Skip to main content
Weddings

Edwards Catering Reviews

Edwards Catering View more information

Reviews

4.9 out of 5 rating
60 Reviews
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating
98% Recommended by couples

Awards

60
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner

2 User photos

  • S
    Sheila C. Sent on 05/23/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Edwards Catering

    Our wedding planner has worked with Sam Edwards at Edwards a catering many times for events and weddings. She gave us Sam’s name and we met with him. We didn’t have to go anywhere else. He had such a variety and he really pushed how much he caters to the needs of the bride, groom, wedding party and family. Well I’m here to tell you he told the truth. Sam and his staff were so attentive and the food was so good. We got compliments at the wedding and days after too. Please reach out to him if you are having a wedding or a party you need catered. You will not be disappointed!! Thank you Sam and his crew!

    The Cotman/ Poegl Families ❤️
  • K
    Kelly B. Sent on 01/12/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Edwards Catering Will Get You the Most Food!

    We LOVED Edwards Catering and Sam worked with us to customize our menu. Edwards Catering is going to give you the most food for a lower cost than most other catering companies. You will also have food to take with you. Sam packed my husband and I a nice to-go bag for after the wedding. You will be so happy you used this company! (Photographer: Carbone Photo Co. LLC)
  • Katie
    Katie M. Sent on 04/25/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Edwards Catering is the best!

    I didn't even know where to begin when it came to feeding guests at a wedding. Sam Edwards expertise and advice was much needed and proved to be spot on when the big day came. It was very easy to work with their company and design our own menu for both the cocktail hour and dinner. Their prices were unbelievably reasonable and seemed to covered nearly everything. During the cocktail hour, the staff provided separate food and drink to the wedding party while doing photos and helped flip our ceremony space to the reception space including setting up tables, chairs, tablecloths, and table settings. During the reception, he brought us beautiful toasting flutes during the toasts and gave us water while on the dance floor to keep us hydrated. After the reception was over, he packed us a to-go package to make sure we got a little bit of all the food we had picked out! And of course the food was delicious!! A month out and I still have family and friends raving about how amazing the food was. For cocktail hour, we did cheese and crackers, veggies, pretzel bites and beer cheese. For dinner, we did marinara pasta, alfredo pasta, grilled chicken, roasted vegetables, Caesar salad, and rolls. There were also gluten-free options as well. The price also included water, tea, lemonade, soda, and coffee! We bought the alcohol ourselves, but they provided two bartenders and took care of chilling the alcohol before cocktail hour. This company has years of experience and it shows. I highly recommend them to anyone looking for an outstanding catering company!!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • H
    Heather R. Sent on 04/01/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    AMAZING catering experience!

    Edwards Catering is one of the best kept secrets in Richmond weddings in my opinion. We knew we had to consider Edwards from our very first day touring venues, as literally almost every single venue we went to raved about the service provided with Edwards'. From our initial consultation, Sam made us feel truly special and like making our wedding catering what we'd dreamed it would be was something that was extremely important to him. He spent so much time on that initial call sharing advice and trying to craft a menu that incorporated everything we wanted on our day (even prior to officially booking with him!). The service of course did not stop there-Sam was responsive to questions throughout our year and a half of planning (occasionally responses are delayed, but do not let that deter you from his services!) and continued to be flexible with choices and add-ons throughout the process. On the day of our wedding, I cannot rave enough about the service he provided-every time I turned around and vaguely thought about how I was thirsty, Sam was there with a glass of water for us or a drink, as well as setting up a spread of appetizers and drinks for our wedding party after the ceremony, pre-plating our meals for myself and my husband so that we could make sure we ate during our reception, and crafting a wonderful care package of food and our choice of beverages for the end of the night in our honeymoon suite. The prices are also wonderful for the food & service quality that Edwards provides. I truly cannot say enough good things about Edwards Catering & about Sam-you will NOT be sorry to go with him for catering services!
  • Barbara
    Barbara R. Sent on 11/02/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Incredible Wedding Caterer - Best Experience Ever!

    We worked with Edwards Catering for our wedding, and it was a fantastic experience! Sam Edwards is kind, thoughtful, and knows literally everything about how to make wedding catering affordable and delicious. We got RAVE reviews on the food from our guests, and he even made sure that my husband and I had the chance to eat! He brought us appetizers and drinks while we were taking photos, and made us care packages to take with us at the end of the night for an extra meal. His staff even made sure we had water and any drinks we wanted throughout the whole evening. Absolutely AMAZING food for an incredible price, and just the most genuine people! We can't say enough good things about Edwards Catering. Sam is the best of the best.
  • Holly
    Holly Sent on 08/11/2010
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Edwards Catering was a breath of fresh air! The owner Sam Edwards was so helpful, reassuring and flexible. Upon meeting Sam, we knew we were in good hands. He helped us come up with a menu to suit our tastes and budget. The food was delicious and hot (which was amazing for a buffet). They even arranged for a small meal (complete with our favorite drinks!) to be waiting for us in the honeymoon suite after the reception. Everything was great and working with Edwards Catering was just so easy. I would highly recommend them to any bride!
  • N
    Natalie Z. Sent on 11/16/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Food is the best around!

    We used Sam Edwards catering for our wedding, and they were spectacular. Their communication in the beginning stages of inquiring was not good, to the point we initially decided to not use them. Please don’t let that deter you from continuing to reach out. They do so many weddings that they have a tough time keeping up with general inquiries - I DO think that is something I would recommend be adjusted because their food is unmatched and you will be blown away. We did four food trials. I am a Food-ie while my husband is an insanely picky eater so we had a tough time finding something we both wanted. I did 3 other trials before Edwards and then after tasting his food hands down was the one for us. He made us a chicken Marsala - I don’t like mushrooms nor do I like chicken Marsala at all. It was so delicious not only did I add it to the menu but I had it for dinner that entire week after the trial. Their grapefruit glazed salmon AMAZING, mashed potatoes unreal. He will also make whatever you want. Have a picky eater? He will make them their own special plate. At the end of the evening we got back to the hotel and were STARVING only to look through our gifts and one was from their team wrapped in a nice pretty bow. Wouldn’t you know it was two take home meals with Tupperware, silverware and drinks. It blew us away, and I was finally able to EAT after a long night of dancing and partying.

    They were also insanely accommodating and very knowledgeable about weddings. They supplied our linens, silverware and bartenders along with the food. Everyone was wonderful. Even with covid restrictions.

    My suggestion: look past the initial customer service. You won’t be disappointed.
  • Megan
    Megan Sent on 09/02/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    You NEED Edwards Catering

    We used Edwards Catering for our wedding and I cannot say enough good things! I am vegan and wanted to make sure I had some options other than salad at my wedding. Sam provided amazingly delicious vegan food for myself and a wonderful variety of options for the rest of the wedding guests. We had several guests coming up to us telling us just how delicious all of the food was! Sam also created special pepperoni pizza appetizers for our cocktail hour for my husband!
  • E
    Emilee Sent on 08/06/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    One Word: YUM!

    I requested quotes from a multitude of vendors but Sam and his staff came out clear on top! Not only is Edwards Catering very affordable, but Sam is very honest about the extra "fees" that come with catering. There are no hidden expenses, he lays it all out on the table. He has a great selection to choose from, and honestly you can't go wrong with any of his options. We were so very pleased with Edwards Catering!
  • R
    Rebekah H. Sent on 07/17/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Excellent Food and Service

    Sam Edwards catered my wedding in May 2019, and I cannot recommend Edwards Catering highly enough! Sam was professional and easy to work with, and his staff was amazing as well. Everyone was very attentive, and the setup was absolutely beautiful. I had multiple people compliment the food and tell me that it was the best wedding food they had ever eaten! Thank you, Sam, for the excellent food and service!
  • Becky
    Becky Sent on 11/09/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Absolutely Flawless!! So so very pleased!!!

    From start to finish, Sam and his staff were absolutely impeccable. We just recently had Edward's Catering host our wedding at St. Ann's Catholic Church, and we truly couldn't have asked for a more professional and outgoing group of folks that made our guests feel welcomed and well cared for. Sam first met with us at his home where he immediately won us over, and throughout the entire planning process he was always ready to answer questions or concerns. We asked Sam and his crew to serve a cocktail hour and a buffet dinner, both turned out beautifully. We also had a beer and wine bar in which we hired one of Sam's bartenders...this too worked perfectly. All of the staff members were immensely helpful, and always ready to take care of any needs of our guests. Ever since the wedding, I've been receiving major compliments from all of our friends and family. Three major highlights of the night for me personally: First, when we began taking pictures following the wedding ceremony, two members of the staff came out to us (the wedding party) delivering some appetizers and water- it was awesome! Second, after spending a good deal of time out on the dance floor cutting a rug I realized I desperately needed some water. The second the words came out of my mouth... "I need water", Sam was right there holding a few ice cold glasses for myself and others- again awesome! Third, at the end of the night after all was said and done...Sam sent us off to the hotel with a wonderful care package of many of the items served that evening, along with a few favorite beverages of ours- perfectly awesome! Overall, I cannot speak highly enough about our experience with Edward's Catering. What I can say, without question though, if you choose their services...you will NOT be disappointed...more so, incredibly pleased!! Thanks so very much Sam and Company!!!
  • Amy
    Amy Sent on 10/26/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Get the Mac & Cheese

    First thing you should know about my husband and, especially, me, is we hate making decisions-especially decisions we don't care about. Sam and is team were SO great about making decisions for us that he knew we'd love, were inexpensive, and would fit greatly with our wedding. Every time we said "we don't care" about a decision (like the linen colors) he would say "This will look/be great and it's the cheapest option" which was perfect for us! Sam was recommended to us by not just one, but two vendors so we knew he'd be fantastic and we were so excited to have him. During dinner literally 5 people came up at once to tell me how great the macaroni and cheese was (it was incredible). One of our favorite things about Edward's catering was the care package we received when we got to our hotel. It had a little of everything from dinner, the cakes, and apps, and he even found my favorite soda (Vanilla Coke Zero) which had been discontinued at the time! His team was so kind and everyone congratulated us throughout the day which really meant a lot to me, and continuously asked if we were doing okay/needed anything. It was definitely the little things from him and his team (like decorating the trashcans) that really made it a truly spectacular day.
  • M
    Malyna Sent on 05/19/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Our guests could not stop raving about how good the food is! We were so glad to have a to-go bag waiting for us. Sam and his team have catered two other weddings in my family, and I have never been disappointed.
  • User3478179 Sent on 05/09/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Sam is really great to work with. He really knows his stuff and was on top of everything. He made sure the wedding party had drinks and food after the ceremony, during the posed photos, was very attentive to the bride and groom, his staff made sure everything ran smoothly, guests found their seats, the bar, the passed appetizers. I had zero worries and zero complaints.
  • A
    Alexander L. Sent on 12/06/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I cannot recommend Sam Edwards and his catering services enough. I can't imagine that any caterer or restaurant can even come close to his level of personal service, menu quality and value. His cost was far below any other caterers and the quality of the food exceeded that which I have had at many a fine dining establishment. He was exceedingly lovely and accommodating to the point his help extended beyond the food, assisting me with decorations on the day. We can't thank our friend enough for recommending him to us and I hope you take our recommendation as well. I promise that you will not be disappointed!
  • T
    Theresa Sent on 11/20/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Mr. Edwards exceeded all my expectations. He gave me needed advice, even not relevant to catering, but much appreciated. He made sure my husband and I and our kids were all taken care of during the whole event. The food was amazing. We had people coming up to us to tell us how much they enjoyed the food. He also packaged the leftover food and made my husband and I a care package with our beverage of choice and some of his yummy food. He even packaged some wedding cake for our care package. There are so many wonderful things to say in regards to Mr. Edwards and his catering company.
  • S
    Shanea Sent on 08/31/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I hired Edwards Catering for my wedding last weekend and I'm so happy that I did! The staff was very professional and attentive. Our guest raved how amazing the food taste and the company packs a care package for the bride and groom! How sweet? As most know, the bride and groom are usually not able to enjoy their meal. I would highly recommend Edwards Catering to any bride! You cannot go wrong here!!
  • D
    Danielle Sent on 08/21/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Sam and his crew were absolutely incredible. They were SO helpful the day of. Every single person in the staff were so nice and happy and helpful. Not to mention, the food was AMAZING. Everyone complimented us on the food and when Sam packed up the leftovers for us, we were even more pleased at how yummy it was the second day too! We fed our group for a few days and no one got tired of it! He was so helpful with set up and was extremely attentive to my needs as the bride and kept everyone hydrated and happy!! Thank you so much to Sam and Edwards catering for everything!
  • A
    Alice Sent on 06/18/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We hired Edward's Carering for our daughter's wedding reception of about 125 guests. We were 100% pleased with their wonderful service and delicious food. Sam Edwards was so accommodating and helpful from start to finish. His staff was efficient, personable and polite. Thank you!
  • B
    Brittany Sent on 05/16/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    This was by far the best decision for our caterer. Sam with Edwards Catering was so professional and always responsive when we had questions or wanted to make changes to our menu. The food was delicious and everyone was raving about it at the end of the night. Sam's staff was so wonderful and helpful too. It was so nice to be able to rely on Sam for the setting up of the ceremony and reception spaces on the day of. He supplied all of the linens and China needed for the big day. Sam was always there with fresh drinks for my husband and I as well as my parents. His prices were extremely reasonable for the amount of options that were provided. I will recommend Sam and his team to anyone looking for a top notch caterer.
  • T
    Tamara Sent on 04/18/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We chose Edwards catering without tasting, and were a little nervous since all we had were the reviews on this site. However, the reviews did NOT lie. Their food is absolutely amazing - my guests all came up to me after the wedding, asking who my caterer was! In addition to delicious food, Sam's staff is out of this world. They were attentive and went above and beyond to ensure my guests had a great experience. As a bride, who had about 10,000 details to worry about, I was relieved to not worry about food. The food was great and fit our budget perfectly! If you go with this caterer, you will not be disappointed.
  • Ashley
    Ashley Sent on 09/06/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    If I could give this a 10-star rating, I would! Sam Edwards was so nice, accommodating, and went above and beyond our expectations. The total price sounded like a lot at first, but his price includes everything, with no hidden fees or costs. It truly is all-inclusive. We were able to use a cake cutting knife and toasting glasses provided by him, as well as all serving platters, plates, cutlery, and cups. Soft drinks, tea and ice water were also included. His food displays were beautiful and the food was DELICIOUS! Cake cutting is also included in his pricing, so no extra cake cutting fee! He also packs away food for the happy couple to take home with them, as well as any drink of choice you request. I would have him cater any event!
  • M
    Melanie Sent on 09/16/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My husband and I met with Sam at the suggestion of our venue, The Manor House. Edwards Catering does weddings there very frequently and they are very familiar with the layout and the staff. Sam provided us with a sample menu and had great suggestions for what foods typically go over well at summer weddings. Sam was very prompt with providing us with a written proposal of costs and his company took care of the rentals for all of the linens, plates, cutlery, glasses, etc (which I very much appreciated because it made less work for me). We chose to provide our own alcohol for the event, but Sam arranged for a bar tender for us. Sam also gave us suggestions on guidelines for purchasing the right amount of alcohol.

    The day of the ceremony, Sam's staff arrived very early to prepare. They set up all of the tables and put out the centerpieces. All of the food was excellent! We had cocktail hour hors d'oeuvres for our guests during our photos and Sam's staff even brought drinks and snacks out to the wedding party during photos. Sam had my husband and I go through the buffet line first so we did actually get to eat. Our favorites were the teriyaki flank steak and the watermelon salad. Sam also packed us up a to go bag of food to take back to our hotel after the wedding with a special bottle of wine. We only heard great things from our guests about the food.

    We ended up paying about $28 per person for the food.
  • A
    Andrea Sent on 06/01/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Sam was so great to work with. We had a bad experience with our original caterer and ended up cancelling that contract and booking with Edwards and we are so thankful we did. Sam communicated with us from the beginning and spent just as much time discussing the flow of the reception and non-food related portions of our day as the food. We could tell immediately he was invested in our wedding as a whole. Himself and his staff were all great during our reception and made sure everyone was well taken care of throughout the event. His inclusive pricing helped to know we weren't going to get a surprise bill at the end, and everything was very reasonably priced. We ended up with a bigger menu than originally planned and still had a very affordable bill. We got so many compliments on the food from everyone who attended! All around great catering company to work with!
  • C
    Christie Sent on 05/27/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Sam was great to work with from beginning to end. Sam is very detailed oriented, organized, nice, fun, offered constructive suggestions, was courteous, professional, and more than helpful throughout the whole process. Presentation of food, tables, and bar were perfect. There were no worries on the wedding day. I would recommend Sam Edwards catering for any event.
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message