DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bay City - Riverfront Reviews

18 | Bay City, MI
See photos, pricing and details

18 Reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bay City - Riverfront

Recommended by 93% of couples

4.7 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.6
  • Professionalism 4.7
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.6
  • Average response time 4.7

Awards

18

2 User photos

Order by:
  • K

    Kristen Armstrong · Married on 08/30/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Making my day an absolute dream

    I had my wedding ceremony and reception on August 30th. From the start of planning Tricia was always super helpful and responsive with any questions we had! Let me say this place is absolutely gorgeous a beautiful ballroom and ceremony space right on the water! As the day approached they hosted a taste test which I truly appreciated as not all places let you taste the food for your day! They gave us a packet to fill out all of our details which made all my decisions feel so easy as they were all laid out in front of me. Deanna then went over the details one last time with me to make sure everything was the way I wanted. They take all of your items and set it up for you! Day of the liaison service was amazing! I was stress free on my day thanks to them! They made sure things ran smoothly and on time! Doubletree made sure my needs were met and always were happy to help! My wedding planning truly was so much easier thanks to them! And my day was absolutely perfect and beautiful, everything I had hoped to be and more! I would recommend this place to everyone! We recieved compliments for weeks after from our loved ones saying it was one of the best weddings they attended! Thank you Doubltree especially Tricia and Deanna! My day was an absolute dream! Any brides and grooms interested also note that I was able to have my dream wedding and stick to an amazing budget! They offer many packages including Friday and Sunday deals!

    Sent on 10/31/2019
  • A

    Allie · Married on 08/03/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ceremony & Reception

    We couldn’t have made a better choice to host our wedding at the doubletree on 8/3/19. Tricia and Deanna were absolutely wonderful to work with during the whole process. They were prompt at responding to any question or concern I had. The staff the day of was friendly and went above and beyond to help our guests. The food was absolutely amazing and all of our guests kept commenting on how it was the best food they have had at a wedding! Thank you so much for everything!!

    Sent on 08/07/2019
  • S

    Smith · Married on 03/09/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing Experience

    Best value , staff, food , beverages , indoor ceremony site and beautiful location ! The venue was amazing for pictures and hotel guests enjoyed the hotel rooms, outdoor seating , and breakfast .

    Sent on 09/25/2019
  • N

    Nina Buetow · Married on 02/12/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing! Exceeded all expectations!!

    It was a great experience from day 1 of planning the wedding reception with Double Tree/ Tricia Coonan. Tricia had great suggestions and took all the stress out of planning. Every staff member we came in contact with made our day special.

    Sent on 02/12/2019

    DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bay City - Riverfront's reply:


    Thank you for taking time to give such an amazing review. It was nice working with you on your special day. Hopefully we have the chance to work together in the near future. Congratulations again and thank you for selecting the Doubletree by Hilton Bay City Riverfront. Best of luck in the future, Tricia Coonan
    Wedding Sales Manager
  • B

    Brittany Rohde · Married on 01/26/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Double Tree

    Great venue, everyone was friendly and wanted to make sure the wedding went smoothly. Planning with Tricia was a breeze.

    Sent on 02/12/2019

    DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bay City - Riverfront's reply:

    It was so nice working with you and planning this memorable event. I would also like to personally thank you for taking the time to write a great review!!! Hopefully we have the chance to work together in the near future. Congratulations again and thank you for selecting the Doubletree by Hilton Bay City Riverfront. Best of luck in the future Brittany, Tricia Coonan -Wedding Sales Manager
  • B

    Brittany Cline · Married on 01/26/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Double Tree Bay City

    Working with the double tree was smooth from our very first tour. Tricia was beyond helpful and answered all questions quickly. The venue offered many different options with everything from drink packages, food and decor. The room blocks were very nice for our guests. Lastly, the day of the wedding was a dream. Everyone worked so well together and made every guest feel warm and welcome. Food was top notch!

    Sent on 10/31/2019
  • L

    Lauren Koziatek · Married on 01/11/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Tricia and her team made my day feel effortless!

    Deciding to have our wedding at the Doubltree Riverfront was a no-brainer, especially once we met Tricia! But we didn't quite understand the implications it would have on that day until it was here. Our reception didn't start until 6:30 and I didn't see the ballroom until 6 - EVERYTHING was set-up the way we wished and absolutely perfect. And I wasn't even stressed about it before hand, I just knew they would do everything to a T. And the best part was watching the staff take everything down after the reception was done. After the long day, I was drained and didn't have to worry or think about putting things away, taking away table linens, etc. Putting the decorating, coordinating, and take-down in someone else's hands was amazing. And it was ALL thanks to Tricia and her team - they expect nothing but the best, and deliver to their brides every time I imagine. I can't recommend highly enough!

    Sent on 04/02/2019
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 06/02/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great Service

    Loved every aspect of the wedding!!! Thank you so much Doubletree

    Sent on 10/15/2018
  • Katie

    Katie · Married on 06/18/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The DoubleTree was the perfect place for our Sunday wedding. Tricia, Amanda and the rest of the staff were just amazing — incredibly accommodating in every way — we couldn't have asked for more. From our custom brunch menu to our altered timeline, they were able to work with anything we were willing to do (and more) all within our budget. If you're looking for a beautiful venue in the Bay area, tour the DoubleTree. You won't be disappointed.

    Sent on 07/03/2017
  • D

    Dr. Christine · Married on 08/14/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our reception at the Doubletree in Bay City- it was perfect!
    Deanna is so great to deal with, and I found the prices to be fantastic. We had our reception in the Davison Room (65 guests at our wedding), and the room was filled nicely.
    I had to plan my wedding from a long distance, and the best part about the planning was how much Deanna helped me. I emailed her about a million times, and everytime I received a reply that was very helpful. I was very pleasantly suprised that the staff at the DoubleTree set up all the decor for the venue. Most venues make you set up your own decor (which would be a drag when you want to be out celebrating your day and taking pictures!).

    The food was wonderful, and staff were all great. Thanks, Deanna!

    Sent on 08/31/2010
  • Courtney

    Courtney · Married on 08/06/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Doubletree Hotel Riverfront Bay City was the perfect location for my wedding. We booked on a Friday and received many incentives including a free brunch the next day! They gave my husband and I a free room for our wedding and more than 70 guests stayed the night. The food and service was absolutely amazing! We went with the lowest food package and still had SO MANY OPTIONS and delicious variety!! I am so happy I held my wedding at the Doubletree and would recommend it to any bride!!

    Sent on 08/24/2010
  • Jenafer

    Jenafer · Married on 05/26/2019

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Excellent service and quality

    The wedding coordinator (Tricia) is such a blessing to work with; she is responsive, thorough, and helpful all around. She even provided other vendor recommendations. I am having a Sunday wedding, and the extra perks and discounts are awesome!! My brother got married at the Doubletree two years ago and everyone LOVED the food and quality, hence why I chose to have my reception there.

    Sent on 01/07/2019
  • J

    Jenna Proulx · Married on 03/23/2019

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wonderful Wedding Venue!

    Tricia, Stephanie, and the entire staff helped make our March 23rd wedding one of the best days of our lives! From the pre-planning stages all the way through our first days as husband and wife, we always felt important and taken care of by the Double Tree in Bay City! We would definitely recommend this venue for any of your special occasions!

    Sent on 10/31/2019
  • K

    Kim · Married on 10/08/2011

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a wonderful experience at the Doubletree for our reception. The staff the night of our wedding was above exceptional and catered to our every need.

    Kim Kisser the wedding coordinator is fabulous and wonderful to work with.

    We had a few food issues thats why I didnt give it 5 stars, but it was still good and I would absolutely recommend this place for a reception.

    Sent on 10/23/2011
  • V

    Victoria · Married on 06/13/2015

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I booked a block of hotel rooms at the Doubletree Hilton Riverfront in Bay City for my wedding this upcoming June. Stephanie from Sales was very responsive even though I contacted her during the holiday season. I wasn't sure if the Doubletree would allow us a block of rooms since we aren't having the ceremony or reception there, but I was quite pleased to find out that it didn't matter and we still received a discounted rate. I wasn't quite sure how many rooms I'd need or for which nights but found out the contract is pretty much risk-free because if my guests don't book then the rooms are relinquished a month before the wedding. The contract was very straightforward and didn't require a deposit. Yay, one thing that doesn't require a deposit!!! I was able to easily add additional nights and rooms to the contract quickly when needed. I'm very pleased with the level of service I'm received thus far.

    Sent on 01/19/2015
  • A

    Anne · Married on 09/29/2007

    3.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Some issues, but we were able to resolve them without much hassle.

    Sent on 08/12/2008
  • S

    Stephanie · Married on 05/23/2008

    3.4
    • Quality of service:
      3.5
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    Doubletree was great. The food was very good and we recieved alot of compliments. Their waitstaff was very helpful. The management was somewhat hard to communicate with.

    Sent on 07/07/2008
  • J

    Missy · Married on 10/22/2011

    3.0
    • Quality of service:
      1.5
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      2.0

    There were just so many things that were poorly/incorrectly done (or not done at all). We planned on getting married 2 weeks earlier, but were talked into changing our date so that the hotel could keep that weekend open for conferences that might come up. We found out that the date we had then agreed to was the same date and time as another wedding, but were assured this wouldn't be a problem. At the rehearsal, there were no chairs in the room. On the day of the wedding, the front desk had to find the coordinator, who was missing minutes before our ceremony. The set-up of the room was NOT what we agreed to. The entire front row of guests (including parents and grandparents) couldn't even see our faces. One bridesmaid kept having to shift around so as not to bump knees with someone in the front row. Getting everyone out to the cocktail room was a mess. We were assured that the other wedding wouldn't be done yet so there wouldn't be any confusion. Our guests exited to a sea of other people. I saw the coordinator once, for about 30 seconds, before our reception, and after we were announced and went in, she disappeared. She was gone for so long that vendors began asking me what was happening, and I had nothing to tell them. Our DJ stepped up and took over coordinating duties (and also mentioned to me that the coordinator had never once contacted her) and our photographer had to coach us through cutting the cake. This may or may not be the coordinator's duty, but surely organizing things with the vendors is. When we entered the room, everything was set up differently than the schematic we'd signed off on. All guests were at the wrong tables, because the tables in the room were mislabeled. The flowers weren't where we had discussed, nor was the dance floor, the DJ station, or even the door we were supposed to come in through. The last straw was when my husband walked over to a corner of the room at ten thirty at night and said, "There are desserts over there." We served our cake for the formal dessert, but nobody ever announced to any of us that they had put out desserts and coffee. Everything was wasted because nobody was aware of them. And at some point, half of my mother-in-laws favors got misplaced. The only thing keeping this from being a one-star review is that the facilities themselves were extraordinarily nice, but the staff and especially the coordinator were stretched too thin that night and our wedding suffered as a result.

    Sent on 10/26/2011