Colleton River Club Reviews

14 | Bluffton, SC
See photos, pricing and details

14 Reviews for Colleton River Club

Recommended by 95%

14
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner

4.7 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.6
  • Value 4.6
  • Average response time 4.7

8 User photos

Colleton River Club 1
Colleton River Club 2
Colleton River Club 3
Colleton River Club 4
Colleton River Club 5
Colleton River Club 6
Colleton River Club 7
+ 2
Sort by:
  • A

    Adam · Married on 09/01/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had both our Friday and Saturday Ceremonies at Colleton River Club and couldn't have asked for a better experience. We stayed within the cottages onsite as did many of our guests. Guests had no issues using the grounds for running, walking and swimming. The cottages themselves were very nice, very convenient and it was wonderful waking up in a homey feeling cottage rather than a hotel room every day we were onsite.

    Beth Anderson, the event manager at Colleton River specifically went over and above for us and we're both so appreciative of all her work. Friday she very literally kept things moving along, driving the bride to be into place and making sure everything flowed throughout the whole evening. Our Friday wedding was at the Dye Clubhouse. Saturday we were at the Nicklaus clubhouse she worked closely with our coordinator to make sure the timing of the evening continued along track, and helped with last minute items (like printing one groomsman's speech!)

    The venue itself was gorgeous and we had fortunate weather both days, making everything really come together. One reason we had chosen Colleton River was that they had sensible rain options if the need had come, which was great peace of mind for us. When the sun started setting on Saturday and they pulled the curtains back in the ballroom to reveal the bright pink and orange sky over the course and river behind it, we couldn't help ourselves but feel very lucky.

    Sent on 09/30/2018
    Colleton River Club 8
    Colleton River Club 9
    Colleton River Club 10
    Colleton River Club 11
    Colleton River Club 12
    Colleton River Club 13
  • C

    Carly · Married on 10/14/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Colleton river was a magical place for our ceremony and party. We were married outside the nickalaus clubhouse with the party inside. Cocktail hour on the patio watching the sun set with oysters in hand was incredible. The food at the party was delicious - especially the salmon! Beth Anderson is organized, an incredible communicator, friendly, and completely on top of ensuring the party runs smoothly. She is so wonderful to work with that a day of planner is not necessary if you get married at Colleton! The staff was superb overall as well. You will not be disappointed with the timeless elegance of this venue!!!

    Sent on 10/22/2017
    Colleton River Club 14
    Colleton River Club 15
  • A

    A · Married on 05/14/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Colleton River Plantation Club was a magical place for a Destination wedding! We had an absolutely top notch experience with this venue. Colleton is beautiful, the staff is warm, friendly, helpful and experienced. The club itself provides a wonderfully gracious ambience where we and our guests felt welcomed. We also loved how private this venue was. We had the use of the beautiful clubhouse for the entire day which provided a wonderful place for the bridal party to gather prior to the event. The Chef is absolutely superb! The "Tasting" was an experience we will never forget. He is a master at creating wonderful entrees with beautiful presentation. I must add that Emily, the Event planner was awesome to work with! She and our wedding planner worked very well together to make our dreams of a perfect wedding become a reality. Colleton River Plantation Club provided us with exceptional service and most of all, wonderful memories of a very special day!

    Sent on 08/19/2016

    Colleton River Club's reply:

    Thank you very much! It was such a pleasure to work with all of you and be a part of your special day! I was looking at the photos a few days ago and they are just stunning! I wish you all the best and please let us know if there is anything Colleton can do for you in the future.
  • User5454006 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The staff and service at the Colleton River Plantation Club could not have been any better! They addressed all of our questions/concerns, and provided us with a wedding venue that went beyond what we could have imagined. We worked with Erica and Rob during the planning and wedding execution, and we were thoroughly impressed with the level of professionalism displayed at all times.

    If we could give a rating above 5-stars, we would without hesitation. We highly recommend having a ceremony and reception at the Colleton River Plantation Club...you will not be disappointed.

    Sent on 09/20/2015
  • J

    Julie · Married on 06/28/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Erica Pepper from Colleton River Plantation was absolutely amazing. The success of my daughters wedding was truly because of the wonderful, professional services Erica offered us. She was so easy to work with. Erica constantly kept us updated with expenses and the progress of our wedding ceremony and reception plans (nothing was a surprise). I would highly recommend her!!!! Her smile is contagious!!! She was so wonderful to our family and to all our wedding guest including our other vendors that we used!!! I can't thank Erica enough for making Dan and Kelly's wedding day so perfect!!! As mother of the bride, I can truly say that she made this special day so relaxing for me and my husband so that we could enjoy every minute of our children's fabulous wedding celebration!!!!

    Sent on 10/18/2015
  • User5538611 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Words cannot express how amazing Erica was during the planning of our wedding. She was always there for us when we needed her, and helped us all along the way. She made planning a destination wedding, fun and stress-free. We had our ceremony at the Dye Clubhouse, and the reception at the Nicklaus Clubhouse, both of which are in Colleton River Plantation. Our guests were amazed how wonderful everything was at the wedding; the beautiful setting, delicious food, and the outstanding staff. Months later, everyone is still talking about it! Erica helped make our wedding at Colleton River Plantation, the wedding that I always dreamt about. It was absolutely perfect.

    Sent on 10/19/2015
  • J

    Jason · Married on 03/14/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Erica Pepper is absolutely fantastic. She helped with almost every aspect of coordination prior to the ceremony and was a lifesaver the day of the ceremony. We literally didn't have to worry about a thing. The venue is beautiful, and all we heard was positive feedback from our guests. Highly recommend!!!

    Sent on 04/01/2015
  • User5443300 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Groom here... so short a sweet. My wife said she would not have changed a thing. Everything was perfect. (Planner, Venue, and staff.)

    Sent on 09/16/2015
  • User4505847 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Erica and the team at Colleton provided five-star service, start to finish throughout the wedding process. Erica went above and beyond to help us customize our wedding while staying on budget, and she pulled off the most beautiful weekend for us. The venue looked gorgeous, the service was superb, and the day was perfect. We couldn't be happier with the experience, and so many guests commented on how excpetional the wedding turned out. I couldn't speak more highly of Erica and the whole team at Colleton for making it was special, magical moment for us.

    Sent on 10/27/2014
  • Kara

    Kara · Married on 05/25/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Colleton River Plantation has a natural beautiful that is like no other! There are many options available for rehearsal dinner, wedding ceremony and wedding reception between their two club houses and entire plantation. The service and food are top notch! I would highly recommend this venue to anyone!

    Sent on 01/20/2014
  • L

    Lynn · Married on 06/24/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Colleton and Beth Anderson did a fabulous job.
    The food for the reception and brunch the morning after the wedding was exceptional.
    Elizabeth helped guests with the cottages and we would highly recommend staying in the cottages. They are certainly convenient, very nice and reasonably priced.
    We highly recommend this venue for all of your wedding ceremony, reception and brunch needs and wants.

    Sent on 07/08/2017

    Colleton River Club's reply:

    Thank you so much Lynn! We appreciate you allowing us to be a part of this wonderful evening.
  • User2779123 · 2+ years ago

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Colleton River Plantation was such a wonderful place for our wedding. Following our initial visit to the venue, we cancelled all remaining appts. that weekend because the location was so stunning we knew we didn't want to get married anywhere else. They have two clubhouses which can host weddings, receptions, bridal lunches, whatever you want, and they are both different yet equally as beautiful. We had planned to have an outdoor ceremony on the lawn of the Dye Clubhouse followed by a tented reception on the lawn of the Nicklaus, but had to work with the club and our planner to move the ceremony indoors due to hurricane Sandy. Regardless, everything was perfect and we had multiple guests comment about how beautiful the location was. The staff was extremely attentive and everyone we worked with in the planning process was great. I would definitely suggest this venue to other brides and families.

    Sent on 11/18/2012
  • J

    Jackie · Married on 05/18/2013

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    We were married at Colleton this past May 18. The staff went above and beyond to ensure our wedding was everything we hoped for. The food was absolutely incredible, and they succeeded in making my cocktail reception vision come to life. We got ready at the Dye Cottage which is absolutely fantastic, especially if you plan on having hair stylists and make up artists on site to get the bridal party ready. There's a massive bathroom that is perfect for fitting everyone in. Everyone was timely and efficient as far as getting the florals from our ceremony on the Dye Clubhouse Lawn, to the reception at the Nicklaus Clubhouse. Even with the little rain patch we had in between the ceremony and reception, everything was executed wonderfully. Jennifer Kenwell the event manager made sure everyone was where they needed to be, and with assistance from the wedding planner we hired, everything ran smoothly. I would definitely recommend this venue if you are looking for the lowcountry wedding environment, with fantastic views, food, and service.

    Sent on 06/03/2013
  • M

    Meryl · Married on 09/26/2015

    3.0
    • Quality of service:
      2.5
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    We had such great service from Colleton River for all of the time leading up to our big day, the Coordinator always returned our e-mails and calls, the chef was great with his communication at the tasting. Unfortunately, when the big day came there were several things that were supposed to happen that didn't and also some things that shouldn't have happened did. Per our guests, certain foods that we had chosen ran out and other items were served in its place.... things we did not pay for, on that note it was all extremely delicious just not what we were told. Some of our guests (including my parents) did not get more than one type of appetizer and we had paid for 4 different ones. While the reception was going on, the staff cleaned up all the tables outside where dinner had been served, which would be fine however all of the bridesmaid's flowers that were on the tables were thrown away ( not a cheap mistake). For the amount of money that we paid for our wedding I was upset by some of the things I had to learn about after the fact, I feel like for what I paid I should have been given a higher standard of service. I understand no wedding can be perfect and maybe these things "just happen" but I couldn't feel good about reviewing a place unless I was 100% honest with how I felt the big day went down. As with any review, majority of the time its all bad, that is truly not the case... I am so very happy with the setting of Colleton and the fact they were so friendly and professional, I am just disappointed that the day I planned for an entire year was overshadowed by things that I thought people had under control.

    Sent on 10/20/2015

    Colleton River Club's reply:

    Meryl, it was such a pleasure spending 75+ hours working with you and we were very disappointed to read this. We assure you that the food was abundant and we heard rave reviews from your guests on service and food. Our culinary team is amazing and would never compromise their integrity by substituting food items. I hope you were able to sample the 4 appetizers that we sent home in your to go food. Your florist/friend needed her overlays back so she cleared the tables, maybe you could ask her to remake the bouquets if she was supposed to save them? As for the low score in flexibility, we setup the wedding for you as we never had before to accommodate your wishes, we reduced the room fee and food fee to work within your budget, we reduced the golf fee and let you play golf earlier than we normally allow. We wish you and Chris a lifetime of love and happiness.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review