Skip to main content
Weddings

Country Club of Hilton Head Reviews

Country Club of Hilton Head

Country Club of Hilton Head

Hilton Head Island, SC
4.7 out of 5 rating, 16 Reviews
View more information

Reviews

Your trust is our goal. Our community relies on honest reviews to help you make those big decisions with ease.
4.7 out of 5 rating
4.7 out of 5 rating
16 Reviews
94% recommend it
  • Quality of service
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.6 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.7 out of 5 rating

Awards

16
Weddingwire
4.7/5 16 reviews
Google
4.5/5 146 reviews
  • C
    Cortney B. Sent on 05/31/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beyond our expectations!

    We are beyond happy with the experience we had with Country Club of Hilton Head. The venue is beautiful in and of itself but the Event Coordinator and all of the staff truly took our wedding over the top. Gorgeous grounds, exceptional food, and Susan is so well versed in what it takes to make your wedding day perfect!
  • N
    Nancy K. Sent on 12/30/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The perfect venue!

    There will never be enough words to describe how thankful I am for Susan Honowitz and all the staff at the country club of Hilton head. She was the foundation of my reception planning for 6 months and did so with kindness and professionalism! My day was perfect and my Christmas wedding dreams came true! The whole club was perfect from decorations to the foos and everything in between.
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • Nancy
    Nancy Sent on 03/23/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Sensational Experience

    Our daughter‘s wedding reception at the Country Club of Hilton Head was spectacular. All the staff was extremely joyful and obliging. Our guests could not stop talking about the food. As the mother of the bride, the club made the reception stress-free and extraordinary. The chef created a special dish for the bride as she has dietary constraints. The event planner, Susan, was not only extremely helpful and saw to every detail with care; she was very supportive. Uniquely the management worked flawlessly with the florist.
  • T
    Tara Sent on 09/07/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Country Club of Hilton Head was above and beyond our expectations for our destination wedding!! The event coordinator was great, as well as all other staff members helping us that evening!! The guys played golf all day and then were able to just get dressed and ready right there at the club, to include lunch and beverages all planned! The prices were very reasonable and the overall experience was amazing!! The food was also delicious and all of our guests raved about it!! We had no complaints at all! I highly recommend this venue if you're looking for a great place to host your wedding!!
  • A
    Agnes Sent on 09/14/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We were married on the Saturday of Labor Day weekend at the Country Club of Hilton Head (“CCHH”). You may recall that a hurricane had passed through the island the day prior, but you couldn’t tell from any of our photos or the grounds at CCHH. The facility was in great condition.

    We worked closely with CCHH staff leading up to the event, but I get the feeling that everything would have been just fine had we left all the details to them. Adrienne was a true pleasure. I wouldn’t know where to start for an event like this, but she asked all the right questions and planned out all the little details that I wouldn’t have even thought to ask or remember. She was there on the day of the event and made sure everything went smoothly. And smoothly it went.

    The food was great, the bar was great. We received a lot of compliments on the food, I would go with the filet mignon it was amazing! CCHH has a full bar outside of the main banquet/ballroom space, with granite counters, etc. People really enjoyed that – oftentimes a wedding will have a bar on a cart. Not here.

    Adrienne stayed with us through all of the main “events” and made sure we had taken care of everything before she left for the evening – dances, cake cutting, speeches, etc. She also planned out the order of these things when we did a tasting at CCHH a couple of months before the wedding. She’s fantastically organized and it just made everything so easy.
  • N
    Nilda Sent on 08/12/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I have been a Meeting Planner for the past 24 years and also a Dir. of Catering in the hotel industry for 16 years prior. I tend to be a little more picky and critical than most folks because of my background and I will say without a doubt, that working with Adrienne Kastan and Bob Zolton at the Country Club of Hilton Head was a wonderful experience! I was entertaining my Board of Directors and their spouses along with State Legislators and their wives, which was a group of about 90 people. The CCofHH helped me create a special menu for my reception and dinner and the pricing was exceptional. Food presentation and flavor were great and the service was very timely. This was our fist event at the CCHH and I am looking forward to going back their next year! Can't go wrong with this venue.
  • User1514888 Sent on 01/21/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Country Club was the perfect Venus for us. The staff was excited and on top of everything we needed. Nothing overlooked.
  • User995598 Sent on 10/30/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Country Club of Hilton Head was the perfect venue for our October destination wedding!! The food was AMAZING and all of our guest kept talking about it all night. We had 60 guests travel to Hilton Head and the room size was perfect!! My husband and I wanted a relaxed and cozy feel and we definitely got it!

    I want to send a special shout out to Rob Ciapanna. After our original event coordinator resigned from the country club, Rob promised we had nothing to worry about regarding our reception. He definitely delivered and kept his promise!! He is so professional and made sure we were being taken care of and happy throughout our reception. Also, he was kind and courteous to ask if we needed anything prior to him leaving for the night; little things like this mean alot!

    Thank you again Rob, the chef(s), and staff for the best reception we could have asked for! Our guests had so much fun!

    Sincerely,
    Mrs. Michele

    Country Club of Hilton Head's reply:

    Thank you so much Michele. It was a pleasure working with you.
    Thank you for your wonderful review!
    Christie Oss
    Private Event Director
  • A
    Allison Sent on 05/13/2009
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Our wedding at the Country Club of Hilton Head was even better than expected. The food was incredible, when have you been to a wedding before where people raved about the food! The were so accommodating to every crazy idea that I had. Jenny even had someone get into the pool the morning of the wedding so that they could attach flowers that would float in the pool. The cost was the most reasonable of all of the venues because everything was included. The Country Club of Hilton Head went above and beyond in everything they did for us. We even hosted a day after brunch there and they moved some of our floral arrangements into the room for us. Everyone raved at how beautiful the Club was. The reception room was breathtaking as we entered. I can't say enough about it. It was perfect!
  • J
    Jena Sent on 11/06/2008
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I could not of imagined a more perfect day!! The entire set up was amazing and the staff was unbelievable!!! They will conform a day/event to your taste and size and put the upmost spin on it. I was so unstressed and able to enjoy my wonderful day!! My friends and family were so impressed and are still talking about it today!!!
  • G
    Gayle Sent on 08/12/2016
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Adrienne Kastan was very helpful to me in planning this event. She was able to accommodate every request we had. She was going to be on vacation the day of our event but she introduced me to Bob Zolton who would be present that day. He was very professional as well, and the event went very well.
  • S
    Stephanie Sent on 10/30/2015
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    When planning my wedding my first choice location was already booked for the wedding date that I wanted. I am now very happy that it was. The Country Club of Hilton Head was the perfect venue for my wedding. They had a few options for the ceremony which even included a backup location inside if it there had been rain. That was a big thing I was looking for because I wanted to make sure I was covered if there had been a chance of rain. Thankfully it was beautiful and sunny. From when I signed my contract to when I started the actual planning there was a change in staff and Emily took over as the private event director. Since I use to plan events it was very difficult for me to give up control on my wedding day. Once I sat down and met with Emily I knew that everything would be in good hands. The Country Club was very receptive to our ideas on what we wanted for our wedding menu which even included mac & cheese. My husband is also an avid golfer and had scouted the golf course for some photo locations that we could use. We have only received a few of the photos but we were able to capture a beautiful sun set from the 12 hole as well as got a few shots that show the beautiful backdrop that is Hilton Head Island. We loved our special day at the Country Club of Hilton Head and we will be back in future years when we visit the island since it is now a special part of our lives.

    Country Club of Hilton Head's reply:

    Stephanie, Thank you for your kind words. It was such a pleasure to plan your special day with you. We are so glad you chose the Country Club of Hilton Head. Best wishes to you both and we hope to see you again!
  • H
    Hamilton C. Sent on 02/27/2024
    4.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect February Wedding

    The Country Club of Hilton Head was perfect for my February wedding. The weather was beautiful which only enhanced the already beautiful venue. My ceremony was outside where the view was gorgeous. Guests sat behind the empty driving range and the greenery around the venue was perfect. The ceremony space had a grand staircase entrance which was perfect. The venue had a microphone and speaker for the officiant and organized entrance timing. Staff was supportive in keeping us on time, making sure the ceremony ran smoothly.

    Throughout the year prior to my wedding there was a lot of communication between me and my contact at the venue. While there were time where responses were limited or delayed, it was clear that my wedding was important to them and my questions were always answered. I would suggest being very clear with selections in terms of food and drinks. There were a few things that were missed but staff was quick to adjust and were accommodating.

    The most repeated comment I hear throughout the night was how great the food was. All of my guests commented on how delicious the food was. I had picked the venue's bruschetta, baked brie, and fruit for cocktail hour and the low country BBQ, shrimp and grits bar, and mashed potato bar for dinner. The stand out menu options were the baked brie and the mashed potato bar. I repeatedly had guests coming up to me and saying how good those options were. The standout to me as well as many gests were the shrimp and grits.

    Overall, I had a wonderful experience at the County Club of Hilton Head and wouldn't change a thing if I had to do it over. The staff was amazing, the venue beautiful even in February, and food perfect.
  • B
    Brandi Sent on 02/16/2016
    4.1 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      3.5 out of 5 rating
    (Updated review 3/19/17)
    The original events planner responded very quickly, professionally, and kindly to everything I threw her way. My biggest issue was our VERY limited budget. Initial pricing package was WAY outside of our price range and I told her so, but she actually worked her way down to fit my budget.

    When we did the food tasting, everything on the menu was DELICIOUS. Only problems with their food: we wanted to have a "groom's cake" of tiers of slider burgers to mirror the tires of cupcakes for the "regular" cake. Those were gross and we're not doing it at all. And also, when we tried the grouper, it was pan seared (crisp outer layer, soft inside), but at the wedding it was baked (I think) and covered in a gravy. Still very good, but it wasn’t what I was looking forward to having for months. But we're still happy with the food overall.

    There were two changes in event planners between when I signed the contract and the wedding. The first gave me such confidence and was willing to work with me with everything. The second gave me so many doubts (much more curt and inflexible, and when we spoke on the phone she kept cutting me off and wouldn't stop talking for me to speak). But the third (who was only there for the last couple months before the wedding) helped me ease those doubts and during the event I couldn’t have been happier that he was there to help with everything. Anything I asked for, he made it happen (even in the middle of the reception where I was like "do you have Welch's Sparkling Grape Juice?" and he dug it out of the back of the kitchens for me. Haha. Thank you Greg!!

    Country Club of Hilton Head's reply:

    Thank you "Bride". I am looking very forward to working with you on your special day!
  • M
    Malinda Sent on 11/16/2012
    2 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      2.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      2.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      2.0 out of 5 rating
    Honestly, this was a baaaaad experience. I'll try to detail it out so each prospective couple can decide for themselves:
    Pros: 1) the wedding ended up beautiful! (although it was my wedding day and pretty much nothing was going to let it be bad). 2) The food was GREAT! Beef filet, mahi-mahi fish... both tender and well seasoned. 3) The day of everything ran smoothly and the staff including the Events Coordinator helped the day flow without hitch. She did a really nice job the day of.

    Cons: Oh geesh, where do I start? The first problem, (which, to be fair, really isn't a fair complaint against the facility) was that the private events coordinator who I first booked the venue with and helped with details left the job just 2 months before my wedding. So I was left with the new replacement for all the final sortings. And the new private events coordinator and I just didn't mesh. At all. I promise I'm trying to be fair about this review, but she was not prompt with questions replies on phone or email, never detailed costs as I wanted- or explained why she couldn't, and always had a negative/ condescending tone. Most suggestions I had- including how to have the processional for the wedding ceremony was met with swift, "no." responses. Or, "that's just not how it's done." Well, as far as I'm concerned, it can be how it's done because it's my husband and my wedding ceremony. She tried to deter me from letting my nieces open some french doors to have me enter from....why? She said it wouldn't look right....despite my insisting the most important thing was to include my nieces. Geesh, I had to just finally insist. It's just tough fighting someone the entire way- on items that shouldn't be fought. I'm easy to defer to someones recommendation if it's fair but I never felt she was. Always felt it was a money gouging, lack of details provided, and with an immediate "no" response to everything I suggested. Maybe things will change with time... the rest of the staff were great

    Country Club of Hilton Head's reply:

    Dear Malinda,

    Thank you for your feedback on the Country Club of Hilton Head. I am pleased to hear that your wedding day with us was a successful one.

    On behalf of the Country Club of Hilton Head, I want to apologize for the bad experience that you had with our Private Events Director. That person is no longer with the company, and I am very excited to bring my years of experience and passion for event planning to the Country Club of Hilton Head.

    Please let us know if there is anything else we can do for you.

    My best,

    Christina Mahaffey
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message