Skip to main content
Weddings

Embassy Suites Kansas City Plaza Hotel Reviews

Embassy Suites Kansas City Plaza Hotel

Embassy Suites Kansas City Plaza Hotel

Kansas City, MO
Rating 4.7 out of 5, 13 Reviews
View more information

13 Reviews

Rated
4.7
out of 5.0
Recommended by 93% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.7 out of 5

Awards

  • 13
  • S
    Shelly T. Married on 01/06/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wonderful Venue

    I don't know how they do it but everything was absolutely perfect. My request were met, it was never hard to find someone if I or a guest was in need of something, schedule was on time, and staff was professional/friendly.
  • F
    Farella Married on 01/14/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I was very wise to select Embassy Suites Country Club Plaza to have my wedding reception. The Banquet Manager, Sharene was the key in making our event a success. We hit it off immediately. A "real chemistry" Her knowlege base, personal interest and professionalism over the last six months made our special day a remembrance for Wayne and I and family/friends a memory we shall not forget.We highly recommend that couples selct a hotel with staff you like and have respect for. The value was also significant. Sharene worked with us to ensure we had a well rounded meal but cost effective for our budget.Her experience in the meal selections was a great benefit to us.

    Her response time to all of our needs/questions were immediate. Very accessible and timely. We were provided a number of complimentary items such a honeymoon suite the evening of the reception, breakfast and snacks following the reception and lunch during our meetings. We highly recommend the Embassy Suites Country Club for future couples. The staff was excellent and the value was outstanding.
  • R
    Regina Married on 07/24/2010
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Only the reception was held at the Embassy.
    This was one of the best times that everyone, friends and relatives, had had in years!!
    Sharene was an excellent person with whom to work. She listened to everything that I said, and fulfilled what we wanted in terms of having an extremely successful, fun reception.
    My rating for Sharene's professionalism and all that it entails is an overwhelming
    100+ !!!
    I'd recommend anyone who wants a first class event to be set up by The Embassy, with Sharene at the helm.
  • Z
    Zahra Married on 03/21/2009
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    It was AMAZING!!!! Everything I wanted, the perfect princess happily ever after! They catered to all my needs and understood my culture needs as well. It was the perfect wedding for the perfect price too! And to top it all off we got a free stay at the presidential suite which was so amazingly gorgeous and perfect! I highly highly highly recommend getting married here.
  • U
    Kristy Married on 07/28/2008
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Shilene and the crew were great! Our wedding was a bit untraditional because our 12-year-ol son was a big part of the whole planning process but Shilene was sure to include him in every detail (i.e. attending the food tasting and taking his suggestions into consideration.)
  • L
    Lauren Married on 05/18/2008
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Shilene was incredibly receptive to our ideas and even helped us surprise our parents with a belly dancer.
  • J
    Jeanie Married on 09/19/1999
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Sharene Neidig did a great job with my wedding. She is the reason we booked with this hotel, since she did such a great job with a co workers wedding. She moved into the Catering Manager position half way into the planning of our wedding. The transition was smooth and Sharene took great care of us. She was always thinking of the little details that we would have missed and she made us feel like this wedding was as important as her own.
    Thank you so much for all your help Sharene. We will never forget all you did for us!
  • S
    Sarah Married on 07/08/2017
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We had a wedding block four our (very) large extended families at Embassy Suites. The staff was very accommodating and responsive, answering all of our questions quickly and helping us navigate the reservations of so many rooms. Our only issue was the morning after the wedding, when many of our guests were tied up waiting for elevators at check-out time. But the rooms were great, and the breakfast the next morning was perfect! The staff got all of our welcome bags to our guests and were great handling such a large group.
  • S
    Sarah Married on 09/27/2014
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    We held our reception at the Embassy Suites and we were so happy with the experience! We would definitely recommend it! The wedding team was really accommodating, flexible, and easy to work with. The staff during the event went out of their way to make the evening wonderful and all of our guests commented on how great the place, staff, food was! Our guests also loved the rooms and breakfast! We were so happy to have had our wedding reception at the Embassy Suites on the Plaza! Thanks!
  • J
    Jennie Married on 11/12/2004
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    Reception was perfect!
  • S
    Shannon Married on 10/10/2010
    Rating 4.2 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    I was on a pretty tight budget but wanted to have my reception around the Plaza so our guests could have the KC Plaza experience if they wanted to roam around. Food, service, decorations and the end result for the reception was awesome. Even though I was on a tight budget, Sharene was able to make it work. I was very happy.
  • T
    Tracy Married on 03/03/2007
    Rating 3.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 3.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 3.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    We used Embassy Suites on the Plaza. I absolutely LOVED Carmen (the coordinator). I also had a really GREAT experience with them leading up to the wedding (except for some problems with the hotel blocks, but that's a different department) -- but, the day of was a little crazy! Here are some examples: Carmen was suppose to let us (the girls) know when to start down the aisle for the wedding. However, when the ceremony was to start, she was no where to be found so we just had to wing it! It all worked out okay, but stressful then! As for the reception, there were 3 other events going on and we were told that their numbers increased suddenly that morning. So, our food was a little late coming out and we had some problems with getting “special” dinners (vegetarian/no milk products). But the food was delicious and we got a ton of compliments. The “big” issue arose about the bar. We had arranged for a special case of boulevard beer for my DH and before we even got to the reception, the bartender had given it all out! The hotel replaced it, so no problems, except she kept doing it! After being told by the manager, us, and a number of other hotel people, and she continued to do it, they had to switch her with another bartender at a different event. So, it all turned out okay (and into kind of a running joke) but again, a little stressful then. We were also promised 2 bars and 2 bartenders, but only ended up with 1, so that kind of sucked. Overall, everything was beautiful, and I would highly recommend them! BUT, even if Carmen says she’s going to do stuff, just assume she’s going to be super busy and not around. I think part of the problem was she said she would do stuff (i.e., help us with the “cake cutting” for pictures) and then when the time came around, she was no where to be found because she was dealing with other events. It wasn’t a huge issue, because a photographer helped us through it, and if Carmen hadn’t said she was going to help out, we would never have thought anything of it! The only other “warning” I would give is that the reception got a little warm -- but that was when they were still on “heat” instead of A/C, so its hard to say how it would be during the summer! But, again, I would totally recommend them! ALSO, as an added bonus, since we had our ceremony there, as a “surprise,” Carmen had them put in flowers to match our colors in the atrium -- it was beautiful! And then, as a “gift,” the hotel gave us the flowers!
  • S
    Shakeda Event on: 07/20/2012
    Rating 3.6 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 2.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 1.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    On the departure morning for us on Sunday employee in breakfast area was very rude to several family members. I did speak with mgr in the food area that day she didn't even seemed concerned that the employee had such and attitude. I felt with having a banquet on Friday then my family not leaving until Sunday the Embassy had well enough money to make us feel more welcomed than by a rude employee then the lines moved terrible slow serving breakfast both mornings...

    Embassy Suites Kansas City Plaza Hotel's reply:

    I’m sorry to read of your breakfast concerns. Our breakfast staff has lead the hotel in guest satisfaction scores for years but, I will definitely relay your comments to management staff. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay.