepared for any eventuality. I met with Raquel as the mother of the bride, and we started off with a conference call with the bride to ensure that all decisions were finalized with her approval. Raquel maintained contact with both of us throughout the process. When I discovered Events á la Chic I was floundering in disjointed plans for my daughter’s wedding, trying to pull the pieces together. It had been many years since my last wedding and I was unsure of the details that needed attention. Raquel immediately provided checklists and structure to our planning process. She let us know what should be happening when we weren’t sure, and made many useful suggestions that we wouldn’t have thought of on our own. Her knowledge of wedding traditions and protocol was instrumental in our pulling off a beautiful wedding without a hitch. She worked with all the vendors and made sure all deliveries were on time and where they were supposed to be. On the day of the wedding, she herded the disorganized bridal party into shape, practicing so the procession was beautiful and flawless.

    On the day of the wedding, Raquel acted in my absence to coordinate the wedding party and assist the guests when the bride ran late. She put together a seamless plan for moving the guests into the venue from the outdoor setting and worked with the DJ to adapt to the constraints imposed by size limitations. They got all the announcements right (and I’ve been to plenty of weddings where that did not happen) and segued into the first dance without missing a beat. Events á la Chic made sure the dining area was beautifully set up down to the decorative detail, and nothing was forgotten. I was a nervous mother of the bride, but having Raquel taking care of the details gave me peace of mind and allowed me to enjoy the day.

    Raquel proved herself to be a top notch coordinator and planner; she does her homework, works professionally and thoroughly with all vendors, and arrives on the scene ready to execute a well thought¬ out plan. She is highly professional in her appearance and demeanor, and I am eternally grateful for her invaluable assistance at this wonderful time in our lives.

    Sent on 07/18/2012
  • D

    Dr. Negleatha · event on 06/19/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Raquel Imes is one of the few people that I've worked with that's on the "most call" list when it comes to helping to coordinate our events. On June 19, 2010, I released my third CD and desperately needed someone to assist who had an uncanny insight to accomplish tasks that would arise on the spot during the concert. Ms Imes was responsible for several facets of the concert to include all of the onstage activities. Although we had prepared a script to ensure that things went smoothly, Ms. Imes was nothing short of a consummate professional when it came to dealing with unplanned issues that could have negatively impacted the quality of the event, had she not been quick on her feet in her response. She is very detailed and was able to see things that had not been included in the script. Aside from her ability to get things done in a timely and efficient way, Ms Imes has a cool demeanor that is critical to any effort or event. She is a creative source that can take any event to a new and exciting level. I'm looking forward to having her work with us again!

    Sent on 01/04/2012
  • farrah

    farrah · Married on 09/05/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My Wedding Details
    Date: Saturday, Sept . 5, 2015
    Ceremony: Alfred Street Baptist Church, Alexandria, VA
    Reception: The Lorien Hotel & Spa, Alexandria, VA
    Guest Number: 75

    From the very beginning Raquel has been nothing short of spectacular. She is attentive, patient, diligent, and so easy to work with. My vision became her vision and she helped me stay focused on what was important. She also saved me a lot of money with some really great recommendations. For example, she suggested where to purchase my dress (Bella Chic in Woodbridge, VA- designer for less...best decision ever compared to Alfred Angelo or David’s Bridal), a great photographer (Olu of S67photos.com), and my cake (Frosted Memories, owner is Kristin Blythe). I found my own DJ (my husband’s close friend) and florist (Lee’s Flowers in DC) however she helped organize and manage all vendors. She took care of flowers, day of set up, décor, follow up with the hotel, and attended all of my meetings with various vendors. The day of timeline she created was perfect and she offered other creative ideas throughout the design process. There were some setbacks as with any other wedding but there’s only so much space on here so if you are interested feel free to contact me directly for more details.

    All in all you won’t be disappointed with Events A La Chic. Raquel is thoughtful, diligent, professional, and very poised. Her rates are very economical and honestly you won’t find a better deal.

    Sent on 10/02/2015
  • K

    Kai · Married on 11/16/2013

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I wanted to be a DIY bride & plan everything myself. Then one day, I came to the realization that I wouldn't be able to call the shots on the day of the wedding! I needed a day-of-coordinator. I met with Raquel and she instantly calmed my fears. I hired Raquel to help on the day of but she did so much more and doubled as a wedding planner too! She was ready to help when I had reached my stress level. She ensured the actual event went on flawlessly and made sure we kept to the wedding schedule. I have already began recommending her to friends.

    With her reasonable prices and high level of professionalism, Raquel with Events a la Chic can not be beat!!

    Thanks Raquel!

    Sent on 12/13/2013
  • D

    Dorothee · event on 05/12/2012

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ms Imes was par excellent and professional. My mother stated that this
    85th Birthday Party was even better than her 80th Birthday Party.

    Sent on 08/20/2012

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review