Weddings

Davis Imperial Cleaners Reviews

Davis Imperial Cleaners

Davis Imperial Cleaners

Chicago, IL
Rating 4.6 out of 5, 26 Reviews
View more information

26 Reviews

Rated
4.6
out of 5.0
Recommended by 91% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.4 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.5 out of 5

Awards

  • 26
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner

2 User photos

Sort by:
  • Jackie
    Jackie M. Married on 08/30/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Definitely recommend!

    My dress vendor, BHLDN, recommended Davis Imperial for my dress cleaning and alterations.

    While I think their prices were comparable to other locations, they were definitely a big help in making sure my dress looked great on me! The seamstress is amazing at what she does and very kind. Overall, I had a great experience with them.
  • Kylie
    Kylie C. Married on 05/17/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Painless and Priceless (but totally reasonable)

    I found Davis Imperial when I called Bhldn for recommendations on where to get my Estelle wedding dress altered. The alterations team at Davis Imperial were fantastic and a breeze to work with when I brought in my wedding dress. I found the appointment times easy and convenient, and had no issues finding times to work with my schedule - which is saying a lot given how hectic the weeks leading up to your wedding can be. When one of the cups on my dress was not laying correctly, they fit and refit the fabric until it was perfect. Upon picking up my dress after alterations were complete, they sent me with an emergency kit to cover any potential mishaps on the big day. (Thankfully I didn’t need it!) My dress fit like a glove and I felt absolutely stunning in it. The team even sent a giftcard after the wedding day with their congratulations, which I will definitely be using when I have my wedding dress hemmed and made into an anniversary dress. Prices were reasonable and clearly stated at every step along the way. I never felt pressured for add ons or extras. I would absolutely recommend them if you are looking for someone to trust to have your wedding dress altered!
  • Gabi
    Gabriella Married on 05/11/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Impeccable Alterations

    I would definitely hire Davis Imperials again for my wedding dress alterations. I was completely comfortable with all the changes along the way and they totally delivered! (literally and figuratively) Their services are on the top end of the price range, but for a reason!
  • Elise
    Elise Married on 04/06/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Absolute wizards!

    I bought my wedding dress off the rack, and it was about 3 sizes too big. I was worried that it may not turn out exactly how I wanted with it being so large, but Iana at Davis Imperial Cleaners is amazing! My wedding dress turned out EXACTLY how I wanted - it was taken in, shortened, bustled beautifully and she even added straps that looked like they were created when the dress was made. In addition to my wedding dress, I brought in an older dress of my grandma's to be updated so I could wear it to the rehearsal dinner. I couldn't believe it - the dress looked like new and they were able to alter even the old material! I will bring every alternation back to this location, they are incredible! Thanks, Iana!
  • Maggie
    Maggie Married on 07/28/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Say Yes to Perfect Alterations

    I bought a sample wedding dress, and was so happy to have Davis Imperial Cleaners on my team to make it absolute perfection for the wedding. They had to replace the illusion top, and went through 4 different fabrics to make sure they picked THE perfect material. I never felt so beautiful, and while yes it was on the pricey side, you get what you pay for. They were meticulous and made sure it was perfect before they gave it back to me. If you want to be stress free about your dress, this is the place to hire.
  • A
    Amber Married on 10/07/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Davis imperial did my wedding dress alterations. They were fantastic! My dress was perfect so all I needed was a bustle and a small alteration on the top of the dress. They are very professional and know so much about dresses. She helped my maid of honor corset and bustle my dress. When I picked it up they provided me with an emergency kit that included, buttons, beads, sequins, pins, band aids, safety pins, a sewing kit, potpourri, double stick garment tape, and a spot cleaner! What a nice surprise! They are a little pricey, but totally worth it. I would definitely recommend their services!
  • S
    Stephanie Married on 09/16/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I can’t recommend Davis Imperial Cleaners enough! Iana was so sweet and detail-oriented. She took a ton of appointments in the months leading up to my wedding, and since I was losing weight, she helped me make the right decisions about what changes to make and when. She even did final alterations in just a few days when I lost more weight than planned right before. They’re well worth the price, because everything fit like a glove. I’ve taken other dresses there now because the experience with my wedding dress was so great. Thanks to BHLDN for the recommendation!
  • A
    Alissa Married on 09/03/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Working with Davis Cleaners for my bridal gown alterations was seamless (literally)! I felt extremely confident that I was in the best hands and creative minds in the city. I was nervous that my over sized sample dress would be a challenge, but they made it my own and took all my anxiety away. They were patient, accommodating, and creative. They even attached the extra lace from my dress onto my custom veil. What a pleasure!
  • E
    Erin Married on 02/19/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Better than I expected. After finding my wedding dress at Glamour Closet, I took their recommendation and sought out Davis to work on my alterations. I can't tell you if Davis is the most reasonable (I stopped my search after visiting them I felt so comfortable), but I can tell you they are worth every penny. I had 5 fittings over the course of 4 months and am so so grateful for the experience. The folks at Davis are super precise and careful with the whole process ensuring you are happy with the alterations each step of the way.

    My dress needed a last minute fix due to my changing mind and they were SO gracious to work with me until the dress fit exactly as I wanted. I felt amazing on my wedding day because Iana and her team made my dress to fit my body and personality.

    HIGHLY recommend!
  • K
    Katie Married on 09/24/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Fantastic alterations and great staff! When I had an emergency with my dress two hours before the event they saved me! Planning on using to preserve my dress too! Keturah Michael Was fantastic and made my dress beautiful
  • R
    Ria Married on 07/29/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Everyone at Davis Imperial is extremely helpful, friendly, and professional. My wedding gown was altered so perfectly and with such attention to detail. I highly recommend Davis Imperial for wedding gown alterations! My sister who is getting married this fall also chose to use Davis Imperial. Quality service!
  • K
    Kalle Married on 06/25/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I loved working with Davis Imperial to have my dress altered. I purchased a vintage dress from the 1940s that was a huge ballgown. By the end they completely restructured my dress and it was so beautiful. I flew in several times, from Seattle, to have the dress altered. Each time I was amazed by the work that had been done. I also probably didn't go as many times as they would have liked but the end result was amazing.
  • User2327511 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I purchased my dress at Bhldn, where they recommended Davis Imperial Cleaners for tailoring. Such a great recommendation!! I had a total of 5 visits between December and June and each time I was treated like a princess. My seamstress and account manager always made me feel beautiful, complimenting me on my choices of dress, jewelry, and shoes. The dress was beautifully pressed for our wedding and was comfortable the entire day. The dress fit like a glove!
  • A
    Andrea Married on 04/11/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Davis Imperial Cleaners took care of the steaming/pressing and transport of my gown. I dropped it off with them 3 weeks ahead of the wedding and they delivered it to the hotel where we got married. I was so impressed with the quality of their work -- the gown was just perfect, not a pleat out of place. And it was delivered in a large bag so as not to smash the dress, and they even included a little kit with gloves, etc. for special handling of the dress. The delivery driver was very friendly. They are a bit pricey but they really did do an amazing job. The splurge was worth it for me.
  • J
    Jenny Married on 10/12/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Davis Imperial is great. I bought a designer sample sale dress that needed cleaning and a lot of alterations. Keturah and her team were so great to work with- so accommodating, friendly and professional. My dress had an outer layer train, and the gals at Davis worked magic so I was able to actually take the outer layer off during my reception. I don't know how they did it but it worked. Their work is incredible; I'd recommend them to anyone!
  • Tanya
    Tanya Married on 09/21/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Took extra care in my alterations and had me in 5 times to make sure it was perfect
  • K
    Katie Married on 12/10/2011
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    he only dress I ended up loving was at a sample sale and the dress was a mess. It had a ton of stains and dirt marks and it was about 5 sizes too big, but I had to have it. After a ton of research we took it to Davis Imperial. They were miracle workers! Everyone was so amazing and great to work with. They were also flexible with appointments and rescheduling. I got to work with the same two people the entire time and they were wonderful and helped to address every concern. I often had to go to fittings by myself because my family lived out of town but Keturah was like having a family member there, she was often the first one to point out flaws and always discussed how they could fix them. They were probably my favorite vendor to work with during my wedding.
  • N
    Natalie Married on 12/12/2015
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Can't say enough wonderful things about Davis! They definitely made my wedding dress look beautiful pre and post wedding (it is now preserved!) It is definitely worth the cost---you will look and feel like a princess!
  • V
    Veronica Married on 06/18/2016
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Got my dress at glamour closet and we're recommended by them. Very trustworthy to make your dress look fabulous on you no matter what they had to alter. Very attentive and they schedule you for 4 to 5 visits to make sure everything fits perfectly. They don't cut anything until the end to make sure your completely satisfied and don't want to make any changes. A little pricey but worth it for your dress. Not anyone knows how.
  • K
    Kristin Married on 06/11/2016
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    Davis did an amazing job on the alterations for my wedding dress! I got my dress at Glamour Closet in Chicago and they recommended Davis Imperial Cleaners to me. When all was said and done: I got a cleaning, press, alterations, bustle and they put in bra cups into my dress. The girl who helped me did a fantastic job! She showed me different style options for my bustle, took pictures and let me walk away to think about them afterwards. Appointments were made a few times before the final day and each time was concerned I was happy with the work she did on my dress. My only con would be it was a bit pricey but at the same time, I wanted my wedding dress to be perfect and fit comfortably so I think the price was worth it.
  • H
    Hannah Married on 07/21/2018
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    Davis Cleaners did the alterations for my wedding dress. Davis came highly recommended from the Glamour Closet, where I purchased my dress. I had a great consultation, multiple fittings and the service was always great. At the final fitting we realized I lost more weight than expected and we had to take the dress in just a days before the wedding. Instead of that making me nervous Davis helped calm me and ensure this would keep the strapless gown from falling. It was a perfect fit!
  • Tiffany & Leighton
    Tiffany Married on 12/28/2008
    Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 3.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The place I bought my gown from recommended Davis Imperial Cleaners for my alterations. Again, I did everything quite last minute so I was so excited that they would be able to alter my dress in less than 3 months. They always made it easy for me to make appointments that fit my schedule as my weekends were pretty tight with scheduling as the wedding date got nearer. They were super professional and very friendly. My first alteration was for taking in the sides of the dress as it was too large. When it came time to pay, I was pleasantly surprised as it was right at what I thought it would cost, maybe even a little less than I had anticipated which is always great. The second fitting was for the bustling. I guess my dress was really delicate but the cost of that was more than 1/2 the cost of my gown but at that point, what can I do? The last fitting was for length. My final fitting came and the dress fit but I did notice (and later my mom did, too) that the hem of the gown in front was slightly shorter than the sides. I did notice this at the fitting but since my gown had a "rough" hem meaning that it was like a tulle material and it just gets cut (so if it's too short, you're SOL) there really wasn't a point in bringing it up. I was just happy it fit and got it with time to spare. In the end, the dress looked gorgeous but I did end up paying as much for the alterations as the gown...which I didn't have budgeted so I think I'll have to wait to get the gown "cleaned & preserved" since we came out over our wedding budget. My recommendation is to ask for an estimate before you let anyone "snip" your dress. They were great otherwise and very professional.
  • J
    Jenn Married on 10/25/2008
    Rating 4.1 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    Their costs are REALLY high - my dress cost way more to alter/clean than I spent on the dress itself. However, they work they do is impressive. You get what you pay for. They took a size 10 sample dress and altered it down to a size 2. They take excellent care of the dress while it is with them. I was having concerns about the dress I bought, and I took it in for a consultation and I felt so confident in their work I ended up leaving it with them that day.
  • M
    Megan Married on 06/03/2007
    Rating 3.9 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 3.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    Davis cleaners pressed my gown and delivered it to my home the day before my wedding. After my wedding my gown was filthy- it had at least two inches of black dirt along the bottom of my dress. I took it to Davis for restoration and preservation. The staff went over the dress seemingly one inch at a time. They were able to remove the stains and also repaired some of the beading. When the preservation was complete, Davis delivered the dress to my home. It did take a few months for the cleaners to preserve the gown, but I wasn't planning on wearing it again so I didn't mind the wait.
  • M
    Michelle Married on 11/17/2007
    Rating 1.7 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 0.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 0.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    I bought a beautiful couture silk wedding gown that was ruched from the bust on through the train. It was a challenging piece to have cleaned but it needed to be done before our big day. I FedExed the gown to Davis Imperial Cleaners to have cleaned for a price tag of $390 (exclusive of shipping both ways). The cost was supposed to include a muslin bag to hang the gown in but I never received the bag. I called Lynda several times after I received the gown back and she said that it would cost extra to receive the bag, so I emailed written proof from Davis Imperial that I was supposed to receive the gown back in a muslin bag. I emailed and called several times after that and still received no response. Yes - the gown was cleaned beautifully but the customer service is horrible. I paid for a bag and never received it. Post-wedding I had my gown cleaned again and I can assure you I did not use Davis Imperial Cleaners.