Donovan's Dish Reviews

46 | Apex, NC
See photos, pricing and details

46 Reviews for Donovan's Dish

Recommended by 99% of couples

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

Awards

46

14 User photos

Donovan's Dish 1
Donovan's Dish 2
Donovan's Dish 3
Donovan's Dish 4
Donovan's Dish 5
+ 10
Order by:
  • Noelle

    Noelle Buttrey · Married on 09/22/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing caterer in the Raleigh area

    We had the most amazing experience with Donovan's Dish for our wedding. The staff are all incredible, the food is amazing, and they were so easy to work with. I had no worries about them at all and if you hire them, the chicken and waffle appetizers are AMAZING!

    Sent on 09/24/2019
  • Kelsey

    Kelsey · Married on 09/20/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best food and service you could ask for!

    Donovan's Dish catered our wedding at the Cookery in downtown Durham almost a month ago, and I could not be happier with our decision. The food stole the show! I had so many guests approach me during and after the wedding saying that this was the best food they've ever had at a wedding. I feel like sometimes catering large events can lead to some of the dishes tasting dry or not fresh, but the bistro fillet beef strips were seriously some of the best steak I've ever had. Cooked to perfection! Folks loved the live action shrimp and grits as well, several people got thirds.

    The food isn't even the best part! The staff at Donovan's Dish were so professional and friendly and ON TOP OF THINGS, right from the start. They met with me multiple times prior to the wedding, helped me create a layout and determine the exact number of items we needed to rent. I had a lot of questions and we went through many many emails getting everything sorted, and I was never made to feel like any question I had was inconveniencing them in any way.

    They really made our wedding so seamless and so perfect. Everyone loved the staff and I just could not have asked for a better caterer. Definitely book Donovan's dish for any event!

    Sent on 10/13/2019
  • Chambers

    Alissa Sauer · Married on 08/30/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing food!

    We are so happy that we booked Donovan's Dish for our wedding! We tasted their food at a wedding show and they were quickly at the top of our list. After an initial phone call to talk through what we wanted for our wedding, we went in for a one-on-one tasting. It was so nice to have one-on-one time with the owner and our event manager during this meeting. They even adjusted a couple of recipes to accommodate for a food intolerance. We continue to receive compliments on the food at our wedding, particularly the shrimp and grits. We really hope to see Donovan's Dish at an event again soon!

    Sent on 10/23/2019
  • tenzweil@gmail.com

    tenzweil@gmail.com · Married on 08/10/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Yum, yum, yum- Southern flare for out of town guests!

    Delicious! Good food is very much appreciated in my family and therefore, it was slam dunk using Donovan's Dish. The compliments we receive on the food keep coming. Guests loved the family style option and food with southern style. The dessert table quickly disappeared before out eyes. Everyone at DD was great to work with-helpful and accommodating as we changed up number of entrees and accounted for vegetarians. The logistics of serving a large crowd seemed effortless and was so quick! Not enough good things to say!

    Sent on 09/24/2019
  • Caitlin

    Caitlin · Married on 08/04/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing Food!

    We met Donovan's Dish at our wedding venue's open house. It was a chilly January day and they were serving Grilled Cheese sandwiches, tomato soup, and shrimp and grits. My husband was immediately sold on them! From the initial meeting until the final cleanup, they were helpful, professional, and extremely flexible. We had some major allergies to avoid and they helped make sure everyone in attendance could eat something! Our private tasting was fun and delicious. We were able to try everything that would be severed at our wedding. Sydney was a pleasure to work with! We cannot say enough good things about Donovan's Dish!

    Donovan's Dish 6
    Sent on 09/20/2019
  • M

    Margot · Married on 05/25/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The best wedding food!

    I cannot recommend Donovan's Dish highly enough, they were one of our favorite vendors!! The staff was incredibly helpful throughout the planning process. Kim offered to go with me to reserve our rentals, which was incredibly helpful, and Becca was very communicative as the date approached to make sure every detail was taken care of. We ended up choosing the pimento cheese chicken and chef TJ's famous shrimp and grits as our entrees, which really fit with the modern southern vibe we wanted for our reception. Seriously do not skip the shrimp and grits--our friends and family are still talking about how delicious they were! We also followed Kim's recommendation to have the shrimp and grits served as a chef-attended station and that really added an extra wow factor to the dinner service. All their attention to detail was so appreciated for keeping the catering process stress free. They even thoughtfully offered us a gift card to the Donovan's Dish market as a wedding present so we can enjoy our wedding meal again! We will continue to be customers and recommend their catering to anyone planning an event!

    Donovan's Dish 7
    Donovan's Dish 8
    Donovan's Dish 9
    Donovan's Dish 10
    Donovan's Dish 11
    Donovan's Dish 12
    Donovan's Dish 13
    Donovan's Dish 14
    Sent on 07/09/2019
  • Tara

    Tara · Married on 05/18/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best Wedding Food Ever!

    Donovan's Dish was the caterer for our wedding at the Cookery in June. People are still telling us how much they loved the food. The shrimp and grits along with the mini chicken and waffles were HUGE hits. But honestly, you can't go wrong with anything on their menu. It is always a little bit of a concern having catering for 200 because of the logistics of it, but Donovan's Dish NAIL IT! All food was hot, well seasoned, and brought out on time.

    We are originally from Michigan so we told Jill we wanted our food to be Southern and she picked out the perfect menu for us. We tweaked a few things, but it was great to have her start things off because it was daunting to put together a menu.

    Not only was the food great, but so was the service. Donovan's helped us make our diagram and order rentals, including linens. They answered all questions as we prepared for the day. On the day of they were SO helpful! They setup the tables, linens, and helped with small decor. They moved chairs from the ceremony to dinner. Not only that their staff were extremely kind and helpful. They checked on our families, made sure we got apps, and so much more.

    Our day was perfect and Donovan's Dish played a huge roll in that. We can't wait to continue to eat from their markets too!

    Sent on 06/26/2019
  • Kristin

    Kristin · Married on 05/10/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Donovan's Delicious Dish!

    I was just reminiscing about our wedding the other day with a few friends (it’s been 6 weeks) and they were STILL talking about how good our food was...especially the famous shrimp and grits! Our venue had a really southern feel to it, so we opted for those choices on the menu. Donovan’s Dish was amazing! They took care of everything from the start. Our tasting was fun and delicious; we were able to sit down with Kim and get to know each other in a really lovely environment. On the day of the wedding, the team made sure we didn’t miss out on the food served during cocktail hour which was sweet. They did the same for us at dinner by making our plates for us. We had stations out on the lawn and it was perfect. Guests were raving about the food as we went around to chat. I couldn’t have asked for a better caterer! I can’t wait to go back to Donovan’s Dish, pick up some dinner, and have a little date night with my husband :)

    Sent on 06/21/2019
  • S

    Savannah · Married on 05/05/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing food and team

    100% would recommend them! The absolute best appetizers and food! One thing we wanted to make sure was that our guests did not leave hungry and my groom and the guest were very satisfied with the food! The team is so amazing and fun to work with and Kim is fantastic!!!! We will be eating at Donovan dish again!!

    Sent on 05/10/2019
  • Daniel

    Daniel Sawyer-Byrd · Married on 03/09/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazingly Delicious!

    Jill, Kim, Becca and the entire Donovan’s Dish team were fantastic to work with! They were extremely responsive and reliable from the day we started working with them, and the food blew everyone away. From the moment that we met with them, we knew that we were in good hands – they listened to what was important to us and helped us create a menu that fit our style. On the day of the wedding, everything was flawless and executed just like we wanted. We had many of our guests ask about the catering because the food was so great! They worked amazingly with the rest of our vendors and we could not recommend them enough! The bottom line is that they are the best at what they do and certainly worth the investment.

    Sent on 04/11/2019
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 02/17/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Delicious food and excellent service

    From start to finish, Donovan's Dish was a wonderful caterer. We hired them for our wedding after an excellent tasting and meeting with Kim. We worked with Becca to plan a rehearsal party in addition to the wedding, and she was always responsive, thorough, attentive, and a pleasure to work with. She helped us plan the perfect layout for our venue and worked with us to set up a few personal touches (like a champagne table and passed shots). On the day of the wedding, the Donovan's staff was professional and friendly, and the food was top notch. We've received a lot of compliments from our guests about the tasty dinner and our late night snack of chicken and waffles. We couldn't ask for anything more; they did a fantastic job!

    Sent on 03/03/2019
  • A

    Amanda olson · Married on 12/29/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Delicious, delicious, delicious

    I tasted a few caterers before booking Donovan's Dish and am SO happy I waited! Everyone enjoyed the food at my wedding. They offer a tasting in their shop, help plan an amazing menu, and are amazing to work with. Kim & Becca were so helpful when I was finalizing my rentals and answered all of my questions promptly. AMAZING SERVICE, AMAZING FOOD, JUST AMAZING!

    Sent on 01/05/2019
  • Cassie

    Cassie · Married on 11/17/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing Experience!

    Donovan's Dish catered our wedding and did a PHENOMENAL job! We had a mingle-style wedding with no assigned seating and opted for food stations.

    SERVICE: Donovan's was the most friendly, prompt and efficient vendor that we had. Leading up to our wedding, Kim was always prompt in responding to any questions we had, and she was the ultimate problem solver. She was very helpful with our interesting set-up, offering tips as to how to appropriately manage cocktail hour and dinner and suggestions as to popular food items. She went out of her way to make sure our experience was a personal one, and she seemed genuinely excited about catering our event. On our wedding day, everything went perfectly. The Donovan's crew was very friendly and efficient. The bartenders in particular were amazing!!

    FOOD: Not only were the stations so fun and the servers extremely friendly, the food was absolutely delicious (and we are VERY picky about food). In particular, our guests raved about the shrimp and grits! Donovan's gave us a few extra trays of the shrimp and grits to take home, and we ate them for four meals straight haha! They are that good.

    In sum, we cannot recommend Donovan's enough. They did a fantastic job, and we could not have asked for a better caterer for our wedding!!!

    Sent on 11/26/2018
  • L

    Lynn · Married on 10/20/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Fantastic FOOD and service

    We are big foodies and knew that this would be super important that we get right at our wedding. Not messing around with food! We went to a catering showcase at The Cloth Mill in Hillsborough, NC and were first introduced to Donovan’s Dish there. We were blown away by their Signature Shrimp and Grits dish! The best ever. The bride is Vietnamese and wanted Asian appetizers during the outdoor cocktail hour. We weren’t sure if they could pull this off well, since it wasn’t on their regular menu, but they came up with some amazing ideas and they turned out perfect! We got lots of compliments on the food (taste, presentation) and friendly service. They thoughtfully prepared a large to-go box for us to enjoy the next day before leaving on our honeymoon and we got to have all of our wedding food and cake over again, in comfy clothes! One of the bonuses is that they also run a Take-Out market so we can have those shrimp and grits again and relive our amazing day. Thank you, Donovan's Dish!

    Sent on 12/29/2018
  • Cheryl

    cheryl · Married on 10/20/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best Local Caterer!

    After several food tastings, DD delivered big time! We had a few requests not on the menu options thst they made happen! They provided our beer and wine last minute without issue and were a pleasure to work with. Our guests all complimented the food and thought it was exceptional. Our biscuit bar was a huge hit! Presentation was wonderful! I highly recommend Donovans Dish!

    Donovan's Dish 15
    Donovan's Dish 16
    Sent on 01/08/2019
  • HappilyMarried18

    Erika · Married on 10/13/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Yummy Food

    I enjoyed working with Donovan's Dish. Kim Sikkel is a sweetheart. I unfortunately had to deal with one lost check and then they took weeks to process my second one, which was pretty frustrating (apparently it was just sitting around never deposited). Besides that, I had no issues. I appreciated all the assistance provided by the staff on site. They were extremely professional, pleasant, and attentive. My food was good but some of it was luke-warm/cold (like the bourbon meatballs). I wish it would've been piping hot, but that's OK. The menu was delicious. Just be aware that they throw the food out almost immediately if you don't have to-go boxes. In essence- say yes to Donovan's Dish. The displays were superb, the staff is professional, and their food is just too good to pass up!

    Donovan's Dish 17
    Sent on 02/09/2019
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 09/02/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Excellent variety of choices

    I really appreciated working with Kim in the planning on all the details. The tasting was great and they were great to work within our budget. I really like that they have a takeout storefront. We plan on ordering from them to celebrate our anniversaries.

    Sent on 12/25/2018
  • L

    Laura · Married on 08/25/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Donovan's Dish catered our wedding at The Cookery in Durham, and they did a phenomenal job. Soon after our initial tasting, we began working with Kim. She was so kind, responsive, patient, and attentive to details. The day of the wedding, Sarah was our event manager and she also did an awesome job. Donovan's was so flexible and worked with us to create the perfect event--we had our ceremony and reception in the same room, and they seamlessly flipped the room during our cocktail hour. We also received many compliments on the food. We had a plated salad at the table and then food stations with shrimp and grits, short ribs with truffled mashed potatoes, and pimento cheese stuffed chicken with the best corn and tomato salad. I'm so happy to have worked with Donovan's Dish!

    Sent on 08/31/2018
  • J

    Julia · Married on 07/22/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best experience ever! We loved working with Donovan's Dish. Jill did our initial consultation and tasting, which was fabulous. The shrimp and grits CANNOT be beat! We worked with Kim for the rest of our planning process and she was so nice, helpful, and just easy to be around. DD was incredibly professional, sleek, and kind at our wedding reception and cocktail hour. They also left a card for us in our card box to recreate our wedding menu in the future! The food was absolutely delicious and all of our guests raved about it - even prepared for a crowd, it still tasted amazing. I cannot recommend enough! Our experience was phenomenal.

    Sent on 08/02/2018
  • C

    Caitlin · Married on 06/12/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We LOVED Donovan's Dish! We tried two caterers that fit into our budget for our wedding and Donovan's Dish knocked it out of the park. We tried them first and the woman we worked with (who no longer works there) told us to make sure we ask any other vendors that we try if they provide all of the materials to prepare and present the food. The next vendor we went to provided none of the materials needed, and we would've easily spent another $500+ on rentals on top of an already more expensive caterer. The food was phenomenal. We tried their prosciutto stuffed chicken and braised short ribs with a vegetable medley and roasted fingerling potatoes. Their food is top-tier, fanciest of fancy quality. We ended up going with the chicken, switching to a bistro filet (their summer version of the braised short ribs), the vegetables, and a mashed potato bar with an artisan cheese tray, house salad, and bread & butter. Y'all. This food blew everyone away. As soon as the wedding ended and we went to take pictures, one of their lovely servers came out with hors d'oeuvres plates for my husband and I to make sure we ate. It was so sweet. They helped set up before the wedding and their staff were the best we worked with for all of our multi-staffed vendors. The waitresses brought my husband and I our plates when we sat down, and y'all, I thought the chicken was good. The filet we switched to was life changing. It was all awesome and everyone seemed to really enjoy the staff and really LOVE the food. This was our biggest purchase, and my family are big foodies, so I'm glad we went with Donovan's. After we got back from our honeymoon, I was cleaning and I actually found a card from Donovan's Dish saying thank you with a gift card inside, which was SO sweet and so awesome. I'm extremely impressed and glad that my husband and I will actually be living a little closer to their storefront, so hopefully we can stop by and get some good eats to bring back home with us soon!

    Sent on 07/08/2018
  • B

    Brittney · Married on 04/07/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Donovan's Dish was wonderful! We first experienced their food at a wedding event at The Stockroom - after that we were sold. The team was very responsive and helped us plan a great meal for our wedding. We went with stations and served Shrimp and Grits (to die for) and Prosciutto Wrapped Stuffed Chicken. The team that worked our wedding was incredible. They provided top notch service and everything went perfectly. It's been a month and we are still getting compliments on the Shrimp and Grits! Thank you!

    Donovan's Dish 18
    Donovan's Dish 19
    Sent on 05/02/2018
  • M

    Michelle · Married on 11/04/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Donovan's was a no brainer and we knew immediately during our tasting that we had to hire them! They were so easy to work with and did not disappoint at our wedding. Melissa made the planning process easy and fun. She attended the final walk through and helped us map out where everything would be. The day of the wedding they quickly flipped the room we had our ceremony in setting up the buffet all while serving for cocktail hour. Our guests raved about the food. They also took such good care of me and my (now) husband. One of the servers brought out appetizers to us during cocktail hour while we were doing photos away from guests. She also waited patiently until our photographer said we could take a quick break since we were on a time crunch due to lighting. Even though it was a buffet, Melissa had our dinner delivered to us at the head table. The staff ensured everything ran smoothly and there was never a long line. They even packed up to go plates for us at the end of the night to enjoy after the wedding. I was so thankful for that little detail! I can't say enough about the food and the sweet staff. I love that they have the take out markets so we can enjoy the food we had at our wedding whenever we want. My mom has already demanded that any time she visits us or we visit her in Georgia that we have a tub of their pimento cheese for her. I can't thank Donovan's Dish enough for their delicious work!!

    Sent on 12/01/2017
  • L

    Laura · Married on 10/21/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    WOW. We booked Donovan's Dish for our wedding and it was by far the best wedding food I have ever tasted! Our guests raved about it, and I wish I hadn't been running on so much adrenaline so that I could have enjoyed more of it! Melissa and the team made our planning process very straightforward. They were extremely accommodating for our guests with (sometimes strange) food restrictions; I had a guest that needed no onions, egg, and garlic, and Melissa made it happen with only a week's notice. My only suggestion to future couples would be to make sure that you can take some food home afterwards- I had thought we could do this but I don't think we brought the right containers to do so. I highly recommend Donovan's if you're looking for delicious staples with a southern touch. I wanted to have some thematically appropriate food without it being too heavy, and they did a wonderful job! Thank you!

    Sent on 10/24/2017
  • M

    Megan · Married on 10/14/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were lucky enough to have Donovan’s Dish cater our wedding on October 14, 2017. Our 130 guest raved about how accommodating the staff were and how delicious the food was. The staff and our Catering Coordinator, Kim, were a dream to work with over our engagement. She made the entire process easy, pleasant and continuously went above and beyond to ensure that our foodie vision came to life and the food was perfect. She happily met with us whenever we asked and answered countless emails. I can’t speak enough about how special the staff and Donovan’s made us and our guests feel. Highly recommend- it was truly the perfect service and foodie experience for us and our guests

    Sent on 11/07/2017
  • T

    Theresa · Married on 07/14/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Oh my gosh, I cannot say enough wonderful things about the food and the staff here!! The guests raved over our heavy hors d'oeuvres wedding reception. Just a few of the standout favorites were the pork sliders, the goat cheese quesadillas with mango salsa, the bourbon meatballs, the chicken tzatziki skewers.... But even more amazing than the food was the quality of service from each and every staff member. They all truly went above and beyond to help in any way possible, they were the MOST FRIENDLY catering staff (to ALL our guests!) that I have ever encountered. Simply a top notch company all around.

    Sent on 08/01/2017

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review