Colin Lyons Wedding Photography Reviews

81 | Chicago, IL
See photos, pricing and details

81 Reviews for Colin Lyons Wedding Photography

Recommended by 100%

81
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

20 User photos

Colin Lyons Wedding Photography 1
Colin Lyons Wedding Photography 2
Colin Lyons Wedding Photography 3
Colin Lyons Wedding Photography 4
Colin Lyons Wedding Photography 5
Colin Lyons Wedding Photography 6
Colin Lyons Wedding Photography 7
+ 14
Sort by:
  • Catie

    Catie · Married on 03/02/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Colin is the BEST

    Colin was amazing to work with for our wedding and engagement photos! He was flexible, fun and professional. He has done many weddings so he gets the drill! He made sure to be in communication throughout the process to ensure we got the shots we were looking for. I have recommended him to two friends already and would encourage anyone to work with Colin! You will not regret it! The photos for our wedding turned out amazing and it's like reliving the best day over and over again! Thank you so much!

    Sent on 05/14/2019
  • Jamila

    Jamila · Married on 10/12/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Just Book him!

    Colin is a pro, and his team is wonderful. We hired Colin for our very colorful wedding and engagement shoot. My Husband and I had a very unique vision for our wedding and engagement photos, and Colin was not in the least bit overwhelmed with our non-traditional vibe. He is a class act and comes prepared for whatever your wedding day throws at you (rain! & Hair/Makeup Delays/ pop up photographers). We knew we will look at these pictures forever and we wanted the best, paid for the best, and got the best! Also, an online mag contacted us to use our engagement pics.... just sayin' lol. He'll for sure be our family photographer as we grow as a family.

    Sent on 11/01/2018
  • A

    Allison · Married on 09/08/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you want amazing wedding photos with someone who is incredibly easy to work with, look no further than Colin Lyons!
    We reached out to Colin after viewing his photos online, and met with him over a year before our wedding at his studio downtown. He pulled out a bottle of champagne as soon we arrived, and let us look through his albums (digital and print) while talking through his process. We booked right away for our 9/8/18 wedding and we're so happy we did!

    Originally we hadn't planned on getting engagement photos, but Colin included them in his package and we thought they would be good practice. We got great photos and had a lot of fun, even though it was cold and snowy outside. Closer to the wedding, I reached out with our list of photos we wanted to get and to talk through a rain back-up plan, and Colin responded immediately suggesting we connect the week prior to the wedding to confirm and touch base on everything. He had great suggestions for a rain back-up, and totally put our minds at ease.

    The day of the wedding he arrived at the hotel where we were getting ready with the second photographer, Jordan. Everyone loved him and Jordan and they were great about working around our hair and make-up team and all the others coming in and out of the room. They fully coordinated our first look which was perfect, and helped to make sure we stayed on time for the rest of the wedding party and family photos. Colin included a photo booth at no additional cost for our wedding (a big hit), and brought another photographer to capture those photos. Throughout the event I barely noticed them there, and he was great about timing our 'sparkler exit' photo so that it didn't kill our dance floor.

    In addition to being relaxed and easy to work with, Colin sent over a preview of our photos the night of the wedding. They are AMAZING, and we've received so many compliments on how perfect they are. We can't wait to see all of the photos captured on our special day!

    Sent on 09/16/2018
  • Morgan

    Morgan · Married on 08/17/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Simply the BEST!

    I highly recommend Colin Lyons to anyone looking for an amazing, fun, and flexible wedding photographer...who creates amazing photos of course! From the engagement pictures to the big day, he and his team made the entire experience one to remember. I am so happy with all of our pictures and literally can't stop looking at them over and over. He was always on time, professional, full of great ideas, and listened to our ideas as well. You will not regret working with Colin Lyons!

    Sent on 10/26/2018
    Colin Lyons Wedding Photography 8
    Colin Lyons Wedding Photography 9
    Colin Lyons Wedding Photography 10
    Colin Lyons Wedding Photography 11
    Colin Lyons Wedding Photography 12
    Colin Lyons Wedding Photography 13
    Colin Lyons Wedding Photography 14
  • P

    Paula Firmiss · Married on 06/09/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Colin in so incredibly talented and fun to work with - and the photos are stunning!

    Colin was absolutely wonderful to work with and really listened to what we wanted for our photos. He was working incredibly hard all day long (I swear I did not see him take one break) and even stayed longer than we originally planned. The photos turned out absolutely stunning - I highly recommend looking at his main website for samples. Also - a very quick turnaround time! He sent us a couple sneak peaks the next day and only took about 2 months for all of them. The website they are on is beautiful and organized and it's so easy to share the link with everyone. Thank you again, Colin - you were absolutely fantastic!

    Sent on 10/23/2018
  • A

    Alnierys · Married on 03/24/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We made the best decision in choosing Colin Lyons Wedding Photography to capture our special day! Colin along with his team are creative, engaging, and professional. Not to mention they were reliable, friendly, and helpful throughout the process leading to the big day. I recommend Colin Lyons and his team for any special occasion in your life.

    Sent on 06/04/2018
  • R

    Ryan · Married on 01/13/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Colin did a terrific job with our wedding! We were probably a bit more camera-shy than many couples, and Colin was great at making us comfortable without being cheesy or off-putting. Colin was extremely responsive and communicative throughout the process, and the day-after preview he sent us was a nice unexpected touch. If you go with him, make sure you get his fantastic photo booth too! Our guests are still raving about it.

    Sent on 02/14/2018
  • V

    Vijaya · Married on 12/30/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Colin was the absolute best. He photographed our reception at the Art Institute - they have different rules/regulations about when and where to take pictures and he was well-versed and got several stunning photos in the gallery, outside (despite the frigid temps - he got some great shots in under 5 minutes), and throughout the evening. He was quick in getting us our gallery, incredibly personable and would recommend him wholeheartedly to anyone. I hope he will do pictures for us again in the future!

    Sent on 01/30/2018
  • J

    Julia · Married on 12/16/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hands down our favorite vendor!!! Colin met with us a few times so that by the day of we felt totally comfortable! He provided above and beyond service and felt like a friend by the end of the process. We both come from large families who can be demanding and Colin handled it like a champ. We had a photo booth from Colin as well and everyone of our guests was obsessed with how great they looked. Words can't express how much we enjoyed working with Colin and how he is truly the BEST!!

    Sent on 02/21/2018
  • A

    Amanda · Married on 12/09/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Colin and his team we’re fantastic!! We did our engagement photos and wedding photos with him and he did not disappoint. He has such great imagination for his photos! We did our engagement photos in Chicago and he took us to so many great places starting at the art institute in Chicago and by the lake. Our wedding was in the suburbs and he did such a great job with more “rural” type photos. We had our wedding in December and although it was freezing, he and his team made it so much fun. I could not be happier with how the photos turned out. You will absolutely not be disappointed if you choose Colin.

    Sent on 02/15/2018
    Colin Lyons Wedding Photography 15
    Colin Lyons Wedding Photography 16
    Colin Lyons Wedding Photography 17
  • W

    William · Married on 10/07/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Colin and his team were absolutely amazing! Our family and friends can't stop talking about the pictures and how good of a job they did. Colin helped plan out the schedule for the day, made time to take my wife and I for an engagement shoot prior to the wedding and even brought along a 3rd photographer to work the photo booth and get some extra shots. Our pictures turned out better than we could have ever expected and Colin truly helped capture our day like no one else could! No need to think twice when deciding a a photographer for your Chicago wedding.

    Sent on 12/18/2017
    Colin Lyons Wedding Photography 18
    Colin Lyons Wedding Photography 19
    Colin Lyons Wedding Photography 20
    Colin Lyons Wedding Photography 21
    Colin Lyons Wedding Photography 22
    Colin Lyons Wedding Photography 23
    Colin Lyons Wedding Photography 24
  • M

    Melissa · Married on 09/23/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Colin is the absolute best. He was a welcomed addition to our wedding day festivities. He finds a way to be present but not intrusive. He has great suggestions for posed shots when needed and then captures the perfect candid pics!

    Sent on 12/10/2017
    Colin Lyons Wedding Photography 25
    Colin Lyons Wedding Photography 26
    Colin Lyons Wedding Photography 27
  • K

    Kate · Married on 09/09/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We can't even begin to describe how wonderful Colin, Jordan, Clay, and Ian were for our wedding! If you are looking for photographers who know how to capture those special 'in the moment' split second expressions of happiness, this is your crew. Very attentive to our interests while also giving expert suggestions to capture our wedding day. Thanks again! Kate & Paul

    Sent on 11/16/2017
  • J

    Janet · Married on 06/24/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Colin is incredible!! He listens and delivers. Remember your photos are forever and Colin will make sure you re-live your wedding day through your photos!!! Best investment you can make.

    Sent on 09/17/2018
  • A

    Amanda · Married on 11/12/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Colin was WONDERFUL and one of the best decisions we made for our wedding. We had a beautiful engagement shoot with him, where we were able to go to multiple locations where many photographers limit you to one spot and a short time frame. We loved how relaxed and fun Colin was, and given we would be with him all day for our wedding, it was important that we felt at ease with our photographer. We loved the pictures we got from our wedding! There were so many beautiful candid moments Colin was able to capture which meant so much to us as well as perfect 'mom shots' that were more formal. Coming from a large family, Colin was able to wrangle the bunch together to capture probably the best full extending family photo we've ever had. At the end of the night, my new husband and I were able to look at some photo highlights that we already had in our inbox from Colin. It was so amazing to see so quickly! We would HIGHLY RECOMMEND Colin for your wedding. You will not be disappointed.

    Sent on 01/21/2017
  • P

    Kristen · Married on 10/15/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Even months after our wedding, we still can't get over how amazing Colin and his assistance were in capturing our day! We couldn't have asked for a better photographer. Best decision we made!

    Sent on 01/16/2017
  • R

    Rachel · Married on 09/25/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding was on Sept. 26, 2016 and Colin and his assistant did an absolutely wonderful job. He was great at organizing everyone and capturing all of the essential shots, which could not have been easy, but most importantly, he captured the beauty of our wedding. There were also some specific shots I wanted and despite the craziness of everything, he remembered to get those. A couple other things - the photo booth, our guests had such a blast with that! And, the engagement photos... We had so much fun travelling around the city, taking photos. Colin is great to work with and I would suggest him for any wedding!

    Sent on 01/29/2017
  • A

    Andrew · Married on 09/16/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Colin and his team were amazing. We couldn't be happier with the outcome!

    Sent on 09/26/2016
  • User7418208 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Very responsive, attentive, respectful! No complaints at all. Highly recommended!

    Sent on 11/17/2016
  • K

    Kevin · Married on 08/27/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Colin was an amazing photographer and was one of the best decisions we made while planning our wedding. A friend of mine used Colin for her wedding and I knew right away that we needed to book him because her photos were absolutely beautiful. From the first time my fiancé and I met with Colin to talk wedding logistics, I know he would capture all the best details of our big day. From the moment he walked in to take the "getting ready" photos, to capturing the fun on the dance floor, Colin caught all of my favorite moments. Colin and his crew were so friendly and personable, our entire wedding party found themselves chatting with them throughout day. We love our how our wedding photos turned out! He was able to photograph how fun our wedding day was. We constantly look back at our photos because Colin provides an online gallery that makes it easy to view, download and share all our memories. I would choose Colin again in a heart beat and will be recommending him to all my friends.

    Sent on 11/28/2016
  • E

    Erika · Married on 08/06/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We found Colin via an internet search for engagement photos. Colin spent several hours with us running around the city and taking photos at numerous locations. Colin made it so easy for us to hang out and be natural in front of the camera and it showed in our photos. I wanted to have pictures of us being natural and un-posed that would reflect how we normally look when around each other- and that is what I got.

    After that day and upon receiving our photos, we knew we needed to have Colin shoot our wedding day. Colin was wonderful. He kept the bridal party on time and moving even though that clearly wasn't his job. He helped ensure I didn't worry about any of that stuff. There are moments from our day that naturally I missed but have heard about from numerous guests. When I got the pictures back, those moments were all in there. I was able to relive all the fun. He also has an awesome photo booth that he can set up!

    The pictures are all sharp, professional, and wonderful. The only problem I have is that there are so many good ones to choose from. If you are getting married in Chicago, I definitely recommend Colin and his team!

    Sent on 11/17/2016
  • P

    Paresa · Married on 04/08/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Colin was absolutely wonderful to work with. Not only did he help us plan before the wedding, but he scouted photo spots on location, and was quick to respond to communication the entire time. On our wedding day, Colin brought energy and professionalism. We were able to completely relax knowing his work would exceed our expectations. On top of everything, he brought an AWESOME photobooth that guests raved about during and after the reception. Colin was flexible and open to our ideas, and his photos are gorgeous! He is the best!

    Sent on 04/22/2016
  • L

    Laura · Married on 04/02/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Colin was an amazing photographer who we would highly recommend!! From our very first meeting we knew we wanted to have him as part of our day because of his friendly personality and how clear it was that he absolutely loves what he does. His sense of humor the day-of was especially helpful because the beautiful Spring day we had in mind turned into snow, sleet, and 50mph winds- he made it fun, was flexible in changing plans for shooting locations, and seized every opportunity with the brief periods of sunshine we had to take amazing photos. He takes so many photos to ensure he gets the best shot and we have no doubt they will be amazing (especially since he showed us a few shots throughout the day). The photo booth was also such a great addition to our reception- so much fun! We are so happy we had the chance to have him capture our day.

    Sent on 05/08/2016
  • User5622716 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I recently was married last month and hiring a good photographer was a top priority for me. Luckily I didn't have to do much research because my venue coordinator suggested Colin Lyons Wedding Photography. Unfortunately Colin Lyons had another wedding to shoot on our wedding day so he set up a meeting with one of his associate photographers Christie Caputo. From the very first meeting Christie was a dream vendor to work with. She was so down to earth, professional and wanted to make sure that she really understood what special moments me and my husband wanted captured on our wedding day.

    On the day of our engagement shoot Christie made us feel so comfortable and suggested so many beautiful places to take our engagement photos. She went above and beyond & even stood in a few bushes to make sure that she could capture the picture from just the right angle! I had so many people asking who my photographer was after I posted our engagement photos... Christie really is that talented.

    From the day of the engagement shoot through the end of the wedding night I kept getting so many compliments on how amazing our wedding photographer was. She was always on time and made sure to answer every question that I had.... even if I had already asked it.

    Colin Lyons Wedding Photography is the vendor to hire for your wedding day. All of the photographers are truly one of a kind and you will not regret hiring them to capture the special moments from your wedding day.

    Thank you so much again!

    Sent on 11/17/2015

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review