Weddings

Dame Couture Reviews

Dame Couture

Dame Couture

Addison, IL
View more information

62 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 100% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Awards

  • 62
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2009 Winner

8 User photos

Sort by:
  • Samantha
    Samantha Married on 11/16/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Perfection

    I couldn't be happier in my decision to buy a dress at Dame Couture. I cannot thank Daniela enough for helping me in the dress selection and more importantly with the fittings. My dress and belt were beyond perfect. She is incredible at what she does and it was a pleasure to work with her.
  • A
    Alison Married on 10/13/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Great place for unique dresses!

    If you’re looking for a dress in the Chicago area, I highly recommend Daniela at Dame Couture! We visited about 5 stores, mostly downtown, and we all agreed we had by far the best experience at Dame. It’s a small, independent store so you’re group will have the place to yourself and one on one attention which makes it a more relaxed and enjoyable experience compared to some of the larger stores downtown. The dress selection is great (I ended up choosing a dress from the Truvelle line) and Daniela is very sweet and fun to work with. She made it a super comfortable process. Highly recommend!

    Dame Couture's reply:

    Dear Alison, it was so great to work with you in finding the right dress for you! The dress you chose was just right for you - unique and modern, with a touch of romance in that gorgeous train! Thank you for making Dame a part of your destination wedding in California. Congrats on your marriage!
  • Maren
    Maren W. Married on 08/25/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Dresses as unique as you are

    After visiting dozens of bridal shops I finally came across Dame Couture and met Daniela who was able to meet with me and create the perfect dress for my style, theme and detailing. I came in with interest for a tea length dress and she was able to design and alter a gorgeous dress that surpassed my expectations. She was a pleasure to work with and her shop is a wonderful intimate place where she gives you her full attention to make sure you leave with the dress of your dreams. She even created a pocket that allowed me to access my diabetic insulin pump so my blood sugars were just on point as my dress. I highly recommend Dame Couture if you are searching for a unique dress to fit your unique style while working with extreme talent, patience, consideration, attention to detail all in a place that makes you feel comfortable and confident that you have finally found the right place to make your dream happen.

    Dame Couture's reply:

    Dear Maren, thank you so much for your kind words! I am so honored to have helped you in the process of finding the right dress for you! I know it was a struggle for you finding the right dress at first, but with your vision we were able to create the dress of your dreams! It was a pleasure working with you, and I cannot wait to see your photos. Congrats on your marriage!
  • A
    Aimee Married on 07/27/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I can’t say enough about how great of an experience I had working with Dani at Dame Couture. I came in not quite sure what style dress I was looking for. Dani helped me select a variety of dresses and seemed to instinctively know what my style was! She really took the time to learn about our wedding day and was so fun and sweet to work with! My experience dress shopping at Dame felt both personal and enjoyable! On top of having a variety of unique and gorgeous dresses, I felt so confident in Dame Couture handling alterations for me as well. Such a wonderful store and a great fit for anyone looking for a really special and personal experience!
  • J
    Jeanette Married on 05/27/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I met Daniela at a bridal show and knew I would be visiting her store as soon as I saw how professional and personable she was! She made a custom veil that complemented my gown perfectly. My whole wedding incorporated twists on the traditional elements, so I wanted my veil to match that, and she listened to my idea and turned it into the best version it could be! She is truly an expert seamstress and values her brides' dreams for their wedding day look.
  • C
    Christina Married on 05/27/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Daniela is phenomenal to be honest when I picked up my dress for the last time I hugged her twice she went ABOVE AND BEYOND. To help me with my dress.
    I was looking for a plus size wedding dress and she absolutely made my dream dress come true. She custom made the top of my dress to fit me better!
    Her jewelry and head pieces are phenomenal I received so many compliments on my dress and headpiece.

    Daniela should absolutely be trusted to take care of your dress her style and taste is amazing.

    my partner also chose her jumpsuit from daniela where daniela added sleeves!!
    she is also amazingly patient!

    Dame Couture's reply:

    Oh Christina, thank you so much for your kind words! I love the photos you posted and your dress is beautiful! I am honored that you made me a part of your wedding day by finding your dress here at Dame. I love what I do, and you were able to experience part of what I'm most passionate about, custom design! A small customization to your dress, makes your wedding dress unique and no other bride will have it. I can't wait to see more photos from the big day! Congrats on your marriage!
  • E
    Emily Married on 10/15/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Dame Couture is a fantastic place for finding a wedding dress and/or getting alterations. Daniela is kind, warm, and had a great eye. The dresses in the shop are beautiful. I actually found the shop when looking for a wedding dress. In the end I found a skirt that I loved, bought two of them, and had Daniela design and create a top from the second skirt to form a dress. We partnered to figure out the shape of the top and then I would stop by a few times through the process to try a makeshift top (to see if we liked the shape) and then all the way to the finished product. The entire process was so easy and my dress ended up being exactly what I wanted. I appreciate Daniela's beautiful work and her thoughtfulness. Partnering with her was a wonderful experience and I so appreciate her skills and store. She is worth your time visiting in Addison, as you will not be disappointed with your experience there!
  • R
    Rachel Married on 09/23/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I wish I could give more than 5 stars in all categories! I can not express how happy I was to work with Daniela. I purchased my gown in New York, but was getting married in Evanston, IL. I choose to go to Dame Couture because they carried the same designer that made my dress. My dress was made out of silk charmeuse, which is not easy to work with. She was so good about making sure everything fit perfectly and making me feel good in my dress. After what was slated to be my final fitting, we discovered that part of the dress was puckering, so she took it back opened up the seam and fixed it. Her prices were so reasonable and she was willing to accommodate my travel schedule. I loved working with her!
  • L
    Lindsay Married on 07/29/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Daniela and Dame Couture were my wedding guardian angels. I initially met Daniela when I first started shopping for my dress. She was kind and wonderful to work with, and even though she had a beautiful selection, I left without purchasing anything.

    Fast-forward a few months to when my final dress fitting (a non-Dame dress) went awry. Panicked, we immediately thought of Daniela, and my mom made a call. We were at Dame’s new location within an hour and I was trying on dresses for my wedding which was only 3 weeks away. Not only did I fall in love with a dress, but Daniela sold it off the rack and had it perfectly altered within 48 hours. Even though I was in panic mode, she could not have been more comforting. And even though it was a quick alteration job, her work was absolute perfection.

    I highly recommend Dame to any bride in search of the perfect dress. Daniela runs a beautiful shop, and she truly cares about helping her brides find something special. Daniela – thank you so, so much for everything you did for me!
  • T
    Teresa Married on 07/15/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I got Truvelle's Carolina dress from Dame Couture for my July 2017 wedding. I had the pleasure of working with both Holly (the previous owner) and Dani (the current owner). Although Holly and her shop in Evanston were wonderful, I'll focus on Dani and her shop in Addison.

    I liked Dani the instant I met her. She is not only a talented seamstress and designer, but she's SO sweet and professional. I couldn't have been happier with her alterations/adjustments and additions (we added a decorative belt to my dress, which was the perfect touch).

    The store is pretty, hip, clean, and spacious. Dame carries several designers and has some really unique dresses. My wedding guests were RAVING about my dress and how they'd never seen anything like it.

    If you want a great selection as well as great service, Dame Couture is the place to go!!!
  • J
    Jen Married on 11/18/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Holly is my Fairy Godmother. She created a custom wedding dress for me that was beyond my wildest dreams. It was the perfect dress. The process, from start to finish, was great -- Holly really listened to my vision and we worked together to create the dress. I trusted her completely and the final product was even better than I could have imagined.

    The shop also won me over -- it is so beautiful and, because they only take one appointment at a time, you get the attention you really deserve when you're making such an important decision for your day. Both Holly and Daniela are highly knowledgeable and eager to help you find the perfect dress - be it a designer they carry in the store or a custom gown.

    I can't recommend the Dame Couture team enough! Make an appointment today!
  • C
    Colleen Married on 11/05/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My sister in law's wedding dress was made by Holly and she is the one who recommended her. I'm so, so happy I listened.

    I have already given multiple people Holly's information I've only been married a little over a month. I had a vision in my head of what i wanted the dress to look like and it was amazing to see it all come to life thanks to Holly. She's reasonably priced and although Dame is located in Evanston and I live in Chicago, every trip was worth it and I looked forward to every fitting.

    My dress was the most beautiful thing I've ever worn.
  • L
    Liz Married on 10/21/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I had the best time working with Holly, from picking out the dress, to alterations, brainstorming on accessories, etc. I had endless compliments on my dress from all of my guests (and my dry cleaner!). Could not recommend Dame Couture more!!!
  • K
    Kaye Married on 10/16/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Loved working with Holly! When I came in from out of town to try on dresses, I felt I could really trust her advice and opinion. She honestly told me that her favorite dress on me was from another designer, even though I was also trying on some of her own designs. She was a pleasure to work with, not pushy, or trying to get me into a particular kind of dress. Great place to shop for indie brides who want something a little different, and don't want the overblown and stressful stereotypical dress shopping experience. Holly also gave me great advice on how to wear my dress the day of, an even gave me free sticky tape and showed me where to put it.
  • C
    Cristina Married on 10/14/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Holly was absolutely amazing to work with and provided the most personal service!
  • J
    Jessi Married on 10/08/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I have NOTHING but praise to say! I visited several shops, both large and small. Holly's was the only location that had quality, variety and sizing.
    I selected a difficult dress that needed to be shipped out more than once due to designer issues that could not be foreseen.
    Holly went above and beyond at every step to make sure I was happy and taken care of.
    She made the journey to my wedding day absolutely amazing. I couldn't imagine shopping with anyone else!
  • L
    Lori Married on 09/24/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Without a doubt the BEST and EASIEST part of my entire wedding planning and experience!!! There were several hiccups (the wrong dress shipped by the designer) along the way that had nothing to do with Holly, but she expertly managed everything without a single issue. Holly is reassuring and a blessing for any bride to be!!! She gave me the BEST advice for hair and jewelry ... I looked exactly the way I wanted to on my special day. I wish I could attach a photo because I felt so beautiful that day. Every bride deserves that feeling!! Thank you Holly!!!
  • M
    Mary A. Married on 09/24/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Everything about my wedding dress experience was perfect at Dame Couture. I loved working with Holly, she made everything easy and did an amazing job with the dress I ordered. I could not have been happier with the results! I tried on dresses at a few other stores but fell in love with unique dresses at Dame Couture. I am so grateful to Dame Couture for helping me find the perfect dress and for making this part of my wedding planning stress-free!
  • Anji
    Anji Married on 09/23/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I came to Evanston from Detroit to try on the Truvelle line (and a very special dress). From the very beginning, Holly was helpful and gave wonderful feedback. Having never been married before, there's a lot to consider even with the dress that no one tells you! Holly was patient and answered all of my questions. I was nervous about the amount of alterations that I would need for the dress, but she assured me and delivered the most perfect and well-fitting dress I could imagine, even after I had to have some custom sizing. My mom and I travelled a lot back and forth last year and Holly graciously met us at the shop earlier than she would normally to accommodate our day trips in Chicago. I can't say enough wonderful things about the shop and the service. I wish I had an excuse to come back more often!
  • M
    Meredith Married on 09/18/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Everyone at Dame Couture was phenomenal to work with! I'd known someone for whom Holly had made (what turned out to be her first commercial-) wedding dress many years ago. I'd saved an image of it, and despite seeing that the dresses on Dame Couture's current website were more traditional than I was looking for (though still unique and gorgeous!), I asked about whether she might consider helping me come up with a vintage-looking olive green wedding dress. The most common feedback I received on it: "Wow, is that vintage? It is SO YOU!" I couldn't have been happier. My only complaint is now that I'm married, I have no need to visit them. (It's a LOVELY shop.)
  • User2816272 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Writing from my husband's account...I found the dress of my dreams at Dame Couture. I felt amazing on my wedding day. Holly was wonderful and easy to work with. She knew what would look great on me even before I did, but she never pushed me into anything. She also did amazing alterations. I would highly recommend her. - Angie
  • V
    Vasilia Married on 09/04/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Holly was an absolute joy to work with! She’s friendly and welcoming. Her shop is adorable, with a great selection of beautiful dresses at affordable prices (I was a bride with a modest budget!). She made the experience of wedding dress shopping fun and relaxed, never pressuring the sale or trying to upsell. She was always prompt in answering my emails and thoughtful in telling me about upcoming sales and trunk shows. I also love that her shop does private appointments – it felt special to have the whole shop to ourselves (I came with my sister, mom, and aunt for wedding dress shopping and fitting). I also thought the wedding dress styles she carried were better in uniqueness and quality than the other places I shopped (e.g., BHLDN, Alice in Ivory, etc.) In short, I would recommend Holly and Dame Couture to any friend or family member of mine. She was wonderful!
  • S
    Samantha Married on 08/28/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I love, love, love Holly! The minute I walked in the door I felt welcomed and comfortable. I brought in my great grandmother's dress from 1940, and Holly took such good care of it. She knew how to work with the material and she gave me great tips for how to continue care for the dress. She completely redid the sleeves of the dress, and she let me choose the style, and made sure that her suggestions didn't make me feel pressured. Thank you for an amazing dress, and helping me feel beautiful and connected to my great-grandma on my wedding day!
  • A
    Angela Married on 08/26/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Holly and team were excellent to work with! They were very accommodating of some special situations and made me feel special. Holly was extremely flexible and confident in offering her opinion. I really enjoyed working with Holly!
  • J
    Jennifer Married on 08/12/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I had a great experience working with Holly and Dame Couture. They couldn't have been more helpful or accommodating and my wedding dress looked great and made me feel great. They went above and beyond to help me make it transportable as well. I highly recommend them!