Deering Estate Reviews

39 | Miami, FL
See photos, pricing and details

39 Reviews for Deering Estate

Recommended by 92%

39
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner

4.6 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.7
  • Professionalism 4.7
  • Flexibility 4.3
  • Value 4.7
  • Average response time 4.5
Sort by:
  • C

    Clara Aldrich · Married on 12/29/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Pinterest wedding

    It was a dream wedding , very spacious easy to work with

    Sent on 02/01/2019
  • M

    Martha · Married on 09/23/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved how everything turned out for our wedding. The property is just beautiful and left us with some really great memories. Thank you and all your staff for all the assistance during the planning process and the day of the wedding! Everyone was always so nice, attentive and helpful! It really turned out to be a dream wedding! Anyone looking for a fabulous venue should definitely check out Deering Estate!!
    -M & O (9/23/2017)

    Sent on 10/10/2017
  • F

    Francisco · Married on 01/07/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Deering is the perfect backdrop for portraits. We also loved the fact we could have dinner in the courtyard and the dancing inside; and the flexibly we got from booking our own vendors.

    Sent on 01/25/2017
  • S

    Samantha · Married on 12/03/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful Venue! So many great spots for photos. Very rustic and romantic!

    Sent on 12/24/2016
  • User5147247 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    In all honesty, I was planning this wedding from out of town so I didn't really have much personal interaction with the vendor representative as my wedding planner interacted with them to set everything up like the researsal at the venue. The venue itself is gorgeous. When everything is set up, it gives the guests a feeling of awe and grandeur walking down the tree lined aisle to the bay that is framed by gorgeous palm trees, sun shining above it all. It was even more wonderful that my caterer was there to provide beverages at the entrance for them to enjoy as they walked down to the ceremony site. It rained on my wedding day. We had gorgeous sunshine for our first look photos but half way through the ceremony the thunder clouds started rolling in. Luckily our Officiant recognized this and expedited the ceremony. The venue was even more beautiful when we had a gorgeous rainbow spread across the ceremony arch during the ceremony. I loved the versatility and the charm of this venue. We had a dressing room across from the grand ball room. And our reception was out in the courtyard. We ended up getting a clear tent due to the predicted rain and it was gorgeous out in the courtyard with the lights and the centerpieces. I would definitely recommend doing the reception in the courtyard, even if it rains rather than squeezing everyone inside the ballroom. We had ~ 100 guests for the wedding.

    Sent on 06/05/2015
  • User4565687 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Deering Estate is a stunning location for any Miami wedding. It's a beautiful, natural setting and the actual estate has so many uses for a wedding. I used the library for desserts, the courtyard for a gorgeous outdoor dinner and the ballroom for dancing. It is a much better value than Viscaya and there event team is top notch!

    Sent on 11/22/2014
  • L

    Lara · Married on 01/25/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Gorgeous venue and professional events team. Comped our site visit as well as everyone for our rehearsal. We had planners from their preferred vendor list (Events on a Budget), so they knew the routine with what was acceptable and not as far as set up, noise, hours, etc. There are a lot of rules, for example I was surprised to learn you cannot drop flower petals (or anything for that matter), on the lawn/aisle. With such a stunning back drop for our ceremony we didn't mind sticking to the rules they have in place. They did allow set up of vintage furniture for cocktail hour and heat lamps for our dinner in the courtyard. Whenever we called they got back to us the same day, and were always pleasant!

    Sent on 03/24/2014
  • C

    Courtney · Married on 09/22/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    What can I say! I love this venue! We had a fabulous wedding here! Thank you~!

    Sent on 04/21/2014
  • C

    Cecily · Married on 03/30/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Between the amazing weather, the beautiful view of the water, the stone house and the courtyard, I definitely had my fairytale wedding. The great part is, that in one location you technically have 3 different venues. I had my ceremony by the water, cocktail hour at the courtyard and reception in the stone house. All my guests were completely blown away!

    Sent on 08/27/2013
  • L

    Linda · Married on 03/03/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I first visited the Deering Estate back when I was touring my different wedding venues. It was my last stop for the day, after visiting a couple of country clubs. As soon as my mother, sister and I entered the gates to the estate our jaws immediately dropped and that is when I knew I had to get married there. The long walkway with the high tree canopy over it, the Stone House, the Richmond Cottage, the huge royal palms and view of Biscayne Bay made this place stand out so much. It just felt different than any other place. The Deering Estate is elegant, but not over the top and it has so much natural beauty that it really cannot be beat, and the views of the water make it a perfect waterfront location without sand! My guests still can't stop talking about how amazing of a place it was, and it is wonderful that you get the location to yourself for the evening. I knew I wanted a ceremony and reception location all in one, so that guests didn't have to drive somewhere in between and the deering estate was perfect. The transition from the lawn for the ceremony, to the porch and lawn for cocktail hour, to the courtyard (STUNNING) for the reception, and then inside the ballroom for dancing made it so perfect. This is the perfect place for a dream wedding!

    Sent on 04/15/2013
  • G

    gabriel · Married on 02/02/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    awesome and luxurious place!! everything was amazing

    Sent on 04/09/2013
  • Y

    Yenise · Married on 10/12/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Few places are as beautiful and picturesque as The Deering Estate at Cutler. The views of the water, the regality of the house, the dance floor inside the mansion, the palmtree-lined walkways...I could go on and on. This place is hands-down one of the most beautiful locations in all South Florida to have a wedding. Book early because a lot of other brides think this way as well!!!

    Sent on 10/19/2012
  • L

    Loren · Married on 02/25/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Deering Estate is such a beautiful location. Jenna is awesome to work with and very helpful.

    Sent on 03/14/2012
  • C

    Crystal · Married on 10/21/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Those Deering Brothers sure knew how to live large. While James was importing Italian marble for his little winter cottage, Vizcaya, brother Charles was building this sprawling bayside mansion. The 1922 estate included…
    When me and my formally Fiancé visit the Venue, We knew this was going to be our venue!! The staff was the best.

    Sent on 11/02/2011
  • B

    Brooke · Married on 09/24/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wedding at Deering was incredible. I first went to Deering when I was 12 or 13 with my father, an attorney, for a bar association event. I remember how beautiful it was in this rustic, majestic, old Florida sort of way. I decided then and there that Deering was where I wanted to get married. My own wedding day was far more beautiful than that evening and far more magical than anything I had imagined.

    While many brides I talk to have always had Viscaya on their minds as a number one choice, I think the Deering's smaller size and history made the affair a bit more intimate. Also, because it is rustic and natural beauty, rather than brilliant chandelier sparkle beauty, our decor really looked spectacular and was not overshadowed by the venue.

    The staff at Deering was incredibly accommodating in terms of flexing their normal rules to suit my vision of the wedding.

    I have talked to some brides that were concerned with the shabby bathrooms (it is a public park owned and operated by Miami Dade County), but we handled that by ensuring they were clean, that each bathroom was appropriately decorated with our flowers and offered a nice collection of soaps, lotions, hairspray, etc. so that it had a nicer feel for guests.

    We had the ceremony outside facing the water despite warnings that it had rained earlier in the day and the grass may be flooded. I decided to risk the possibility of additional rain and have the ceremony on the grass but set back a little farther than where we had planned (the grass was still a little wet). We were in luck, it did not rain and the ceremony was beautiful. It was at 5:45 in September and a little warm so we gave all the guests fans and lemonade basil drinks. The pictures show amazing yellow light falling down behind my father and I as we walked down the aisle.

    I highly recommend this venue to anyone considering it. Another nice thing with selecting this venue is the fact that the funds spent go back to Miami Dade Public Parks.

    Sent on 12/19/2011
  • G.G.

    Gretta · Married on 12/18/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Besides being a beautiful venue, the employees are very courteous and are always willing to help with any issues..I was very pleased with the staff the day of the wedding..The securitys were very friendly and professional...Truly an exceptional place to have your wedding..=) ts a little expensive but at the end of the day it is a beautiful venue and the scenery is spectacular!

    Sent on 01/09/2010
  • J

    Jackie · Married on 05/06/2006

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This place is an absolute dream!!! Leslie, the wedding coordinator, is really helpful and it was such a pleasure working with her.

    Sent on 06/23/2008
  • C

    Charlotte · Married on 10/14/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The team at the Deering Estate is super accommodating, helpful, and responsive (note during peak booking months, it may take a few days for them to respond, but they are prompt in getting back to you without much delay)! I knew that I wanted to get married at this venue as it's very close to home, and an truly unparalleled historic home & waterfront property. Get the vibes of Vizcaya at a much more affordable rate and in an intimate setting. One of the most important factors for me when looking for a venue was having the flexibility to hire any vendors I wanted (caterer, florist, entertainment, etc), and there were no restrictions at Deering. If you're someone who is comfortable with and wants to hand-select your own vendors, then you'll enjoy the flexibility of picking anyone you want to work with without a restricted or preferred vendor list. Our guests loved being able to explore the home and grounds, and enjoy cocktail hour overlooking the bay plus dinner under the tree canopy of the open courtyard. It's a truly magical and hidden gem, and a perfect wedding venue for anyone looking for a historic location that can accommodate large and small parties (and closed to the public during private events so you don't have uninvited guests participating in the party). It's also a flexible site that can easily adapt to decor themes ranging from art deco and vintage to modern glam, rustic, or beachy. Lastly, the parking was so easy with the visitor parking lot right outside the main gates—no need for guests to hunt for spots or for you to hire a valet service.

    Sent on 05/24/2018
  • C

    Ashley · Married on 04/24/2010

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The venue was a beautiful. There wasn't one person that didn't tell me how beautiful this place was. For what you pay you get a really large area for the wedding. I had the cocktail party out on a lawn right in front of the water. Then the dancing was inside what they call the stone house. Which the walls & ceiling are beautiful. Then the dinner was at the courtyard right in front of the stone house. So you get a large area to use for the price. I had a lot of children at my wedding and they were able run & play on the lawn b/c it was a large area and parents didn't have to tell their kids to behave like you would if you were at a smaller venue.

    Sent on 05/29/2010
  • J

    Janessa · Married on 10/05/2013

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Gorgeous location!! My wedding was absolutely gorgeous!! Location is beautiful I had the reception by the water and reception inside.. Everyone loved the location. I got beautiful pictures.. Only one small issue is since the location is a historical site there is many rules and regulations.. Make sure you go over all rules before booking so you don't get any surprises... However despite the rules location and staff is great! If I had to do it over again I wouldn't change anything... I loved the location and was very happy with the venue for my reception!

    Sent on 10/23/2013
  • User1322637 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Deering Estate is an incredibly special and unique venue (spectacular views, beautiful grounds and charming, historical home) and we loved every minute of our wedding there. The only drawback in service is Leslie in the event's dept. but her colleague, Candy, was wonderful and made sure our special day was perfect.

    Sent on 01/01/2011
  • User6815071 · 2+ years ago

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I could not be any happier with our choice of the Deering Estate. It was stunning and all of our guests have been telling us how beautiful everything was. Jena was so sweet and a total delight to work with, and really went out of her way to make everything special.

    The flexibility to bring in whichever vendors you wanted was a huge plus.

    All in all, would do it again in a heartbeat!

    Sent on 02/22/2017
  • N

    Nadia · Married on 05/19/2012

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Beautiful venue! My wedding was absolutely beautiful due to the greenery of this venue! A big "Thank you" to the staff at The Deering Estate!

    Sent on 06/20/2012
  • Liz

    Liz · Married on 04/14/2012

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Deering is absolutely beautiful! It is a bit pricey and they do have a lot of rules, but absolutely worth the breathtaking views and grounds. The bathrooms could use a little sprucing up, but I absolutely recommend this venue if you are looking for a unique, beautiful space. Other than Vizcaya, there is nothing else that even comes close.

    Sent on 04/15/2012
  • B

    Jaise · Married on 02/11/2012

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The venue is beautiful. I received many compliments from my guests.

    Sent on 02/27/2012

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review